[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

lilac
post Dec 18 2020, 11:35 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Dec 18 2020, 11:26 PM)
No need mouse. I do my Illustrators and photoshop, mini clip video editings all on my trackpad. Not to mention some office documentations as well. Mouse, its so yester-decade.
Yea! Same here. Since moving to a mac laptop about 8 years ago, I've stopped using a mouse since and I find it a hassle to use a mouse nowadays.
kevinpss
post Dec 18 2020, 11:54 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Dec 18 2020, 11:26 PM)
No need mouse. I do my Illustrators and photoshop, mini clip video editings all on my trackpad. Not to mention some office documentations as well. Mouse, its so yester-decade.
seriously? I thought that's only me. I did tried a few mouse and still cannot adapt to mouse....then I gave up to try....unless play games la...

for those whom are seriously consider a mouse for 27" monitor and above, I would suggest you get a trackpad....mouse is just too small in 27" monitor...I dun know how to explain but Magic Mouse work okay in 24" monitor but not 27" monitor....trackpad? yes, it just work very well.

kevinpss
post Dec 18 2020, 11:55 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(lilac @ Dec 18 2020, 11:35 PM)
Yea! Same here. Since moving to a mac laptop about 8 years ago, I've stopped using a mouse since and I find it a hassle to use a mouse nowadays.
same here....I find mouse is just not right for me...and I dun know why....haha...end up all my mice sleep there and I just not use it...

This post has been edited by kevinpss: Dec 18 2020, 11:56 PM
kevinpss
post Dec 18 2020, 11:59 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Dec 18 2020, 11:33 PM)
Of course they will. I believe the native app for M1 is already available.
me too...

the only possible reason that they worry....---> maybe because they using PS2020.

This post has been edited by kevinpss: Dec 19 2020, 03:44 AM
eikozai
post Dec 19 2020, 02:42 AM

1,120 posts

Wanna check is there anyone who is utilizing the Wifi6 already? Mind share what router u’re using and how’s the performance with this M1MBA?
frostbyte13
post Dec 19 2020, 11:56 AM

172 posts

So took it out yesterday for a field test. Left the house with a near full charge because I left it on sleep throughout the night.

8.5hours of screen time & 48% to spare. Only ran Chrome, lots of social apps & productivity usuals. Damn this battery life is amazing.

Though not so happy about the bugs, there are some clear issues trying to play Dota 2 properly. Voice would normally get cut & audio flips to headset quality though I suspect has something to do with the Bliuetooth.

yarusaru
post Dec 19 2020, 03:41 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(frostbyte13 @ Dec 19 2020, 11:56 AM)
So took it out yesterday for a field test. Left the house with a near full charge because I left it on sleep throughout the night.

8.5hours of screen time & 48% to spare. Only ran Chrome, lots of social apps & productivity usuals. Damn this battery life is amazing.

Though not so happy about the bugs, there are some clear issues trying to play Dota 2 properly. Voice would normally get cut & audio flips to headset quality though I suspect has something to do with the Bliuetooth.

Tried full gaming, how many hours screentime?
fuze
post Dec 19 2020, 03:59 PM

128 posts

I noticed people who bought non-BTO MacBooks received their MacBooks early. What do you think of my chances receive my MBA before Christmas next week when I’m supposed to receive between 30/12 and 7/1?

plushie
post Dec 19 2020, 04:17 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Dec 19 2020, 03:59 PM)
I noticed people who bought non-BTO MacBooks received their MacBooks early. What do you think of my chances receive my MBA before Christmas next week when I’m supposed to receive between 30/12 and 7/1?

My friend's Macbook supposed to arrive on 25Dec++ but it arrived 1 week earlier (18Dec), non-BTO though.
You might still have chance to receive by christmas based on your arrival ETA.

Meanwhile mine is ordered on Dec 16th and the arrival estimate is already early Jan'21.

This post has been edited by plushie: Dec 19 2020, 04:17 PM
fuze
post Dec 19 2020, 04:38 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(plushie @ Dec 19 2020, 04:17 PM)
My friend's Macbook supposed to arrive on 25Dec++ but it arrived 1 week earlier (18Dec), non-BTO though.
You might still have chance to receive by christmas based on your arrival ETA.

Meanwhile mine is ordered on Dec 16th and the arrival estimate is already early Jan'21.
Yeah that’s the thing, if it’s BTO it’s gonna take longer than non BTO. hm.

Went to see in store yesterday now i cannot wait anymore. Haha
andrewtho
post Dec 19 2020, 04:44 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Dec 19 2020, 03:59 PM)

My non-BTO timeline is similar to yours, hopefully it will also arrive next week.
frostbyte13
post Dec 19 2020, 05:58 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(yarusaru @ Dec 19 2020, 03:41 PM)
Tried full gaming, how many hours screentime?
I didn't wanna try full gaming but it would heat up. Don't feel the performance throttle as much but it does get uncomfortably warm. Also I bought this as productivity machine to force myself to game less haha. So can't really comment. Safer to get MBP if you wanna play some AAA titles.
v88
post Dec 19 2020, 10:05 PM

353 posts

received my MacBook air M1- 1st time bought MacBook in my life, right timing with best choice ..tongue.gif
eikozai
post Dec 19 2020, 10:30 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(v88 @ Dec 19 2020, 10:05 PM)
received my MacBook air M1- 1st time bought MacBook in my life, right timing with best choice ..tongue.gif
Congratulation. There’s a learning curve for people who migrated from Windows to Mac. Trust me, once u learned the hotkeys and how this OS function, u’ll never be back to Windows. Only time u’ll use back to Windows is because ur corporate software only available for Windows.

Once you go Mac, you’ll never look back!

Trust me, this device can last u for another decade. I started with Macbook Air 2013 (max upgrades) that still serve me until today. Waiting for my M1 to replace its position.
v88
post Dec 19 2020, 10:58 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Dec 19 2020, 10:30 PM)
Congratulation. There’s a learning curve for people who migrated from Windows to Mac. Trust me, once u learned the hotkeys and how this OS function, u’ll never be back to Windows. Only time u’ll use back to Windows is because ur corporate software only available for Windows.

Trust me, this device can last u for another decade. I started with Macbook Air 2013 (max upgrades) that still serve me until today. Waiting for my M1 to replace its position.
Indeed..play around the whole day ..get used to mac gestures...convenient and friendly, super clear fonts, true tone color, nice music sound, fast processor of M1, fanless and quiet, value buy ...what more can i ask for? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
KINTREX
post Dec 19 2020, 11:20 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(v88 @ Dec 19 2020, 11:58 PM)
Indeed..play around the whole day ..get used to mac gestures...convenient and friendly, super clear fonts, true tone color, nice music sound, fast processor of M1, fanless and quiet, value buy ...what more can i ask for?  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Welcome to club 👍
Icehart
post Dec 19 2020, 11:20 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(frostbyte13 @ Dec 19 2020, 05:58 PM)
I didn't wanna try full gaming but it would heat up. Don't feel the performance throttle as much but it does get uncomfortably warm. Also I bought this as productivity machine to force myself to game less haha. So can't really comment. Safer to get MBP if you wanna play some AAA titles.
Hmm that sucks. I changed from Macbook 13" to 15" previously because I cannot tolerate warm palm rest.
The 15" with dual fans cool the laptop much better.

QUOTE(eikozai @ Dec 19 2020, 10:30 PM)

I still go back to Windows from time to time. I think Mac OS is superior where mobility is concerned due to its battery and trackpad but OS wise I think both Windows and Mac OS are pretty good these days.
casualscroller P
post Dec 20 2020, 08:24 AM

Probation

For those who ordered via apple store, how long did it take for the order to go from "processed" to "shipped"? I ask because I'm waiting for my card to be charged so I can convert to 0% instalment via MBB promotion which ends 31st Dec. I ordered on the 15th, still stuck at "processed" unsure.gif
fuze
post Dec 20 2020, 08:50 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(casualscroller @ Dec 20 2020, 08:24 AM)
For those who ordered via apple store, how long did it take for the order to go from "processed" to "shipped"? I ask because I'm waiting for my card to be charged so I can convert to 0% instalment via MBB promotion which ends 31st Dec. I ordered on the 15th, still stuck at "processed" unsure.gif
I ordered on 10th itself and still stuck under Processing, and I check everyday. 🥺 When is your delivery date? Your card will only be charged when it’s Preparing to Ship. So if your delivery date is in 2021, you might need to be less expecting that you can make it.
casualscroller P
post Dec 20 2020, 09:29 AM

Probation

QUOTE(fuze @ Dec 20 2020, 08:50 AM)
I ordered on 10th itself and still stuck under Processing, and I check everyday. 🥺 When is your delivery date? Your card will only be charged when it’s Preparing to Ship. So if your delivery date is in 2021, you might need to be less expecting that you can make it.
Delivery date is 05/01/21 bye.gif

128 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:06 AM