[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

andrewtho
post Dec 5 2020, 06:33 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(yisien @ Dec 5 2020, 06:08 PM)
I saw 1 seller in shopee is selling M1 Macbook Air already and I read the review for that item, one customer said that it is MY version.

How come there already has MY version already?
Superdeal? They always got jalan sideways one. Usually they will bring in US units, but seems like this round its local Malaysian unit.
andrewtho
post Dec 5 2020, 09:22 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(yisien @ Dec 5 2020, 08:05 PM)
Yea Superdeal. I chat with their customer support inside Shoppe they told me those are HK/US units. But not sure why the review is MY unit. If really is MY unit then means that the stocks already in MY, but Apple don't want to sell yet. And Superdeal can get those stocks.
Then again, I would rather just wait for official units since its almost the same price.

I know superdeal’s units are already ‘running’ units, meaning the warranty will be much lesser (period) when you get your unit.
andrewtho
post Dec 5 2020, 11:19 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(yisien @ Dec 5 2020, 09:29 PM)
Ohh is it? Thanks for informing! Because actually, this is the first time I heard of them  hmm.gif
But since the warranty is international, it’s okay to buy foreign units.

But I guess just the warranty tenure will be shorter, depending on which stock / batch you take from. I’ll only buy if its a huge difference, like I’ve done previously with my 16 inch Macbook Pro. I think I bought it around 2.5k cheaper than local units, warranty short by 3 months lol.
andrewtho
post Dec 6 2020, 05:34 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Dec 6 2020, 03:27 PM)
Just buy from from superdeal. Same price as apple store. If could get shopee points then it will be a bargain.

If by 12.12 no concrete news on availability in malaysia i might consider superdeal unit.
Mana boleh. Only preferred sellers will give you Shopee Coins, and Superdeals is not.

Also as highlighted in my earlier post, you might want to confirm on the balance tenure of the warranty, if thats not a thing for you.

andrewtho
post Dec 7 2020, 10:13 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 7 2020, 09:57 PM)
Yeah I snagged the last MBA n MBP I think.

I had to settle with the MBA gold because the space grey was finished, so he said to wait for the space grey was a few weeks.

EDIT: Omg sick! The MBP is OTW! Arrival is tmr.

Nice, congrats.

Please check the warranty duration and let us know if it follows the date of activation.
andrewtho
post Dec 12 2020, 10:31 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(williamlee_1985 @ Dec 10 2020, 05:52 PM)
Those that buying this new Macbook M1, from which year's macbook you upgrading from? Mine is 2012 Pro but still running well.
Replacing my current 2019 Macbook Pro 16 with i9 to the Pro M1.

The 16 inch is such a pain to bring out, like carrying weights around you.

andrewtho
post Dec 13 2020, 09:57 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(hy30 @ Dec 12 2020, 10:37 AM)
256gb sufficient? Or upgrade storage would be better for a light user..
Either iCloud or external SSD works fine too.

Don’t worry too much on space, you have alot of alternatives.
andrewtho
post Dec 14 2020, 09:29 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(lowkelvin @ Dec 14 2020, 05:12 PM)
Hi everyone, do you think 7-core GPU is fine while I only use for web-surfing + Microsoft Office?

I'm taking Macbook Air (base model), then upgrade to 16GB and 512GB SSD
It's a bit cheaper than Macbook Air (8-core GPU) with 16GB/512GB
More than enough.

Don’t worry about the extra 1 core, not gonna make much of a difference unless you’re into high processing task like video or photo editing. Gaming is subjective.

andrewtho
post Dec 16 2020, 02:03 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 16 2020, 01:20 PM)
Most monitor is either hdmi or VGA ... So I need a converter from USB-C to HDMI only right?

So, if my monitor is HDMI, getting this would be enough:

https://www.apple.com/my/shop/product/MUF82...3228c5ca3bfff16

Right?
Get a USB C / Thunderbolt Dongle / Hub with HDMI / Thunderbolt / VGA ports. Don’t need to buy 1st party Apple dongle, decent brands like UGreen or Hyper works fine too.

This post has been edited by andrewtho: Dec 16 2020, 02:04 PM
andrewtho
post Dec 18 2020, 09:05 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(tressele @ Dec 18 2020, 07:40 AM)
Has anyone encountered "awaiting import license for clearance" before? My order in DHL tracking shows that. Any idea what should I do or just leave it.
If its from Apple, leave it. Courier company will contact Apple directly.
andrewtho
post Dec 18 2020, 11:39 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Dec 18 2020, 11:12 AM)
anyone running Adobe Lightroom/PS on MBA M1...compatible or not?
You’ll need Rosetta 2 translation software from the Mac store for now. Not sure if Adobe has already updated for ARM but Rosetta works fine for now.
andrewtho
post Dec 18 2020, 11:33 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Dec 18 2020, 09:42 PM)
I don’t believe adobe PS and LR will not make arm version for macbook.
Of course they will. I believe the native app for M1 is already available.
andrewtho
post Dec 19 2020, 04:44 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Dec 19 2020, 03:59 PM)
I noticed people who bought non-BTO MacBooks received their MacBooks early. What do you think of my chances receive my MBA before Christmas next week when I’m supposed to receive between 30/12 and 7/1?

My non-BTO timeline is similar to yours, hopefully it will also arrive next week.
andrewtho
post Dec 25 2020, 09:28 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dogsick @ Dec 23 2020, 11:23 AM)
Did some quick test to replicate your work environment. I have done the following:-
- Loaded around 10 files in Photoshop- a combination of complex layered PSD files (with text and layer effects) as well as a few RAW photos
- Opened 20 tabs on Safari (a combination of pages with complex Javascript, YouTube (with videos playing), Flickr, 500px, news sites, etc)
- My productivity software (Outlook, Microsoft Teams, OneDrive, Slack) was opened in the background
- Tidal playing in the background

Observations:-
1. Loading in Photoshop (average file size between 80-100MB for the layered files and 50MB for the RAW photos) was extremely fast
2. Everything that I was playing in the background (music from Tidal, YouTube videos on the tabs) was still playing without any lag or pauses
3. CPU load was at 20% (Idle standing at 79.82%). Biggest CPU hogger was Photoshop which took up 25.8% of the CPU. Not much CPU pressure here.

4. Swap file was at 6.44GB while 12.37GB of RAM was used up. Not much memory pressure here.

Overall, 16GB would be more than comfortable for what you need. Do bear in mind that Photoshop hasn't been optimized for the M1 yet so it is still running under emulation mode with Rosetta 2. Even then, it still performs better than my current 2018 Intel MacBook Pro! With an Apple Silicon version coming in Q1 2021, expect more efficient RAM and CPU utilisation.

I usually do not run Windows under Parallels on the Mac. Actually, I've haven't got much software that I can't do natively on MacOS. Also, there is no Parallels that work with M1 yet except for the Technical Review that they have right now. Even then, the Technical Review only emulates an ARM machine and you need to install the ARM version of Windows (also a preview). From YouTube creators initial trial, it is not looking like a workable solution yet as it is pretty buggy and slow. And Microsoft's x64 emulator on the ARM version of Windows is also pretty slow and doesn't work with all software yet.
Question, how did you get Photoshop 2021 to run on Apple Silicon?

Every time I load it up it will crash and not load. Lightroom and Premiere Pro works fine.
andrewtho
post Aug 10 2021, 03:12 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Aug 10 2021, 03:03 PM)
i see.... good to hear that.

But too bad I don't use iPhone though....... hmm, maybe that's why.....
I suggest you go with a min of 512GB. MacOS alone already consume alot of space, if I remember correctly its around 20GB +-, so 256GB is really a struggle.

RAM is subjective, depends on usage. Just go with your budget, wont go wrong.
andrewtho
post Aug 10 2021, 03:19 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Aug 10 2021, 03:16 PM)
thank you bro. ya, i will likely be going with the 512gb model. as for the ram, will see how it goes. it's not that could not throw in another 800 for the ram but the question is also whether would i really need it.

but understand that new MBA is not upgradable later on.
Yeah its a M1 is using unified memory so its all soldered together. I would go for 16GB if I plan to use for long term. One off pain to ease long term headache tongue.gif

0.1570sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:04 PM