Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

htkaki
post Apr 29 2009, 08:29 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 29 2009, 07:53 AM)
JAMO is a decent Danish speaker makers, good for home entertainment. I have an LCR setup, using Polk r300 and Optimus Mk5-II center speakers. recently sold off 4 towers that I planned to use for 7.1 setup. No subs, as my living room does not need one.

It was being acquired by Klipsch Audio a few years ago. Hopefully, Jamo will be able to produce very good audio speakers under Klipsch like it used to have at one time.

I auditioned the new 876. Aint my cup of tea. Too 'brute' to my liking.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Apr 29 2009, 08:31 AM
anfieldude
post Apr 29 2009, 08:34 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 29 2009, 08:29 AM)
It was being acquired by Klipsch Audio a few years ago. Hopefully, Jamo will be able to produce very good audio speakers under Klipsch like it used to have at one time.

I auditioned the new 876. Aint my cup of tea. Too 'brute' to my liking.
htkaki,
What's the going price for 876? Am looking to upgrade from 875. I prefer to have 2 HDMI outs. Also, if Audyssey is set up correctly,u shd have not felt the brute force.
hsiengloong
post Apr 29 2009, 09:54 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

THanks guys for the feedback. Unfortunately i'm still very new to this hobby and i'm still taking time to digest all the info.

BTW, the Audyssey, is it a seperate thing or is it built in inside the Onkyo AVR?

Sorry for my noob questions. And, lastly is my speakers.

I'm stilll wondering whether to match my amp to a set of JAMO speakers or Mission.. 90% of my system is used for movies. 50% from computer and 50% from DVD.

anfieldude
post Apr 29 2009, 10:04 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Apr 29 2009, 09:54 AM)
THanks guys for the feedback. Unfortunately i'm still very new to this hobby and i'm still taking time to digest all the info.

BTW, the Audyssey, is it a seperate thing or is it built in inside the Onkyo AVR?

Sorry for my noob questions. And, lastly is my speakers.

I'm stilll wondering whether to match my amp to a set of JAMO speakers or Mission.. 90% of my system is used for movies. 50% from computer and 50% from DVD.

Audyssey is a room correction package that it in built into the Onkyo. They will supply a mic and you are required to mount the mic into a tripod and follow setup guidelines. It is easy and only takes about 20mins depending on the number of positions.

I believe for movies, either will be ok. Jamo has been making HT speakers for a while, Mission is into both music and HT but now more into HT. It depends on your room as well. Anyway, Audyssey will do a good job of equalizing the speakers to your room for movies.
rakyat
post Apr 29 2009, 10:05 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(5uresh @ Apr 27 2009, 12:37 PM)
thanks for the reply. still tweaking with it. i put back astro S-Video connection back direct to HDTV. picture quality better. Will buy better HDMI cable latter. my problem my wife not happy as she has to switch on so many things just to watch astro as audio connected to AV amp. notice astro got digital audio out. may i use this to connect to av amp?

another problem Jamo speaker brown colour doesn't match my interior and my wife rather upset. i may i hv to sell this speakers. sad.gif

suresh

p.s too many remotes. any suggestion for a universal remote

Hope u have not 'upgraded' ur HDMI yet coz I doubt it will make much difference....

U need to adjust the setting on ur AVR upscaler (NR, BR ect) the 6 series will have more options and u need to play around to c what is the optimum adjustment. Go to audioholic and search under onkyo AV (your model) and u can find the recommended adjustment. If it is done correctly, u will definitly c a mark improvement in PQ (upscaled 1080i + HDMI vs. S-video) but don't expect HDTV quality tongue.gif For digital media (DVD) the improvement in PQ is veryx2 noticable unless u have been using HDMI DVDP all the time then no difference or mayb PQ suffer alittle depending whether ur AVR upscaler is superior or inferior to ur DVDP.

My wifey oso had problems initially but now used to it; actually need to switch on 1 additional unit only-mah (AVR)

The irritating thing bout onkyo is it takes about 10 seconds to feed to the LCD and sometimes the LCD does not pick up the HDMI signal at all. Mayb the 6 series have resolved the problem (I'm using the 5 series)

hsiengloong
post Apr 29 2009, 10:19 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Thanks Anfieldude for the clarifications. I did not know that there was such a feature for the Onkyo and i guess it won't take quite long for me 2 understand hwo it works. BTW, If i wanna go for audition for AVRs, which is the best place to go? Desa?? I'm looking at Onkyo only. And also speakers.

Another question is, if i use those normal DVD player and my AVR has an upscaling capability, will the picture quality be improved as well? Or do i need to get a high end DVD player with upscaling capability to match the AVR?

5uresh
post Apr 29 2009, 10:49 AM

40 posts

On remote controls, you should consider Logitech Harmony series universal remote - Harmony One or Harmony 885. They don't come cheap but it will be compatible with most devices. I have been toying on the idea of Harmony 885 because my Onkyo remote volume button already a bit spoilt (no more tactile when pressed). icon_idea.gif

where to find Harmony?

suresh
yfyap69
post Apr 29 2009, 10:51 AM

852 posts

Get the Harmony 525. Only S$99. Here should be RM200+
5uresh
post Apr 29 2009, 10:53 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Apr 28 2009, 08:46 PM)
How about if you connect Astro audio out to TV and then from TV audio out to your amp. Like this if your wife wants to watch Astro she can get just turn on the TV and get sound. If you then want better sound just turn on the amp as extra.

U mean the Jamo brown isn't like wood veneer type?
will try your suggestion that would solve the problem. yes ugly brown wood veneer

anfieldude
post Apr 29 2009, 11:06 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Apr 29 2009, 10:19 AM)
Thanks Anfieldude for the clarifications. I did not know that there was such a feature for the Onkyo and i guess it won't take quite long for me 2 understand hwo it works. BTW, If i wanna go for audition for AVRs, which is the best place to go? Desa?? I'm looking at Onkyo only. And also speakers.

Another question is, if i use those normal DVD player and my AVR has an upscaling capability, will the picture quality be improved as well? Or do i need to get a high end DVD player with upscaling capability to match the AVR?

1st question, I am not the best person for this, since I am in Penang! Check with htkaki and maybe he can help you.

Good question. The quality of the the upscaler and deinterlacer in a AVR vs a DVD player is always asked. This really depends on the quality of the chip that they use inside. The well known upscale chips are HQV Reon, HQV Realta, Anchor Bay VRS, Faroudja DCDI, Mediatek 1389. Of these I believe the HQV ones and the Anchor Bay is one of the best. If u r a person who views a lot of DVDs then I would advise you to get an AVR or a DVD player that has this. The AVRs that use HQV chips are the Onkyo 876, 875 (there are some problems with the implementation of the Reon here), 906. Denon 5series I believe uses Realta. DVD players, I guess only Oppo uses Anchor Bay. Will u see a difference, yes if you look. If you are not a fussy person, the Faroudja should be more than enough. Remember that all HDTV have scalar and deinterlacing chips as well. The chips that reside in the Pioneer, Sony and higher end Samsungs will most probably be better that the Faroudja and Mediatek solutions.

Do not expect miracles from these chips. It all depends on the source. If your source is badly mastered DVD (pirated), of course the higher quality chips will do a better job.

The choice of getting a high end DVD player or a AVR with high end chip or leaving the job to the display to do the job is something that you must since you are the one watching the movies.

In my opinion, the Reon is a pretty good upscaler. I have not seen a Faroudja (7xx and 6xx shd be using this) in action in detail. Comparing the Mediatek 1389 (found in Pioneer DVDs players) with the Reon, there are clear differences in my eyes that the Reon is better. The toss up between the quality of the Reon and the in built scalar/deinterlacer in a Pioneer Plasma is very close. Both have its pros and cons.

If you want something better, get the Oppo DVD player or better yet the upcoming Oppo Blu Ray player.

I know it sounds confusing but it is not. Buy whatever soothes your eyes and your pocket.

hsiengloong
post Apr 29 2009, 11:30 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Wow, thanks for the long reply and clearing up my doubts. I did not know that there was so much information that i need to know even for an upscaler. OK, from ur explanation below, i guess it is advisable to get an AVR and DVD player that has an upscaling capability. As for my AVR i'm alraedy intereted to get an Onkyo 606 or 706 which has the capability.

However for the DVD player, how much will an Oppo player cost? Last week when i was searching around for some players, the sales man told me that just get a Toshiba or Pionner DVD player will be good enough as it has upscaling capability. Not sure how true is that.

And my last question would be, if i use an AVR which has upscaling but a China made DVD player, will there be any improvement?

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 29 2009, 12:06 PM)
1st question, I am not the best person for this, since I am in Penang! Check with htkaki and maybe he can help you.

Good question. The quality of the the upscaler and deinterlacer in a AVR vs a DVD player is always asked.  This really depends on the quality of the chip that they use inside. The well known upscale chips are HQV Reon, HQV Realta, Anchor Bay VRS, Faroudja DCDI, Mediatek 1389. Of these I believe the HQV ones and the Anchor Bay is one of the best. If u r a person who views a lot of DVDs then I would advise you to get an AVR or a DVD player that has this. The AVRs that use HQV chips are the Onkyo 876, 875 (there are some problems with the implementation of the Reon here), 906. Denon 5series I believe uses Realta. DVD players, I guess only Oppo uses Anchor Bay. Will u see a difference, yes if you look. If you are not a fussy person, the Faroudja should be more than enough. Remember that all HDTV have scalar and deinterlacing chips as well. The chips that reside in the Pioneer, Sony and higher end Samsungs will most probably be better that the Faroudja and Mediatek solutions.

Do not expect miracles from these chips. It all depends on the source. If your source is badly mastered DVD (pirated), of course the higher quality chips will do a better job.

The choice of getting a high end DVD player or a AVR with high end chip or leaving the job to the display to do the job is something that you must since you are the one watching the movies.

In my opinion, the Reon is a pretty good upscaler. I have not seen a Faroudja (7xx and 6xx shd be using this) in action in detail. Comparing the Mediatek 1389 (found in Pioneer DVDs players) with the Reon, there are clear differences in my eyes that the Reon is better. The toss up between the quality of the Reon and the in built scalar/deinterlacer in a Pioneer Plasma is very close. Both have its pros and cons.

If you want something better, get the Oppo DVD player or better yet the upcoming Oppo Blu Ray player.

I know it sounds confusing but it is not. Buy whatever soothes your eyes and your pocket.
anfieldude
post Apr 29 2009, 11:41 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Apr 29 2009, 11:30 AM)
Wow, thanks for the long reply and clearing up my doubts. I did not know that there was so much information that i need to know even for an upscaler. OK, from ur explanation below, i guess it is advisable to get an AVR and DVD player that has an upscaling capability. As for my AVR i'm alraedy intereted to get an Onkyo 606 or 706 which has the capability.

However for the DVD player, how much will an Oppo player cost? Last week when i was searching around for some players, the sales man told me that just get a Toshiba or Pionner DVD player will be good enough as it has upscaling capability. Not sure how true is that.

And my last question would be, if i use an AVR which has upscaling but a China made DVD player, will there be any improvement?

Pioneer DV410 is a pretty decent DVD player. You can experiment which gives you a better picture. It is important that you send a clean signal to the AVR amp should you use the upscaler. Pioneer DV410 can send a 480i/576i signal thru HDMI. You can try to see which looks better to your eyes, the DVD doing the upscaling/deinterlacing (since this DVD player can upscale as well) or your AVR. Toshiba XDE has a supposedly good DVD player as well. Both will work.

The Oppo is ~ USD499 (Blu Ray and DVD), or for the older DVD only it is ~ USD200 I think. You can get it from SLTech in Spore no distributor in Malaysia. Its a pretty expensive DVD player, I think it would be better to get the Blu Ray player since it will also play SACD and DVD Audio.

China/Malaysia/Asian Made(believe me I think 90-95% of the DVD players in the world are made in our region!), if it does not mess up the picture then ok. Preferably one with HDMI out, and one that can output as 480i/576i. Worst case 480p/576p thru HDMI. If not, make sure it can send the picture thru component outs. If the AVR has a decent chip there should be improvement. Do not rule out that the scalar chip in your display might be better than all this!
horray
post Apr 29 2009, 12:14 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(5uresh @ Apr 29 2009, 10:49 AM)
where to find Harmony?

suresh
IT Hypermart chain - saw the Harmony 885 in their Ikano outlet selling for RM399. Not sure if the offer is still on. I think its normal price is around RM700.
hsiengloong
post Apr 29 2009, 12:22 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

OK then in that case i will either opt fo rthe Pioneer or Toshiba DVD player. I think, with both the DVD player & AVR doing the upscaling, the picture would look much better than what i have now.

As for the display, it will be on my Samsung LA46a550 LCD Tv. Not sure that capabilities it has other than the 60Hz Full HD. Maybe you can advise me.

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 29 2009, 12:41 PM)
Pioneer DV410 is a pretty decent DVD player. You can experiment which gives you a better picture. It is important that you send a clean signal to the AVR amp should you use the upscaler. Pioneer DV410 can send a 480i/576i signal thru HDMI.  You can try to see which looks better to your eyes, the DVD doing the upscaling/deinterlacing (since this DVD player can upscale as well) or your AVR. Toshiba XDE has a supposedly good DVD player as well. Both will work.

The Oppo is ~ USD499 (Blu Ray and DVD), or for the older DVD only it is ~ USD200 I think. You can get it from SLTech in Spore no distributor in Malaysia. Its a pretty expensive DVD player, I think it would be better to get the Blu Ray player since it will also play SACD and DVD Audio.

China/Malaysia/Asian Made(believe me I think 90-95% of the DVD players in the world are made in our region!), if it does not mess up the picture then ok. Preferably one with HDMI out, and one that can output as 480i/576i. Worst case 480p/576p thru HDMI. If not, make sure it can send the picture thru component outs. If the AVR has a decent chip there should be improvement. Do not rule out that the scalar chip in your display might be better than all this!
jchong
post Apr 30 2009, 08:58 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(horray @ Apr 29 2009, 12:14 PM)
IT Hypermart chain - saw the Harmony 885 in their Ikano outlet selling for RM399. Not sure if the offer is still on. I think its normal price is around RM700.
Yup price for the Harmony 885 is still RM399. The Harmony 525 is RM279.
rakyat
post Apr 30 2009, 09:48 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(horray @ Apr 29 2009, 12:14 PM)
Wow, good deal 45% discount.... what different feature btw 885 & 525?

Btw isn't our onkyo remote a learning remote? I actually program it to control even my ceiling fan icon_idea.gif
anfieldude
post Apr 30 2009, 09:56 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Apr 30 2009, 09:48 AM)
Wow, good deal 45% discount.... what different feature btw 885 & 525?

Btw isn't our onkyo remote a learning remote? I actually program it to control even my ceiling fan  icon_idea.gif
It is, only problem I think is that when u change batteries, it loses all the "programmed" functions. I think I saw the warning in the manual.
cmw_kwl_6923
post May 6 2009, 07:59 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(ahdave @ Apr 14 2009, 01:40 PM)
Anyone knows when will the new 507 and 607 will come to malaysia?
I'm keen on 607, since from Onkyo's website is the same price 606.
Any news for update for this two latest model~~~~! icon_rolleyes.gif
maxizanc
post May 14 2009, 01:37 AM

5,909 posts

Anybody knows whether or not this entry model Onkyo HT-S3200 is already available in Malaysia? Anybody knows the price?

NeskopiBeng
post May 14 2009, 11:29 AM

Hi dato and sifu.

very new in this hobby, plan to get HT set soon. Need all the opinion form sifu. Went to desa lat week and they offer me onkyo 606 pair with Boston Acoustics MCS-100. Is it a good combination or should i pair with jamo 606? according to the tailo there jamo 606 less "hantam" then the boston. now very pening kepala which one to decide or any other speaker to recommend.

130 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0373sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:29 PM