Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

hsiengloong
post Apr 23 2009, 05:10 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Dear all,

I'm still contemplating between an onkyo 705 and a 606. I went to CMY yesterday and they mentioned that both are the same except that 606 has an video upscaler but the 705 does not have. However, the price diff is about Rm1k.

My question is, which 1 is more worth it? My budget is more to 705 actually.

hsiengloong
post Apr 28 2009, 04:27 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Thansk Horay for the feedback. BTW, which do you recommend? 706 or 606?
The 606 cost about RM3.5k at CMY i think, not too sure. Maybe you can enlighten me as i'm still new in this hobby smile.gif

BTW, Suresh, can i know how is the onkyo and Jamo 6 combination that you bought from Desa? I saw their press ad 2 days ago going for RM5.2k for that set. Was just wondering if its a good match and whether is it worth it..

hsiengloong
post Apr 28 2009, 05:15 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

yeap agree that sound is very subjective. But hey, i did not know that Desa was selling the 606 for THAT cheap!!

Right now i'm still contemplating on either the 706 or 606. I know the 706 cost alot more (about RM1k) and i'm not sure if it's worth the money.

BTW, the main reason for me to get the 706 is because of the THX capabilities.

Sifu, you got any opinion?

Added on April 28, 2009, 5:17 pmOh yeah, i'm planning to pair mine with a velodyne 10" sub. Am still sourcing for the speakers as i'm not too sure what speakers will go well with the overall system...

This post has been edited by hsiengloong: Apr 28 2009, 05:17 PM
hsiengloong
post Apr 28 2009, 05:40 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

I have not really tested the 705/706 which has THX capabilities yet but the salesman at CMY told me it does hella diff. BTW, whats the major diff between the 705 and 706? It's price is almost the same as well.

ANd yeah wharfy sw150 is kinda cheap for its range but i'm poisioned to take the Velodyne Impact 10 or CHT10r from the sub woofer's thread:P
hsiengloong
post Apr 29 2009, 09:54 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

THanks guys for the feedback. Unfortunately i'm still very new to this hobby and i'm still taking time to digest all the info.

BTW, the Audyssey, is it a seperate thing or is it built in inside the Onkyo AVR?

Sorry for my noob questions. And, lastly is my speakers.

I'm stilll wondering whether to match my amp to a set of JAMO speakers or Mission.. 90% of my system is used for movies. 50% from computer and 50% from DVD.

hsiengloong
post Apr 29 2009, 10:19 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Thanks Anfieldude for the clarifications. I did not know that there was such a feature for the Onkyo and i guess it won't take quite long for me 2 understand hwo it works. BTW, If i wanna go for audition for AVRs, which is the best place to go? Desa?? I'm looking at Onkyo only. And also speakers.

Another question is, if i use those normal DVD player and my AVR has an upscaling capability, will the picture quality be improved as well? Or do i need to get a high end DVD player with upscaling capability to match the AVR?

hsiengloong
post Apr 29 2009, 11:30 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Wow, thanks for the long reply and clearing up my doubts. I did not know that there was so much information that i need to know even for an upscaler. OK, from ur explanation below, i guess it is advisable to get an AVR and DVD player that has an upscaling capability. As for my AVR i'm alraedy intereted to get an Onkyo 606 or 706 which has the capability.

However for the DVD player, how much will an Oppo player cost? Last week when i was searching around for some players, the sales man told me that just get a Toshiba or Pionner DVD player will be good enough as it has upscaling capability. Not sure how true is that.

And my last question would be, if i use an AVR which has upscaling but a China made DVD player, will there be any improvement?

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 29 2009, 12:06 PM)
1st question, I am not the best person for this, since I am in Penang! Check with htkaki and maybe he can help you.

Good question. The quality of the the upscaler and deinterlacer in a AVR vs a DVD player is always asked.  This really depends on the quality of the chip that they use inside. The well known upscale chips are HQV Reon, HQV Realta, Anchor Bay VRS, Faroudja DCDI, Mediatek 1389. Of these I believe the HQV ones and the Anchor Bay is one of the best. If u r a person who views a lot of DVDs then I would advise you to get an AVR or a DVD player that has this. The AVRs that use HQV chips are the Onkyo 876, 875 (there are some problems with the implementation of the Reon here), 906. Denon 5series I believe uses Realta. DVD players, I guess only Oppo uses Anchor Bay. Will u see a difference, yes if you look. If you are not a fussy person, the Faroudja should be more than enough. Remember that all HDTV have scalar and deinterlacing chips as well. The chips that reside in the Pioneer, Sony and higher end Samsungs will most probably be better that the Faroudja and Mediatek solutions.

Do not expect miracles from these chips. It all depends on the source. If your source is badly mastered DVD (pirated), of course the higher quality chips will do a better job.

The choice of getting a high end DVD player or a AVR with high end chip or leaving the job to the display to do the job is something that you must since you are the one watching the movies.

In my opinion, the Reon is a pretty good upscaler. I have not seen a Faroudja (7xx and 6xx shd be using this) in action in detail. Comparing the Mediatek 1389 (found in Pioneer DVDs players) with the Reon, there are clear differences in my eyes that the Reon is better. The toss up between the quality of the Reon and the in built scalar/deinterlacer in a Pioneer Plasma is very close. Both have its pros and cons.

If you want something better, get the Oppo DVD player or better yet the upcoming Oppo Blu Ray player.

I know it sounds confusing but it is not. Buy whatever soothes your eyes and your pocket.
hsiengloong
post Apr 29 2009, 12:22 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

OK then in that case i will either opt fo rthe Pioneer or Toshiba DVD player. I think, with both the DVD player & AVR doing the upscaling, the picture would look much better than what i have now.

As for the display, it will be on my Samsung LA46a550 LCD Tv. Not sure that capabilities it has other than the 60Hz Full HD. Maybe you can advise me.

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 29 2009, 12:41 PM)
Pioneer DV410 is a pretty decent DVD player. You can experiment which gives you a better picture. It is important that you send a clean signal to the AVR amp should you use the upscaler. Pioneer DV410 can send a 480i/576i signal thru HDMI.  You can try to see which looks better to your eyes, the DVD doing the upscaling/deinterlacing (since this DVD player can upscale as well) or your AVR. Toshiba XDE has a supposedly good DVD player as well. Both will work.

The Oppo is ~ USD499 (Blu Ray and DVD), or for the older DVD only it is ~ USD200 I think. You can get it from SLTech in Spore no distributor in Malaysia. Its a pretty expensive DVD player, I think it would be better to get the Blu Ray player since it will also play SACD and DVD Audio.

China/Malaysia/Asian Made(believe me I think 90-95% of the DVD players in the world are made in our region!), if it does not mess up the picture then ok. Preferably one with HDMI out, and one that can output as 480i/576i. Worst case 480p/576p thru HDMI. If not, make sure it can send the picture thru component outs. If the AVR has a decent chip there should be improvement. Do not rule out that the scalar chip in your display might be better than all this!
hsiengloong
post Jun 16 2009, 03:45 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

hey guys,

Whats the best speaker to match with my Onkyo 706? So far i only got the avr and have not gotten my speakers yet. My main purpose is for DVD movies.

Appreciate your advice here.

Oh yeah, as for my subs, i'm planning to go for the Velo 1200 Ultra

hsiengloong
post Jun 16 2009, 04:25 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

How much it cost? And also, understand that we have to ship it directly from the US as currently there is no dealers in Msia.. Maybe you can enlighten me pls?

hsiengloong
post Jun 16 2009, 04:43 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

OK..Thanks bro for that advice..

On a quick note, is it very much better compared to Velo 1200 Ultra?
hsiengloong
post Jun 19 2009, 11:51 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Yup kena poision dy with the SVS sub hahhaha.... Now i'm trying to see if i can get a cheaper shipping alternative... U own an SVS as well?
hsiengloong
post Jun 23 2009, 01:53 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

That's not a bad price. Where did you get it from may i ask?

hsiengloong
post Jun 23 2009, 03:35 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Wanted to but been there a few times and that few times the salesman just ignored me....

For watever reasons i dont know

0.0470sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:08 PM