130 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

TSkll71
post Aug 10 2007, 07:49 PM, updated 19y ago

28 posts

hi there

anyone know where to buy onkyo av receiver in klang valley?

what are the prices of onkyo 605, 705 and 805?

anyone tested the above models? how do they compare to brands like denon 2307, 2807, 3805, 3806, marantz 7500?

advice from all most appreciated. thanks. thumbup.gif
cougar richard
post Aug 10 2007, 09:46 PM

I want money
1,007 posts

i think music wise yamaha is better but for movie i think denon is performing better.
but personally i prefer yamaha than denon
sunauto
post Aug 11 2007, 04:44 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Aug 10 2007, 09:46 PM)
i think music wise yamaha is better but for movie i think denon is performing better.
but personally i prefer yamaha than denon
I prefer Yamaha too, not because it's a Yamaha but mainly because of their DSPs, they're famous for that. Even my amp has THX, I never used it once, just used Yamaha's own DSP instead, they sounded a lot better. THX sound processing is a little boomy for my taste
jazzy939
post Aug 12 2007, 12:35 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

A while back I saw some units selling at the Desa Complex near Kepong.. the shop is at the ground floor.. sorry can't remember the name of the shop.. some 'hifi' shop in Pertama Complex might have them.. but then again, it has been quite a while since I go to these places... good hunting dude!

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 12 2007, 12:36 PM
TSkll71
post Aug 13 2007, 01:30 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 12 2007, 12:35 PM)
A while back I saw some units selling at the Desa Complex near Kepong.. the shop is at the ground floor.. sorry can't remember the name of the shop.. some 'hifi' shop in Pertama Complex might have them.. but then again, it has been quite a while since I go to these places... good hunting dude!
hi,

you know what are the prices like?

btw, anyone tested the Cambridge Audio Azur 540 RV or Luxman 7500 or Eltaz A900? any comments?

thanks.

kll71
wink.gif
psp _BOY
post Aug 13 2007, 06:59 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

Onkyo 605 around 3.2k at The Hi-Fi shop at One Utama.
TSkll71
post Aug 14 2007, 07:43 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Aug 13 2007, 06:59 PM)
Onkyo 605 around 3.2k at The Hi-Fi shop at One Utama.
hmm..

some say since they are not popular in malaysia, it may be a problem if need servicing, repair, etc...

3.2k for 605. isn't that rather expensive? any other suggestions on what other brands would be good to consider?

kll71 blink.gif

Added on August 15, 2007, 1:24 pm
QUOTE(kll71 @ Aug 14 2007, 07:43 PM)
hmm..

some say since they are not popular in malaysia, it may be a problem if need servicing, repair, etc...

3.2k for 605. isn't that rather expensive? any other suggestions on what other brands would be good to consider?

kll71 blink.gif
hi there... any comments from the rest of the gurus here? flex.gif

This post has been edited by kll71: Aug 15 2007, 01:24 PM
dirtrun
post Aug 17 2007, 03:34 PM

3,136 posts

Hahaha,

Everythings exp in Bolehland ... especially if it dont come from PRC(wif sum equal sounding name, tat is ... not those wif sweat shops but Jap/US managers ... kekeke biggrin.gif ) or from sum factory in Ipoh/Penang/Shah Alam etc etc...

I suggest u dont look at de net for models to buy but just read for infos sake and then go hunting at ur local av shops or places like HN or BD or Sen Heng even then listen and try out for urself la bro....

The problem is avrs are so competitively keen... they change their models every year and nobody in de right minds will want to keep up ( even when there is nothing new to offer they always come up wif a new model each year ... sumtimes wif a measly claimed 10wts/channel extra, note I say claimed... )

Cheers
Dirtrun

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Aug 17 2007, 03:42 PM
TSkll71
post Aug 20 2007, 06:43 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 17 2007, 03:34 PM)
Hahaha,

Everythings exp in Bolehland ... especially if it dont come from PRC(wif sum equal sounding name, tat is ... not those wif sweat shops but Jap/US managers ... kekeke biggrin.gif ) or from sum factory in Ipoh/Penang/Shah Alam etc etc...

I suggest u dont look at de net for models to buy but just read for infos sake and then go hunting at ur local av shops or places like HN or BD or Sen Heng even then listen and try out for urself la bro....

The problem is avrs are so competitively keen... they change their models every year and nobody in de right minds will want to keep up ( even when there is nothing new to offer they always come up wif a new model each year ... sumtimes wif a measly claimed 10wts/channel extra, note I say claimed... )

Cheers
Dirtrun
hi dirtrun,

what is "HN or BD"?

do you know any other shops that carry the new onkyo av receiver?

thanks.

kll71 icon_rolleyes.gif
htkaki
post Aug 21 2007, 09:27 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I think he meant Harvey Norman and Best Denki
dirtrun
post Aug 21 2007, 03:50 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(kll71 @ Aug 20 2007, 06:43 PM)
hi dirtrun,

what is "HN or BD"?

do you know any other shops that carry the new onkyo av receiver?

thanks.

kll71 icon_rolleyes.gif

Hi Bro,

Bro Htkaki is rite ...

Uhm over here in Pg its even worse in trying out latest models especially avrs ... if u wanna test - u can test whatever they have in de shop ... if u wanna buy a new model ... can - pay deposit and they ll order for you...

I personally think Yamahas are de fastest in coming out wif latest models in Mal - maybe becos its factory is in Ipoh...

Kekekke
Dirtrun
PS Sorry I dont know where u can test out de Onkyos..
TSkll71
post Aug 21 2007, 06:55 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 21 2007, 03:50 PM)
Hi Bro,

Bro Htkaki is rite ...

Uhm over here in Pg its even worse in trying out latest models especially avrs ... if u wanna test - u can test whatever they have in de shop ... if u wanna buy a new model ... can - pay deposit and they ll order for you...

I personally think Yamahas are de fastest in coming out wif latest models in Mal - maybe becos its factory is in Ipoh...

Kekekke
Dirtrun
PS Sorry I dont know where u can test out de Onkyos..
thanks bro,

have you tried the lower end denon, 1507, 1707 or 1907... how are they compared with cambridge audio azur 540r2 and marantz 4600, 5600 or harmon kardon 140, 145, 240, 245...

kll71 rclxub.gif
dirtrun
post Aug 22 2007, 02:21 PM

3,136 posts

Hiya,

I havent gone avr shopping since getting my pioneer 911 a good many years ago( since then Ive added a Rotel 985 power amp to it) and its suited me fine...

Well from wat I remember when I was hunting for a new avr to upgrade from my marantz 4200 :-

Ok first off de Marantz 4200 is a little under powered and it dont have much bass and to me was a little wheezy when it comes to de heavy bass music or scenes...

I liked de HK sound - very powerful even in music playing but I didnt like wat I read in de net abt its durability so I crossed dat off...

Next on my like list is de Yammy 1200(dat time it was one of de bestla) and yes it is good (again even for music...to my ears, tat is) but it was way over budget so scraped dat too...

Denon 3802 was great too but below Yammy in my book and again over budget...
I tried de Pioneer 811 and found it suited my budget and ears best...

I have a friend running an Integra(basically an Onkyo) 989 - flagship model back then which has problems wif one of its channels(intermittent sound) but its pretty powerful when its working properly, definitely worth an audition if u can find it...

BTW I later got a used Yammy 520 to power a bedroom HT and it rocks hence if given a new budget for avr, I would definitely shortlist de latest Yammy...

Cheers
Dirtrun

TSkll71
post Aug 22 2007, 08:11 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 22 2007, 02:21 PM)
Hiya,

I havent gone avr shopping since getting my pioneer 911 a good many years ago( since then Ive added a Rotel 985 power amp to it) and its suited me fine...

Well from wat I remember when I was hunting for a new avr to upgrade from my marantz 4200 :-

Ok first off de Marantz 4200 is a little under powered and it dont have much bass and to me was a little wheezy when it comes to de heavy bass music or scenes...

I liked de HK sound - very powerful even in music playing but I didnt like wat I read in de net abt its durability so I crossed dat off...

Next on my like list is de Yammy 1200(dat time it was one of de bestla) and yes it is good (again even for music...to my ears, tat is) but it was way over budget so scraped dat too...

Denon 3802 was great too but below Yammy in my book and again over budget...
I tried de Pioneer 811 and found it suited my budget and ears best...

I have a friend running an Integra(basically an Onkyo) 989 - flagship model back then which has problems wif one of its channels(intermittent sound) but its pretty powerful when its working  properly, definitely worth an audition if u can find it...

BTW I later got a used Yammy 520 to power a bedroom HT and it rocks hence if given a new budget for avr, I would definitely shortlist de latest Yammy...

Cheers
Dirtrun
hi bro,

thanks for your words of wisdom... most helpful... thanks again.

kll71 smile.gif

neoardi
post Aug 24 2007, 08:46 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

Hi, I also want to know about av receiver.
Other than the Onkyo, what other receiver that hv the DTSHD and Dolby TrueHD support? Please state the price and where to buy.
Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
htkaki
post Aug 24 2007, 05:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

At the moment, I dont think there is any AV receivers with Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD in Malaysia yet. However, I guess it will be here by October. Most probably Denon and Yamaha.
ken3011
post Oct 28 2007, 01:07 PM

317 posts

yamaha good in its dsp but denon juz a simple middle end amp
htkaki
post Oct 28 2007, 05:36 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ken3011 @ Oct 28 2007, 01:07 PM)
yamaha good in its dsp but denon juz a simple middle end amp

Bro, not trying to snub you. Denon does produce very high end AV receiver, which produces jaw dropping effect. The flagship model, AVC-A1XV cost as much as a Perodua Viva. Denon and Yamaha have been in stiff competition in this segment for years.

ken3011
post Nov 3 2007, 04:41 PM

317 posts

but in my opinion the hign end is amp is can buy a vious wor lolz... but in my experience in the same price range between denon and yamaha , yamaha dsp really far far win..
htkaki
post Nov 5 2007, 09:38 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ken3011 @ Nov 3 2007, 04:41 PM)
but in my opinion the hign end is amp is can buy a vious wor lolz... but in my experience in the same price range between denon and yamaha , yamaha dsp really far far win..

Another one doh.gif .

130 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:33 AM