28 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

OS Installing XP with MassStorage(SATA/RAID) Drivers, Can't find HDD in XP Setup ??

dlwl
post Sep 30 2008, 10:19 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(SubKi||er @ Sep 29 2008, 07:42 PM)
Yes, it is in the nForce driver package. The driver should be extracted to somewhere in C:\nVidia when you launch the setup. There is a documentation on this but you can give it a try first as its pretty obvious as it names the folder inside with SATARAID or such names.

If you really can't find then you can reply me here or PM me. I did posted a reply on this few pages back when someone asked for it i think. It is almost the same with ATi chipsets as well.
thanks SubKi||er, will try it out after raya holidays smile.gif

Added on September 30, 2008, 2:48 pmis there any way that i can load the sata/raid drivers into my thumb drive, and when asked to load those drivers by pressing f6, can i just plug in my thumb drive and have those drivers loaded from the thumb drive?

This post has been edited by dlwl: Sep 30 2008, 02:48 PM
Sennel
post Sep 30 2008, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(francischuahcw @ Sep 30 2008, 12:39 AM)
From the information you give me, there is no problem or what so ever that it work, with the LED indicating green.
So, when it got ding dong, did you feel your HDD run?
You might have look into your Device Manager and see if your HDD is under the USB Serial Bus Controller.
It should have detect your HDD as Mass Storage Device.

Another way round for this is that you can troubleshoot it by taking the HDD out of the casing if you know.
Then test it barely using SATA cable and adaptor.
I hope you get some idea on what i tries to say.

ya my device manager have detect my HDD as mass storage device...yaya i trired it.....but my window xp can't auto install the HDD and the casing automatic...
TSSubKi||er
post Sep 30 2008, 05:04 PM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Sep 30 2008, 10:19 AM)
thanks SubKi||er, will try it out after raya holidays  smile.gif

Added on September 30, 2008, 2:48 pmis there any way that i can load the sata/raid drivers into my thumb drive, and when asked to load those drivers by pressing f6, can i just plug in my thumb drive and have those drivers loaded from the thumb drive?
Some thumbdrives that can act as a USB floppy with a separate floppy drive when you insert it should be able to work but i'm not sure. I remember someone told me that worked.

QUOTE(Sennel @ Sep 30 2008, 05:00 PM)
ya my device manager have detect my HDD as mass storage device...yaya i trired it.....but my window xp can't auto install the HDD and the casing automatic...
My guess is somehow you don't have the proper drivers for the casing then...

Might wanna check if that casing comes with a driver or something. Though its kinda odd.
Sennel
post Sep 30 2008, 05:18 PM

QUOTE(SubKi||er @ Sep 30 2008, 05:04 PM)
Some thumbdrives that can act as a USB floppy with a separate floppy drive when you insert it should be able to work but i'm not sure. I remember someone told me that worked.
My guess is somehow you don't have the proper drivers for the casing then...

Might wanna check if that casing comes with a driver or something. Though its kinda odd.
But the casing gave me websites said that Windows XP & Windows ME
Driver installation is not required for Windows XP and Windows Me. Simply connect the SATA Enclosure and access the SATA enclosure by using the “Removable Disk” icon in “My Computer.http://www.usbex.com/satahdd09/.....but now my window xp cant auto install the HDD itself....
TSSubKi||er
post Sep 30 2008, 05:47 PM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(Sennel @ Sep 30 2008, 05:18 PM)
But the casing gave me websites said that Windows XP & Windows ME
Driver installation is not required for Windows XP and Windows Me. Simply connect the SATA Enclosure and access the SATA enclosure by using the “Removable Disk” icon in “My Computer.http://www.usbex.com/satahdd09/.....but now  my window xp cant auto install the HDD itself....
You might want to pop in the XP setup disc and let it search for drivers from there, perhaps it would work that way.
Sennel
post Sep 30 2008, 07:12 PM

QUOTE(SubKi||er @ Sep 30 2008, 05:47 PM)
You might want to pop in the XP setup disc and let it search for drivers from there, perhaps it would work that way.
I dun have window xp cd..because my pc is give ppl format 1....the driver can download from any websites?and all the way my 1 is external hard disk...external hard disk is to install driver also?

This post has been edited by Sennel: Sep 30 2008, 07:16 PM
dlwl
post Oct 1 2008, 01:02 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(SubKi||er @ Sep 30 2008, 05:04 PM)
you mean which one that worked? the thumb drive that acts as floppy or loading the drivers into thumb drive?
TSSubKi||er
post Oct 1 2008, 01:21 AM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Oct 1 2008, 01:02 AM)
you mean which one that worked? the thumb drive that acts as floppy or loading the drivers into thumb drive?
The thumb drives that acts as a floppy.
bonesboy
post Oct 3 2008, 01:58 PM

34 posts

hi there..

i just bought a compaq cq40-101tu using intel core2duo.. im having trouble installing xp in it.. i've tried using sp3 also cannot.. here is the spec of the laptop

Intel core2duo P7350 (2.0GHz)
160GB sata
X4500
2048MB DDR2

i really tried everything that i know to mke it detect but still cannot..

pls email me at bones.ajp@gmail.com
francischuahcw
post Oct 3 2008, 06:21 PM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

Hi there,
i have refer your thread at
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/789913/+20

if you really need assistant, please open a new thread and dont use others.

To install XP, you need to have the SATA RAID driver which will be AHCI 8 or 9 to be the latest. You have to boot using Floppy disk to ensure its success. But you can try integrate it to your XPSP3 with Nlite and whether you do it properly, i am not sure. Hope you can explain more on how you do.

To be easy, find a External Floppy disk drive. That would be my suggestion.
bonesboy
post Oct 4 2008, 01:48 AM

34 posts

1. Downloaded the intel matrix storage manager 32 bit floppy configuration frm intel website

2. Copy the files into a floppy

3. Set the boot sequence to cdrom, hdd & usb fdd..

4. press F6 during the windows setup

5 press s to choose the intel ACHI 8 & enter to add the file.

6. bsod

i'm trying the link u gave me but i dun't understand how to use it.. sorry bcoz this is my first time facing problem wit a sata hdd..
francischuahcw
post Oct 5 2008, 01:46 AM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

there are a few option for you to choose the driver. Did you choose the correct one?
dlwl
post Oct 6 2008, 01:27 PM

4,789 posts

just want to confirm, my hard disks now are running in ide compatible mode. so if i switch them to sata mode, will there be any noticable boost or slowdown in performance? coz i've found a guide on how to switch to sata mode, without needing to reinstall windows alltogether.
francischuahcw
post Oct 6 2008, 06:26 PM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

This might help
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1139047
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...16193455AAaW3RI
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/245263-3...ce-running-sata
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/630605
dlwl
post Oct 7 2008, 01:45 PM

4,789 posts

i see.
thanks for the links, francis smile.gif
realcheraz
post Oct 8 2008, 01:31 AM

452 posts

does any1 have any ideas how to go to Partition Setup Screen by using this method??almost dead here.. rclxub.gif
my sata got no partition at all now..thanks in advance..

This post has been edited by realcheraz: Oct 8 2008, 01:45 AM
francischuahcw
post Oct 8 2008, 07:18 AM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

QUOTE(realcheraz @ Oct 8 2008, 01:31 AM)
does any1 have any ideas how to go to Partition Setup Screen by using this method??almost dead here.. rclxub.gif
my sata got no partition at all now..thanks in advance..
What do you mean by that?
Press F6 to boot from RAID,
other else will just be normal setup using XP cd.

memkingdom
post Oct 12 2008, 04:19 AM

529 posts

QUOTE(bonesboy @ Oct 3 2008, 01:58 PM)
hi there..

i just bought a compaq cq40-101tu using intel core2duo.. im having trouble installing xp in it.. i've tried using sp3 also cannot.. here is the spec of  the laptop

Intel core2duo P7350 (2.0GHz)
160GB sata
X4500
2048MB DDR2

i really tried everything that i know to mke it detect but still cannot..

pls email me at bones.ajp@gmail.com
Just disable the "native sata" option in your BIOS
Vagine
post Oct 21 2008, 04:15 PM

472 posts

this guide really helps!!!!!! thanks alot and really kudos for d brillliant explanation and for being thorough. I now can settle lotsa problems^ again, thanks for d effort!

SP3 +SATA = godlike
serez
post Oct 30 2008, 12:49 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yay finally done! with help from you all finally i can help my friend to format his compaq laptop. just modify the winxp installation cd and put the sata ahci driver and wallao every is fine. thanks for help thumbup.gif

28 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:13 AM