28 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

OS Installing XP with MassStorage(SATA/RAID) Drivers, Can't find HDD in XP Setup ??

francischuahcw
post Sep 19 2008, 12:19 AM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

Hi there,
congratulation on behalf of your success.
if you encounter driver problem for that,
feel free to PM me or search around the forum.
i have numerous post on drivers for that model.

TSSubKi||er
post Sep 19 2008, 10:50 AM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(danielle_brandon @ Sep 19 2008, 12:07 AM)
Finally!! After trying with so many versions of XP, alas i get to install XP on my CQ40-101tu. Btw, I am using SP3 installer & it works fine for me.  icon_rolleyes.gif

thanks for all the help & suggestions!
Nice, so i'll just slipstream my version to SP3 too thumbup.gif

QUOTE(francischuahcw @ Sep 19 2008, 12:19 AM)
Hi there,
congratulation on behalf of your success.
if you encounter driver problem for that,
feel free to PM me or search around the forum.
i have numerous post on drivers for that model.

Thanks dude for helping out with this thread, was getting a little lonely maintaining it earlier... icon_rolleyes.gif
francischuahcw
post Sep 19 2008, 03:55 PM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

QUOTE(SubKi||er @ Sep 19 2008, 10:50 AM)
Thanks dude for helping out with this thread, was getting a little lonely maintaining it earlier...  icon_rolleyes.gif
You are welcome,
i will be around helping recently as i do have some time to spare here.
will try my best.
hope can learn something from you too.

This post has been edited by francischuahcw: Sep 19 2008, 03:56 PM
Sennel
post Sep 21 2008, 11:38 AM

i have buy a SATA external hard disk,but i can't use it cos it dont not using the removable disk function in my computer file....so wad shld i do?izit my external hard disk break?i using window xp..
francischuahcw
post Sep 21 2008, 12:28 PM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

Hi there, is it a new sata hdd? mind list down below thing?
1. ur hdd brand and capacity
2. ur window OS.

If it is still new and you havent formatted it, try go to my computer, right click manage and go to disk management, have a look over there if it detects your new hdd. If yes, please format it there.
Sennel
post Sep 23 2008, 12:30 PM

QUOTE(francischuahcw @ Sep 21 2008, 12:28 PM)
Hi there, is it a new sata hdd? mind list down below thing?
1. ur hdd brand and capacity
2. ur window OS.

If it is still new and you havent formatted it, try go to my computer, right click manage and go to disk management, have a look over there if it detects your new hdd. If yes, please format it there.

Ya,it is new external hard disk i have bought....i tried it but disk management do not detect my new hdd....
hdd brand=SATA
Capacity=160gb
window OS=is window Xp home and window xp pro
francischuahcw
post Sep 23 2008, 02:10 PM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

Hi there,
check in your bios and see whether it is detectable.
Make sure your SATA cable and Power cable not loose.
Wzarul
post Sep 28 2008, 03:05 AM

23 posts

what about when using removable IDE hard disk (notebook 2.5),and the PC do detect the device..but aaa,it seems like some writing arose,something like korean or japanese writing or maybe wingdings font??hmmm,is it norml?
dlwl
post Sep 28 2008, 04:04 PM

4,789 posts

where can i find sata raid drivers for my asus p5n32e-sli mobo? i have the one bundled together with the mobo driver cd, but where do i find the updated version? is it available in nvidia's nforce driver packages?
francischuahcw
post Sep 28 2008, 06:51 PM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

You are mentioning on your mobo for the raid driver. You should have find it in the Asus website rather than nvidia website as Sata Raid is for your HDD not your GC.

dlwl
post Sep 29 2008, 01:08 AM

4,789 posts

of coz i know sata raid drivers are for my hdd and not my gc. nvidia nforce driver packages are for nvidia motherboard chipsets. they are a separate package of the nvidia geforce gc drivers. both are totally different things all together. so you still think better to stick to the driver in the cd? tot of having updated ones..asus website a bit hopeless. very little updates for my mobo model.

This post has been edited by dlwl: Sep 29 2008, 01:10 AM
speedy85
post Sep 29 2008, 04:48 PM

Blank screen due to Harddisc

Blank screen due to Harddisc problem upon logging windows.
Upon logging the windows, i can see the windows icon flashing(loading), but after that i get a blank screen instead of the page asking me to key in my password. If i pluck out my 500GB Seagate Hard disc,i''ll be able to log in. my drive C is not in 500GB HDD. however, if i connect it back, i 'm not able to reach the page where i need to key in my password. thus prevent entry to my computer. i have a lot of important files inside my HDD. Please help me ... there is no words displaying saying i got errror. it's just a blank screen...

now i have try using my friend's personal computer... same condition .. Should i try it with USB connection? HOw can i retrieve the DATA back with minimal cost? THe data is all in the HDD n yet i'm not able to access it... ANy idea how to solve this problem? it's still in warranty till 2011 but my DATA will b gonei dont want trade a new one . PLease help......

since it's able to pass the windows's flashing.. is it considered cant access the BIOS?
please help..
i need to access my HDD. is it considered DEAD?
TSSubKi||er
post Sep 29 2008, 07:42 PM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Sep 29 2008, 01:08 AM)
of coz i know sata raid drivers are for my hdd and not my gc. nvidia nforce driver packages are for nvidia motherboard chipsets. they are a separate package of the nvidia geforce gc drivers. both are totally different things all together. so you still think better to stick to the driver in the cd? tot of having updated ones..asus website a bit hopeless. very little updates for my mobo model.
Yes, it is in the nForce driver package. The driver should be extracted to somewhere in C:\nVidia when you launch the setup. There is a documentation on this but you can give it a try first as its pretty obvious as it names the folder inside with SATARAID or such names.

If you really can't find then you can reply me here or PM me. I did posted a reply on this few pages back when someone asked for it i think. It is almost the same with ATi chipsets as well.

QUOTE(speedy85 @ Sep 29 2008, 04:48 PM)
Blank screen due to Harddisc

Blank screen due to Harddisc problem upon logging windows.
Upon logging the windows, i can see the windows icon flashing(loading), but after that i get a blank screen instead of the page asking me to key in my password. If i pluck out my 500GB Seagate Hard disc,i''ll be able to log in. my drive C is not in 500GB HDD. however, if i connect it back, i 'm not able to reach the page where i need to key in my password. thus prevent entry to my computer. i have a lot of important files inside my HDD. Please help me ... there is no words displaying saying i got errror. it's just a blank screen...

now i have try using my friend's personal computer... same condition .. Should i try  it with USB connection? HOw can i retrieve the DATA back with minimal cost? THe data is all in the HDD n yet i'm not able to access it... ANy idea how to solve this problem? it's still in warranty till 2011 but my DATA will b gonei dont want trade a new one . PLease help......

since it's able to pass the windows's flashing.. is it considered cant access the BIOS?
please help..
i need to access my HDD. is it considered DEAD?
I actually can't imagine how you can get to see the windows icon flashing on the desktop when you can't log in?

Which windows icon that flashes are you talking about?
francischuahcw
post Sep 29 2008, 10:33 PM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

Subkiller, mind i give some idea here?
he is talking about the window log on screen.
With 500Gb hdd attached, he cant even reach that logon screen but without the 500Gb HDD attached, he can logon window with no problem.

Am i interpreting your issue here correctly speedy85?
TSSubKi||er
post Sep 29 2008, 10:43 PM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(francischuahcw @ Sep 29 2008, 10:33 PM)
Subkiller, mind i give some idea here?
he is talking about the window log on screen.
With 500Gb hdd attached, he cant even reach that logon screen but without the 500Gb HDD attached, he can logon window with no problem.

Am i interpreting your issue here correctly speedy85?
That was exactly what i'm thinking at first, but what's the blinking thing he's talking about?

But i think this doesn't have anything to do with my thread as my thread is more to reformat issues with SATA drives?

I recommend him to start a new thread in this section. laugh.gif
Sennel
post Sep 29 2008, 11:48 PM

QUOTE(francischuahcw @ Sep 23 2008, 02:10 PM)
Hi there,
check in your bios and see whether it is detectable.
Make sure your SATA cable and Power cable not loose.
is detectable....not loose...izit my external hard disk break or case?
francischuahcw
post Sep 30 2008, 12:09 AM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

QUOTE(Sennel @ Sep 29 2008, 11:48 PM)
is detectable....not loose...izit my external hard disk break or case?
are you saying that in bios your hdd is detectable?
But if it is a external harddisk,
i dun think it will show in BIOS.

Erm, when you plug your HDD to usb,
did your window make the USB thingy plugged sound? like ding dong?
then wat is the led color of your HDD?
red or green?
I am afraid your HDD is underpower to run.
Can tell me more syntom?
Sennel
post Sep 30 2008, 12:20 AM

QUOTE(francischuahcw @ Sep 30 2008, 12:09 AM)
are you saying that in bios your hdd is detectable?
But if it is a external harddisk,
i dun think it will show in BIOS.

Erm, when you plug your HDD to usb,
did your window make the USB thingy plugged sound? like ding dong?
then wat is the led color of your HDD?
red or green?
I am afraid your HDD is underpower to run.
Can tell me more syntom?
ohoh....got ding dong sound...green colour....but the it dont not show in MY COMPUTER....help mi plz...izit the hdd break?
francischuahcw
post Sep 30 2008, 12:39 AM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

QUOTE(Sennel @ Sep 30 2008, 12:20 AM)
ohoh....got ding dong sound...green colour....but the it dont not show in MY COMPUTER....help mi plz...izit the hdd break?
From the information you give me, there is no problem or what so ever that it work, with the LED indicating green.
So, when it got ding dong, did you feel your HDD run?
You might have look into your Device Manager and see if your HDD is under the USB Serial Bus Controller.
It should have detect your HDD as Mass Storage Device.

Another way round for this is that you can troubleshoot it by taking the HDD out of the casing if you know.
Then test it barely using SATA cable and adaptor.
I hope you get some idea on what i tries to say.
TSSubKi||er
post Sep 30 2008, 12:44 AM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(Sennel @ Sep 30 2008, 12:20 AM)
QUOTE(francischuahcw @ Sep 30 2008, 12:39 AM)
From the information you give me, there is no problem or what so ever that it work, with the LED indicating green.
So, when it got ding dong, did you feel your HDD run?
You might have look into your Device Manager and see if your HDD is under the USB Serial Bus Controller.
It should have detect your HDD as Mass Storage Device.

Another way round for this is that you can troubleshoot it by taking the HDD out of the casing if you know.
Then test it barely using SATA cable and adaptor.
I hope you get some idea on what i tries to say.
I would love it if you all could open a thread on this topic + i think you all will get more help rather than here since not much people check this thread for you issues. rclxms.gif

28 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:54 PM