440 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Proton X50 2020 v1, B-Segment killer

battousai_yiting
post Feb 27 2021, 10:22 PM

705 posts

Just received my car today, any sifus here managed to tune their ICE ?
-kytz-
post Feb 28 2021, 02:00 AM

12,573 posts

So guys, I'm actually having a huge dilemma on whether to install a security tint or non-security tint.

A security tint is a double edge sword.

1) Gives extra protection to passengers.

2) But it could be fatal during emergencies when you need to break the windows to escape.

This is a real dilemma for me.

What are the odds of road rage/attack vs fire/car submerged in water?

rclxub.gif
zero5177
post Feb 28 2021, 02:45 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 28 2021, 02:00 AM)
So guys, I'm actually having a huge dilemma on whether to install a security tint or non-security tint.

2) But it could be fatal during emergencies when you need to break the windows to escape.

rclxub.gif
No one can tell which is better, the non security one may also cost you lives or damaged face area if it couldn't hold up shatters well during accident, worst case blinded by the glass.

Actually to break the glass all you need is a proper tools that is made to break the glass, buy one and keep in the car within your reach.

So my pick will be security but not those thickest 9mm type, Maybe 5 to 6mm will be sufficient to me.
ayamxxx
post Feb 28 2021, 06:56 AM

4,065 posts

rclxub.gif
Tint shop will not install the security tint at windscreen. In case of emergency, they will break the windscreen
clearfish
post Feb 28 2021, 10:05 AM

QUOTE(The 1 Coward @ Feb 20 2021, 08:13 PM)
Just received my FS armour silver X50!

Totally loving every bit of it except for one thing only, the wind noise.

To all the doubters, its very obvious and can be very very very annoying.

Going to try my luck to get Proton to fix it on my first service...
Same here. The cabin noise is most irritating at higher speeds above 80kph; have'nt tested above 100kph, noise could be unbearable on a long drive. Also the floor vibration on the front passenger side is quite noticeable. Don't have this issue with Honda, Toyota suv. Booked the Proton X50 Premium on high expectations and paid for it without test drive. Not sure what causes the excessive cabin noise and vibration but need to dampen it to enjoy the ride and the audio. Anyone found a solution yet?
contestchris
post Feb 28 2021, 03:10 PM

5,587 posts

Guys, some questions:

1) Is the RM500 booking fee fully refundable? Need to have a special reason (e.g. loan reject) or can be any reason whatsoever?

2) I'm gonna buy the Executive variant (no add-ons). How long am I expected to wait for the car?

3) If I receive my car after June 2021 (say, in September), am I qualified for the SST exemption price?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by contestchris: Feb 28 2021, 03:22 PM
invest2229
post Feb 28 2021, 04:42 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 28 2021, 03:10 PM)
Guys, some questions:

1) Is the RM500 booking fee fully refundable? Need to have a special reason (e.g. loan reject) or can be any reason whatsoever?

2) I'm gonna buy the Executive variant (no add-ons). How long am I expected to wait for the car?

3) If I receive my car after June 2021 (say, in September), am I qualified for the SST exemption price?

Thanks!
The best choice for you is simply walk in to Proton show room and you can get more detail answer you want.
-kytz-
post Feb 28 2021, 05:10 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Feb 28 2021, 02:45 AM)
No one can tell which is better, the non security one may also cost you lives or damaged face area if it couldn't hold up shatters well during accident, worst case blinded by the glass.

Actually to break the glass all you need is a proper tools that is made to break the glass, buy one and keep in the car within your reach.

So my pick will be security but not those thickest 9mm type, Maybe 5 to 6mm will be sufficient to me.
Yes, in fact, the security tint will absorb some impact from an accident.

Maybe you're right, perhaps 5 to 6 mil tint is not that strong and it would be easier to break the glass from the inside. All those videos on youtube on security tint showed how many blows you need to hit before the glass shatters, perhaps those are like 8 to 9 mil.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 28 2021, 06:56 AM)
Tint shop will not install the security tint at windscreen. In case of emergency, they will break the windscreen
In an emergency, you only have seconds to escape, how are you going to go all the way to the back, break the glass and escape.

It's actually easier to install non-security tint on the back 2 windows and escape from there hmm.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Feb 28 2021, 05:10 PM
-kytz-
post Feb 28 2021, 05:25 PM

12,573 posts

Does anyone know if the Proton X50 have laminated or tempered glass for the side windows?
diners
post Mar 1 2021, 12:04 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

rclxub.gif
same like that house window grill dilemma... scared thief come in but also scare cannot go out in case of fire emergency

anyway - go for security tint for door windows, but not too thick. it still can be broken and some push, the reason for security tint is so that the glass wont pecah-pecahan but stick in 1 piece (that's why need to push). however, touchwood if really accident, the airbags inflation is enough to help u break the front windscreen (i read somewhere, it is suppose to do so), then u can cabut from front windscreen.
P/s: front windscreen is just normal tint, wont be security tint....

-kytz-
post Mar 1 2021, 01:21 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Mar 1 2021, 12:04 AM)
same like that house window grill dilemma... scared thief come in but also scare cannot go out in case of fire emergency

anyway - go for security tint for door windows, but not too thick. it still can be broken and some push, the reason for security tint is so that the glass wont pecah-pecahan but stick in 1 piece (that's why need to push). however, touchwood if really accident, the airbags inflation is enough to help u break the front windscreen (i read somewhere, it is suppose to do so), then u can cabut from front windscreen.
P/s: front windscreen is just normal tint, wont be security tint....

Thanks but front windscreen is usually laminated glass which really is hard to break from what I read hmm.gif
n8210
post Mar 1 2021, 09:14 AM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 28 2021, 03:10 PM)
Guys, some questions:

Thanks!
1. As long as bank loan not yet approved, according to my agent. No need special reason. You can change your mind, switch to another showroom, or simply need to pay rent, and then ask for a refund.

2. Different showroom different waiting time, and also depends on your colour.

3. Todate, the announcement is no more exemption after June, but govt can announced a pro-long exemption. But chances very slim. However, nobody have crystal ball, so we all don't know.
kp93300
post Mar 1 2021, 10:12 AM

40 posts

Is there a factory tint already ? Notice that the side door glass panel is darker than the front windscreen
ddddashhhh
post Mar 1 2021, 11:48 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(kp93300 @ Mar 1 2021, 10:12 AM)
Is there a factory tint already ? Notice that the side door glass panel is darker than the front windscreen
Don't think so. But the top n side indeed darker. Front windshiled is hot as hell when driving. Need to tint.

ddddashhhh
post Mar 1 2021, 11:57 AM

50 posts

rclxub.gif
My family member accident case make me think twice. His daughter face is injured heavily by the glass break at side mirror when impact. Sometimes not bout robberies only. Accident impact a lot more. Till now my pretty niece still got scars on her face. As for fatal emergency. I ever take out the headrest before. Which seems quite easy with X50. Can use that to break window if needed. From What I heard. Breaking the window inside is easier than outside. But I nvr try before. Maybe U can ask the installer to demo before u install their security tint.
zero5177
post Mar 1 2021, 12:30 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(ddddashhhh @ Mar 1 2021, 11:57 AM)
My family member accident case make me think twice. His daughter face is injured heavily by the glass break at side mirror when impact. Sometimes not bout robberies only. Accident impact a lot more. Till now my pretty niece still got scars on her face. As for fatal emergency. I ever take out the headrest before. Which seems quite easy with X50. Can use that to break window if needed. From What I heard. Breaking the window inside is easier than outside. But I nvr try before. Maybe U can ask the installer to demo before u install their security tint.
Yes I also have similar case with my relative accident in car without tinted, got rid of his eye sight up to 70% for one side and another completely blind.
n8210
post Mar 1 2021, 12:31 PM

2,678 posts

I am not in Labuan, but can I register to get Labuan's plate number that starts with LG XXXX ?? Who knows? Please advice.
http://jpj.my/JPJ_Latest_Number_Plates.htm
V12Kompressor
post Mar 1 2021, 12:37 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Mar 1 2021, 12:31 PM)
I am not in Labuan, but can I register to get Labuan's plate number that starts with LG XXXX ?? Who knows? Please advice.
cannot.
ddddashhhh
post Mar 1 2021, 02:10 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 1 2021, 12:30 PM)
Yes I also have similar case with my relative accident in car without tinted, got rid of his eye sight up to 70% for one side and another completely blind.
Sad to hear. Malang tidak berbau.
amscouzach57
post Mar 1 2021, 02:28 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Mar 1 2021, 12:31 PM)
You should be able to register any state number plate from any JPJ office.

What's important is which area the road tax is registered to.

For example,

One of my cars is registered to Sabah number plate in Semenanjung Malaysia.

I bought the Sabah plate at Padang Jawa JPJ & register the car there.

440 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0190sec    1.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:11 AM