Proton X50 2020 v1, B-Segment killer

invest2229
post Feb 7 2021, 11:03 PM

719 posts

Anyone can share X50 flagship fuel performance ?
invest2229
post Feb 8 2021, 03:27 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 8 2021, 09:17 AM)
Expect it around 8.1L/100km towards high to 10L. Dont expect it to has FC as NA engine.

Its a turbo engine
8.1L/100km is not that bad but my friend new car still within 1000 km , the fuel performance like drinking water @ 12.1 L / 100km. Probably need to wait after 1k service.
invest2229
post Feb 17 2021, 02:43 PM

719 posts

Hi X50 Flagship owner,

So far do you notice any issue or problem from your X50 flagship model ? I noticed my unit with 3 issues :
1. Side mirror at driver side can tune toward maximum to the right
2. The window at driver side hear wind blowing sound when drive fast at 60 km and above.
3. The Proton link can't connect from vehicle. The salesman told me the system down since more than 1 month ago.. ):

Appreciate your sharing.

invest2229
post Feb 17 2021, 09:04 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Feb 17 2021, 03:26 PM)
My experience as follows:-

1) No issue for me as I'm a bit short (1.69m in height), the side mirror is a known issue for taller person. No fixed as I known.

2) Seldom hear wind sound for me at high speed 80km/h~100km/h, I did hear few times and I think depending on the wind attack angle. For me when I hear it, it is obviously coming from side mirror.
I do see in FB, few users experience same problem like you. Perhaps you could try go back to SC to check the door seal to make sure it is assembled correctly.
Additionally, you could also try install sound proof in the tweeter housing near the door. Some reported it is working for them. I did put sound proof on it when my car went for tinting on next day.

In my personal opinion, I do feel the door seals are bit too soft, if the door didn't align properly, possibility the rubber may not seal properly. Soft supposed to work well, but I do see the negative side, if the door didn't aligned properly and closed properly, there may be gap or not tight enough near hinge area.

3) For the Proton link, when I received the car, I faced the same issue, not link. Thus I informed SA and also Proton in their FB. The response it sort of standard, server issue and my SA told me the linking process is still manual process using hard-copies, thus I believe Proton maybe overwhelming with car registration and also big issued after they migrated to new system has cause alot issues and delay.

Back to the point here, after notified 2x Proton in FB, I received the sms message after a week stating "Dear vehicle owner: Your SIM card has been activated...".
When I first open the Proton Link app, I didn't see the car. I have to logout and login again in order for the app to sync with server for me to select X50.
I got my car on 24/Jan (a week delay due to Proton system was down) and only received the sms on 5/Feb.

Hope this help.
Thanks for sharing. In order to activate Proton link, i got to feedback through FB or wait the server resume back to operation ?

Btw, i noticed 4g at X50 itself is working but just can't login to Proton link from the car.

invest2229
post Feb 17 2021, 09:07 PM

719 posts

Anyone know how to open power boot when I'm inside the car without remote control?

When to open power boot inside the car can using remote control, is there any button available from driver seat?
invest2229
post Feb 21 2021, 09:20 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(The 1 Coward @ Feb 20 2021, 08:13 PM)
Just received my FS armour silver X50!

Totally loving every bit of it except for one thing only, the wind noise.

To all the doubters, its very obvious and can be very very very annoying.

Going to try my luck to get Proton to fix it on my first service...
Same to me with wind noise issue at driver seat window and the rest look ok. Check with salesman and saying is common issue.. bangwall.gif
invest2229
post Feb 27 2021, 01:56 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ Feb 24 2021, 11:20 AM)
I have purchased DSP and did 4-doors 2 layer soundproof, so the audio system is much better now.
Bro, how much you invest for DSP? The standard X50 car system is really tak boleh pergi. Think to upgrade.
invest2229
post Feb 27 2021, 01:59 PM

719 posts

Hi All,

Please share if your X50 able to solve wind sound from side windows. Thanks.

TIA.

invest2229
post Feb 28 2021, 04:42 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 28 2021, 03:10 PM)
Guys, some questions:

1) Is the RM500 booking fee fully refundable? Need to have a special reason (e.g. loan reject) or can be any reason whatsoever?

2) I'm gonna buy the Executive variant (no add-ons). How long am I expected to wait for the car?

3) If I receive my car after June 2021 (say, in September), am I qualified for the SST exemption price?

Thanks!
The best choice for you is simply walk in to Proton show room and you can get more detail answer you want.
invest2229
post Mar 4 2021, 02:32 PM

719 posts

Any idea where we can see official fuel consumption from Proton website?

I try to relate official fuel performance vs what it shown in my meter at 11.4 L / 100 km. There is the big gap and wanted to know what is actual performance.

invest2229
post Mar 5 2021, 08:57 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Mar 4 2021, 10:57 PM)
City drive and short distance FC is terrible for x50, even CR-V turbo much better than x50 despite 1.5 ton
My milleage only run 400 km.. Saw the fuel performance not right per what salesman said. Hence want to look at official site whether they mention what is expected fuel performance.
invest2229
post Mar 5 2021, 09:21 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Mar 5 2021, 09:18 AM)
whats the FC you get in city drive?
My reading from Proton Link app is 11.4 L/ 100 km which is very way out from what published from car review site.
invest2229
post Mar 5 2021, 11:27 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Mar 5 2021, 10:57 AM)
Manual calculate more accurate, the FC will be even worse
Have you perform manual calculation and mind to share the FC performance?
invest2229
post Mar 5 2021, 12:28 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Mar 5 2021, 11:49 AM)
I'm getting 9.3km/L, normal mode and very light foot
Not that good, 1 L can run only 9.3km. Can I know your total running millage ?

Salesman told me after 1k km service will improve after engine tuning.
invest2229
post Mar 5 2021, 03:12 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Mar 5 2021, 02:13 PM)
600+ not yet 1k, how much can improve after 1k service?
My Salesman told me "For Flagship model. 6.4L / 100km".. her over quoted ? blink.gif
invest2229
post Mar 8 2021, 08:29 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ Mar 6 2021, 05:00 PM)
In my meter, it's 13.5 km/L or 7.4 L/km. Manually also around there. 70% highway (but 50% of the highway is Federal Highway, getting more jam also especially these few days).

Eco mode during low speed (jam/city drive) and Normal mode in smooth traffic highway. Sport mode during overtaking or for fun sometimes.
13.5 km/L is not that bad. Thanks for sharing.
invest2229
post Mar 9 2021, 12:17 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(steven789 @ Mar 9 2021, 11:51 AM)
For long time didn't check for updates. Today noticed there's new version.

Do you able to identify what new from this software update?
invest2229
post Mar 11 2021, 02:29 PM

719 posts

Anyone improve X50 audio system with DSP ? If yes, please share.
invest2229
post Mar 11 2021, 04:40 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(adkiller @ Mar 11 2021, 03:52 PM)
You will need to get one that is CanBus compatible.
Not sure what is your budget, so can't recommend.
Lately saw from FB, installing DSP ( China brand ) cost about RM 600. Not sure anyone experience with the sound quality ?

To be honest, original X50 sound quality really blush.gif

This post has been edited by invest2229: Mar 11 2021, 04:41 PM
invest2229
post Mar 12 2021, 08:44 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(ltcbomd @ Mar 11 2021, 09:12 PM)
I installed one. The sound quality really improve one step higher than the original wan. Sound clarity and bass more obvious now. For me the sound quality is up to par now and make me want to stay at car longer to listen song.. whistling.gif

DSP1
DSP2
Good to know the sound system improvement with this system. I'm from Penang and any place I can install this or buy then DIY ?

How about sound proof improvement from sides windows? When drive more than 80 km/h, my X50 got wind blowing sound.. ranting.gif

0.0332sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:09 AM