quiksilve83
post Apr 28 2022, 04:15 PM

14 posts

Very Dope knobs, I've tested it fits the GMMK pro perfectly as well. smile.gif
horns
post May 3 2022, 05:55 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

recently i bought some generic 60% tray-mount plastic cases from ymdk, in order for me to revisit ways of improving typing feel for builds with such cases. in general, plastic cases are nice, because they have no pings.

tbh, this type of generic plastic cases do requires things to be taken care of. also, warped cases are common. however, these are fixable to certain extents to have acceptable outcomes. they have their own short comings and physical limits. if you expected characteristics that are absent in plastic cases, just find others that come with such characteristics.

here's a list of basic things that i think worth the efforts to be implemented with such combos. these suggestions are based on my preferences. (e.g., clean singular key sound; minimal vibrations during typing; my builds don't need to be rgb-friendly) you should make your own adjustments:

1. case. imo, it's better to fill the space up with relatively soft vibration-absorbing/sound-dampening materials between pcb and case. in some builds, i use cotton + paper towel. (i.e., fill the case cavities up with cotton; then few layers of paper towel on top of standoffs) material wise, it's up to you, e.g. you can use silicon to fill up the case.

2. bottom of case. you can try eva foam strips, instead of stock rubber feets.

3. screws. use m2 x 6 hex screws if possible, so that you can add rubber o-rings below pcb. DO NOT overtighten the screws. secure the screws just enough to hold the pcb, and only at both sides of the case.

usually, the typing feel will improve, compared to the ones without them.

cruzzmz
post May 6 2022, 05:10 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

So new project to build a frenkenswitch inspired by nasi lemak sweat.gif whistling.gif

it will be based on linear switch .. still waiting for the penyu switch to be used as based to arrived.
Tested below on leftover faker emerald as bottom. Stem and spring from akko radiant red. Top from rk brown switch.

over all nice travel and sound ... more clack than harimau switch though rclxub.gif ... but need to wait for the correct bottom to test again.

Will share again the result later when finished

Nasi Lemak Switch

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: May 6 2022, 05:16 PM
krayden
post May 6 2022, 07:23 PM

578 posts

I think your top should be opaque like boba u4t non rgb or that gat yellow pro milky to represent the santan rice.
And recolor the spring to brown as ikan bilis.

This post has been edited by krayden: May 6 2022, 07:24 PM
cruzzmz
post May 6 2022, 07:54 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ May 6 2022, 07:23 PM)
I think your top should be opaque like boba u4t non rgb or that gat yellow pro milky to represent the santan rice.
Actually I have the non RGB top one but white one since i dont have boba u4t sweat.gif .. maybe should try that too .. thanks for the suggestion

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: May 6 2022, 08:44 PM
niakulah
post May 6 2022, 08:38 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ May 6 2022, 07:23 PM)
Boba bottom and some green top and we have kuih seri muka. Yum.
cruzzmz
post May 6 2022, 08:44 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ May 6 2022, 08:38 PM)
Boba bottom and some green top and we have kuih seri muka. Yum.
hahaha with green stem ... can be next project rclxub.gif whistling.gif
krayden
post May 6 2022, 09:20 PM

578 posts

After that no choice but to get drop keyserine clear or SA clear keycaps so you can admire your handiwork
cruzzmz
post May 7 2022, 10:33 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ May 6 2022, 09:20 PM)
After that no choice but to get drop keyserine clear or SA clear keycaps so you can admire your handiwork
Then I will be in trouble typing since I'm not a pro in typing without the indication
sweat.gif

cruzzmz
post May 7 2022, 02:25 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

sorry to spam ...
the latest i can do with the switch ...
top white (faker panda), bottom transparent green (faker emerald), stem red & spring (akko red radiant) ..
sound wise still same like before high thock

the penyu switch cant fit the red stem sweat.gif

gonna live with it for a while hahaha but going to do the alphabet only

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: May 7 2022, 02:28 PM
post May 8 2022, 12:59 PM

15 posts

hi is it okay to put keycaps in a jar? I know about putting switches in jars but I wonder if it's okay to put keycaps in a jar. the box that came with the keycap set do take a lot of space
quadcube
post May 8 2022, 08:47 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(69420666 @ May 8 2022, 12:59 PM)
hi is it okay to put keycaps in a jar? I know about putting switches in jars but I wonder if it's okay to put keycaps in a jar. the box that came with the keycap set do take a lot of space
for PBT ones should be fine. maybe ABS enough soft and the edge scratch each other? biggrin.gif
cruzzmz
post May 9 2022, 12:41 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(69420666 @ May 8 2022, 12:59 PM)
i always put it in a ziplock hahaha
i always go for pbt one only whistling.gif

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: May 9 2022, 12:43 PM
horns
post May 10 2022, 11:39 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

for those who like cherry profile, you should try out mcr profile as well.

from melgeek's MCR Horseman page:

The MCR keycaps profile designed from the original profile of Cherry. We enlarged the overall size a little, so the actual finger contact surface is bigger, also we make them more round and higher.

Of course ,MCR is still similar to the original Cherry Profile, ABS material and Doubleshot legends, medium thickness, it's basically no much difference from GMK for typing. But with more delicate surface treatment and a brand new unique fonts, so the recognition will be better than others.
gaps between keys are relatively narrower compared to cherry profile key caps.

also, i like the key cap trays from melgeek. it's like domikey's compact size, but the top covers that secure keys are relatively shallower, so it's easier to take them off.

edit: typing feel wise, it's slight different from cherry profile (maybe due to the flatter surfaces; only noticable with side-by-side comparisons imo)

as for other parts of the key caps, like legends, i think they are ok. (but they use a different font)

This post has been edited by horns: May 10 2022, 11:48 AM
Nshade
post May 11 2022, 11:17 PM

106 posts

I just got my 1st mechanical keyboard... so very newbie but i had to say I am having extreme difficulty to remove outemu switches.
krayden
post May 11 2022, 11:36 PM

578 posts

Jeez I hope its because you dun have a switch remover tool. I'd hate to think that you're forcibly removing soldered switches
Nshade
post May 11 2022, 11:49 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ May 11 2022, 11:36 PM)
Jeez I hope its because you dun have a switch remover tool. I'd hate to think that you're forcibly removing soldered switches
I am using the switch remover tool which came with the keyboard. It's Armageddon SMK12R, and they stated the switches are hotswap-able.
I looked online, it seems i'm not alone.
cruzzmz
post May 12 2022, 09:39 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

Some switches are very hard to pull ... u need to get the right angle sometimes ... i had some issue with my current switch also after swapping the default one

all the best
takenoko P
post May 14 2022, 08:41 PM

Probation

hi all, is there any physical store in klang valley that allows testing keyboards now?

i wanna test switches before committing to a purchase. tbh i already bought a switch tester, but still can't decide whether i prefer linear or tactile.

i think i will be able to decide if i can test type on a whole keyboard instead of only a few keys lol. but i don't want to spend on full sets of switches just for testing, you see. prefer to save money where i can coz i'm kinda broke at the moment, but also wanna treat myself to a nice keeb for my birthday haha.

125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0389sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:07 PM