[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Jun 18 2020, 01:12 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(doomvein @ Jun 18 2020, 12:21 PM)
prefer physical shop because just want to cash and carry . anyway thank smile.gif
ok

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 18 2020, 12:29 PM)
I'm a Facebook noob. Don't know how to vote.

Just scrolled down to the TX films group buy. Some people have received theirs! And my order was placed a few days before the post.

Took only 10 days for it to get from TX in Cali, to LA, to Taiwan, and then to KL.

Then yesterday only cleared Kastam. Took Kastam 7 days to clear it!!!
bangwall.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  ranting.gif
that's not the voting post. you can look the actual vote page with group search. keywords should be 'crowdsourcing vote' i think.

i guess it's better to just get stuff from local gbs or whatever shops that are at aliexpress/taobao/tmall possible. quovadis123 might have extras also for tx switch films and springs.

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 18 2020, 12:45 PM)
Not even 5 minutes after I posted this, I heard the postman. Was it my films??? No...but this.
[attachmentid=10518680]
A box of connectors. Tested them and the 5 pin is the correct size for my IKBC. Stay tuned for a custom coiled cable for my non-removable-cable prebuilt sometime in the near future.

It's this one btw:
#Aliexpress MYR 7.50  10%OFF | 230pcs PH2.0 2p 3p 4p 5 pin 2.0mm Pitch Terminal Kit / Housing / Pin Header JST Connector Wire Connectors Adaptor PH Kits
https://a.aliexpress.com/_dURxoda

Ordered 5 May already arrived.
Switch stickers ordered 19 April still MIA. Sigh....
oh you're doing a detachable cable mod? this is very nice!

niakulah
post Jun 18 2020, 01:24 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 18 2020, 01:12 PM)
ok
that's not the voting post. you can look the actual vote page with group search. keywords should be 'crowdsourcing vote' i think.

i guess it's better to just get stuff from local gbs or whatever shops that are at aliexpress/taobao/tmall possible. quovadis123 might have extras also for tx switch films and springs.
oh you're doing a detachable cable mod? this is very nice!
Yeah...I'm stubborn. lol

I don't know if it's going to be detachable. But definitely coiled. Maybe aviator or lemo connector in between to make it detachable. Aviator is big and chunky to me, but lemo is expensive.
horns
post Jun 18 2020, 03:14 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 18 2020, 01:24 PM)
Yeah...I'm stubborn. lol

I don't know if it's going to be detachable. But definitely coiled. Maybe aviator or lemo connector in between to make it detachable. Aviator is big and chunky to me, but lemo is expensive.
haha

right it's just an individual preference. i prefer boards with detachable cables so i can cabut and jalan

--

got the giant v2 switches made by jwk (the manufacturer who makes durock switches). this switch has two things that i'm interested in:

1. gold-plated progressive springs, 62g;
2. transparent housings (i suspect it's the same for typical durock switches that have become popular these days).

from my brief tests on switches only:

1. switch top wobbles are common. (randomly picked 5 switches to test; 3 of them have it) switch films are required;
2. smooth at stock (pre-lubed at factory with low-viscous lube); it's oily from the outside also; pretty similar to gateron ink

niakulah
post Jun 18 2020, 04:09 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 18 2020, 12:57 PM)
try ask here, i think the admins there own a shop. not sure what shop anyway.
with ur budget, i think u can get a leopold. a very recommended prebuilt kibod.
reading regarding ur films, i pity u. if i were u, i also kinda angry oledy. knnccb  ranting.gif
bcoz yes, i bought from garage sales, and the gb, both are with me safely oledy.

inb4,
console.gif
Spring 7 peket ikat tepi mana?
irsyadfy
post Jun 18 2020, 06:05 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 18 2020, 04:09 PM)
Spring 7 peket ikat tepi mana?
comes together with the films gb.

tp tak beli 7 la.
bought 4 only. 65g, 2x67g, and 70g.
and the seller ikat mati, safer it seems. lul
casualscroller P
post Jun 18 2020, 09:51 PM

Probation

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jun 8 2020, 10:17 PM)
Ok Looking forward hearing from ur update!

Meantime Im reading this.. and got a bit more understanding on the suitable keycaps:

Tecware Phantom L Review
Just had some time to assemble the new keycaps! For RM18 not bad, some of the bottom edges have some residue that can be sanded off. The top surface is pretty rough too, almost a sandy gritty feel.
I'm pretty sure they're OEM profile too, but they fit and have similar height from bottom of keycap to the base of the keyboard. However they are much higher on the top face as you can see from the images below. Overall not bad for the price, but I'll be looking for some better ones in the future! They definitely look better than the original keys HAHA.

https://pictr.com/images/2020/06/18/7HrjRv.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/image/7HrQrV][img]https://pictr.com/images/2020/06/18/7HrQrV.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/image/7HrTd5][img]https://pictr.com/images/2020/06/18/7HrTd5.md.jpg
niakulah
post Jun 19 2020, 05:26 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

If I had a choice between stainless steel and brass plates, which one would give me more thock? I'm assuming brass as it is the softer material?
horns
post Jun 19 2020, 08:20 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 19 2020, 05:26 PM)
If I had a choice between stainless steel and brass plates, which one would give me more thock? I'm assuming brass as it is the softer material?
it should be brass, with sa profile key caps.

niakulah
post Jun 19 2020, 08:40 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 19 2020, 08:20 PM)
it should be brass, with sa profile key caps.
I thought so. Thanks.

I'm still on OEM profile ABS for now. Waiting on a KAT group buy, which I'm told is also very thocky.
nbotsduo
post Jun 19 2020, 10:48 PM

25 posts

Sifu, need recomendation.which one is better, phantom tkl or ck530?
I read that gateron brown switch is better than outemu.
horns
post Jun 19 2020, 11:12 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 19 2020, 08:40 PM)
I thought so. Thanks.

I'm still on OEM profile ABS for now. Waiting on a KAT group buy, which I'm told is also very thocky.
oh ok haha

i don't have this kat profile caps yet. maybe some days i will try it out.

QUOTE(nbotsduo @ Jun 19 2020, 10:48 PM)
Sifu, need recomendation.which one is better, phantom tkl or ck530?
I read that gateron brown switch is better than outemu.
you should get phantom elite tkl + gateron switches.

switch hot-swapping might be what you want in case you wanna try out different switches.
taf89
post Jun 20 2020, 06:33 AM

392 posts

guys, do you know where i can find case for my old cm quickfire stealth? even plastic case is okay for me.
niakulah
post Jun 20 2020, 09:20 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Jun 20 2020, 06:33 AM)
guys, do you know where i can find case for my old cm quickfire stealth? even plastic case is okay for me.
Gmart might have. I know he buys broken MKB and parts.
irsyadfy
post Jun 20 2020, 11:09 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Jun 20 2020, 06:33 AM)
just curious. what happen to ur case?
taf89
post Jun 20 2020, 11:48 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 20 2020, 11:09 AM)
just curious. what happen to ur case?
It has rubberised finishing. After 7 years, it became sticky. The only case that i found was YMDK CNC case for filco/old cm87.. quite expensive..

saishu
post Jun 21 2020, 03:29 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Jun 20 2020, 11:48 AM)
It has rubberised finishing. After 7 years, it became sticky. The only case that i found was YMDK CNC case for filco/old cm87.. quite expensive..
yeah, the quickfires are puta, the rubberised coating will peel after awhile and become sticky. time for a new keyboard!
paiseh91 P
post Jun 21 2020, 07:59 PM

Probation

Hello, people. New to the LYN forum. I have 2 things to ask.

1: Any idea if Tecware's going to restock on their Phantom Elite TKLs? Or should I wait for their next version?
2: Any tips for modding currently owned keyboards? I was inspired from this razer blackwidow mod post on reddit, which spark my interest to mod it. I currently have Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014 ver. & Blackwidow X Chroma TE.

Thanks in advance.
irsyadfy
post Jun 21 2020, 10:13 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Jun 20 2020, 11:48 AM)
ok make sense.

if u have found a replacement and decided to let go the old one.
im interested. whistling.gif

anyway, as far as im using the cm quickfire, thats the only aftermarket case i have ever found too.
Currylaksa
post Jun 21 2020, 10:55 PM

1,616 posts

Finally lubed, clipped and band-aided my stabilizers biggrin.gif feels gooding mang

QUOTE(paiseh91 @ Jun 21 2020, 07:59 PM)
1: Any idea if Tecware's going to restock on their Phantom Elite TKLs? Or should I wait for their next version?
2: Any tips for modding currently owned keyboards? I was inspired from this razer blackwidow mod post on reddit, which spark my interest to mod it. I currently have Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014 ver. & Blackwidow X Chroma TE.
1. no idea, Tecware seems more keen in pushing the low-profile TKL

2. it will be a very unpleasant experience to de-solder the switches from the keyboard sad.gif
niakulah
post Jun 21 2020, 11:31 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

Some of the good stuff has arrived. Pretty underwhelming to look at. How do you guys think I should consume this? Pop some in my mouth? Snort it?

Anyway....I screwed up again. Killed a switch while filming it. I thought I'd learnt my lesson to be patient, but I guess waiting for films to arrive since April really triggered me...

So I got my TX films. Tried it on 3 switches. Nice. Very snug. Totally no housing wobble. Then I noticed that 2 out of 3 were not even clipped in properly. Huh. OK.

So I noted that and proceeded to film all my switches. To compensate I started closing the housings harder, just jamming them down. I was thinking I can do all least half the switches tonight. Then I accidentally jammed down on a housing that was on backwards...and effed up the leaf. Spent almost an hour trying to salvage it. I just couldn't reshape it properly. I could get it to feel right, but the circuit was not closing.

Now I'm 1 switch short...

I do have a bunch of testers. And a bunch of non RGB browns harvested from my previous dead board. Though I kinda like the idea of getting a few box navies to use as Caps/Num/Scroll lock. Yet more waiting if I go down that route and order them....sigh

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:09 AM