mini orchard
post Jan 7 2023, 09:27 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(swch @ Jan 7 2023, 08:27 PM)
Hi sifus,

Looking for advice on waterproofing in a bare unit in Saffron Hill Denai Alam. Issue is located in the master bedroom. Appreciate for any advice on proper waterproofing method.

Thank you!

Cannot comment without photo above the leak.
steventan85
post Jan 9 2023, 09:05 AM

6,446 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jan 6 2023, 05:35 PM)
haha ok ok

but i think i used more than 1 plasticine for each drain, so you might need to press more into it  tongue.gif
done another ponding test last saturday . confirmed leaking as can see water mark from downstair....
bbgoat
post Jan 23 2023, 09:25 AM

6,614 posts

Hi guys, have water leak down to below condo unit problem. Looks like it is from the shower room.

Instead of hacking the tiles, is the epoxy or some so called nano type of solution can solve it permanently ? I notice Lazada/Shopee selling some China made solution for the floor, can DIY ?

Thanks !
BlackPen
post Jan 29 2023, 12:00 AM

GOD Hand
867 posts

Hi Sifu,

Recently keep on raining, my flat roof/car porch roof converted to balcony with tiles.

The flat roof got leaking & the water sip through the tiles/concrete slab and the soffit of slab with painting peeling off (I bet previous Contactor did a bad waterproofing).

There is 2 solution I can thick of :-

Option 1
Further to that, I'm thinking not to do any hacking to tiles and FB keep pop out the waterproofing specialist promoting waterproofing membranes lay on top on the slab/tiles.

I would like to ask anyone here did this waterproofing membrane and solve the water sip thru the slabs/tiles? Curious did this solve the problem.

Picture found online.

Option 2

Clean off the surface of the tiles, apply 2 to 3 layers waterproofing on top of the tiles (e.g Nippon FLEX 200 or PENTENS T-200 UV)

This post has been edited by BlackPen: Jan 29 2023, 12:06 AM
mini orchard
post Jan 29 2023, 10:05 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Jan 29 2023, 12:00 AM)
Hi Sifu,

Recently keep on raining, my flat roof/car porch roof converted to balcony with tiles.

The flat roof got leaking & the water sip through the tiles/concrete slab and the soffit of slab with painting peeling off (I bet previous Contactor did a bad waterproofing).[I]

There is 2 solution I can thick of :-

[b]Option 1

Further to that, I'm thinking not to do any hacking to tiles and FB keep pop out the waterproofing specialist promoting waterproofing membranes lay on top on the slab/tiles.

I would like to ask anyone here did this waterproofing membrane and solve the water sip thru the slabs/tiles? Curious did this solve the problem.

Picture found online.

Option 2

Clean off the surface of the tiles, apply 2 to 3 layers waterproofing on top of the tiles (e.g Nippon FLEX 200 or PENTENS T-200 UV)

Waterproofing wont last forever.

Reasons for leak ....

1. Wear and tear.
2. Blockage in drainage
3. Crack on slab
4. Lossen tiles grouting
5. Ponding
BlackPen
post Jan 29 2023, 12:58 PM

GOD Hand
867 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jan 29 2023, 10:05 AM)
Waterproofing wont last forever.

Reasons for leak ....

1. Wear and tear.
2. Blockage in drainage
3. Crack on slab
4. Lossen tiles grouting
5. Ponding
Yes, waterproofing won’t last long as require maintenance every few years. That why I’m seeking opinions of the options above.

Chrysella
post Jan 30 2023, 06:51 PM

51 posts

Anyone has issues after did the Epoxy resin coating? Anyone has done the coating for more than 5 years?
Chrysella
post Jan 30 2023, 06:51 PM

51 posts

Anyone has issues after did the Epoxy resin coating? Anyone has done the coating for more than 5 years?
kens88`
post Feb 4 2023, 10:29 PM

397 posts

Hi all.
Asking a simple question: I have done renovation on a 30 year old landed property in PJS area. When I ask about ground floor bathroom waterproofing, contractor say didn't do as ground floor not necessary. How true is this?

If need to do, is grouting and fill with waterproof epoxy sufficient?
myshiokmore
post Feb 24 2023, 01:23 PM

30 posts

May i know for a bathroom leaking, internal piping.
To break the tiles (on the wall, not floor tiles), replace the water pipe, then replace new tiles (estimate break 5-6 tiles).
How much normally does it cost?

Thank you Gurus
mushigen
post Feb 24 2023, 08:54 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(myshiokmore @ Feb 24 2023, 01:23 PM)
May i know for a bathroom leaking, internal piping.
To break the tiles (on the wall, not floor tiles), replace the water pipe, then replace new tiles (estimate break 5-6 tiles).
How much normally does it cost?

Thank you Gurus
Another point to consider is the availability of same-colour new tiles.
BlackPen
post Mar 4 2023, 10:46 PM

GOD Hand
867 posts

QUOTE(kens88` @ Feb 4 2023, 10:29 PM)
Hi all.
Asking a simple question: I have done renovation on a 30 year old landed property in PJS area. When I ask about ground floor bathroom waterproofing, contractor say didn't do as ground floor not necessary. How true is this?

Hi, even construction for landed they do not apply any waterproofing at ground floor toilet.
blibala
post Apr 12 2023, 01:38 AM

1,909 posts

Hi. I have recurring car porch flat roof leaking .. Repaired once by developer by applying penten t200. It lasts for one year only and leaking is getting serious.

I am considering torch on membrane type. Anyone knkws roughly what is the price?

Or any other suggestions on waterprofing method.

Thanks in advance for providing info.

reph05
post Apr 17 2023, 09:36 AM

Hi Sifus. Don't think this is entirely the right place for this question but feel free to redirect me to other thread if you think it helps.

I would like to raise the height of my floor, to the green line level as shown in the picture below. (7cm difference) in order to conceal the pipes.

So far I received two options from different contractor, definitely love if someone can provide their two cents.

Option 1: Just taruk concrete on top of existing tiles (but need to remove the skirting) to raise it so no need to reapply water proofing.
- My concern is can the concrete lekat to existing tile?
- I learned the water proofing usually sapu up the wall level too, but given the skirting removed kan need to reapply again. How can no water proofing needed? πŸ˜…

Option 2: Remove all the tiles + skirt + reapply water proofing + taruk concrete
- This sounds like much more reasonable to me, but of course also need to fork out more money for tile removal + water proofing.

Was thinking to go with Option 1, but the red flag made me reconsider again. Please advise sifu2 sekalian πŸ™‡β€β™‚οΈ

This post has been edited by reph05: Apr 17 2023, 09:39 AM
mushigen
post Apr 17 2023, 08:58 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(reph05 @ Apr 17 2023, 09:36 AM)
Hi Sifus. Don't think this is entirely the right place for this question but feel free to redirect me to other thread if you think it helps.

I would like to raise the height of my floor, to the green line level as shown in the picture below. (7cm difference) in order to conceal the pipes.

So far I received two options from different contractor, definitely love if someone can provide their two cents.

Option 1: Just taruk concrete on top of existing tiles (but need to remove the skirting) to raise it  so no need to reapply water proofing.
- My concern is can the concrete lekat to existing tile?
- I learned the water proofing usually sapu up the wall level too, but given the skirting removed kan need to reapply again. How can no water proofing needed? πŸ˜…

Option 2: Remove all the tiles + skirt + reapply water proofing + taruk concrete
- This sounds like much more reasonable to me, but of course also need to fork out more money for tile removal + water proofing.

Was thinking to go with Option 1, but the red flag made me reconsider again. Please advise sifu2 sekalian πŸ™‡β€β™‚οΈ
Have you considered hacking just that row where the blue pipe runs and bury the blue pipe inside, instead of raising the height of the floor? There must be a reason for the 70mm drop in the first place kan?
thenuts15
post Apr 18 2023, 12:34 PM

385 posts

I have a leaking cement slab of my car porch.
Initially i plan to DIY Sika 107 but instead i was adviced to use Sikacoat 500.Is sikacoat 500 better than Sika 107?Any1 have experience with it?
thenuts15
post Apr 25 2023, 02:37 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(thenuts15 @ Apr 18 2023, 12:34 PM)
I have a leaking cement slab of my car porch.
Initially i plan to DIY Sika 107 but instead i was adviced to use Sikacoat 500.Is sikacoat 500 better than Sika 107?Any1 have experience with it?
Done waterprofing,so far no leak.Was wondering excess cement sika 107 what if i mix with water for other usage what will happneed?Any1 tried b4?My sika 107 latex already habis.
cwk3344 P
post Apr 27 2023, 09:32 AM

Probation

Have some question here...below is the photo of my bathroom that's attached with my room.

Behind the wall is bathroom area...is there any other solution if doesn't want to hack all the tiles and walls or redo the whole bathroom again?

Macca
post Apr 27 2023, 04:24 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(cwk3344 @ Apr 27 2023, 09:32 AM)
Have some question here...below is the photo of my bathroom that's attached with my room.

Behind the wall is bathroom area...is there any other solution if doesn't want to hack all the tiles and walls or redo the whole bathroom again?

For this, the only solution is to hack the tiles in the bathroom to about 2 or 3 ft from the floor and do water proofing. If not, you may apply muro wall finishes which requires no hacking but I am not sure about the cost.
Macca
post Apr 27 2023, 04:28 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(kens88` @ Feb 4 2023, 10:29 PM)
Hi all.

This is normally true that ground floor bathroom did not require waterproofing but unfortunately, any rooms or areas next to the bathroom will have issues shown in the photos shared by cwk3344. If you are retiling your ground bathroom, it is better to do waterproofing at the wall of the bathroom to about 2 - 3 ft high.

20 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:48 AM