20 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Waterproofing Water Leaking Problem v2, Ask me Water leaking, Waterproofing

heater8812
post Jun 2 2022, 12:46 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(M.I.N.S @ Jun 1 2022, 11:19 PM)
Hi all, seeking advice. got water leaking from my unit above. the unit above claimed they tried to patch all they could from above. they want to avoid hacking down and redo the waterproofing and suggest me to paint a waterproofing paint(t200 penten) on my ceiling instead. will this waterproof paint works? do i have to paint the whole ceiling with that waterproof paint?
basically its their responsibility. if you dont mind the ceiling to be painted, then can ask them to paint instead and bear all the cost. if you paint yrself, then if its still leaking, they could blame you for not paint it correctly.

can try to see if it work.
mini orchard
post Jun 2 2022, 06:39 AM

14,511 posts

Hi all, seeking advice. got water leaking from my unit above. the unit above claimed they tried to patch all they could from above. they want to avoid hacking down and redo the waterproofing and suggest me to paint a waterproofing paint(t200 penten) on my ceiling instead. will this waterproof paint works? do i have to paint the whole ceiling with that waterproof paint?
The leaking will move to other places and leak there.
nihility
post Jun 2 2022, 07:30 AM

1,595 posts

Theoretically it won't solve. I'm going slightly technical, see if you can understand. For the floor water proofing to work, normally the waterproofing need to be apply on the flooring + extended slightly to the perimeter walls, usually 50mm to 100mm. The reason for the extension is to create a small "pond like barrier" to prevent the water from seeping through the perimeter walls. This finishes is only possible to be installed at the affected floor. If you apply the water proof at the floor below ceiling, the extension of the water proofing to the perimeter walls are not possible & the water proof layer will be 1 flat surface on the ceiling - the water will seeps at the perimeter walls & the new spot of leakages will be created.

This water proofing finishes extension slightly up vertically to the perimeter walls, is a very common to be missed out even in the construction industry.

This post has been edited by nihility: Jun 2 2022, 05:04 PM
M.I.N.S
post Jun 2 2022, 11:05 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 2 2022, 07:30 AM)
Theoretically it won't solve. I'm going slightly technical, see if you can understand. For the floor water proofing to work, normally the waterproofing need to be apply on the flooring + extended slightly to the perimeter walls, usually 50mm to 100mm. The reason for the extension is to create a small "pond like barrier" to prevent the water from seeping through the perimeter walls. This finishes is only possible to be installed at the affected floor. If you apply the water proof at the floor below ceiling, the extension of the water proofing to the perimeter walls are not possible & the water proof layer will be 1 flat surface on the ceiling - the water will seeps at the perimeter walls & the new spot of leakages will be created.

This water proofing finishes extension slightly up vertically to the perimeter walls, is a very common missed out even in the construction industry.
Thx for the explanation. The unit above doesn’t seems keen to redo hack their tiles and redo the waterproofing. I saw online where I could do pu injection from below, is this a better idea?
Jkan2021 P
post Jun 2 2022, 04:43 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 1 2022, 10:11 PM)
The waste water from the WM will go to waste pipe through a hose, so leaking from the floor is unlikely.

Possible the internal pipe leaking ?

If you can stop using the WM for sometime, then you can check the source of the leaking.
Thanks! just confirmed with my tenant. The floor in that area is dry almost all the time. And they have stopped using washing machine (WM) for over a year already. Hmmm so it could be internal pipe leaks. It seems like there is no quick fix to my issue, since I initially thought the WM was still in use and causing wetness around the area.

May be best to bring along a contractor to have a look. Else issue will persist. Plus I am no expert with piping and leaking.
After reading few comments here for owners of old apt/house units, I'm determined to sell of the unit. Will see what needs to be fixed and hopefully, put my unit on sale in a decent condition.
nihility
post Jun 2 2022, 05:07 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(M.I.N.S @ Jun 2 2022, 11:05 AM)
Thx for the explanation. The unit above doesn’t seems keen to redo hack their tiles and redo the waterproofing. I saw online where I could do pu injection from below, is this a better idea?
That's will temporary solve the issue only, it will reoccurs in another few years. The most reliable solution is still remove the tile, screeding , apply the water proofing, do 24h ponding test, fix back the screeding & tiles.
Chiggah
post Jun 2 2022, 07:37 PM

567 posts

There are currently no droplets dripping onto the ground / floor.

May I know how to solve this leak / water stain ? Contractor said it is most likely caused by civet cat (fox/musang) pee, and I am not surprised because I have heard scratches on the ceiling.

Images here - https://imgur.com/a/x7E5vLS

1) Should I replace the plaster ceiling first then monitor for any water stains ? This was what he suggested

2) Would replacing the roof tiles be a suitable option ? Or it will not solve any potential water leak problem ?

3) I am just concerned replacing to plaster ceiling will still get water stains.

- Change ceiling to plaster with L edges excluding extra wire and downlight ( 9m x 4m )
- Paint my car porch ceiling ( 5m x 5m )
- Cover up the big hole in toilet with a cement board
- Cover up another small hole outside the gutter area ( 0.5 m x 0.5 m)

This post has been edited by Chiggah: Jun 8 2022, 07:27 PM
wow hi all
post Jun 16 2022, 07:52 PM

25 posts

Hi, I would like to apply the waterproofing coating on top of the concrete roof car pouch. I'm wondering between Bostik AC2 and Pentens T-200H,which one can last longer and easier to DIY? Trying to get rid of the nightmare of seeing water leak from the slab. sad.gif
Thank you.
mini orchard
post Jun 17 2022, 09:22 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(wow hi all @ Jun 16 2022, 07:52 PM)
Hi, I would like to apply the waterproofing coating on top of the concrete roof car pouch. I'm wondering between Bostik AC2 and Pentens T-200H,which one can last longer and easier to DIY? Trying to get rid of the nightmare of seeing water leak from the slab.  sad.gif
Thank you.
I done for my slab 3 years ago using Penten. No leaking till now but not sure how long it will last as it depends on preparation work and skill plus weather.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jun 17 2022, 09:23 AM
JasonTheGreat
post Jun 22 2022, 06:06 AM

832 posts

Hi Sifus,
My extended kitchen area has leaks at the corner. My next door neighbour did not extend hence the opposite wall is open area. My roof is a slanted with tile roof. It will start to show wet water marks just with moderate rain. Backed in March before I moved in the contractor has applied some sealant on the roof when I complained on leaks. it seemed the problem is still there. Any recommendation to fox this ?

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
IMF2025
post Jun 22 2022, 07:48 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Jun 22 2022, 06:06 AM)
Hi Sifus,
My extended kitchen area has leaks at the corner. My next door neighbour did not extend hence the opposite wall is open area. My roof is a slanted with tile roof. It will start to show wet water marks just with moderate rain. Backed in March before I moved in the contractor has applied some sealant on the roof when I complained on leaks. it seemed the problem is still there. Any recommendation to fox this ?
i recently also just fixed a similar problem like this. best way is the seal with cement outside and paint it with waterproof coating.
tac118 P
post Jul 22 2022, 10:28 PM

Probation

Hi Sifu,

Any one tried using the epoxy membrane solution for bathroom floor leak?

The type with ugly dark coloured pebble stone textured ones

Y Y Waterproof is quoting 1k per toilet compare to conventional remove, membrane + retile of 4k per toilet.

Any feedback or experience with this solution?
Billyseyelash P
post Aug 30 2022, 08:06 PM

Probation

Hi guys,

I have a couple of questions in regards to RC Roof waterproofing.

Let’s say the surface area is 7 X 14 feet, exposed to the elements and sloped to drainage so there is not much of a pooling issue. Hairline cracks, and minor mold here and there. My questions:

1. Nippon Flex 200. Has anyone used it? Is it durable in comparison to Sika 500? How long would either usually last. ( Applied based on manufacturers guidelines).

2. Nippon Flex 200 sandwiched with fibreglass sheets. What does the fibreglass do? Does it harden when applied (like it would with resin?) or will it remain flexible? Does it add value to the longevity of the coating?

3. Are cementious applications a no go for my surface situation?

4. What are common ballpark figures RM$$$ to consider getting a specialist to waterproof my specified surface area? Coatings, torch on etc.

5. Polycarbonate awnings: Any experience patching cracks and tears? What’s a good temporary option besides changing the panels?

Looking forward to your kind replies ! Thanks!
neekun
post Oct 17 2022, 08:52 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(ljchiun @ Feb 12 2021, 08:59 AM)
Hi, would like to seek opinion / experience from lowyat members.

Recently I noticed that my water meter reading has been running though there is no water usage at home and I have off the tap to tank.

Likely it's due to underground pipe leakage. Is re-piping the only solution?

Is your issue resolved? I am having same symptoms too and looking for some expert to help in troubleshooting. Hope you can share your experience here. Thanks.
neekun
post Oct 17 2022, 09:58 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Mar 30 2022, 08:14 PM)
A leaking pipe can be anywhere and not limited to bathrooms and kitchen areas.

As long there are elbows and connectors along the piping line, it will leak if there is soil movement and or poor quality piping plus workmanship.

If it wants to leak, it will leak no matter what pressure test done previously. In short ...nothing last forever, even if is new.

One is lucky if can notice the leak and rectify immediately.

The worst is the underground leaking which can cost a bomb on the water bill. Do regular water meter inspection for abnormal meter reading.
My average water bill usage is 15 -17 units per month. Last month, the usage shot up to 32 units.

I am concerned with possible pipe leaking somewhere in the house. First to check is the water tank (this supplies water to all the 3 bath rooms – 1 at ground floor, 2 at first floor) located on roof. Plumber checked and verified all joints are secured and the flooring is dry with no signs of leaking.

At the ground floor bathroom there is a valve which controls supply of water to water tank on roof located at first floor. The water tank was fully refilled and noted at night where no one is using any water from all the 3 bathrooms, the water meter still running slowly (increase 2000 in reading after approximately 8 hours of non usage). The only way to stop the water meter from running is to switch off the valve at the ground floor bath room, where this will stop water from flowing to the water tank.

I checked the walls (a combination of tiles and non tiles wall) where the pipe travels from ground floor bath room to upstair water tank, no visible water mark.

I need some advice for further troubleshooting to pin point the possible area of pipe leakage or recommendation for a trusted and reliable professional to help in identifying the source of the issue.
Mattrock
post Dec 21 2022, 05:15 PM

393 posts

The unit below mine spotted water mark on their bathroom ceiling when they removed the plaster ceiling during renovation. So I decided to check out applying sealer on my bathroom floors to stop the leak. Was quoted almost RM5k for two bathrooms for crystallization type sealer. This is applied on floor, 7 ft on shower walls and 4 ft on all other walls. Sounds a bit excessive to me. 2 years warranty.

What do you guys think?

Jason
post Dec 21 2022, 07:38 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Dec 21 2022, 05:15 PM)
The unit below mine spotted water mark on their bathroom ceiling when they removed the plaster ceiling during renovation. So I decided to check out applying sealer on my bathroom floors to stop the leak. Was quoted almost RM5k for two bathrooms for crystallization type sealer. This is applied on floor, 7 ft on shower walls and 4 ft on all other walls. Sounds a bit excessive to me. 2 years warranty.

What do you guys think?
Epoxy type cheap around RM1k… looks nice also and less hassle… just did for my condo bathroom as it was leaking to downstairs unit.
k2017
post Dec 21 2022, 10:08 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 21 2022, 07:38 PM)
Epoxy type cheap around RM1k… looks nice also and less hassle… just did for my condo bathroom as it was leaking to downstairs unit.
How much per sqft?
Jason
post Dec 22 2022, 02:04 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(k2017 @ Dec 21 2022, 10:08 PM)
How much per sqft?
5 X 8 cost 1k
krayden
post Dec 22 2022, 10:42 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 22 2022, 02:04 AM)
5 X 8 cost 1k
Is this just the floor?
Sorry not familiar with this. Does this achieve the same result as waterproof cement on the floor without having to hack and replace the tiles?

20 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:36 AM