144 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Xiaomi POCO F2 Pro, The New Flagship killer?

attw
post May 21 2020, 09:06 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 21 2020, 12:01 AM)
Just got my k30 pro zoom this evening... Something is definitely off with this phone's battery performance.

Its kinda insane by my usage standard. All my previous phones had around 3000mah battery (biggest was Note8), but all of them can barely survive 3.5 hours SOT. But this phone is currently reaching 4hrs mark and still have 65 percent of battery charge. Sure the battery size is definitely bigger, but I didn't expect it to be this good.
So you've already got the K30 Pro Zoom which is a better version of the Poco F2 Pro already, hahaha. If Xiaomi made the Redmi K-series available globally then there really is no need for this rebranding exercise, hahaha..

In terms of battery life, yeah, that's kinda expected for a 4700mAh battery. That's why my minimum requirement when getting an Android phone is a 4000mAh battery - Anything below that isn't great for heavy usage laugh.gif I'm currently using the Realme 6 with a 4300mAh battery, also getting an average about 10% battery usage per every hour of SOT - and considering it's a 90hz refresh rate screen, that's pretty good smile.gif

mfa682
post May 21 2020, 10:15 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ May 21 2020, 08:46 AM)
suddenly this thread become ifags vs idroid ๐Ÿ˜‚

anyway accordingly to one of my regular website,
when they r build apps and compability...
they choose Android.
coz they did a stat, there r only 1/10 apple user...

pls note this website hv millions of unique user
Really? I thought last time most devs prefer to develop iOS apps. So they have turned side now don't they.

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2020, 09:06 AM)
So you've already got the K30 Pro Zoom which is a better version of the Poco F2 Pro already, hahaha. If Xiaomi made the Redmi K-series available globally then there really is no need for this rebranding exercise, hahaha..

In terms of battery life, yeah, that's kinda expected for a 4700mAh battery. That's why my minimum requirement when getting an Android phone is a 4000mAh battery - Anything below that isn't great for heavy usage laugh.gif I'm currently using the Realme 6 with a 4300mAh battery, also getting an average about 10% battery usage per every hour of SOT - and considering it's a 90hz refresh rate screen, that's pretty good smile.gif
Agree. Kinda curious what is their intention with that kind of marketing approach.

90hz with 10% battery drain per hour, wow im really impressed! I think mine can survive 9hrs SOT more or less but I don't think all my previous phones can exceed 6hrs if they are given the same size of battery. And yeah 4000mah should be the minimum standard by now.

lucaswjk
post May 21 2020, 10:55 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 21 2020, 10:15 AM)
Really? I thought last time most devs prefer to develop iOS apps. So they have turned side now don't they.
tat is yesteryears stories,
previously Android user cheapskate always sideload app

nowadays dev smart, they build IAP...
can earn more than sell the whole app
more sustainable, can sell monthly add-on feature

and if gv free also can earn from ads
mfa682
post May 21 2020, 11:06 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ May 21 2020, 10:55 AM)

I see. Then it's a good thing for android users. IAP is a smart move.

Fun fact: Cheapskates never die. Hahahahahahaha. I know a number of people who love to go to Starbucks every now and then but still refuse to pay android app that costs less than rm5.
attw
post May 21 2020, 11:21 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 21 2020, 10:15 AM)
90hz with 10% battery drain per hour, wow im really impressed! I think mine can survive 9hrs SOT more or less but I don't think all my previous phones can exceed 6hrs if they are given the same size of battery. And yeah 4000mah should be the minimum standard by now.
Yeah, plus being indoors and using WiFi instead of LTE helps as well. I typically only use about 4-5 hours SOT in a day (anything more might constitute as antisocial behaviour, hahaha) but usage has increased a lot during the MCO. For me the acid test for phone battery is for it to be able to do 2 days (48 hours) standby and total of 10 hours SOT in that span. We call it the 10-hour SOT club, as founded by azhar75 smile.gif For me so far, I've tested 5 phones that made it into that club: Asus ZenFone Max Pro M1, Realme 5, Samsung S10 Lite, iPhone 11 Pro Max and Realme 6 smile.gif

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 21 2020, 11:06 AM)
Fun fact: Cheapskates never die. Hahahahahahaha. I know a number of people who love to go to Starbucks every now and then but still refuse to pay android app that costs less than rm5.
Sigh... Guilty as charged laugh.gif
mfa682
post May 21 2020, 11:39 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2020, 11:21 AM)
Yeah, plus being indoors and using WiFi instead of LTE helps as well. I typically only use about 4-5 hours SOT in a day (anything more might constitute as antisocial behaviour, hahaha) but usage has increased a lot during the MCO. For me the acid test for phone battery is for it to be able to do 2 days (48 hours) standby and total of 10 hours SOT in that span. We call it the 10-hour SOT club, as founded by azhar75 smile.gif For me so far, I've tested 5 phones that made it into that club: Asus ZenFone Max Pro M1, Realme 5, Samsung S10 Lite, iPhone 11 Pro Max and Realme 6 smile.gif
Lol didn't know such club even exist, wish I could join that club someday but I don't think it's possible with my usage pattern ๐Ÿ˜ญ
Someonesim
post May 21 2020, 11:57 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ May 21 2020, 10:55 AM)

yeah IAP is future.

Some developer even did the unethical move to adopt IAP.
One example is Cerberus security apps ( powerful ) which we paid for lifetime licence. End of last year, developer turned greedy and make the 'lifetime' license expired, and asked us to subscribe ranting.gif

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2020, 11:21 AM)
Hmmm, so poco f1 not capable of joining 10 hours SOT club ? I can get 7 hours SOT on it, normal usage ( browsing website etc ) which are best so far in my smartphone life.
attw
post May 21 2020, 12:03 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 21 2020, 11:57 AM)
yeah IAP is future.

Some developer even did the unethical move to adopt IAP.
One example is Cerberus security apps ( powerful ) which we paid for lifetime licence. End of last year, developer turned greedy and make the 'lifetime' license expired, and asked us to subscribe  ranting.gif
Hmmm, so poco f1 not capable of joining 10 hours SOT club ? I can get 7 hours SOT on it, normal usage ( browsing website etc ) which are best so far in my smartphone life.
I've never tried the Poco F1 bro. Maybe our bro azhar75 can shed some light here? smile.gif
azhar75
post May 21 2020, 12:56 PM

17,220 posts

F1 "barely" registered as 10 SoT Club:

Source

This post has been edited by azhar75: May 22 2020, 01:21 AM
attw
post May 21 2020, 04:29 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 21 2020, 12:56 PM)
F1 "barely" registered as 10 SoT Club:

Source
Wow! Still considered made it to your 10 SoT club rclxms.gif

So morale of the story, need to flash EU ROM for it to have better consumption?

This post has been edited by attw: May 21 2020, 04:30 PM
azhar75
post May 21 2020, 05:12 PM

17,220 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2020, 04:29 PM)
Wow! Still considered made it to your 10 SoT club rclxms.gif

So morale of the story, need to flash EU ROM for it to have better consumption?
Apparently, yes; becoz stock ROM is heavily having "nuisance activities" running in the background....
attw
post May 21 2020, 07:06 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 21 2020, 05:12 PM)
Apparently, yes; becoz stock ROM is heavily having "nuisance activities" running in the background....
Ahh, OK. Looks like this EU ROM is quite a miracle worker then. Yeah, that's why I'm not a big fan of stock MIUI, lots of "nuisance activity" in the background as you put it laugh.gif
attw
post May 21 2020, 11:20 PM

32,468 posts

Because we canโ€™t get enough of Pocos laugh.gif

https://www.gsmarena.com/poco_m2_pro_spotte...-news-43337.php

M2 Pro pulak...
mfa682
post May 21 2020, 11:32 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2020, 11:20 PM)
Because we canโ€™t get enough of Pocos laugh.gif

https://www.gsmarena.com/poco_m2_pro_spotte...-news-43337.php

M2 Pro pulak...
Semua nak jadi Pro susah lah macam ni... I wonder which model are they going to take after for rebranding.
attw
post May 21 2020, 11:35 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 21 2020, 11:32 PM)
Semua nak jadi Pro susah lah macam ni... I wonder which model are they going to take after for rebranding.
That article mentioned could be a rebranding of the Redmi Note 9 Pro. Hahaha.. whatever rocks their boat biggrin.gif
mfa682
post May 21 2020, 11:50 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2020, 11:35 PM)
That article mentioned could be a rebranding of the Redmi Note 9 Pro. Hahaha.. whatever rocks their boat biggrin.gif
Missed the last paragraph doh.gif.. Same move like f2 pro? Add support for LTE B20, have the Google play store preinstalled, change logo and model name, and lastly mark up the price 10% - 20%. Done. Here's the M2 Pro for all to enjoy. Yay.
azhar75
post May 22 2020, 12:36 AM

17,220 posts

It's their strategy to get rid off the SoCs/inventory quickly... By creating many sub-brands & models, buyers are fooled to believe there are "many" choices in the market.

Plus, by pushing the new so-called "model", they can put the SRP higher than the previous model launched 3 months ago, despite of identical internal components.

Hence, the breakdown of 100% inventory is :
25% inventory goes to Mi branding...
10% inventory goes to Blackshark branding...
40% inventory goes to Redmi branding...
25% inventory goes to Poco branding...

Therefore,
If Redmi series (launched 3 months ago) have outstanding inventory, just transfer the inventory to Poco account and sell at new or higher price.

Khuan0813
post May 22 2020, 05:35 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 21 2020, 05:12 PM)
Brother, that means our Malaysia set ROM (is it global ROM?) is totally different from EU ROM?

Can you explain more further in details and the different between our Malaysia set ROM and EU ROM?

Are the Mi browser, Mi player and all Mi related apps not pre-installed in EU ROM?
Khuan0813
post May 22 2020, 05:37 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2020, 07:06 PM)
Ahh, OK. Looks like this EU ROM is quite a miracle worker then. Yeah, that's why I'm not a big fan of stock MIUI, lots of "nuisance activity" in the background as you put it laugh.gif
Maybe that's why my previous Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 battery was draining quite fast.
mfa682
post May 22 2020, 08:14 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2020, 07:06 PM)
Its a group of devs deserve the credit here for bringing in the customised EU Rom. Not xiaomi for sticking the ads and bloatful apps in the phone lol.

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ May 22 2020, 05:37 AM)
Maybe that's why my previous Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 battery was draining quite fast.
Globat set?

144 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:40 PM