Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0

Ramjade
post May 17 2024, 12:30 PM

24,378 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ May 17 2024, 12:13 PM)
Your parents can use bank transfer. You keep the wise app cause you need to check your transaction and spending. From your wise app you can see there’s a bank account number for JP Morgan chase. Ask your parents to bank in to that account number and money will reflect in your wise app. If you didn’t convert from MYR to GBP, the app will convert for you when you use the card.

Why not consider using GXbank debit card? I was told the rates are better than Wise and you get 1% cash back on all your spending.
Standard chartered better. 5% cash back.
df569
post May 17 2024, 04:12 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ May 17 2024, 12:13 PM)
Your parents can use bank transfer. You keep the wise app cause you need to check your transaction and spending. From your wise app you can see there’s a bank account number for JP Morgan chase. Ask your parents to bank in to that account number and money will reflect in your wise app. If you didn’t convert from MYR to GBP, the app will convert for you when you use the card.

Why not consider using GXbank debit card? I was told the rates are better than Wise and you get 1% cash back on all your spending.
Thanks for the reply. From my understanding, my parents bank in JP Morgan MYR, then my Wise app will see MYR added, then I convert to GBP within the app itself OR I can straight away buy things with MYR in UK using the card right

1. Are there bank charges for MYR deposit into JP Morgan account?
2. I assume depending on exchange rate, converting in Wise the MYR received to GBP may or may not be better than directly spending MYR in UK via Wise auto conversion?

GX bank seems interesting, will check it out. Thanks again.
Medufsaid
post May 17 2024, 04:16 PM

3,494 posts

df569 do you still have a malaysian bank account? your parents can bank in to your bank acct, and you FPX the money from your acct to Wise

you can buy things in UK without pre-converting to GBP. no advantage to pre-converting. unless you are sending money from your wise to someone in UK, that one diff story (which from what i gather, is not what you intend to do)
Ramjade
post May 17 2024, 04:21 PM

24,378 posts

QUOTE(df569 @ May 17 2024, 04:12 PM)
Thanks for the reply. From my understanding, my parents bank in JP Morgan MYR, then my Wise app will see MYR added, then I convert to GBP within the app itself OR I can straight away buy things with MYR in UK using the card right

1. Are there bank charges for MYR deposit into JP Morgan account?
2. I assume depending on exchange rate, converting in Wise the MYR received to GBP may or may not be better than directly spending MYR in UK via Wise auto conversion?

GX bank seems interesting, will check it out. Thanks again.
Wise is the most expensive card to use Vs jumpstart/gxbank.
df569
post May 17 2024, 04:36 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 17 2024, 04:16 PM)
df569 do you still have a malaysian bank account? your parents can bank in to your bank acct, and you FPX the money from your acct to Wise

you can buy things in UK without pre-converting to GBP. no advantage to pre-converting. unless you are sending money from your wise to someone in UK, that one diff story (which from what i gather, is not what you intend to do)
Yup I do have a Maybank acc. So I guess just directly use MYR all the way and let Wise handle the auto conversion upon transaction. But what's the difference with say,

1. Parents acc ->> My Maybank acc ->> FPX to Wise
2. Parents acc ->> FPX to Wise (possible?)

My purpose is just general daily living expenses like food and clothes in UK. Regarding transferring money from wise to someone in UK, what's the caveat for that? Lets say me and a local go out for food and they picked up the bill, am I able to transfer money to them? Thanks for the fast reply.
oldKyoo
post May 18 2024, 07:52 PM

Flashing at a street near you.
961 posts

Hey everyone, am looking to make a marketplace purchase via USD

Scenario: Seller based in US, will only accept PP (already asked if can accept wise, bank transfer, answer is no so solution must incorporate PP)

Question: Can i convert my MYR into USD via Wise, and then transfer the USD in Wise to my PP account? I want to avoid the shitty rates on top of zero PP FF option in Msia...
magika
post May 19 2024, 01:44 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 17 2024, 04:16 PM)

Is the rates/fees any different between transfer and merchant purchases?

Medufsaid
post May 19 2024, 03:00 PM

3,494 posts

magikaWise will not separate out the rates in their preview screen so you will not know this is happening. however, use the links i provide you and you'll get the fees breakdown

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: May 19 2024, 03:07 PM
ClarenceT
post May 20 2024, 12:21 PM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(df569 @ May 17 2024, 11:08 AM)
Hi all, I have some questions regarding wise. I will be heading to the UK soon for student exchange. How does the card work to transfer money from MYR to GBP?

Is it that you convert to GBP via wise then transfer into the account or straight deposit MYR, then able to use GBP in the UK?

As my parents are to transfer money to me from Malaysia to the UK so I assume they also need the wise app right?
When you reach UK, open a student account at Natwest/Barclays/Lloyds/HSBC/Santander and you will have a UK debit card. (Just like you also need a UK phone line instead of using roaming, can ask giffgaff.com to send a SIM card to you FOC so you already have a UK phone number before leaving Malaysia).

Your parents / you can go to wise.com (no need Wise App or Wise Card), use FPX to transfer money to your Natwest/Barclays/Lloyds/HSBC/Santander UK account (Bank Sort Code and account number), the fund will be credited to your UK account in less than 10 seconds.

Use your UK bank account (online banking to pay landlord/school etc) and debit card to spend! Can get cash at supermarkets FOC (so no need to find a ATM or post office to withdraw cash) if you are using a UK debit card (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Debit_card_cashback).

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: May 20 2024, 12:46 PM
mushigen
post May 23 2024, 03:09 PM

4,953 posts

Dear All,
Anyone knows whether it's possible to open two WISE accounts (using dual apps in phone) per person?

Reason for doing so is:
I have a few monthly online transactions in USD and SGD through WISE. At the moment, WISE auto converts the transaction amounts to RM, which suits me well due to accounting purpose (I don't keep USD and SGD in this account as I don't want it to deduct these currencies first which makes accountability a headache).

However, I would like to have a second account just for forex "tikam game" - change MYR to SGD when SGD drops and change back this SGD to MYR if SGD strenghtens. Hence, it's important that these SGD or USD jars don't get spent automatically whenever I have an SGD or USD online transactions.
Medufsaid
post May 23 2024, 03:12 PM

3,494 posts

mushigen if you put money into JARS, it won't be spent by accident. you have to withdraw from Jars to use.
you can put some USD into 1 jar, and SGD into a 2nd jar. those will be locked up until you release them

https://wise.com/help/articles/2978074/what...w-do-i-use-them

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: May 23 2024, 03:18 PM
mushigen
post May 23 2024, 03:31 PM

4,953 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 23 2024, 03:12 PM)
mushigen if you put money into JARS, it won't be spent by accident. you have to withdraw from Jars to use.
you can put some USD into 1 jar, and SGD into a 2nd jar. those will be locked up until you release them

https://wise.com/help/articles/2978074/what...w-do-i-use-them
Hi, thank you for your reply.

I don't think it works like that, or at least this was what I experienced: if my online transaction is in SGD, for example, it will deduct from the SGD jar first and if it is not enough, it will convert the balance from MYR. That was how my SGD jar balance became zero the first time I tried topping up some SGD inside the SGD jar.
Medufsaid
post May 23 2024, 03:39 PM

3,494 posts

mushigen you mean this?

i used Jar before. in fact, it's too effective as sometimes I'll wonder why i have insufficient funds. our debit/credit card systems aren't designed to alert us if we have locked up money in Jars. it's a Wise feature

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: May 23 2024, 03:59 PM
mushigen
post May 23 2024, 05:06 PM

4,953 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 23 2024, 03:39 PM)
mushigen you mean this?

i used Jar before. in fact, it's too effective as sometimes I'll wonder why i have insufficient funds. our debit/credit card systems aren't designed to alert us if we have locked up money in Jars. it's a Wise feature

I had a look at my account and there are indeed two SGD accounts, one of it being jar. I think the money that was deducted in the past should be in the SGD account and not jar.
I've put in some money in this jar and I'll see if it gets deducted first when my SGD online payment is made.

Thank you once again.
Avangelice
post May 25 2024, 11:49 AM

5,272 posts

I fucked up my wise account big time. Normally when I buy any Xbox games in turkey for cheap I will change my country of origin to turkey for payment to go through then change back to Malaysia.

Last night I kena. Change to turkey and cannot change back.

Have to send documents to wise to show I'm Malaysian.

Turkey wise accounts cannot convert, cannot transfer

This post has been edited by Avangelice: May 25 2024, 11:50 AM
Medufsaid
post May 25 2024, 11:53 AM

3,494 posts

Avangelice can u get someone to transfer MYR to that account? use the debit card to make local purchases (e.g., shopee, foodpanda) then empty out that account
Avangelice
post May 25 2024, 11:58 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 25 2024, 11:53 AM)
Avangelice can u get someone to transfer MYR to that account? use the debit card to make local purchases (e.g., shopee, foodpanda) then empty out that account
Cannot. All income must come from a Turkish bank. Obv I do not have a Turkish bank.

Be careful of changing countries silly nilly like me. Hope they allow me to change my country back
!@#$%^
post May 25 2024, 12:25 PM

Safe Trader
17,510 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 25 2024, 11:49 AM)
I fucked up my wise account big time. Normally when I buy any Xbox games in turkey for cheap I will change my country of origin to turkey for payment to go through then change back to Malaysia.

Last night I kena. Change to turkey and cannot change back.

Have to send documents to wise to show I'm Malaysian.

Turkey wise accounts cannot convert, cannot transfer
why need to change country? directly topup to turkish money and buy cannot?
!@#$%^
post May 25 2024, 12:27 PM

Safe Trader
17,510 posts

on another note, i was in japan and had to withdraw some emergency cash. only found familymart atm via japan post. service charge 220 for 10000 yen
Avangelice
post May 25 2024, 12:33 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ May 25 2024, 12:25 PM)
why need to change country? directly topup to turkish money and buy cannot?
Xbox dont allow. They still detect my card is Malaysian

143 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:19 PM