QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 19 2023, 01:52 PM)
Shitty developer. There is one sub-db which using a 0.1A RCCB. Shall I change the main-DB to 0.1A or lower?
It’s for lighting only (does not control any sockets or any water heaters) then it’s ok-lahRCCB for Water Heater
Mar 19 2023, 06:16 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
Mar 19 2023, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 19 2023, 01:53 PM) Six times ded. Hexa kill 300mA is only used in commercial/industrial applications. You don’t run huge motors at home RagingCandy liked this post
Mar 19 2023, 06:25 PM
5,646 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Mar 19 2023, 07:54 PM
1,742 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 19 2023, 01:53 PM) For a 3-phase supply, yes it is OK. But if you have instant/storage heater, run a different RCCB of 10mA (either 16A or 20A) for best protection.For my own home I have individual RCCB for: 1) Power Circuit (63A 100mA) 2) Lighting Circuit (25A 30mA) 3) Solar Heater Circuit (16A 10mA) Mine is on single phase setup. |
Mar 19 2023, 09:05 PM
205 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
QUOTE(brutus @ Mar 19 2023, 07:54 PM) For a 3-phase supply, yes it is OK. But if you have instant/storage heater, run a different RCCB of 10mA (either 16A or 20A) for best protection. My friend told me the same to ass individual 10mA for water heater.For my own home I have individual RCCB for: 1) Power Circuit (63A 100mA) 2) Lighting Circuit (25A 30mA) 3) Solar Heater Circuit (16A 10mA) Mine is on single phase setup. |
Mar 19 2023, 09:07 PM
Mar 20 2023, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Mar 19 2023, 09:07 PM) Use 30mA, no developed country use 100mA for homes one. RagingCandy liked this post
Mar 22 2023, 02:15 PM
May 8 2023, 11:29 AM
1,856 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: In The HELL FIRE |
why many still using ELCB instead of RCD when RCD is better and cheaper cost ?
May 8 2023, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ May 8 2023, 11:29 AM) ELCB is cheaper because it is dinosaur tech.https://electrical-engineering-portal.com/w...rent-device-rcd 10mA RCD one ketul good one (ABB/Hager) VI type already RM160 barang only. It attract new problem like no space in DB box and a complete overhaul of new panel (new DB) is a lot of work and not every customer willing to pay for it. Quote even RM10 more expensive you lost the job so there is no incentive to do things proper in MY. This post has been edited by ceo684: May 8 2023, 02:55 PM gobiomani liked this post
May 9 2023, 07:46 PM
383 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Actually most RCCB on local market is VI type, even the 10ma local branded China oem design. Only RCBO some is VI type. You can check on the diagram on the RCD. You can even test trip VI RCD using 1.5v battery, some will trip instantly & others will trip after current flow both direction once.
May 9 2023, 11:44 PM
4,949 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(brutus @ Mar 19 2023, 10:16 AM) For single phase the RCCB is 100mA for power and 30mA for lighting. For water heater it is 10mA. ST guidelines and electrical safety guidelines say max sensitivity is 100mA for both 1P and 3P supplies. If 3-phase the main RCCB is 300mA (effectively 100mA per single phase) and 100mA (around 33mA for single phase) . Dont think there is any application for 3-phase heater in a residential home. For 3P, you can choose to install one 100mA rccb (if any phase is defective, you lose power to whole house) or 3x100mA rccb for each phase. |
May 11 2023, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(mushigen @ May 9 2023, 11:44 PM) ST guidelines and electrical safety guidelines say max sensitivity is 100mA for both 1P and 3P supplies. https://www.clipsal.com/learn-and-discover/...ts-up-buzz-rcdsFor 3P, you can choose to install one 100mA rccb (if any phase is defective, you lose power to whole house) or 3x100mA rccb for each phase. In Australia: The main change is to the application of RCDs in domestic installations. All final sub-circuits in a residential installation, no matter the amperage or number of phases, are to be 30mA RCD protected. In general, the changes made now require fixed or stationary electrical equipment, such as a hot water service, an air conditioner, cook top, oven or range to be protected by a 30mA RCD. Where a whole switchboard is being upgraded to replace existing protection then that switchboard is to be brought up to date with RCD protection. In Msia: Maybe humans in MY can tahan better than humans in AU. |
May 11 2023, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 11 2023, 11:09 PM) https://www.clipsal.com/learn-and-discover/...ts-up-buzz-rcds Yeah, ST still allows 100mA for lighting and AC. In Australia: The main change is to the application of RCDs in domestic installations. All final sub-circuits in a residential installation, no matter the amperage or number of phases, are to be 30mA RCD protected. In general, the changes made now require fixed or stationary electrical equipment, such as a hot water service, an air conditioner, cook top, oven or range to be protected by a 30mA RCD. Where a whole switchboard is being upgraded to replace existing protection then that switchboard is to be brought up to date with RCD protection. In Msia: Maybe humans in MY can tahan better than humans in AU. House developers will always say if you use 30mA as main RCD, you can expect trips every 2-3 days. |
May 12 2023, 07:40 AM
May 12 2023, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 12 2023, 07:40 AM) That's a dilemma I'm facing. My house has just one main 300mA RCCB. Really confused now with the options: 1) one main 30mA rccb and 10mA rccb for heater, but worried about frequent trips as double storey house tends to have more current imbalance due to more circuits/fixtures? 2) 100mA main rccb, 10mA rccb for WH, and swap SSO circuit MCBs with RCBOs - means aircon and lighting circuit protected by syok-sendiri 100mA main rccb. Which option should I go for? Also, will adding SPD at DB help with trip reduction especially during thunderstorm? |
May 12 2023, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(mushigen @ May 12 2023, 08:45 AM) That's a dilemma I'm facing. My house has just one main 300mA RCCB. 1. Modern 30mA = Never tripped except for severe thunderstorm (wind howling type). Maybe once/twice a year at most, not every single rain like the old 300mA we had.Really confused now with the options: 1) one main 30mA rccb and 10mA rccb for heater, but worried about frequent trips as double storey house tends to have more current imbalance due to more circuits/fixtures? 2) 100mA main rccb, 10mA rccb for WH, and swap SSO circuit MCBs with RCBOs - means aircon and lighting circuit protected by syok-sendiri 100mA main rccb. Which option should I go for? Also, will adding SPD at DB help with trip reduction especially during thunderstorm? Whole SG also using 30mA don't see blackout all the time. 2. Very costly. For what follow ER1994 spec identically when we can go tighter without problems. Just don't cheap out on RCD can liao. Get ABB/Hager (with anti nuisance trip) This post has been edited by ceo684: May 12 2023, 08:51 AM |
May 12 2023, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 12 2023, 08:51 AM) 1. Modern 30mA = Never tripped except for severe thunderstorm (wind howling type). Maybe once/twice a year at most, not every single rain like the old 300mA we had. I'm leaning towards a main 30mA RCCB due to it being safer for the whole house and cheaper too. Whole SG also using 30mA don't see blackout all the time. 2. Very costly. For what follow ER1994 spec identically when we can go tighter without problems. Just don't cheap out on RCD can liao. Get ABB/Hager (with anti nuisance trip) When you said anti-nuisance, are you implying there are versions with or without this feature, or in general ABB/Hager has better anti-nuisance feature compared to other brands? Asking because I checked with Shopee ABB official store seller, and they told me the model I'm interested doesn't have anti-nuisance trip feature. https://shopee.com.my/ABB-RCCB-ELCB-FH204-A...8d-a9aef9a044be They suggested adding auto recloser (almost RM1k), which could be my Plan B. TIA |
May 14 2023, 09:11 PM
273 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(mushigen @ May 12 2023, 09:25 PM) I'm leaning towards a main 30mA RCCB due to it being safer for the whole house and cheaper too. Most electricians/shops in malaysia that sells these items do not understand the actual use of it, or how to properly use it. When you said anti-nuisance, are you implying there are versions with or without this feature, or in general ABB/Hager has better anti-nuisance feature compared to other brands? Asking because I checked with Shopee ABB official store seller, and they told me the model I'm interested doesn't have anti-nuisance trip feature. https://shopee.com.my/ABB-RCCB-ELCB-FH204-A...8d-a9aef9a044be They suggested adding auto recloser (almost RM1k), which could be my Plan B. TIA Only use the 30mA RCCB for single water heater, not for the whole house. Read this for more info : https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/presentat...cal%20insta.pdf This post has been edited by jex-koi: May 14 2023, 09:12 PM |
May 17 2023, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(jex-koi @ May 14 2023, 09:11 PM) Most electricians/shops in malaysia that sells these items do not understand the actual use of it, or how to properly use it. I don't understand this statement.Only use the 30mA RCCB for single water heater, not for the whole house. Read this for more info : https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/presentat...cal%20insta.pdf |
| Change to: | 0.0252sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:30 AM |