RCCB for Water Heater

mushigen
post Mar 18 2023, 06:21 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 18 2023, 01:23 AM)
Completely useless for human life protection.
Its only good for fire protection.

0.3A RCD has NO PLACE in residential domestic use.

For single RCD (whole house RCD) your RCDs shall be a 30mA (0.03A) [one per house] to be code compliant; AND
a 10mA (0.01A) [one for each water heater circuit].
Bro, I have seen 300mA RCCD being used in Sarawak. The developer and all other electricians we spoke to claim 3-phase power supply requires 300mA RCCD which I think is bollock because ST guidelines suggest 100mA max.

And there's no 10mA RCCD for water heater too.
mushigen
post May 9 2023, 11:44 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Mar 19 2023, 10:16 AM)
For single phase the RCCB is 100mA for power and 30mA for lighting. For water heater it is 10mA.
If 3-phase the main RCCB is 300mA (effectively 100mA per single phase) and 100mA (around 33mA for single phase) . Dont think there is any application for 3-phase heater in a residential home.
ST guidelines and electrical safety guidelines say max sensitivity is 100mA for both 1P and 3P supplies.
For 3P, you can choose to install one 100mA rccb (if any phase is defective, you lose power to whole house) or 3x100mA rccb for each phase.

mushigen
post May 11 2023, 11:20 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 11 2023, 11:09 PM)
https://www.clipsal.com/learn-and-discover/...ts-up-buzz-rcds
In Australia:
The main change is to the application of RCDs in domestic installations. All final sub-circuits in a residential installation, no matter the amperage or number of phases, are to be 30mA RCD protected. In general, the changes made now require fixed or stationary electrical equipment, such as a hot water service, an air conditioner, cook top, oven or range to be protected by a 30mA RCD.

Where a whole switchboard is being upgraded to replace existing protection then that switchboard is to be brought up to date with RCD protection.

In Msia:
Maybe humans in MY can tahan better than humans in AU.
Yeah, ST still allows 100mA for lighting and AC.

House developers will always say if you use 30mA as main RCD, you can expect trips every 2-3 days.

mushigen
post May 12 2023, 08:45 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 12 2023, 07:40 AM)
Didn't see my own place blackout every 2-3days laugh.gif its a myth
That's a dilemma I'm facing. My house has just one main 300mA RCCB.
Really confused now with the options:
1) one main 30mA rccb and 10mA rccb for heater, but worried about frequent trips as double storey house tends to have more current imbalance due to more circuits/fixtures?

2) 100mA main rccb, 10mA rccb for WH, and swap SSO circuit MCBs with RCBOs - means aircon and lighting circuit protected by syok-sendiri 100mA main rccb.

Which option should I go for?

Also, will adding SPD at DB help with trip reduction especially during thunderstorm?
mushigen
post May 12 2023, 09:25 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 12 2023, 08:51 AM)
1. Modern 30mA = Never tripped except for severe thunderstorm (wind howling type). Maybe once/twice a year at most, not every single rain like the old 300mA we had.
Whole SG also using 30mA don't see blackout all the time.

2. Very costly. For what follow ER1994 spec identically when we can go tighter without problems.

Just don't cheap out on RCD can liao. Get ABB/Hager (with anti nuisance trip)
I'm leaning towards a main 30mA RCCB due to it being safer for the whole house and cheaper too.

When you said anti-nuisance, are you implying there are versions with or without this feature, or in general ABB/Hager has better anti-nuisance feature compared to other brands?
Asking because I checked with Shopee ABB official store seller, and they told me the model I'm interested doesn't have anti-nuisance trip feature.

https://shopee.com.my/ABB-RCCB-ELCB-FH204-A...8d-a9aef9a044be

They suggested adding auto recloser (almost RM1k), which could be my Plan B.

TIA
mushigen
post May 17 2023, 01:22 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(jex-koi @ May 14 2023, 09:11 PM)
Most electricians/shops in malaysia that sells these items do not understand the actual use of it, or how to properly use it.

Only use the 30mA RCCB for single water heater, not for the whole house.  Read this for more info : https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/presentat...cal%20insta.pdf
I don't understand this statement.
mushigen
post Dec 14 2023, 12:07 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(cfc @ Dec 11 2023, 03:16 PM)
planning to replace the MCB with  EPS 20A 0.1MA RCBO.
Can the rcbo installed on center of the MCB row (jus swap with current WH DB) or it must be rearranged to edge or  beside main DB RCCB  as shown in schneider rcbo install video guide ?
thanks.
Should go for 0.01A or 10mA.

0.0143sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:27 AM