Q6600 Overclock and Temperature

gengstapo
post Aug 12 2007, 06:06 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Aug 12 2007, 05:55 PM)
so do i .. no skill in tweaking a mobo  blush.gif so thats why never have interest in using nforce 680i sli board biggrin.gif
haha.. but the old time when amd most choosen 1, u use dfi boards which comes with nforce chipset what?

or u being bZ currently coz always switching hardware?? brows.gif
mfcm
post Aug 12 2007, 07:44 PM

2,765 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Aug 12 2007, 06:06 PM)
haha.. but the old time when amd most choosen 1, u use dfi boards which comes with nforce chipset what?

or u being bZ currently coz always switching hardware?? brows.gif
thats the answer...haha he got supported finance for the setup tongue.gif laugh.gif
btw bro..hows the G0 on p965?how far stable it is now?can hit 4ghz dy? drool.gif brows.gif
gengstapo
post Aug 12 2007, 07:52 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Aug 12 2007, 07:44 PM)
thats the answer...haha he got supported finance for the setup  tongue.gif  laugh.gif
btw bro..hows the G0 on p965?how far stable it is now?can hit 4ghz dy? drool.gif  brows.gif
hahaa.. act. i know teh reason, just pretend being n0ob tongue.gif

hurmm, i think q66 can hit atleast 3.4Ghz paired with 965p board. im still tryin' to find the setting. btw, here my current test cool2.gif tongue.gif

ps: check at the asus probe's cpu temp. there, quite a large bug eh??

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Aug 12 2007, 07:56 PM
jinaun
post Aug 13 2007, 01:28 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Aug 12 2007, 07:52 PM)
hahaa.. act. i know teh reason, just pretend being n0ob tongue.gif

hurmm, i think q66 can hit atleast 3.4Ghz paired with 965p board. im still tryin' to find the setting. btw, here my current test  cool2.gif  tongue.gif

ps: check at the asus probe's cpu temp. there, quite a large bug eh??
the cpuz reports voltage 1.088, while asus 1.3

which is correct?
gengstapo
post Aug 13 2007, 01:57 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Aug 13 2007, 01:28 PM)
the cpuz reports voltage 1.088, while asus 1.3

which is correct?
the cpu-z totally wrong.. the 1.088v if refer to the BIOS were voltage for SB voltage
i put vcore around 1.35v only, sometimes vdroop to 1.32/ 1.3 in windows
norazwan79
post Aug 13 2007, 08:56 PM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

Guys, I'm going to build SLI system using Q6600 G0 @ 3.6Ghz, so whats board should i buy? Any idea? hmm.gif
gengstapo
post Aug 13 2007, 09:02 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Aug 13 2007, 08:56 PM)
Guys, I'm going to build SLI system using Q6600 G0 @ 3.6Ghz, so whats board    should i buy? Any idea?  hmm.gif
not quite sure for nvidia based board, well, if ya go thru the disscusion, p35 easily trigger 4Ghz to quaddy laugh.gif
norazwan79
post Aug 13 2007, 09:22 PM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

if p35 support sli, sure i buy. tongue.gif
irangan
post Aug 13 2007, 09:47 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Aug 13 2007, 09:22 PM)
if p35 support sli, sure i buy.  tongue.gif
If you are going for SLI, nothing can beats EVGA 680i newer revision.. But you might want to wait for intel x38 chipset where its come with dual 16x pci e. Currently, intel havent obtain the license from nvidia for SLI. But its might change in near future
lazzy
post Aug 17 2007, 12:07 PM

38 posts

dear OC-ers,

i am newbie to the OC scene but would like to learn; i recently purchased the following:

Q6600 (2.4GHz)
Gigabyte P35-DS3
2GB Kingston Hyper-X 4-4-4-12
MiniTypo 90 Cooler
PowerLogic 500W PSU

So far i was only able to OC to 2.7GHz (300x9) and the voltage i set it to system (mobo controlled); with this speed, my cpu temp during normal use is about 31/32 degrees. And when running OCCT stress test, it goes up to max of 58degrees; is this acceptable?

I tried to OC to 3GHz (333x9) but failed to boot into XP; i get a blue screen.

Can anyone tell if i can OC to 3.2GHz with the hardware above for daily use?

thanks.

This post has been edited by lazzy: Aug 17 2007, 12:09 PM
Irresistible
post Aug 17 2007, 12:13 PM

3,278 posts

QUOTE(lazzy @ Aug 17 2007, 12:07 PM)
dear OC-ers,

i am newbie to the OC scene but would like to learn; i recently purchased the following:

Q6600 (2.4GHz)
Gigabyte P35-DS3
2GB Kingston Hyper-X 4-4-4-12
MiniTypo 90 Cooler
PowerLogic 500W PSU

So far i was only able to OC to 2.7GHz (300x9) and the voltage i set it to system (mobo controlled); with this speed, my cpu temp during normal use is about 31/32 degrees. And when running OCCT stress test, it goes up to max of 58degrees; is this acceptable?

I tried to OC to 3GHz (333x9) but failed to boot into XP; i get a blue screen.

Can anyone tell if i can OC to 3.2GHz with the hardware above for daily use?

thanks.
Change ur PSU to something better !!
toughnut
post Aug 17 2007, 12:24 PM

3,239 posts

@lazzy

Q6600 (nice proc, whats the stepping?)
Gigabyte P35-DS3 (nice budget board)
2GB Kingston Hyper-X 4-4-4-12 (overpriced ram)
MiniTypo 90 Cooler (can't get any better cooler?)
PowerLogic 500W PSU (lord, free us from powerlogic and icute..)

for your problem, try changing psu. the Q6600 B3 stepping i tested before easily do 3Ghz stress stable without even bumping voltage or even tweak anything beside the clockspeed brows.gif

another problem might be your HSF. really go and get a better one. quadcore is hot.
SlayerXT
post Aug 17 2007, 12:53 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

@lazzy, u needs to change psu and cooler, but since u r newbie, please read oc guide thoroughly.
lazzy
post Aug 17 2007, 07:46 PM

38 posts

thanks guys for your feedback.

i actually just bought my HSF; the PSU is from my old P4 3.0GHz HT.

what HSF and PSU do you guys recommend to oc to 3.2GHz?
leslie0880
post Aug 17 2007, 10:51 PM

728 posts

QUOTE(lazzy @ Aug 17 2007, 07:46 PM)
thanks guys for your feedback.

i actually just bought my HSF; the PSU is from my old P4 3.0GHz HT.

what HSF and PSU do you guys recommend to oc to 3.2GHz?
artic cooling freeze 7 pro enough ady lah...... jus RM115.......
if u r "Orang Kaya" thn buy thermalright HR-01 plus/Ultra 120 Extreme,Asus Knight,scythe(forget wht model) this all is expect Air Cooling.....
PSU need to c lo.......no CF no SLI 600watt-700watt ok ady,brand like SS,FSP,TT,Toppower,Tagan,Antec,Corsair,and so on.....
NightRaven
post Aug 17 2007, 11:34 PM

122 posts

anyway its the rams la. he need to up ram voltage.
mfcm
post Aug 18 2007, 12:42 AM

2,765 posts

yeah da psu mite b da prob..else hows the vcore?vdimm?duuno on p35 but if same as others did u diable sum features b4 oc?
hehee:)
post Aug 19 2007, 12:57 AM

238 posts

bros...wats the comfortable temp to run your Q6600 GO daily...

mine
402x9 @1.38(everest read)
core 1/2/3/4
idle 44/44/36/36c
prime95 2.53 large and small FFT load together 68/68/61/61c
mind to share ....
remysix
post Aug 19 2007, 07:16 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(hehee:) @ Aug 19 2007, 12:57 AM)
bros...wats the comfortable temp to run your Q6600 GO daily...

mine
402x9 @1.38(everest read)
core 1/2/3/4
idle 44/44/36/36c
prime95 2.53 large and small FFT load together 68/68/61/61c
mind to share ....
very nice oc bro...3.6 at 1.38v...maybe ur bios setting is 1.4v i guess.
i couldnt do that with 1.4v

better post some screenie to show the temp/setting.

Added on August 19, 2007, 7:19 am
QUOTE(leslie0880 @ Aug 17 2007, 10:51 PM)
artic cooling freeze 7 pro enough ady lah...... jus RM115.......
if u r "Orang Kaya" thn buy thermalright HR-01 plus/Ultra 120 Extreme,Asus Knight,scythe(forget wht model) this all is expect Air Cooling.....
PSU need to c lo.......no CF no SLI 600watt-700watt ok ady,brand like SS,FSP,TT,Toppower,Tagan,Antec,Corsair,and so on.....
i think the very first thing he shud get for the oc is a decent psu...good HSF will not do if ur voltage supplied to the system is not stable...
get a good psu and u wont regret it.

This post has been edited by remysix: Aug 19 2007, 07:19 AM
leslie0880
post Aug 19 2007, 09:47 PM

728 posts

i saw have 1 ppl want to let he FSP 1000watt go on tradezone......
u can go to ask for the best price!!
if u dun want 1000watt thn buy my 700watt lah.....i can change to 1000watt
haha

102 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:05 PM