dzi921
post Aug 21 2007, 09:40 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Aug 20 2007, 11:56 PM)
Somewhere around the arrow is pointing

I think is some minor cosmetic problem. No harm done unsure.gif

Anyway, one question, how do you guys clean the keyboard (especially the things stuck underneath it)

Added on August 21, 2007, 9:42 amI think the colour of the interior won't last long. Either the colour will fade or gets dirty very fast sad.gif

This post has been edited by dzi921: Aug 21 2007, 09:42 AM
eddy230379
post Aug 21 2007, 11:27 AM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Aug 21 2007, 09:40 AM)
I think is some minor cosmetic problem. No harm done  unsure.gif

Anyway, one question, how do you guys clean the keyboard (especially the things stuck underneath it)

Added on August 21, 2007, 9:42 amI think the colour of the interior won't last long. Either the colour will fade or gets dirty very fast sad.gif
for the keyboard ... use a very mild brush ... as for the colour ... wipe it clean after every time u use it ... sweat will make the colour fade quick ...

icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondlim
post Aug 21 2007, 11:53 AM

384 posts

actually keyboard is very hard to take care... terutama is white in color.. sad.gif
Lance8431
post Aug 21 2007, 02:14 PM

282 posts

hmm... got a question here, what kind of codec you guys get for the vista? any good codecs compatible with vista you guys using? Please recomend some here. Thanks in advance
eddy230379
post Aug 21 2007, 02:22 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Aug 21 2007, 02:14 PM)
hmm... got a question here, what kind of codec you guys get for the vista? any good codecs compatible with vista you guys using? Please recomend some here. Thanks in advance
try K-Lite Mega Codec ... very good ...

codecguide.com thumbup.gif
Lance8431
post Aug 21 2007, 02:23 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Aug 21 2007, 02:22 PM)

codecguide.com    thumbup.gif
thx bro notworthy.gif
eddy230379
post Aug 21 2007, 02:32 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Aug 21 2007, 02:23 PM)
thx bro notworthy.gif
no prob .... icon_rolleyes.gif
machine85
post Aug 21 2007, 03:48 PM

14 posts

Hmm, to all those whom order 1520 during PC fair, how many have received the lappy while how many more havent?

bah, there were some delay in the credit card approval so i was delay 1 week, but ever since my sales rep gave me my order no. and customer no., and i check online status, it says "work in progress" 15Aug.

Today's 21st and that page has not been updated, the estimated delivery date is 23 it says.

So shall i call or just sit and be hopeful that it comes in 2 days time (doubtful thou) :S

dzi921
post Aug 21 2007, 07:31 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Aug 21 2007, 02:22 PM)

codecguide.com    thumbup.gif
I used to like this Mega Codec, but seems like the newer version has removed Quicktime sad.gif
eddy230379
post Aug 21 2007, 07:37 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Aug 21 2007, 07:31 PM)
I used to like this Mega Codec, but seems like the newer version has removed Quicktime sad.gif
nope ... dont download the normal K-Lite Codec ... download the K-Lite Mega Codec ...
got quicktime and real media plug ins ...

thumbup.gif
HappyGuy
post Aug 21 2007, 08:20 PM

445 posts

hi, anyone feel their laptop performance is not good? I felt that my laptop performance is very low, response time also quite slow. I cant feel that I am running core 2 duo platform. Feel it is slower than my office pc, which is running core duo only. My laptop spec is 1.5GHz, 2GB ram. I have change the power option to top performance, some how, i still feel that is slow. I always can feel lag when i switch between visual studio .net, internet explorer, file explorer, listen music, even though the ram used around 1.1 GB and processor around 30%.

Anyway to increase the performance in the windows vista? Currently i am running vista premium. Thanks. smile.gif
Lance8431
post Aug 21 2007, 08:21 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(machine85 @ Aug 21 2007, 03:48 PM)
Hmm, to all those whom order 1520 during PC fair, how many have received the lappy while how many more havent?

bah, there were some delay in the credit card approval so i was delay 1 week, but ever since my sales rep gave me my order no. and customer no., and i check online status, it says "work in progress" 15Aug.

Today's 21st and that page has not been updated, the estimated delivery date is 23 it says.

So shall i call or just sit and be hopeful that it comes in 2 days time (doubtful thou) :S
mine was delivered to my home after one week, maybe because my dad was buying a desktop with this as well gua, then they processed faster to send together.
The order was posted on the monday after pc fair where the order still on, then the next week monday it arrive at my home dee.
I think its a case per case basis, some get earlier, some get later. initially the SA says my laptop need to wait 3 weeks, but then it came in and surprised me.
hao
post Aug 21 2007, 08:21 PM

Quillsâ„¢
5,469 posts

QUOTE(Gaza @ Aug 21 2007, 12:18 AM)
Yup i heard riva tuner doesn't give correct memory details for laptop GPUs as well.

And hao, do you mean when you press the laptop at that area, there's an area that doesn't flex while the rest of the area around it flexes?
Yeap!

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Aug 21 2007, 09:40 AM)
I think is some minor cosmetic problem. No harm done  unsure.gif

Miscalculation of the hardware dimension? lol
Darkmage12
post Aug 21 2007, 08:33 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(HappyGuy @ Aug 21 2007, 08:20 PM)
hi, anyone feel their laptop performance is not good? I felt that my laptop performance is very low, response time also quite slow. I cant feel that I am running core 2 duo platform. Feel it is slower than my office pc, which is running core duo only. My laptop spec is 1.5GHz, 2GB ram. I have change the power option to top performance, some how, i still feel that is slow. I always can feel lag when i switch between visual studio .net, internet explorer, file explorer, listen music, even though the ram used around 1.1 GB and processor around 30%.

Anyway to increase the performance in the windows vista? Currently i am running vista premium. Thanks.  smile.gif
my friend is suffering from a problem which is far worse than yours.......but luckily my 1 is running pretty well smile.gif
Lance8431
post Aug 21 2007, 08:48 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Aug 21 2007, 08:33 PM)
my friend is suffering from a problem which is far worse than yours.......but luckily my 1 is running pretty well smile.gif
mine still ok so far, no any major noticeble lag, just once in a while.
dzi921
post Aug 21 2007, 09:06 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Aug 21 2007, 07:37 PM)
nope ... dont download the  normal K-Lite Codec ... download the K-Lite Mega Codec ...
got quicktime and real media plug ins ... 

thumbup.gif
Yes, I've downloaded the latest Mega version and it doesn't seem to have quicktime in it.

They used to have in the older version of Mega, but quicktime was removed in the newer versions
Darkmage12
post Aug 21 2007, 10:28 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Aug 21 2007, 08:48 PM)
mine still ok so far, no any major noticeble lag, just once in a while.
his will hang pretty often if he doesn't use the AC
kianchun555
post Aug 22 2007, 01:37 AM

395 posts

Anyway to increase the performance in the windows vista? Currently i am running vista premium. Thanks.  smile.gif
Well, i am having a 1420 with C2D 1.8Ghz. Haven get to touch it as it is delivered to my home and i am at campus now, but my bro tried it out and say it's fine and smooth. However, i am sure 1.5 will lag so i upgrade to 1.8. This is becos i have read many forums which says that C2D is actually running bout 15% faster than Core Duo processor. Therefore, 1.5C2D when compare clock in core duo is just 1.5x1.15=1.725GHz.
Therefore, it may happen that it will lag, as now an Acer 4710 is running 2.0 Core Duo might have a higher processing power than the 1.5Ghz C2D easily.
http://crave.cnet.co.uk/laptops/0,39029450,49283370,00.htm

In this article, it shows that the c2d is just slightly better in performance which for me i think it is much on the multitasking but when running processes still higher clock speed will do better especially huge difference between the clock speed like the 1.5Ghz C2D with a 2.0Ghz Core Duo. I would say yes to Core Duo instead of C2D.

Actually, t5250 is just a replacement model for core duo line which is a core duo with a c2d name, so dun be fooled by it. At first when i look at Dell specs, i was so happy it is c2d, but when i did some research on the net, and try out the acer 4720 with t5250, i really dissappointed with the poor performance.

Therefore, i end up by paying RM400 extra for the T7100 1.8Ghz C2D. Which will be much better but still not the best. The best should be T7300 as it comes with a 4MB cache but it will be way out of my budget.

Besides that, do you guys think the Dell laptop is getting overpriced now? I think it is bcos they out of stock and try to scare of some customers who interested b4 the arriving of their new stock. Lol.

my current spec:
Dell Inspiron 1420
C2D T7100 1.8Ghz
2GB Ram
120GB HDD
Wireless-N
NV 8400 Graphic card
14.1" Truelife
Vista Home Basic
McAfee 15months OEM
Bluetooth
9-cell Battery
Standard Carry Case
1yr Standard NBD Warranty
Expresso Brown with webcam
Dell premium optical mouse

RM 3290-RM100=RM3190
I ordered during klcc pc fair which gives me free mouse and McAfee and RM 100 rebate.

I try to customize the same spec now and it cost up to nearly 4k. What are Dell thinking actually? It might be a good news to me that my machine is not dropping in price but this will cos many buyers to cry out and go for other brand, isnt it?

Added on August 22, 2007, 1:47 am
QUOTE(machine85 @ Aug 21 2007, 03:48 PM)

Its time to call and screw them up, lol.
I ordered mine on the 4 August, and they send me my order number on 7 August.
Then i waited for week til 14 August but still they dun update, so i mail and call Dell CS and screw them and say i might want to cancel order if the situation continues.
Then on the 14 evening, they have updated that my set is in progress, then the next day i was informes that my set is already ready and will arrive on 17 August. However, the carrier seems efficient and the set reach to me on the 16 August.
Therefore its time for some action and it will reach your door in a few days more or it will be weeks later.

This post has been edited by kianchun555: Aug 22 2007, 01:47 AM
kingmax
post Aug 22 2007, 02:21 AM

751 posts

When did you recieve your laptop ? Normally vista need to index your file and activities to run smooth , give it like a week or more.A normal Core Duo already consider very fast for regular user.Suspect the reason maybe having a 5400rpm hard disk.
SUSDavid83
post Aug 22 2007, 07:04 AM

52,874 posts

It's much better if Dell could offer or give 7200rpm HDD. So far, there's still no promotion on FREE HDD upgrade such as larger capacity or faster rpm. hmm.gif

126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:36 AM