54 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Working In Silverlake., Share your exp here please.

jcmf
post Nov 15 2010, 11:28 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(liawkz @ Nov 15 2010, 10:52 PM)
wao...seem like a bit politic in silverlake oso...but anyway...i will keep the learning minded go in silverlake...hope i can do it so...
what politics? i have lunch with seniors, teamleads, pm... so what politics?
its a very relaxing place to work in. unless rushing for project

liawkz
post Nov 16 2010, 11:50 AM

Validating
212 posts

Silverlake have Project Management Department???
Vinci777
post Nov 16 2010, 02:47 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(liawkz @ Nov 16 2010, 11:50 AM)
Silverlake have Project Management Department???
Yes. They have. But, mostly u will be doing is updating status and schedule.
liawkz
post Nov 16 2010, 04:00 PM

Validating
212 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Nov 16 2010, 02:47 PM)
Yes. They have. But, mostly u will be doing is updating status and schedule.
is that most of the ppl inside tis dept. is intern ppl???
Tiger99
post Nov 16 2010, 09:54 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(liawkz @ Nov 16 2010, 04:00 PM)
is that most of the ppl inside tis dept. is intern ppl???
not really,but a lot of fresh..
liawkz
post Nov 16 2010, 10:11 PM

Validating
212 posts

QUOTE(Tiger99 @ Nov 16 2010, 09:54 PM)
not really,but a lot of fresh..
i'm one of the fresh will join silverlake in this coming december...haha...thx a million for ur information...
Vinci777
post Nov 16 2010, 11:01 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(liawkz @ Nov 16 2010, 10:11 PM)
i'm one of the fresh will join silverlake in this coming december...haha...thx a million for ur information...
Welcome. biggrin.gif What project will you be joining? dont know yet huh? Many ppl jealous of PMO department because they get all the better laptops compared to technical ppl who had been with the company for god knows how many years tongue.gif
liawkz
post Nov 17 2010, 12:28 AM

Validating
212 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Nov 16 2010, 11:01 PM)
Welcome. biggrin.gif What project will you be joining? dont know yet huh? Many ppl jealous of PMO department because they get all the better laptops compared to technical ppl who had been with the company for god knows how many years tongue.gif
This i'm dunno bout it...i'm jz intern so will go in with a learning minded and hope have a nice senior to guide me from wrong...that wat i hope for...
Tiger99
post Nov 17 2010, 01:01 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(liawkz @ Nov 17 2010, 12:28 AM)
This i'm dunno bout it...i'm jz intern so will go in with a learning minded and hope have a nice senior to guide me from wrong...that wat i hope for...
aha..expect to learn from yourself.. [mistakes]
SUSreitto
post Nov 25 2010, 12:01 AM

I baru mau send my resume today(since now is 12 am) tongue.gif

rlinux
post Nov 25 2010, 10:39 AM

Satisfaction
791 posts

I am not sure about years back in Silverlake. But my friends who worked there are horribly complaining about it since last year. I have had 3 friends working in there, and all 3 of them left, last one who left was early this year. The working hours is too long, because if you leave at 6pm sharp. They will be staring at you as if you are an ugly duckling. The increment is bad there, it is not really standard compared to competitive employers. It is pretty normal to have politics in big companies, but there are so much in Silverlake that you will go crazy if you do not leave soon.
Vinci777
post Nov 25 2010, 04:47 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(rlinux @ Nov 25 2010, 10:39 AM)
I am not sure about years back in Silverlake. But my friends who worked there are horribly complaining about it since last year. I have had 3 friends working in there, and all 3 of them left, last one who left was early this year. The working hours is too long, because if you leave at 6pm sharp. They will be staring at you as if you are an ugly duckling. The increment is bad there, it is not really standard compared to competitive employers. It is pretty normal to have politics in big companies, but there are so much in Silverlake that you will go crazy if you do not leave soon.
Well, diff Ppl hav diff perspective and needs. It doest work for one doesn't mean won't work for others. Grass I always greener in the other side. Afterall we work for money not for the company. If SL offer good, we stay and vice versa. Maybe ur three friends didn't get what they wan in SL. But I'm sure they gain the exp which make them useful or valuable to the comp they r working now. So is SL the angel or devil? Haha. Politics are considerably low as I could see. Everyone r busy doing their stuffsand got no time for politics unless ur sitting at the higher lv where young Ppl dying n old Ppl talking. Increment wise, it really varies from time to time And bosses. I got a 30% raise before and the lowest 12%. Also, as long as u do ur job and manage ur time well, nobody cares if u go back at 4 pm. Everywhere is the same. However, if a comp manage to give me a better life n pay, I wont resist tongue.gif
kelvin_tan
post Nov 25 2010, 05:11 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@Vincci777
yea 30% raise biggrin.gif nice.. SL usually gives high increment but no bonus sad.gif
BUT .. i heard new hires (fresh new hires) are getting contractual bonus. BUT their salary increment sucks now ><
Vinci777
post Nov 26 2010, 11:24 AM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Nov 25 2010, 05:11 PM)
@Vincci777
yea 30% raise biggrin.gif nice.. SL usually gives high increment but no bonus sad.gif
BUT .. i heard new hires (fresh new hires) are getting contractual bonus. BUT their salary increment sucks now ><
Not sure bout bonus cos I really dun think they will give ESP to fresh grad cos many Ppl will be furious tongue.gif fresh grad salary is higher than before where they can get around 2.2 to 3k. Some Ppl work 2 years not even reach the 3k mark. Hmmm

Maybe other SL subsidiaries like axis have bonus for high lv. Not sure dou
Joey-kun
post Nov 26 2010, 11:57 AM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(rlinux @ Nov 25 2010, 10:39 AM)
Not really. the politics in silverlake is very, very mild compared to elsewhere and unless you went in as a PM you probably wont notice it at all. Politics and shoe polishing works to a certain extent but it wont carry you far. What works is that you do your job and make sure nobody needs to follow up.

working hours? if you can finish your work efficiently and you've done your part, nobody can stop you from leaving.

ArtLova
post Nov 26 2010, 11:40 PM

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Nov 26 2010, 11:57 AM)
Not really. the politics in silverlake is very, very mild compared to elsewhere and unless you went in as a PM you probably wont notice it at all. Politics and shoe polishing works to a certain extent but it wont carry you far. What works is that you do your job and make sure nobody needs to follow up.

working hours? if you can finish your work efficiently and you've done your part, nobody can stop you from leaving.
So anybody working on the new projects for the HNA Group, CIMB or OCBC?

Hear they are tough...
liawkz
post Nov 27 2010, 10:08 AM

Validating
212 posts

wao...u guys are awesome man...haha...i'm ur junior and hope get to know u all soon...thx...
Vinci777
post Nov 27 2010, 03:26 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(ArtLova @ Nov 26 2010, 11:40 PM)
So anybody working on the new projects for the HNA Group, CIMB or OCBC?

Hear they are tough...
Hna is core n cards project. Tough becos product manager is there so sat have to work and u know the chinaman attitude. Lol

Cimb ones are the largest. Not sure how tough is it.
Gate_keeper
post Dec 3 2010, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(liawkz @ Nov 27 2010, 10:08 AM)
wao...u guys are awesome man...haha...i'm ur junior and hope get to know u all soon...thx...
haha...welcome onboard, soldier. Hop into the boat, set sail and learn along the journey lor.hahaha
I'm sure you'll gain some experiences in business world. Learn the business as much as you can, as this is probably what the text book won't teach. Keep up the good work, buddy. thumbup.gif
liawkz
post Dec 7 2010, 10:50 AM

Validating
212 posts

QUOTE(Gate_keeper @ Dec 3 2010, 02:37 PM)
haha...welcome onboard, soldier. Hop into the boat, set sail and learn along the journey lor.hahaha
I'm sure you'll gain some experiences in business world. Learn the business as much as you can, as this is probably what the text book won't teach. Keep up the good work, buddy.  thumbup.gif
Totally agree with u man...

Thanks for ur encouragement and i'm believe myself will do what have been mention by u...

Thank ya...

54 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:24 AM