> I am so sicked of those calling menghapuskan SRJK

blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 02:51 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(chemnz @ Jan 2 2020, 02:29 PM)
That's some comfortable job there.

But not every companies/businesses run like yours right? You work for a German company, figures. I get it. Judging from your comments, sounds like you haven't tried different work cultures. Go out a little. Work at local cinapek, SG, or PRC owned companies. These are the prevailing businesses in the region too. You'll see what I mean. Sure your boss can speak English, but the people you deal with most of the time to get shit done from other depts or colleagues aren't necessarily as fluent in English as you wish (try see working with PRC devs or equivalent others especially).

Look, I can respect your opinion, but only to the extent where it applies to your own workplace, because it is an MNC, so no doubt it will hire the staffs that can speak English. I've had the pleasure/displeasure of working with 2 MNCs, 1 SG, 1 SG+PRC, and 1 locally owned company. So yeah ma dude. Practicality for all. Don't be like those 'this is America, we speak English' pipu. It's just another language that has great uses, even more so in the future.
I am not saying Mandarin is useless. Mandarin is good if you’re aspiring to work for PRC company. But other than that, mandarin has not much use.

I am just dismissing your idea of making Mandarin compulsory to malaysian, not dissing the languages.

I have worked in one cinapek company, two local public listed companies, one British company, one french company and one german company. None of them requires me to speak Mandarin. Heck, even those is cinapek company don’t speak mandarin, they all speak hokkien.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jan 2 2020, 02:52 PM
chemnz
post Jan 2 2020, 02:56 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 2 2020, 02:51 PM)
I am not saying Mandarin is useless. Mandarin is good if you’re aspiring to work for PRC company. But other than that, mandarin has not much use.

I am just dismissing your idea of making Mandarin compulsory to malaysian, not dissing the languages.

I have worked in one cinapek company, two local public listed companies, one British company, one french company and one german company. None of them requires me to speak Mandarin. Heck, even those is cinapek company don’t speak mandarin, they all speak hokkien.
More like mandarin with plenty of hokkien in it. Ok la bro. Guess we gotta agree to disagree on this then? Good thing I'm not a policy maker.
Bonchi
post Jan 2 2020, 02:56 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

no doubt mandarin is advantageous ... but i dont think we should force it to be compulsory especially in Malaysia. Afterall many kids are struggling to keep up with that many subjects already... even with 2 language they can barely manage.

And also why want to share the pie brows.gif if everyone speaks mandarin then there'll be no more advantage for mandarin speakers in the job hunt laugh.gif.

We should pretty much go back to 2002 and use that teaching of Science and Maths in English Moral studies in BM. retain the SJK for their additional language class for parents who thinks their kids can cope with the extra language. The rest can just go SK.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Jan 2 2020, 03:00 PM
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 03:08 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(chemnz @ Jan 2 2020, 02:56 PM)
More like mandarin with plenty of hokkien in it. Ok la bro. Guess we gotta agree to disagree on this then? Good thing I'm not a policy maker.
Not sure. But my boss said he don’t know mandarin because he went to SK. I guess pure hokkien then.

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 2 2020, 02:56 PM)
no doubt mandarin is advantageous ... but i dont think we should force it to be compulsory especially in Malaysia. Afterall many kids are struggling to keep up with that many subjects already... even with 2 language they can barely manage.

And also why want to share the pie brows.gif if everyone speaks mandarin then there'll be no more advantage for mandarin speakers in the job hunt laugh.gif.
We should pretty much go back to 2002 and use that teaching of Science and Maths in English Moral studies in BM. retain the SJK for their additional language class for parents who thinks their kids can cope with the extra language. The rest can just go SK.
This is true. No doubt you have higher chances to work in PRC company if you know mandarin, but most malaysian are struggling to master 2 languages, you wanted them to learn 3rd one which has no use to them.

I can understand three languages too because i learned arab in school. But do you think learning arab has any benefit to me? No. Because i am not in oil and gas industry. It was kind of waste learning arab in school. Should have taken japanese instead.
aliesterfiend
post Jan 2 2020, 03:13 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 2 2020, 01:35 PM)
And all regional engineers in Shanghai and Shenzhen can speak english. Even regional engineeer in Singapore from China also speak English. So, when do i need mandarin? I don’t. Like i said, i my company, i only need mandarin if i want to speak to Malaysian who refuse to speak english or BM only.
Same with my experience last time. My cina colleague even kena tiau by the China people when speaking Mandarin during meeting. His only main job is actually just to translate my report into mandarin due to we practice dual language report. Itupun banyak kali kena marah cuz his mandarin is not up to par with China standard.
toda_erika_II
post Jan 2 2020, 03:17 PM

rawr~~
540 posts

QUOTE(chemnz @ Jan 2 2020, 11:04 AM)

- Ali has 5 guli, Ah Chong has 10, and Ravi has 1. that's a problem. get that shit fixed.
Careful in the thinking up of the solution.
First of all, wealth is not a fixed pie. It can grow. Because Ali, Ah Chong and Ravi doesn't just circulate the 16 guli among 3 of them only. They can trade with other kids.

3 of them have to get guli in the guli battle. All of them have to give banker some guli if they posses more than certain amount of guli. Bankers guli are shared for all their benefits. So how to fix this inequality problem? Use the 70's method, limit Ah Chong's guli battle and ask Ravi to go, without actually teaching him skills. Bankers will provide him guli, mostly provided by Ah Chong. Will this solve the problem? Or will it make the banker less guli?
gundamsp01
post Jan 2 2020, 03:23 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

not really prc company, my mnc bank needs to deal with local authorities, that's why mandarin is advantageous for the role, same for hk environment
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jan 2 2020, 03:24 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jan 2 2020, 03:23 PM)
not really prc company, my mnc bank needs to deal with local authorities, that's why mandarin is advantageous for the role, same for hk environment
diu nei lou mou
Bonchi
post Jan 2 2020, 03:26 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 2 2020, 03:08 PM)
Not sure. But my boss said he don’t know mandarin because he went to SK. I guess pure hokkien then.
This is true. No doubt you have higher chances to work in PRC company if you know mandarin, but most malaysian are struggling to master 2 languages, you wanted them to learn 3rd one which has no use to them.

I can understand three languages too because i learned arab in school. But do you think learning arab has any benefit to me? No. Because i am not in oil and gas industry. It was kind of waste learning arab in school. Should have taken japanese instead.
True that. that's why those that cant speak proper BM/English but converse in mandarin daily.. their mandarin is actually at the level of Bahasa rempit to BM speakers. Having worked with Taiwanese and PRCs.. they admitted that they can never fully understand daily malaysian mandarin which turns out to be a rojak of slangs from dialects and a grammatical nightmare laugh.gif. When there's too many things to focus, they'll end up mastering nothing.

Well it's always good to have additional knowledge but we have to make sure the kids are truly competent with English at the very least before adding more ingredients to the soup.
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 03:27 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Jan 2 2020, 03:13 PM)
Same with my experience last time. My cina colleague even kena tiau by the China people when speaking Mandarin during meeting. His only main job is actually just to translate my report into mandarin due to we practice dual language report. Itupun banyak kali kena marah cuz his mandarin is not up to par with China standard.
Lol. Happened to colleague of mine also, but from other department, kononnya want to speak mandarin to PRC people when he came down to Malaysia, but the Guangzhou born manager replied to him in English laugh.gif

I guess you colleague mandarin level is rempit level. Like most people here who speaks primarily BM but at rempit level, ask them to write official report/letter/documents in BM, grammar and vocabs all over the place.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jan 2 2020, 03:27 PM
Bonchi
post Jan 2 2020, 03:35 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 2 2020, 03:27 PM)
Lol. Happened to colleague of mine also, but from other department, kononnya want to speak mandarin to PRC people when he came down to Malaysia, but the Guangzhou born manager replied to him in English laugh.gif

I guess you colleague mandarin level is rempit level. Like most people here who speaks primarily BM but at rempit level, ask them to write official report/letter/documents in BM, grammar and vocabs all over the place.
It's a simple formula really.... as a student, if they cant be fluent in a compulsory language such as BM and English, What is there to say about their mandarin level... which coincidentally is one of the most difficult language to learn. laugh.gif ... and in the same context.. those SK dudes should also look in the mirror about their BM. Speaking bahasa pasar is not fluency lmao.
chemnz
post Jan 2 2020, 03:42 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(toda_erika_II @ Jan 2 2020, 03:17 PM)
Careful in the thinking up of the solution.
First of all, wealth is not a fixed pie. It can grow. Because Ali, Ah Chong and Ravi doesn't just circulate the 16 guli among 3 of them only. They can trade with other kids.

3 of them have to get guli in the guli battle. All of them have to give banker some guli if they posses more than certain amount of guli. Bankers guli are shared for all their benefits. So how to fix this inequality problem? Use the 70's method, limit Ah Chong's guli battle and ask Ravi to go, without actually teaching him skills. Bankers will provide him guli, mostly provided by Ah Chong. Will this solve the problem? Or will it make the banker less guli?
hehe. nice catch there.
don't know. if i know also, i can't fix it.

Might I add. I didn't mean learn rojak Mandarin. sweat.gif sweat.gif
I remember a PRC Grab passenger bitch to me in English, saying locals here Mandarin like shit cos rojak lots of hokkien, cantonese, with a dose of local accent.

This post has been edited by chemnz: Jan 2 2020, 03:45 PM
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 03:46 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 2 2020, 03:26 PM)
True that. that's why those that cant speak proper BM/English but converse in mandarin daily.. their mandarin is actually at the level of Bahasa rempit to BM speakers. Having worked with Taiwanese and PRCs.. they admitted that they can never fully understand daily malaysian mandarin which turns out to be a rojak of slangs from dialects and a grammatical nightmare laugh.gif.  When there's too many things to focus, they'll end up mastering nothing.

Well it's always good to have additional knowledge but we have to make sure the kids are truly competent with English at the very least before adding more ingredients to the soup.
LOL. Just like what i experienced when i had a meeting with a client company from taiwan. Some personnel from taiwan came down to Malaysia, so in the meeting there was one lady from taiwan, one lady from PRC, two malaysian chinese ladies, and one malay guy. The meeting was in English but since the English of the two non malaysian was not so good, occasionally the malay guy will elaborate my point to those ladies in Mandarin.

I was wondering why the malay guy always do the talking when all of them are in the same level? (all managers). So i asked him when we were alone. He told me because the two Malaysian are too used to the language, they spoke in language that is mix and match of few dialects, hence the taiwanese and PRC is having a hard time to understand. Unlike him, he learned formal mandarin and speak pure textbook mandarin.

Just like rempit vs non-malay who scored A1 in BM in SPM, definitely the guy who scored A1 can speak and write better BM than the rempit.
aliesterfiend
post Jan 2 2020, 03:47 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

I dont know la. Maybe conversational mandarin ok la kot. But bm and english totally out. All reports in mandarin in the end my China manager kena redo before sending out to hq.
SUSSKY233
post Jan 2 2020, 03:51 PM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

anakku baik orangnya
MKCL
post Jan 2 2020, 03:52 PM

333 posts

The obvious choice is to improve national school until it surpassed vernacular school as top 1 choice. Sadly, they are too prideful.

People these days doesnt trust the concept of All in one school that much especially with cases of eating in toilet during puasa and existence of religous / MARA schools. Double standard aint it ?

You can't demand people to give in into your demands without giving them something to balance out. People just can't accept it. Want vernaculars gone ? Then follow singapore. All use same education standard and English ( a language not native to any ethnic race locally, hence fair game, since everyone has to work equally hard)

On the side note

few days ago, I met a Malay government official, that can't spell konsultan and akaun in BM without thinking for 10-20 secs, says a lot about double standards of those who demand others to be good in BM. While I believe Chinese should improve their BM, I believe Chinese do understand BM but its the slang, speed and accent of native speakers that threw them off. I can understand standard BM with good pronunciation but not when you are rapping through the phone, don't even mention Kelantanese slang. That said, if you cannot participate in simple conversation in BM, you should start improving. No need for speech worthy proficiency, but at least don't stutter in everyday conversation.

This post has been edited by MKCL: Jan 2 2020, 04:02 PM
aliesterfiend
post Jan 2 2020, 03:54 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 2 2020, 03:35 PM)
It's a simple formula really.... as a student, if they cant be fluent in a compulsory language such as BM and English, What is there to say about their mandarin level... which coincidentally is one of the most difficult language to learn. laugh.gif ... and in the same context.. those SK dudes should also look in the mirror about their BM. Speaking bahasa pasar is not fluency lmao.
Indeed. That's why I am sceptical when one of the supposed main reason for hiring mandarin speakers is said to be because of dealing with business from China. I dont know about those cinapek company but my experience with MNC was the other way around.
xecton
post Jan 2 2020, 03:54 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(gsem984 @ Jan 1 2020, 09:58 PM)
They are the identity of Chinese and Indian citizens in this country.
I'm a Chinese but jenis school is not my identity.
Please don't gatekeep the Chinese identity.
And finally, I call for the abolishment of Chinese schools to save the Chinese mother tongues.
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 03:59 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 2 2020, 03:35 PM)
Yeah. Tell that to those racist lowlifes in FB. Write in bahasa rempit that even I don’t understand tapi ada hati nak kutuk non-malay’s proficiency in BM.

But me on the other hand, A in arab in PMR, A1 in BM and English in SPM, so i have the right to kutuk other people’s language proficiency laugh.gif
QUOTE(chemnz @ Jan 2 2020, 03:42 PM)
hehe. nice catch there.
don't know. if i know also, i can't fix it.
Might I add. I didn't mean learn rojak Mandarin.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I remember a PRC Grab passenger bitch to me in English, saying locals here Mandarin like shit cos rojak lots of hokkien, cantonese, with a dose of local accent.
So i guess learning mandarin in SJK is overrated for chinese speaking people. Only good for non-chinese.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jan 2 2020, 03:59 PM
aressandro10
post Jan 2 2020, 03:59 PM

121 posts

I am truly belive by removing the need for us to only belong with out own race...

Can we be able to move forward...

Currently ..we even need to hire people to work in our company if they talk like us..

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Jan 2 2020, 04:00 PM

22 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » 

0.0201sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:05 AM