> I am so sicked of those calling menghapuskan SRJK

aliesterfiend
post Jan 2 2020, 03:13 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 2 2020, 01:35 PM)
And all regional engineers in Shanghai and Shenzhen can speak english. Even regional engineeer in Singapore from China also speak English. So, when do i need mandarin? I don’t. Like i said, i my company, i only need mandarin if i want to speak to Malaysian who refuse to speak english or BM only.
Same with my experience last time. My cina colleague even kena tiau by the China people when speaking Mandarin during meeting. His only main job is actually just to translate my report into mandarin due to we practice dual language report. Itupun banyak kali kena marah cuz his mandarin is not up to par with China standard.
aliesterfiend
post Jan 2 2020, 03:47 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 2 2020, 03:27 PM)
Lol. Happened to colleague of mine also, but from other department, kononnya want to speak mandarin to PRC people when he came down to Malaysia, but the Guangzhou born manager replied to him in English laugh.gif

I guess you colleague mandarin level is rempit level. Like most people here who speaks primarily BM but at rempit level, ask them to write official report/letter/documents in BM, grammar and vocabs all over the place.
I dont know la. Maybe conversational mandarin ok la kot. But bm and english totally out. All reports in mandarin in the end my China manager kena redo before sending out to hq.
aliesterfiend
post Jan 2 2020, 03:54 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 2 2020, 03:35 PM)
It's a simple formula really.... as a student, if they cant be fluent in a compulsory language such as BM and English, What is there to say about their mandarin level... which coincidentally is one of the most difficult language to learn. laugh.gif ... and in the same context.. those SK dudes should also look in the mirror about their BM. Speaking bahasa pasar is not fluency lmao.
Indeed. That's why I am sceptical when one of the supposed main reason for hiring mandarin speakers is said to be because of dealing with business from China. I dont know about those cinapek company but my experience with MNC was the other way around.
aliesterfiend
post Jan 4 2020, 11:39 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Jan 4 2020, 09:18 AM)
Yeap. Open up everything I say!

However it must start from the beginning. The primary school.
I remembered when my first born went to primary school in the UK. How excited she was telling me there are so many different people in the world with different skin, different languages, different background learning together, playing together.

It's very refreshing to hear such an innocent view of things from. A 4 year old then...

Children are never racist to begin with, what culture them into one is the surrounding, the upbringing (especially things that parents and friends told them) and the lack of opportunity to meet and understand others from the young age.

While the argument is that SJK is open for all races, it remains the fact that the majority of the particular race will send their kids there.

My eldest is now standard 5 and in her class in SK There's a good mixture of Malay and Indians, Sikh and even Sarawak Bumi but with only 2 Chinese. That's an imbalance if I ever see one.
My kids primary school I'd say majority are malays and indians. Few chinese except in PPKI. This is in a town with equal proportion of malay, indian and chinese and dll tak termasuk indo, bangka dan myarmar (serta vietmoi).

0.0124sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:34 AM