> I am so sicked of those calling menghapuskan SRJK

blanket84
post Jan 1 2020, 10:53 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ahter @ Jan 1 2020, 10:47 PM)
they cannot compete so want you to be as stupid like them.
I always find this kind of syok sendiri statement amusing. laugh.gif

But yeah i came from elite public school, so of course i find that such statement amusing laugh.gif

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jan 1 2020, 10:55 PM
blanket84
post Jan 1 2020, 10:59 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ykj @ Jan 1 2020, 10:57 PM)
Well done. Butthurt incoming.
It’s okay. No harm for you to syok sendiri. laugh.gif
blanket84
post Jan 1 2020, 11:40 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 1 2020, 11:17 PM)
I wouldnt mind, but a lot of Malays will be left to do labour jobs because Malays generally dont adapt well, they are to clingy to tradition. This can lead to another "incident"

Dont know how to solve this, luckily it is not my job. But I really wish that there are less racial sentiments coming from botht he politicians and people. Politicians need power so they rile you up, people vote for these politicians on both sides so they are not exactly innocent either

oh look at that here I am talking about R&R laugh.gif sometimes I really hate what has become of this country. We could have done so much
Well. It takes two to tango. Bertepuk sebelah tangan tak akan berbunyi.

Racism is played by both side. Even here in lowyat. Whoever harping on racial issue regardless of which race are actually racist. People aggravating small issue and fear mongering about may 13 incident, even here you can see they are all the usual suspect.

Everyone have their own ego and not willing to compromise. All people want is for you to follow what i want. Both sides are the same. Afterall we are all asian, we have big ego.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jan 1 2020, 11:41 PM
blanket84
post Jan 1 2020, 11:48 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 1 2020, 11:43 PM)
Guilty as charged.

But please la guys, fewer R&R threads please
You’re just expressing your concern without being hostile to others. Nothing is wrong about that.

I am saying the hardcore racist in this thread is the usual suspects. If you linger long enough in /k, you can actually spot the usual suspects laugh.gif Their MO is always the same, harping on may 13 incident.
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 11:45 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(red4900 @ Jan 2 2020, 10:12 AM)
Exactly.

This all started because people keep questioning about quota, bumi right, etc. Saying unfair la apa la. But when asked the same from their people, then bising pula

If everyone just senyap2 coexist, this all wouldnt happen.
Well, to me, the govt should remove bumi quota, bumi right & everything related to bumi and islam and do the same to other races to. Whoever oppose is definitely racist.

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Jan 2 2020, 10:20 AM)
if remove vernacular school, pls remove sekolah agama + uni kuota.
since the reason is want all study together for national unity
then somehow hope the Education Ministry can elevate the education level instead of using schs as propaganda camps
Yes. Remove sekolah agama and sjk. If you want to learn anything about your motherland culture and brotherhood culture/religion, learn it after school. No education budget should go to sekolah agama and sjk. If the parents insists of sending their kids to sekolah sejenis bangsa or sejenis agama, allow license to private school operator to provide this kind of school. If free, all normal national school.

And please remove pendidikan islam from the syllabus. Whoever wants their kids to learn islam, pay for tuition after school. I hate when ustat taught my kids stupid things in school. Make my task of correcting my kids mentality harder. But fortunately my sons can accept logic when explained.

QUOTE(chemnz @ Jan 2 2020, 11:04 AM)
One nation. One system.

- make bahasa, mandarin, english compulsory (lets be honest, Bahasa is our national language. Mandarin and English has practical uses, so macha dun marah ya. y'all still get 2 public holidays, unlike our Sikh brethren)

- revamp agama islam and abolish pendidikan moral (fight me if you want, but agama islam classes has NOT proven to make muslims better and tolerant people. improve that shit. pendidikan moral otoh is an insult to nons. how to make the schedule you ask? i don't know.. like maybe add an EXTRA FUCKING HOUR for agama islam every few school days?)

- dont hire cikgu bodo & emo. just because u graduated from some uni or maktab perguruan, doesn't mean jackshit if you can't teach. and at least have a decent command of english. dont make the saying "those who can't do, teach" a reality.

- PJK is not a real slot, and PJK teacher is not a real job. well, not unless you actually teach real health and fitness. if not, just focus on after school co-curriculum sports instead. could actually worth something for people who can actually excel of have interest in certain sports

- Ali has 5 guli, Ah Chong has 10, and Ravi has 1. that's a problem. get that shit fixed.
No point making mandarin compulsory. Here is malaysia, not china. And i don’t see any use of mandarin other than trying to understand my fellow malaysian who refuse to speak in language i understand. Even the regional manager of my company in shenzen office speaks English.
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 01:35 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(chemnz @ Jan 2 2020, 12:32 PM)
I disagree. It's not really a matter of becos here is Malaysia yadayada argument. I don't buy that bullshit. It's practicality is beyond just a normal conversation. But you're lucky your manager can speak English. If he doesn't, doubt your chance is higher to get the job in the first place. Just think of it as a skill, rather than an impact to identity. Like shit man, you don't see people crying foul for not getting an engineering job when they're an art major, right? Equally, if you see it as a general skill, wouldn't that give you an edge over more jobs/businesses?

Plus you literally give zero chance for them to use the "you can't speak chinese" card.

Don't get me wrong. You orang Malaysia, you MUST know Bahasa too, first and foremost. Period.
If the regional manager can’t speak english, I doubt he will get hired for his position. German company wants people who can speak english even in PRC. With mandarin only, you might get hire for low rank position. And i don’t report to him. I’m reporting to local HOD who is a Malaysian. And all regional engineers in Shanghai and Shenzhen can speak english. Even regional engineeer in Singapore from China also speak English. So, when do i need mandarin? I don’t. Like i said, i my company, i only need mandarin if i want to speak to Malaysian who refuse to speak english or BM only.

Making mandarin compulsory is just as stupid as making jawi compulsory. If you want to learn mandarin. Take language classes after school. You can opt to learn other languages too, like Japanese if you like j-drama or Korean if you like k-pop etc2.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jan 2 2020, 02:55 PM
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 02:51 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(chemnz @ Jan 2 2020, 02:29 PM)
That's some comfortable job there.

But not every companies/businesses run like yours right? You work for a German company, figures. I get it. Judging from your comments, sounds like you haven't tried different work cultures. Go out a little. Work at local cinapek, SG, or PRC owned companies. These are the prevailing businesses in the region too. You'll see what I mean. Sure your boss can speak English, but the people you deal with most of the time to get shit done from other depts or colleagues aren't necessarily as fluent in English as you wish (try see working with PRC devs or equivalent others especially).

Look, I can respect your opinion, but only to the extent where it applies to your own workplace, because it is an MNC, so no doubt it will hire the staffs that can speak English. I've had the pleasure/displeasure of working with 2 MNCs, 1 SG, 1 SG+PRC, and 1 locally owned company. So yeah ma dude. Practicality for all. Don't be like those 'this is America, we speak English' pipu. It's just another language that has great uses, even more so in the future.
I am not saying Mandarin is useless. Mandarin is good if you’re aspiring to work for PRC company. But other than that, mandarin has not much use.

I am just dismissing your idea of making Mandarin compulsory to malaysian, not dissing the languages.

I have worked in one cinapek company, two local public listed companies, one British company, one french company and one german company. None of them requires me to speak Mandarin. Heck, even those is cinapek company don’t speak mandarin, they all speak hokkien.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jan 2 2020, 02:52 PM
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 03:08 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(chemnz @ Jan 2 2020, 02:56 PM)
More like mandarin with plenty of hokkien in it. Ok la bro. Guess we gotta agree to disagree on this then? Good thing I'm not a policy maker.
Not sure. But my boss said he don’t know mandarin because he went to SK. I guess pure hokkien then.

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 2 2020, 02:56 PM)
no doubt mandarin is advantageous ... but i dont think we should force it to be compulsory especially in Malaysia. Afterall many kids are struggling to keep up with that many subjects already... even with 2 language they can barely manage.

And also why want to share the pie brows.gif if everyone speaks mandarin then there'll be no more advantage for mandarin speakers in the job hunt laugh.gif.
We should pretty much go back to 2002 and use that teaching of Science and Maths in English Moral studies in BM. retain the SJK for their additional language class for parents who thinks their kids can cope with the extra language. The rest can just go SK.
This is true. No doubt you have higher chances to work in PRC company if you know mandarin, but most malaysian are struggling to master 2 languages, you wanted them to learn 3rd one which has no use to them.

I can understand three languages too because i learned arab in school. But do you think learning arab has any benefit to me? No. Because i am not in oil and gas industry. It was kind of waste learning arab in school. Should have taken japanese instead.
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 03:27 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Jan 2 2020, 03:13 PM)
Same with my experience last time. My cina colleague even kena tiau by the China people when speaking Mandarin during meeting. His only main job is actually just to translate my report into mandarin due to we practice dual language report. Itupun banyak kali kena marah cuz his mandarin is not up to par with China standard.
Lol. Happened to colleague of mine also, but from other department, kononnya want to speak mandarin to PRC people when he came down to Malaysia, but the Guangzhou born manager replied to him in English laugh.gif

I guess you colleague mandarin level is rempit level. Like most people here who speaks primarily BM but at rempit level, ask them to write official report/letter/documents in BM, grammar and vocabs all over the place.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jan 2 2020, 03:27 PM
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 03:46 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 2 2020, 03:26 PM)
True that. that's why those that cant speak proper BM/English but converse in mandarin daily.. their mandarin is actually at the level of Bahasa rempit to BM speakers. Having worked with Taiwanese and PRCs.. they admitted that they can never fully understand daily malaysian mandarin which turns out to be a rojak of slangs from dialects and a grammatical nightmare laugh.gif.  When there's too many things to focus, they'll end up mastering nothing.

Well it's always good to have additional knowledge but we have to make sure the kids are truly competent with English at the very least before adding more ingredients to the soup.
LOL. Just like what i experienced when i had a meeting with a client company from taiwan. Some personnel from taiwan came down to Malaysia, so in the meeting there was one lady from taiwan, one lady from PRC, two malaysian chinese ladies, and one malay guy. The meeting was in English but since the English of the two non malaysian was not so good, occasionally the malay guy will elaborate my point to those ladies in Mandarin.

I was wondering why the malay guy always do the talking when all of them are in the same level? (all managers). So i asked him when we were alone. He told me because the two Malaysian are too used to the language, they spoke in language that is mix and match of few dialects, hence the taiwanese and PRC is having a hard time to understand. Unlike him, he learned formal mandarin and speak pure textbook mandarin.

Just like rempit vs non-malay who scored A1 in BM in SPM, definitely the guy who scored A1 can speak and write better BM than the rempit.
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 03:59 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 2 2020, 03:35 PM)
It's a simple formula really.... as a student, if they cant be fluent in a compulsory language such as BM and English, What is there to say about their mandarin level... which coincidentally is one of the most difficult language to learn. laugh.gif ... and in the same context.. those SK dudes should also look in the mirror about their BM. Speaking bahasa pasar is not fluency lmao.
Yeah. Tell that to those racist lowlifes in FB. Write in bahasa rempit that even I don’t understand tapi ada hati nak kutuk non-malay’s proficiency in BM.

But me on the other hand, A in arab in PMR, A1 in BM and English in SPM, so i have the right to kutuk other people’s language proficiency laugh.gif
QUOTE(chemnz @ Jan 2 2020, 03:42 PM)
hehe. nice catch there.
don't know. if i know also, i can't fix it.
Might I add. I didn't mean learn rojak Mandarin.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I remember a PRC Grab passenger bitch to me in English, saying locals here Mandarin like shit cos rojak lots of hokkien, cantonese, with a dose of local accent.
So i guess learning mandarin in SJK is overrated for chinese speaking people. Only good for non-chinese.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jan 2 2020, 03:59 PM
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 04:01 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jan 2 2020, 03:23 PM)
not really prc company, my mnc bank needs to deal with local authorities, that's why mandarin is advantageous for the role, same for hk environment
I guess you’re working in PRC? If so then of course it is important the learn the local language.
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 04:04 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Jan 2 2020, 03:47 PM)
I dont know la. Maybe conversational mandarin ok la kot. But bm and english totally out. All reports in mandarin in the end my China manager kena redo before sending out to hq.
What’s the point of hiring him then? sweat.gif
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 04:13 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jan 2 2020, 04:05 PM)
here and there, not stationed in prc, just that projects are market specific
Well if you deal with authorities where the local language is Mandarin, of course it is important for you to master the language.

In malaysia, official documentation mostly can be done in BM and English, so in that aspect we are better than single language countries.
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 05:20 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 2 2020, 04:40 PM)
When it is a required criteria, they will expect to see some level of fluency like read and write.. or perhaps a supporting SPM result... usually can judge through interview.
Sending kids to SJK especially SJKC is not entirely for the mandarin language (afterall from 2002-2012 the teaching medium for science and maths were english). The main purpose is actually for the learning motivation and the teaching environment which is culturally similar to schools in east asia.. where their goal is to excel in exams. Almost every high performing SJKC in KL will have after school classes to further boost the main UPSR subjects and perform hours of revision on past year questions to better prepare the kids for the actual exam.

Comparatively, SJKC is so competitive that the top scorers for UPSR will even be rewarded, in some schools ... with cash from the PIBG's fund. im not joking lol......  And there will be alot of emphasis on the top classes where they are given alot of private opportunities to join competitions or apply scholarships especially the ASEAN scholarship where they will send a batch of promising students every year to take the qualifying exam.

SJKC will always use these achievements to get more students because with minimal funding from the ministry to maintain their school, they survive on "donations" and that the future of the school lies on the student's headcount.

These additional opportunities and initiatives that you dont usually see in SK is what made SJKC stand out.
Well I came from the best school in Kelantan but not SJK, so i can’t speak on behalf of not so performing SK.

But SK vs SJK in term of performance, just like Canon vs Nikon argument. Lower end model one brand might perform better than the other and vice versa for high end model.

In Kelantan, the “high end model”, SK always win, top school like SIC, Ahmad Maher, Naim Lil Banat is consistently better than SMJK Chung Hwa. Not sure about low end school though. And I can’t speak about school in other state too.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jan 2 2020, 05:21 PM
blanket84
post Jan 2 2020, 07:06 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 2 2020, 05:45 PM)
location i suppose.. like KL area are usually dominated by SJKC in terms of sheer numbers of performing schools.

But then again, the overall performance of public schools including SJKCs are dropping also nowadays... as the more gifted/privileged children are enrolled in international schools/home schooling already. Some SJKCs cant even fill up the class rooms lately.
Because Homeschooling there is a lower student to teacher ratio and so more attention can be given to each student's performance... so when the kid cant keep up, the rest of the class will adjust the pace. But cant expect the same for a class of 50 students to do the same.

but then you can not compare it that way also because the cost is not a joke laugh.gif but this is also why the gap is getting ridiculously big.. the rich keeps getting smarter and richer while the poor just remained the same.
I don’t know about normal school in KL, but i think boarding school like SSP, ASIS, KISAS, SAS are much better than any SJK you can name.
blanket84
post Jan 3 2020, 08:57 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 3 2020, 12:13 AM)
cuz you’re taking these elite and selected high performance school that is monitored by the ministry that are heavily funded with state of the art facilities vs the standard SJKCs which is underfunded, out on their own and has a mixed quality of students yet performs better than average.

and the schools you mentioned are all secondary schools.. i didnt know there’s a SJK in secondary level.. because even the infamous chunghwa in KL is an SMK.

Altho a fair amount of SRJKC actually set their goals to push the kids to enter those said schools with their UPSR result. Which is why they’re so academic oriented and many did succeed... but mainly the goal back in my time was ASEAN scholarship.
Yeah. Like i said, if you compare top end of SMK vs SMJK, SMK most of the time win hands down. Heavily funded? I’m not sure. Maybe the fund was songlapped. State of the art facilities? No. Biasa2 je. But one this for sure, the teachers are the best of the best. Because if you’re a teacher and you’re transferred to those school, it means that the ministry recognized you as top teacher already.

And like i mentioned those top school in Kelantan, the admission criteria is all As in UPSR (there is backdoor way too if you know someone, well, this is malaysia).

And in Kelantan, Chung Hwa is SMJK.

I used to believe SJK produced good student too. Until I started working in SJK majority industry, only 10% are up to my standard, brain wise. Salary and position wise, they can up faster because their bosses pity them for being oppressed by the ketuanan melayu even they are not competent. Truth is ketuanan melayu is having minimal benefits to salaryman, financially.
blanket84
post Jan 3 2020, 10:59 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Jan 3 2020, 09:00 AM)
any notable top smk coming into your mind?
My school last time was competing at top of the table. We don’t care much about mid table team.

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 3 2020, 09:30 AM)
didnt know there’s actually a SMJK because i thought vernacular is up till darjah 6.... at least for KL.. where the SRJK are all refered as SJK here.

that makes this comparison a little off because what ive been talking about are primary SRJKC schools where there’s no entry criteria yet. And students these SRJKC school produced are meant to go for those top SMK by pushing for A’s in UPSR. This strict and focused goal is what most poorer parents look for.
In front of my SRK was SRJKC Peir Chih. The 2-3 years i was following the UPSR result during my time, my school always perform better. But that was an unfair comparison because you can’t compare camry to city. Should compare camry to accord. But that time i do not know which school was the accord of SRJKC in Kelantan. The competitive spirit wasn’t there until i enter secondary school.
blanket84
post Jan 3 2020, 11:37 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 3 2020, 11:12 AM)
Welp, i guess it's location... and not quite fair to compare kelantan to kl as well.

in KL, top SRJKCs are always competing among each other. while the SRJKT and SRK makan popcorn at the side. laugh.gif you go any junior competition, be it gov hosted or private, you will see waves of them participating.... to the point of hiring special coaches and stuff lel... apart from sports, special coaching includes cheer-leading, gymrama, lego robotics, school marching band etc ... and even trololol ones like cups stacking and rubics cube also they participate.
New trend nowadays.. especially among the well to do. It's now more like a mini international school.
I guess safe to say SRJKC is better in rich states where salary is good like KL, Selangor, Penang & maybe Johor. Other than that, the statement of “SRJKC produce better student” isn’t applicable.

I know the reason why. Private school.

Rich malays in those states mostly prefer to send their kids to private school or international school. So the composition of students in SK mainly kids with not so rich parents, busy looking for money to feed the family. Most of the parents don’t have time to teach their kids anything at home and end up the parents pushing all the responsibility to the teachers. And most of parents sending kids to SK have a minimum of half a dozen of kids, so the time is even limited for each kid. So they end up producing kids with lack of drive and lack of interest and lack of attention. And it reflect to the kids performance in school.

I am a busy father too. I only have 3 hours to spend with my kids on weekdays, which why i limit myself to 2 kids only. So i could spend my time more with my kids.

SK performing better in poorer states because nobody send their kids to private school. So most of top kids are in govt school. And not to mentioned parents in poorer state have more time to spend with their kids, as a result, their kids do better in school.
blanket84
post Jan 4 2020, 09:09 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ Jan 3 2020, 06:22 PM)
Might be true, so in other word the nons who enrol to vernacular schools wanted to be dungu why not let them be? the malays should be syukur cause every year sjk is breeding more stupids less threat to the malays in the future. Isn't that great?
If wanted to be a single school why not we follow international school system so nobody can complain the national school is too kemelayuan or kecinaan or keindiaan everybody is fair and abolish quota system to higher learning institution. All apply base on merit system. Education should never be use as a race tool.
It’s not about producing smart student or not. If you’re born smart, no matter which school you’re born, you will remain smart.

For me having many separate school system is a cause of racism. I am not just talking about only vernacular school, all kind of sekolah agama also to be blamed. Vernacular school and sekolah agama should be fully privatized and cut from government’s funding. Any school wishes to remain funded by the govt should subscribe to the streamlined syllabus.

And to make things simple, just go back to our penjajah and borrow their education system and syllabus and implement it here. Afterall IGCSE have a much much easier syllabus compared to what we have now. O-level will be a piece of cake for average student in Malaysia. It’s not like we are not used to copying, most “malaysian standards” are 90% copied from “british standards”.

And at higher education level also, everything should be revamp. Anything MARA related should be open up to everyone, based on merit, but financial merit should have more weight, which means kids of B40 regardless of race should be the priority. And also streamline all post SPM education, either everyone go to matriculation or everyone go to STPM. No multiple confusing system. But some university’s foundation course can remain provided the course is tailored to the degree course that the specific student will read later. Otherwise, general foundation courses should be scrap and everyone goes to general post SPM courses.

TLDR: remove everything R&R based. Streamline everything.

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0439sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:39 AM