71 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Movies Cloverfield 2

SUSTC_Boy
post Jan 18 2008, 12:59 AM

259 posts

Here's a thought. The early pirated version is a videocam version of a videocam movie. laugh.gif
funnyTONE
post Jan 18 2008, 01:21 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(TC_Boy @ Jan 18 2008, 12:59 AM)
Here's a thought. The early pirated version is a videocam version of a videocam movie. laugh.gif
Haha! So true! Or perhaps next time for Cloverfield 2, they'll make it using camera phones. How cool is that?!

Anyways, just finished watching the 10pm show at MBO melaka. After the abrupt end, I saw one dude clapping while the others make a weird face..."finish like dat aah?". Its true enough, that from this show there will be two party.....one loving the whole new concept, while another party will hate this movie.

I fall under the love category. I mean, if a story is talked/discussed over sooo much before/during/after the movie...then its definitely worth my 8 bucks! Even after watching it, I'm still craving for more about the story and the monster. Not that the movie was perfect enough, but it leaves you wanting for more....and definetely hoping for the next sequel to the story. Heck, they might even make a TV spinoff from this title. Obviously, they already have comics for it..... happy.gif

Regarding the characters, I felt that they played their role so well. Its truly feels as if the shootage was real and the people were real. Its was worth to get unknown actors to play here, because it puts the sense of true story in the whole movie. Seriously, when you first watched Blair Witch, most of us would think that the whole footage was real. Thats their objective of this story too. Only that when viewers realize that its a monster, the sense of realism kinda fade off abit because everyone knows monsters dont exist.............or do they?

Thx JJ Abrams!! You rock!
SUSFlizzardo
post Jan 18 2008, 01:23 AM

Troll
1,093 posts

rofl yea

anyway thanks alot jj abrams this is the best movie ever i watch this year
James_yka
post Jan 18 2008, 01:34 AM

kNight
1,372 posts

After the monster bitten Hud, it went forward not noticing there are ppl behind it... then only both of them went to rescue hud...

I didnt saw anything about a coffee table with cover up newspaper,
where was it ? i was watching at GSC BTS...

At the end i also heard something after the credit, but just not too clear about it...

I think this is a good movie... great concept, new perspective...
At 1st i wasnt really expecting to see anything monster-like movie...
Even tot of not even the full figure of the monster...
I was just curious just how would they shot it, and its great...

Recommended for all those who wanted a fresh new type of movie...
rickyfan8888
post Jan 18 2008, 02:07 AM

blood rules!!
1,245 posts

lol..totally agree wid u...just came back from cinema for tat movie..feel so dizzy..cos i sit quite near to the screen..in the end..i stand at near the entrance there wid my fren to continue watching...cos i really almost vomit..n there are more than 10ppl leave the cinema b4 the movie end(i stand near the entrance n i counted all the way..lol)..since like not many ppl enjoy...
Tsj261
post Jan 18 2008, 02:08 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Jan 18 2008, 01:21 AM)
Haha! So true! Or perhaps next time for Cloverfield 2, they'll make it using camera phones. How cool is that?!

Anyways, just finished watching the 10pm show at MBO melaka. After the abrupt end, I saw one dude clapping while the others make a weird face..."finish like dat aah?". Its true enough, that from this show there will be two party.....one loving the whole new concept, while another party will hate this movie.

I fall under the love category. I mean, if a story is talked/discussed over sooo much before/during/after the movie...then its definitely worth my 8 bucks! Even after watching it, I'm still craving for more about the story and the monster. Not that the movie was perfect enough, but it leaves you wanting for more....and definetely hoping for the next sequel to the story. Heck, they might even make a TV spinoff from this title. Obviously, they already have comics for it..... happy.gif

Regarding the characters, I felt that they played their role so well. Its truly feels as if the shootage was real and the people were real. Its was worth to get unknown actors to play here, because it puts the sense of true story in the whole movie. Seriously, when you first watched Blair Witch, most of us would think that the whole footage was real. Thats their objective of this story too. Only that when viewers realize that its a monster, the sense of realism kinda fade off abit because everyone knows monsters dont exist.............or do they?

Thx JJ Abrams!! You rock!
When the show end , i heard some ppl clapping for it and another shouted * VOMIT L*N MEH * .Guess this party couldnt accept this kind of show ==
LOL!Watch at Pavilion THX hall ...i juz admit that i love this show and its concept!How often can I see this kind of movie 1st of all.True that at the end of show , im having headache but nth beats it!
What monster or creature it is till now I got no idea ? look like a turtle head with skeleton body rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

SUSTC_Boy
post Jan 18 2008, 02:09 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(James_yka @ Jan 18 2008, 01:34 AM)
After the monster bitten Hud, it went forward not noticing there are ppl behind it... then only both of them went to rescue hud...

I didnt saw anything about a coffee table with cover up newspaper,
where was it ? i was watching at GSC BTS...

At the end i also heard something after the credit, but just not too clear about it...
I think this is a good movie... great concept, new perspective...
At 1st i wasnt really expecting to see anything monster-like movie...
Even tot of not even the full figure of the monster...
I was just curious just how would they shot it, and its great...
Recommended for all those who wanted a fresh new type of movie...
It was just my recommendation for a proper ending. icon_rolleyes.gif
funnyTONE
post Jan 18 2008, 02:22 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

In a few days, we'll get to see the box office results for the movie. I'm also hoping to see if JJ Abram have some major anouncements to make. My gut is telling me there's more coming for this title. I'm sure JJ Abram has set in his mind to make this monster a household name for the Amerikhans, so who knows?

I'm considering to catch this movie again this weekend, just to see the audience's reaction after the movie ends. happy.gif priceless!
[gs]JackMin
post Jan 18 2008, 02:46 AM

275 posts

jz watch it wif my gf, and she felt very sicky n didnt enjoy it eventhough i think tis is one of the interesting n emotion gripping movie ive seen for sometime. I think if u wanna enjoy this movie, u should go watch it with a mind of 'someone who accidently pick up a camcorder video from a destroyed city n watch it at home' or put yourself in the shoe of the person who is recording the whole event together. If u r the type who easily get nausea or cant stand alot of spinning around, then tis wont be a good movie for u. But if u ask me, ill definately giv it a 8.5/10 rating.

This post has been edited by [gs]JackMin: Jan 18 2008, 02:47 AM
SUSfoxhound
post Jan 18 2008, 08:39 AM

96 posts

man, y their always wants to mess up the monster disaster film ?
like the one "THE HOST" korean film and now this "CLOVERFIELD".
i like monster film, f*** them and making it like TRANSFORMER.
Cruzer
post Jan 18 2008, 09:25 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(foxhound @ Jan 18 2008, 08:39 AM)
man, y their always wants to mess up the monster disaster film ?
like the one "THE HOST" korean film and now this "CLOVERFIELD".
i like monster film, f*** them and making it like TRANSFORMER.
help me out here, i cant see the resemblence. hmm.gif
SUSTC_Boy
post Jan 18 2008, 09:45 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(Cruzer @ Jan 18 2008, 09:25 AM)
help me out here, i cant see the resemblence. hmm.gif
Bad camera, Transformers had bad camera work but not as bad as Cloverfield. Damn Cloverfield is just spoiled by having everything viewed thru the videocam. I think it should have been done like FPS games or those POV porns and not thru the damn bad image quality & shaky videocam.

This post has been edited by TC_Boy: Jan 18 2008, 09:53 AM
jhcj
post Jan 18 2008, 09:56 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(TC_Boy @ Jan 18 2008, 09:45 AM)
Bad camera, Transformers had bad camera work but not as bad as Cloverfield. Damn Cloverfield is just spoiled by having everything viewed thru the videocam. I think it should have been done like FPS games or those POV porns and not thru the damn bad image quality & shaky videocam.
facepalm'd

doh.gif
SUSTC_Boy
post Jan 18 2008, 10:03 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 18 2008, 09:56 AM)
facepalm'd

doh.gif
How would you like playing a fps thru a videocam for realism? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TC_Boy: Jan 18 2008, 10:04 AM
ellimist
post Jan 18 2008, 10:12 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(TC_Boy @ Jan 18 2008, 09:45 AM)
FPS,as in through a person's eye? If so,you wouldn't have had a CLOVERFIELD movie anymore sweat.gif
hairyLGS
post Jan 18 2008, 10:26 AM

209 posts

Thanks for all the comments... so far, I have seen only 1/2 nice/not nice... some say it's good, others say it isn't... I even check comments from not just our country but other countries with the same reaction.

Anyway, this movie have pro and cons by itself... some scenes are not realistic... especially one of us pointed out when the monster eat Hud, how come they didn't come after Rob and Beth? The camera thing and so on. If we pay attention to the film (which some of us couldn't because of the shaky cams), we will notice the detail the 2nd time of viewing.

This movie isn't anything new or fresh due to some of us didn't watch The Blair Witch Project (go look it up). BWP was fresh and original in 1999. Look it up and you will realize there is nothing new and fresh about this movie. It is a monster flick with descendant of The Blair Witch Project... and for those who can't stand motion sickness you can't blame them for not able to enjoy the film. It's difficult to even concentrate when the shakiness of the movie is as monstrous as the monster itself...

Reading the reviews, one I like is what was written in IGN:-

"In short, Cloverfield is the best kind of blockbuster -- one wired both for thinking people and thrill seekers -- which is why, even if you don't agree with what the characters or filmmakers do, you'll likely be happy with your own decision to see the film."

I don't agree how the filmmakers and characters did in this film... but I am glad I watch it to see due to all the hype that was created for this film. Will it be a box-office hit? Only time will tell. For U.S. market, if it cross 50 million dollars, it's a box-office hit. If it's 75 million dollars, it's a huge box-office hit and the studio and filmmakers make money. If it's 100 over million dollars, it's a phenomenon. All these in 3 days earnings (that's how their system works).

But the good thing is... we get mix reaction from everyone not only here in Malaysia but other parts of the world... and sadly, many whom didn't watch The Blair Witch Project didn't know that movie was the first ever made in such a style (I watched BWP and I didn't get motion sickness compare to Cloverfield, which is a lot).

Keep pouring in your thoughts and opinions... but don't fight... it's good to read what you all write...
teikwing
post Jan 18 2008, 10:51 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

i've watched it @ TGV Jusco Cheras Selatan yesterday.

heard alot of complains from people in the cinema & some have even went out during like 1/2 & 3/4 of the screening. went with bunch of girls who was kinda interested after the hype of the trailers & all.

for me, it isn't that bad like most would said. i'm sitting in the middle row & was kinda close to the screen. yeah i do feel some dizzyness @ certain point of the movie but it's not until a stage where i feel like vomitting (like the girls who went with me, they actually went out to the toilet & tried to vomit due to dizzyness. laugh.gif )

guess i'm used to FPS games. biggrin.gif

anyway, for the review...

many would expect alot from this film over the hype of the trailers & all & would be really disappointed due to the handycam-way of shooting the film. they might expect another Godzilla or Armageddon feel.

not for me though.

i've actually enjoyed it alot. they handycam-shooting actually helped to 'feel' the reality of the whole tragedy. the runnings, shoutings & everything. it's like u were in the situation. really realistic. when the whole building shake during the 'earthquake', the army attacking the creature with the tanks & rocket launchers (the sound-effects... thumbup.gif ), the small like zerg-like creatures attacking, the crashing down of the heli etc. its was GREAT.

i think many haven't actually watched Blair Witch & most are used to the traditional way of shooting a film so they would think that the handycam shooting sucks due to the dizzyness & all.

the movie was shot from the point of view from a victim of the tragedy, first-person view. it's a whole new approach of making a film & guess it was made well. for me. smile.gif

p/s : a piece of advice for those who haven't watch it, do NOT sit too close to the screen unless u can stand the shakings of the handycam. but, if u wan REAL feel of the movie, don't bother then. tongue.gif

the part where the creature 'jumped' out from the cloud of dust to grab the heli was awesome! rclxms.gif wonder why a handycam can stand the impact of a heli crashing down, still kinda fake to me. minus marks from there. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jan 18 2008, 11:05 AM
hairyLGS
post Jan 18 2008, 11:05 AM

209 posts

I got slaughtered by Americans or not sure if they are in IGN for comments... O_O
wiNd
post Jan 18 2008, 11:09 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

Most people will not like Cloverfield :
-when they dont know what is Cloverfield in the first place
-when they are not aware of the concept (filming style) used in this movie (victim's point of view = handycam = deliberate amateurish shot = dizzy)
-when they thought Cloverfield its a popcorn monster flick (eg. Godzilla)

To me, Cloverfield -its a brand new experience for a monster invasion flick. Definitely setting a milestone in this genre. It has great moments but not enough, i want more! Overall : 8/10

This post has been edited by wiNd: Jan 18 2008, 11:19 AM
SUSTC_Boy
post Jan 18 2008, 11:11 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jan 18 2008, 10:12 AM)
FPS,as in through a person's eye? If so,you wouldn't have had a CLOVERFIELD movie anymore sweat.gif
Yes, it would. You see, almost all movies are made with the cam as a 3rd person. The cam is not a person. You never see the cam looking straight at people and people looking & talking straight to the cam.

71 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:04 AM