427 Pages « < 276 277 278 279 280 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

dwRK
post Apr 22 2022, 08:54 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 21 2022, 08:50 PM)
Heard on the Street:

Nestlé Escapes Netflix’s Fate for Now

Strong sales show that shoppers aren’t cutting back on food, unlike more discretionary purchases such as streaming subscriptions and fashion

https://www.wsj.com/articles/nestle-escapes...share_permalink
they got lots of indulgence food... these will gets hit in a down turn... but still better than Google lah... laugh.gif

SUSTOS
post Apr 22 2022, 09:04 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 22 2022, 08:54 AM)
they got lots of indulgence food... these will gets hit in a down turn... but still better than Google lah... laugh.gif
You guys must have consumed lots of Nescafe and Maggi noodles in the past 3 months laugh.gif

In yesterday's conference call, CFO of Nestle says coffee and other products sold quite well in Malaysia, but the opposite in Phillipines.

Yeah. And Jeremy, just to complement. So in Southeast Asia, we had low-single digit growth with robust demand, for example, for some products like Maggi and Nescafe. We have some countries that did very well and were key contributors to growth, like Malaysia and Thailand, where with a strong demand for coffee and culinary and even we launched new products like Milo Soy that resonated very strongly with consumers.

And then we have countries with totally different behaviors, the Philippines and Vietnam. We had a slight sales decrease with negative category dynamics in some categories. So it's very difficult to draw a conclusion. As you know, many of these countries are also very dependent on tourism, and they have been suffering quite a lot over the last two years as a consequence. And so we see diverse behaviors and fortune there.

We remain very positive on the outlook for these countries, and they should come back to growth as we progress over time.

You can read the full transcipt of yesterday's call here: https://seekingalpha.com/article/4502689-ne...call-transcript

This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 22 2022, 09:07 AM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 22 2022, 09:05 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 22 2022, 08:49 AM)
Next time i direct Wise transfer to IBKR.... sigh~ now waiting for the bank to open.
Yeah, I did direct transfer from Wise to IBKR as Maybank took their sweet time to open the sg account.

Sg bank account is basically used to withdraw from IBKR in the future and some hedge against myr. 👀
Medufsaid
post Apr 22 2022, 09:41 AM

3,493 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Apr 21 2022, 10:22 AM)
Options are for those impatient also want faster earnings. But remember higher returns = higher risk. One wrong move in options can incur much losses.
only if you play with leverage.. without leverage, it's like below
naked buy-to-open -> you pay a small premium (like insurance) to protect against stock losses
covered sell-to-open -> the max losses = your stocks going down to $0 (which is the original risk you take when you buy a stock anyway) minus the premium you received

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Apr 22 2022, 09:49 AM
dwRK
post Apr 22 2022, 11:38 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 22 2022, 09:04 AM)
You guys must have consumed lots of Nescafe and Maggi noodles in the past 3 months laugh.gif

In yesterday's conference call, CFO of Nestle says coffee and other products sold quite well in Malaysia, but the opposite in Phillipines.
You can read the full transcipt of yesterday's call here: https://seekingalpha.com/article/4502689-ne...call-transcript
Yes I know they have quite a bit of staple food brands... wink.gif

quite OK counter to hold during a recession imho...

Johnson n Johnson... soap n toilet paper
Nestle... food
Walmart... place to buy them

SUSTOS
post Apr 22 2022, 11:48 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 22 2022, 11:38 AM)
Yes I know they have quite a bit of staple food brands... wink.gif

quite OK counter to hold during a recession imho...

Johnson n Johnson... soap n toilet paper
Nestle... food
Walmart... place to buy them

JNJ makes medicine and medical products, not soap and toilet paper leh laugh.gif

You mean Proctor and Gamble...

This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 22 2022, 11:50 AM
Davidtcf
post Apr 22 2022, 11:51 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Apr 22 2022, 09:41 AM)
only if you play with leverage.. without leverage, it's like below
naked buy-to-open -> you pay a small premium (like insurance) to protect against stock losses
covered sell-to-open -> the max losses = your stocks going down to $0 (which is the original risk you take when you buy a stock anyway) minus the premium you received
for covered options you still need 100 stocks or 100 ETFs, no?
that is a lot to buy for an average retailer.
if buy cheaper stocks usually their prices fluctuate and harder to predict their rise /fall.

for naked options type it will be on margin/cash balance? any losses will hit the margin/cash balance straight on.
Davidtcf
post Apr 22 2022, 11:55 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 22 2022, 11:48 AM)
JNJ makes medicine and medical products, not soap and toilet paper leh  laugh.gif

REITs now also very hot... just notice even my Malaysian REITs some of them started giving returns.
SG ones going up even more.

for utilities, medical or consumer staples (defensive types) go for IUUS, IUHC, IUCS etf (US related). Low cost and no need pening.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Apr 22 2022, 12:05 PM
Medufsaid
post Apr 22 2022, 12:10 PM

3,493 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Apr 22 2022, 11:51 AM)
for covered options you still need 100 stocks or 100 ETFs, no?
that is a lot to buy for an average retailer.
if buy cheaper stocks usually their prices fluctuate and harder to predict their rise /fall.

for naked options type it will be on margin/cash balance? any losses will hit the margin/cash balance straight on.
yup. from day 1 Ramjade & I never advocated using options if you can't cover it fully (aka naked).
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Apr 12 2022, 11:05 PM)
well as long as you don't sell too much calls that can't be covered by your stocks, and you accept that there's a 5% chance your stocks will shoot up and you miss out, it's not unexpected

(also, don't be too greedy and sell a OTM call that's too near the current price)

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Apr 22 2022, 12:17 PM
SUSTOS
post Apr 22 2022, 12:15 PM

8,667 posts

FT 220422: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1NdC0FNwmQX...iew?usp=sharing

In another news, TSMC's N2 fab in 新竹's science park 宝山 area has started construction works.

This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 22 2022, 12:27 PM
dwRK
post Apr 22 2022, 12:23 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 22 2022, 11:48 AM)
JNJ makes medicine and medical products, not soap and toilet paper leh  laugh.gif

yes i know soap n toilet paper is PG business... JNJ has baby/personal care products too; i just threw in toilet paper for fun... tongue.gif

dwRK
post Apr 22 2022, 12:29 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Apr 22 2022, 11:55 AM)
REITs now also very hot... just notice even my Malaysian REITs some of them started giving returns.
SG ones going up even more.

for utilities, medical or consumer staples (defensive types) go for IUUS, IUHC, IUCS etf (US related). Low cost and no need pening.
yeah... but reits have to be careful too... i decided not to include reits to keep the list short... that post was half teasing TOS and Ramjade... wink.gif

Lon3Rang3r00
post Apr 22 2022, 12:42 PM

1,195 posts

Is REIT generally good in particular? I thought REITs only good because they pay steady dividend.
dwRK
post Apr 22 2022, 01:04 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 22 2022, 12:42 PM)
Is REIT generally good in particular? I thought REITs only good because they pay steady dividend.
reits gives you steady income... generally not much growth...

go for reits that suits the economic outlook... for example if recession is coming, high end offices/apartments, retail stores are more risky... while lower costs apartments/student rentals, warehousing for essential goods, etc., will fare much better...

reits are going up because market is in risk-off mode, so more demand/seeking safer heaven...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Apr 22 2022, 01:08 PM
sgh
post Apr 22 2022, 01:09 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 22 2022, 12:42 PM)
Yes correct. For retiree can treat those dividends like your monthly salary when you are in your working years.
dwRK
post Apr 22 2022, 01:16 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Apr 22 2022, 01:09 PM)
Yes correct. For retiree can treat those dividends like your monthly salary when you are in your working years.
got many reits go bankrupt oh...
Lon3Rang3r00
post Apr 22 2022, 02:15 PM

1,195 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 22 2022, 01:16 PM)
got many reits go bankrupt oh...
Pretty sure we'll bailed out before it does. but from now to retire still quite a long way. So i believed it's better to invest in growth stock. But i do keep a portion of my portfolio (currently still large portion) at Bursa on Maybank, and some other dividend stock. If, for whatever reason at least those money is easily cash out and transfer to your bank than to wait for IBKR. Can IBKR Transfer to Local bank using Wise?
Toku
post Apr 22 2022, 02:20 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 22 2022, 02:15 PM)
Pretty sure we'll bailed out before it does. but from now to retire still quite a long way. So i believed it's better to invest in growth stock. But i do keep a portion of my portfolio (currently still large portion) at Bursa on Maybank, and some other dividend stock. If, for whatever reason at least those money is easily cash out and transfer to your bank than to wait for IBKR. Can IBKR Transfer to Local bank using Wise?
My understanding IBKR gives 1 free wire per month for remitting to any bank you want. So you probably need a multi currency account at your bank to receive the transfer if you don't want your bank direct convert it to ringgit.
dwRK
post Apr 22 2022, 03:04 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 22 2022, 02:15 PM)
Yes... but you don't want to be losing your capital... or worse off than FD...

ibkr to wise usd account... then wise (usd to myr conversion) to myr account... do in 2 step... cannot do 1 step, ibkr to wise (usd to myr conversion) to myr account
Lon3Rang3r00
post Apr 22 2022, 03:44 PM

1,195 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 22 2022, 03:04 PM)
Yes... but you don't want to be losing your capital... or worse off than FD...

ibkr to wise usd account... then wise (usd to myr conversion) to myr account... do in 2 step... cannot do 1 step, ibkr to wise (usd to myr conversion) to myr account
Let's hope no one here will have to go through that "selling process", do not leverage and do not get too greedy.

Will look into the Wise USD account, i did heard that Wise can hold multiple currency and transfer to another bank, or use their Card to make payment

427 Pages « < 276 277 278 279 280 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:27 AM