Sony-Ericsson S.E. S500i Discussion Thread V2., Warning : 40+ LIVE photos on page #1

TSrayzrblade
post Jul 5 2007, 06:26 PM, updated 18y ago

You are nobody in cyberworld
5,040 posts

Bought it on 030707
Price RM920 AP set

Dimensions 99 x 47 x 14 mm
Weight 94 g
Display Type TFT, 256K colors
Size 240 x 320 pixels, 2.0 inch
Ringtones Type Polyphonic (72 channels), MP3, AAC
Vibration Yes
Memory Phonebook 1000 contacts, Photo call
Call records 30 received, dialed and missed calls
Card slot Memory Stick Micro (M2)
Built in memory 12 MB shared memory
Data GPRS Class 10 (4+1/3+2 slots), 32 - 48 kbps
HSCSD Yes
EDGE Class 10, 236.8 kbps
3G No
Bluetooth Yes, v2.0 with A2DP
Infrared port No
USB Yes
Features Messaging SMS, MMS, Email, Instant Messaging
Browser WAP 2.0/HTML(NetFront), RSS feeds
Games Yes + downloadable
Colors Mysterious Green, Spring Yellow
Camera 2 MP, 1600x1200 pixels, video

- TrackID music recognition
- MP3/AAC/AAC+/eAAC+ player
- Java MIDP 2.0
- T9
- Organiser
- Voice memo
- Built-in handsfree

Battery Standard battery, Li-Po 900 mAh
Stand-by Up to 370 h
Talk time Up to 9 h

Box ( i was expecting more fancy looking box. But then minimalism still looks good)

Package (charger, manuals, CD, handsfree, USB cable, NO M2 included)

Front ( Glossy looking mobiles is the new black )

Front Open ( Green is ugly BUT GREEN + BLACK = STUNNING)

Top ( M2 card slot)

Bottom ( nothing but the sexy curve )

Back ( the rubberize back meant for easy grip, simple yet detailed )

Left ( volume rocker )

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Apr 8 2008, 05:23 PM
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 5 2007, 06:41 PM

5,040 posts

Right ( charger/handsfree port, if only it comes with a cover)

Camera ( The pattern looks a bit like a leaf.)

The tiny on/off button

Size Comparison ( Smallest of them all but with similiar thickness)

Dpad( a combination of K550i and K850i button, i think)

Speaker
( Thats where they hide the speaker, smart move )
Compared with 6300 and E6 with original settings using the speaker only and the result is 6300 > S500i > E6
Its actually on par with 6300 loudness n clarity BUT 6300 has more bass to it. Sad to say E6 is 3rd bcos it sounds softer than others.
And S500i is actually LOUDER than Samsung F300 (tested at the spot)i wonder whats the Icepower amp for?
Most likely, the difference only can be found by using headphones which i m lazy to try out...hehe.

Can u see the slight similiarities? But looks good though..

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jul 5 2007, 09:53 PM
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 5 2007, 06:42 PM

5,040 posts

Keypads( This is the part where brings out the beauty in it, keypad size are average. No complains)

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jul 5 2007, 07:26 PM
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 5 2007, 06:43 PM

5,040 posts

THEMES

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jul 7 2007, 03:20 PM
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 5 2007, 06:44 PM

5,040 posts

PHOTO SAMPLE with Original settings

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jul 6 2007, 08:50 PM
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 5 2007, 06:48 PM

5,040 posts

The Call LIGHT EFFECTS show,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eH-Erzh810s

16 effects to choose from. Only works on incoming calls.
At other times, the colors will follow the themes.

*************************Sony Ericsson S500i in the wild************************

The PROS:

1. Catchy lighting effects / cool themes
2. Smaller than i thought n its light
3. The Sound quality is great.

The CONS:

1. The built quality somehow feels a bit fragile to me.
2. The slider mechanism is a little bit wobbly compared to like Nokia 5300, LG Choc, Samsung E900, Moto Z3...but still better than 6288.
3. Fingerprint magnet
4. The * 0 # buttons is kinda hard to press bcos the curve at the bottom might block your thumb at times.
5. The Keypad has good tactile feedback but still its a bit cramp up n hard to press.

Other Online Review

MOBILEBURN

PHONEDAILY (Chinese)

YOUTUBEs Video Reviews

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jul 6 2007, 06:09 PM
panasonic88
post Jul 5 2007, 07:04 PM

37,028 posts

would u mind to explain this?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=454232

wat r u going to do with the earlier thread?
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 5 2007, 07:36 PM

5,040 posts

Looks STUNNING isnt it?

Sorry to burst your bubble...theres always a bad side for everything.
Below are just some individual reviews/opinion from the internet..

How true is it? NOT SURE YET. since they didnt provide any solid evidence to the statement that they made.

As u can see mostly are from gsmarena and i cant find any complains on any of the HK/Taiwan sites yet..

Just for your reference.

Built Quality

Keypad Issue

DUE to the wobbly slider and the upper back cover is a bit loose (refer to pics) issue, i went back to the shop and tested another unit.

The NEW unit

- the slider is slightly more stable than MINE. But the problem still exist.
- the upper back cover it tighter too..
- BUT found out that the Dpad feels a bit wobbly too..compared to MINE.

Then i decided NOT to change.

**********A few things to know IF u wanna get a S500i**********

The upper back cover could be easily removed when u just insert ur fingernails between the black n white gap.
Its meant to be like that. BUT you need to make sure its not too lose though..

This the the part where its wobbly, when u press down, the upper slider will move down a little bit..kinda shakey.i believe MOSTLY are like that, depends how serious it is. Most probably due to the slider mechanism they used. W850i has better slider i think its because its thicker and they can apply different/better slider mechanism.

The Dpad MIGHT be loose bcos the NEW unit i tested felt a bit loose compared to mine.

The WORST part is.... THIS MIGHT HAPPEN !!

Broke key issue is recognized officially by SE in Germany. The reason was a chemical reaction between the keypad-resin and the green paint. So only the green S500i built before W(eek)27 are affected. You can check the "construction date" by taking out the battery and check the sticker on your mobile device.

gsmarena forum.

Current S500i with CRACKED keypad issue...

QUOTE(dark_evilz @ Jul 30 2007, 01:02 PM)
ahhh.. juz bought for 2 weeks and i've crack 3 button of the keypad already... damn fragile..

and the most annoying thing is the earphone... when i listen to the mp3 via my  the earfon, if handsfree port is been touch juz a little, the playback will stop and asking if the user want to play the music trough the speaker... damn its annoying...

if the w580 is the same as this fon.. then whats the point of having "shake control" technology if the handsfree port keep disengage..

other than that...its a good phone.
QUOTE(arsenalmania @ Jul 30 2007, 08:35 PM)
Half of my keypads are cracked after more than 15 days using. Brought back to the shop today, but the guy told me that have to wait for some time to get the replacement of the keypads. Maybe everyone who owns mysterious green s500i facing the same problem.

Added on July 30, 2007, 8:38 pmFor those for want to buy this phone, I think it is better to hold on a while. Let the better version keypads then baru buy it. Otherwise, very ma fan unless you're crazy of this phone for some time. Damn, pissed when someone in my course also got this phone after mine. Lol.
********** BATTERY LIFE **********

The battery went dead after 1day and a half under these usage n settings..

- 100% brightness
- Everchanging Themes ( it has a vibrating feedback )
- took approx 20 photos
- approx 2 hours plus of calls
- approx 16 sms
- received 2 mp3 tru bluetooth

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jul 31 2007, 10:21 AM
onelove89
post Jul 5 2007, 08:05 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

if not mistaken this phone dont have AF rite? but i like the design, really nice to the eye cos its green. Attractive and soothing to the eye.
JY.
post Jul 5 2007, 08:35 PM

1,630 posts

I have one question, wat is the small silver button between each number button function for? Just for decoration?
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 5 2007, 08:38 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jul 5 2007, 08:05 PM)
if not mistaken this phone dont have AF rite? but i like the design, really nice to the eye cos its green. Attractive and soothing to the eye.
no AF..

QUOTE(JY. @ Jul 5 2007, 08:35 PM)
I have one question, wat is the small silver button between each number button function for? Just for decoration?
Its meant for deco only
themanwithnoname
post Jul 5 2007, 11:55 PM

╭∩╮(︶ε︶メ)╭∩╮
1,099 posts

Nice review. rayzrblade, r u left or right handed? how do u feel bout the space button while typing sms? izzit comfortable?
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 6 2007, 12:07 AM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(themanwithnoname @ Jul 5 2007, 11:55 PM)
Nice review. rayzrblade, r u left or right handed? how do u feel bout the space button while typing sms? izzit comfortable?
thanks. i m right handed..
the the last 3 buttons are a bit hard to "reach" though. but still acceptable..
the thing is that the keypad itself is not that comfortable to use.. sad.gif
KimRoss
post Jul 6 2007, 12:12 AM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

i think it look really stunning !!
=D 920 for ap.. pretty good price biggrin.gif
aL-ayumi
post Jul 6 2007, 12:52 AM

few sellers put Rm8++ for the AP sets.

i really like this phone.. but the thing is, the package doesnt comes wif M2.. . cry.gif hv to buy separately.. how much isit for the M2? the internal memory only 12MB wor.. not enuff..

and, wud the phone gets slower (lagging) if we're using bigger memory card? some phone does.. what is the ideal memory capacity?
Kameshikarin
post Jul 6 2007, 02:22 AM

277 posts

Good review there rayzrblade.. and nice photos, especially the few last ones.

I really want to get this phone but I'm concerned about the numeric keys. I've recently read few complaints from users about the phone from several sites regarding the numeric keys where they reported that each keys cracked in half (the numbers are increasing).

Anyway, how's the slide of the S500 compared to W850?

This phone looks very nice.
choyster
post Jul 6 2007, 04:38 AM

1,802 posts

wah super nice
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 6 2007, 06:02 PM

5,040 posts

fattnieniey
post Jul 6 2007, 06:15 PM

TSrayzrblade
post Jul 6 2007, 06:33 PM

5,040 posts

doomx
post Jul 6 2007, 07:23 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

pengster
post Jul 6 2007, 08:28 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

wow.nice.didn't know it was selling already laugh.gif seems that there's alot of complains of the keyboard.cracking into half shocking.gif

how does it feel when you're using it rayzr? laugh.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 6 2007, 08:56 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Jul 6 2007, 07:23 PM)
rayzrblade, my left side can feel it is goin in everytime i press. like the spring loose or something but my roommate dont have the problem. im goin back to the shop on monday and see what can they do. will keep u updated
left side? which area? when open or closed?
is it the Net key or the Shortcut key area?

QUOTE(pengster @ Jul 6 2007, 08:28 PM)
wow.nice.didn't know it was selling already laugh.gif seems that there's alot of complains of the keyboard.cracking into half shocking.gif

how does it feel when you're using it rayzr? laugh.gif
bout the keypad..cant really confirm though..might be 1 person facing it and millions are passing on the story..
but since the W850i have the dpad cracked problem, i think this is possible too.
will let u know if my keypad cracked. thumbup.gif

but then its responsive and have good tactile feedback though..
doomx
post Jul 6 2007, 11:33 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 6 2007, 08:56 PM)
left side? which area? when open or closed?
is it the Net key or the Shortcut key area?
shortcut key there. feel like very loose. going on monday to the shop and check.

This post has been edited by doomx: Jul 6 2007, 11:34 PM
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 7 2007, 01:47 AM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Jul 6 2007, 11:33 PM)
shortcut key there. feel like very loose. going on monday to the shop and check.
your fren one totally fine..did u test a few times?

crap..pls tell me after u check they tell u "its like that'..
bcos mine also like that.. shocking.gif

why does this always happened to me...then it was the 6288 ..now this...damn..
doomx
post Jul 7 2007, 02:24 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 7 2007, 01:47 AM)
your fren one totally fine..did u test a few times?

crap..pls tell me after u check they tell u "its like that'..
bcos mine also like that.. shocking.gif

why does this always happened to me...then it was the 6288 ..now this...damn..
my friend isnt as bouncy as mine. still ok. acceptable. mine is a NO-NO. so damn shaky.. so im goin back to check with them. they better dont give me the "its like that..." answer,if not im gonna TOOT them
panasonic88
post Jul 7 2007, 10:44 AM

37,028 posts

what a bad news for S500i users

imagine paying 1k for such a beautiful "mobile inspired by nature"

and these are what major S500i users are complaning :

the crack keypad! doh.gif

omg! and it is only LESS THAN FEW DAYS USE! doh.gif

KTCY
post Jul 7 2007, 11:47 AM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

Somehow I feel it's more fragile then W850i keypad doh.gif
NXaqua
post Jul 7 2007, 02:05 PM

921 posts

Hi, rayzrblade

Just saw the AP set just now,and it is gorgeous.But just to confirm,according to gsmarena,this model don't support HSPDA nor 3G. Please correct if I am wrong.

G-Izzat
post Jul 7 2007, 02:31 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(NXaqua @ Jul 7 2007, 02:05 PM)
Hi, rayzrblade

Just saw the AP set just now,and it is gorgeous.But just to confirm,according to gsmarena,this model don't support HSPDA nor 3G. Please correct if I am wrong.

Yes,it doesn't support 3G. sad.gif
EmperorMeng
post Jul 7 2007, 02:34 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

whose phone is that...
post Jul 7 2007, 02:43 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

omg the cracking keypad
lucky i didn't ngong ngong straight go buy
doomx
post Jul 7 2007, 03:13 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jul 7 2007, 10:44 AM)
what a bad news for S500i users

imagine paying 1k for such a beautiful "mobile inspired by nature"

and these are what major S500i users are complaning :

the crack keypad!  doh.gif

omg! and it is only LESS THAN FEW DAYS USE!  doh.gif
i used the pen and did it to my keypad just like how the pic was show,strangely mine doesnt bend till like that.... hmm.gif

i only have a problem with flimsy side,that's all.
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 7 2007, 04:06 PM

5,040 posts

As u can see..each button is connected with 2 little plate in the middle, i think thats why its a bit filmsy and moves like that when u push is with the pen... hmm.gif like a see saw.. laugh.gif
Najmods
post Jul 7 2007, 04:35 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

Wow, even W850 keypad have no problem like that with the keypad, but the slider is a bit flimsy too
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 7 2007, 04:46 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jul 7 2007, 04:35 PM)
Wow, even W850 keypad have no problem like that with the keypad, but the slider is a bit flimsy too
the w850i also filmsy? i tried 2 units just now..but it seems alright/better to me.
daymond85
post Jul 7 2007, 04:46 PM

333 posts

walao...wat a serious problem it is~!!!
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 7 2007, 04:47 PM

5,040 posts

doomx
post Jul 7 2007, 05:03 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 7 2007, 04:47 PM)
quite serious right..donno what SE is doing la..filmsy slider, breakable keypad.. sweat.gif
new trend maybe? lol. but overall still a good hp of course bout the keypad dont go mashing on it like u are playing some kind of fast paced arcade game it will be alright,as for the slider... hmm.gif
Najmods
post Jul 8 2007, 02:20 AM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 7 2007, 04:46 PM)
the w850i also filmsy? i tried 2 units just now..but it seems alright/better to me.
W850 have better slider? That's surprising, I thought they improve the slider mechanism on this one sweat.gif

Well, that's one phone off my list, looks like its either W950 or W960
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 8 2007, 04:02 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jul 8 2007, 02:20 AM)
W850 have better slider? That's surprising, I thought they improve the slider mechanism on this one sweat.gif

Well, that's one phone off my list, looks like its either W950 or W960
its most probably S500i is thinner and they have to apply new/different slider mechanism..
as u can see thicker slider phone normally have better slider mechanism..nokia 5300, SE w850i..
but Samsung is the exception..maybe other brands havent learn their technology yet.. laugh.gif
doomx
post Jul 8 2007, 04:32 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 8 2007, 04:02 PM)
its most probably S500i is thinner and they have to apply new/different slider mechanism..
as u can see thicker slider phone normally have better slider mechanism..nokia 5300, SE w850i..
but Samsung is the exception..maybe other brands havent learn their technology yet.. laugh.gif
well im currently thinking of selling my s500 as my aunty is giving me a new w880.. earlier never tell,now only tell... zZZZZZ but i love this hp. so nice to slide except for the flimsy right part when it is open slide cry.gif

This post has been edited by doomx: Jul 8 2007, 04:53 PM
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 8 2007, 11:05 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Jul 8 2007, 04:32 PM)
well im currently thinking of selling my s500 as my aunty is giving me a new w880.. earlier never tell,now only tell... zZZZZZ but i love this hp. so nice to slide except for the flimsy right part when it is open slide  cry.gif
why sell..just keep it la..

go disco - bring s500i
work - bring w880i.. thumbup.gif

doomx
post Jul 8 2007, 11:30 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 8 2007, 11:05 PM)
why sell..just keep it la..

go disco - bring s500i
work - bring w880i.. thumbup.gif
yea la,see first... smile.gif. lol. i havent start working also still studying. biggrin.gif
brianccg
post Jul 9 2007, 10:23 AM

3,024 posts

This phone is cool...
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 10 2007, 04:43 PM

5,040 posts

*taken w 7390

Happened to see the yellow + silver version...but still..like the mysterious green more.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jul 10 2007, 04:44 PM
iRonTech
post Jul 11 2007, 08:21 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 10 2007, 04:43 PM)

*taken w 7390

Happened to see the yellow + silver version...but still..like the mysterious green more.. biggrin.gif
ya, mysterious green look much better smile.gif

yest tried on fren's S500, my 1st impression --> uh..this phone fragile feeling when hold on my hand tongue.gif

but, 14mm really slim after hold back my w850i, almost double the size.. sweat.gif

Im not sure whether the S500i new or what, but the screen resolution is bloody sharp!! thumbup.gif shocking.gif

ya, SQ wise, it can compete with W850i although it isn't W series... sweat.gif thumbup.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 11 2007, 02:08 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 11 2007, 08:21 AM)
ya, mysterious green look much better smile.gif

yest tried on fren's S500, my 1st impression --> uh..this phone fragile feeling when hold on my hand tongue.gif

but, 14mm really slim after hold back my w850i, almost double the size..  sweat.gif

Im not sure whether the S500i new or what, but the screen resolution is bloody sharp!!  thumbup.gif  shocking.gif

ya, SQ wise, it can compete with W850i although it isn't W series...  sweat.gif  thumbup.gif
yeah..bout the fragile part.. i have to agree too..

If u remove the w850is upper slider, then both will be as thick. laugh.gif
iRonTech
post Jul 11 2007, 03:03 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 11 2007, 02:08 PM)
yeah..bout the fragile part.. i have to agree too..

If u remove the w850is upper slider, then both will be as thick.  laugh.gif
I would say its big surprise for SE evolution slide phone, from 21mm to 14mm rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

(next year new 7-8mm slide phone available?? sweat.gif )
post Jul 11 2007, 03:21 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

but the keypad is kinda fragile
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 12 2007, 12:09 AM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 11 2007, 03:03 PM)
I would say its big surprise for SE evolution slide phone, from 21mm to 14mm  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
(next year new 7-8mm slide phone available??  sweat.gif )
QUOTE(10071985 @ Jul 11 2007, 03:21 PM)
but the keypad is kinda fragile
well, its true..its a thumbup.gif for the slimness but a doh.gif for the built quality
post Jul 12 2007, 01:19 AM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

haha so bro rayz
u better be super duper xtra careful with ur keypad
iRonTech
post Jul 12 2007, 08:54 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

rayzrblade @ can upload the Everchanging theme here ah?? smile.gif

o rite...i got it ready.. Wanted to see how the everchanging theme effect by hours for my W850i tongue.gif

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Jul 12 2007, 09:16 AM
StratOS
post Jul 12 2007, 11:40 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 12 2007, 12:09 AM)
well, its true..its a  thumbup.gif for the slimness but a  doh.gif for the built quality
played with this phone oredy.. kinda plastiky feeling dont u think..??
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 12 2007, 04:07 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Jul 12 2007, 01:19 AM)
haha so bro rayz
u better be super duper xtra careful with ur keypad
will do. dont worry..i treat my gadgets better than my girlfrens.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 12 2007, 08:54 AM)
rayzrblade @ can upload the Everchanging theme here ah?? smile.gif
o rite...i got it ready.. Wanted to see how the everchanging theme effect by hours for my W850i tongue.gif
did the themes work on ur w850i? thats so cool..but what about the lights..how many diff lightdoes ur w850i have?

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 12 2007, 11:40 AM)
played with this phone oredy.. kinda plastiky feeling dont u think..??
yeah..its plasticky n fragile n wobbly slider.. laugh.gif but i can live with it bcos of the cool light effects.. laugh.gif

14cm..still so shakey..they should consult Samsung how they made the 10.9mm slider.. biggrin.gif
iRonTech
post Jul 12 2007, 04:40 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 12 2007, 04:07 PM)
will do. dont worry..i treat my gadgets better than my girlfrens.. laugh.gif
did the themes work on ur w850i? thats so cool..but what about the lights..how many diff lightdoes ur w850i have?
yeah..its plasticky n fragile n wobbly slider.. laugh.gif but i can live with it bcos of the cool light effects.. laugh.gif

14cm..still so shakey..they should consult Samsung how they made the 10.9mm slider.. biggrin.gif
as usual, just the standby desktop swf works, it will change according to the time & date, its cool enough thumbup.gif

the menu, wont changed. sad.gif
arsenalmania
post Jul 12 2007, 10:07 PM

27 posts

Thanks mate for the reviews and photos. I had ordered this phone. The price is RM900. Going to get it tomorrow. Can't wait for it.
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 12 2007, 11:21 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(arsenalmania @ Jul 12 2007, 10:07 PM)
Thanks mate for the reviews and photos. I had ordered this phone. The price is RM900. Going to get it tomorrow. Can't wait for it.
so u are totally aware bout the slider..the keypad and the fragile feelin of the mobile right?
and IF theres another unit at the spot..check out the slider..1 might be more stable than the other.. thumbup.gif
post Jul 12 2007, 11:25 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

haha
so rayz bro
now actually which phone do u bring out and use?
Goliath764
post Jul 13 2007, 11:39 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

I was thinking of getting this phone but the keypad quality turns my mood off and I am not a soft person I think I will break the keypad easily.
arsenalmania
post Jul 14 2007, 12:04 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 12 2007, 11:21 PM)
so u are totally aware bout the slider..the keypad and the fragile feelin of the mobile right?
and IF theres another unit at the spot..check out the slider..1 might be more stable than the other.. thumbup.gif
Got the phone today. Fragile feeling of the phone. Yea. The spot doesn't have phone so they also need to take the stock from Times Square or Lowyat. Gotta be very careful this phone (all this while I used Nokia phone). But this is still a very cool phone. Love it. Day time the light is green, night time is blue. Just simply so cool.

This post has been edited by arsenalmania: Jul 14 2007, 12:05 AM
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 14 2007, 01:17 AM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Jul 12 2007, 11:25 PM)
haha
so rayz bro
now actually which phone do u bring out and use?
err... moto E6 + 6300 + S500i

QUOTE(arsenalmania @ Jul 14 2007, 12:04 AM)
Got the phone today. Fragile feeling of the phone. Yea. The spot doesn't have phone so they also need to take the stock from Times Square or Lowyat. Gotta be very careful this phone (all this while I used Nokia phone). But this is still a very cool phone. Love it. Day time the light is green, night time is blue. Just simply so cool.
the everchanging theme is so cool that i don wanna change to any other.. biggrin.gif

enjoy ur flashy phone. thumbup.gif
arsenalmania
post Jul 14 2007, 01:27 AM

27 posts

So is the keypad issue true? I mean since you're using it. I just have the chance to "examine" it cos' pretty busy just now. LOL.
KTCY
post Jul 14 2007, 12:25 PM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

This phone price is dropping too fast.
1 week plus drop 50bucks.
Good luck to the owner.

p/s : I can see that this phone gonna be dirt cheap once K850/W960 all those new phone coming out brows.gif whistling.gif Really good luck to the current owner

This post has been edited by KTCY: Jul 14 2007, 12:28 PM
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 14 2007, 12:44 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(arsenalmania @ Jul 14 2007, 01:27 AM)
So is the keypad issue true? I mean since you're using it. I just have the chance to "examine" it cos' pretty busy just now. LOL.
yes..its a bit filmsy..but not that bad till it will break while u sms..

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 14 2007, 12:25 PM)
This phone price is dropping too fast.
1 week plus drop 50bucks.
Good luck to the owner.

p/s : I can see that this phone gonna be dirt cheap once K850/W960 all those new phone coming out brows.gif whistling.gif Really good luck to the current owner
how does the price drop affects the owner? hmm.gif

let me see.. hmm.gif which mobile i bought n the price hardly drops.. hmm.gif oh ya.. Nokia 8800 whistling.gif

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jul 14 2007, 12:46 PM
post Jul 14 2007, 12:45 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 14 2007, 12:44 PM)
how does the price drop affects the owner? hmm.gif
becoz some of them might be selling it off when new phones come out
so price drop means 2nd hand price also drop ma
KTCY
post Jul 14 2007, 12:46 PM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

Why not think about the resell value ? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Jul 14 2007, 12:46 PM
KTCY
post Jul 14 2007, 12:47 PM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Jul 14 2007, 12:45 PM)
You're smarter then TS.
whistling.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 14 2007, 12:47 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Jul 14 2007, 12:45 PM)
QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 14 2007, 12:46 PM)
Why not think about the resell value ? rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 14 2007, 12:47 PM)
You're smarter then TS.
whistling.gif
oh..then it doesnt affect me bcos i dont resell.. laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jul 14 2007, 12:50 PM
KTCY
post Jul 14 2007, 12:49 PM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

Not every user like you. My statement refer to those who will or might sell of their phone in future rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Jul 14 2007, 12:49 PM
TSrayzrblade
post Jul 14 2007, 12:51 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 14 2007, 12:49 PM)
Not every user like you. My statement refer to those who will or might sell of their phone in future rolleyes.gif
true also. smile.gif
post Jul 14 2007, 01:21 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

haha
rayz actually the number of ur handphones... got exceed 20?
arsenalmania
post Jul 14 2007, 02:13 PM

27 posts

It's a cycle of life on this planet earth. New phones are definitely more expensive of course and the price would start to drop after one or two weeks or months. But if you keep waiting, the new phone with nicer look will release again the the cycle goes on if you know what I'm trying to say. To be honest, I don't really like buy phone that my friends have because I don't to bump or clash with others so probably at the moment, I'm the very first person to have s500i in my campus, probably my church as well. LOL.
larkowen
post Jul 14 2007, 04:57 PM

See Stars = Pening
756 posts

eventhough with reselling, how much do you plan to "earn" from there?

TSrayzrblade
post Jul 14 2007, 06:15 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Jul 14 2007, 01:21 PM)
haha
rayz actually the number of ur handphones... got exceed 20?
got some la..

QUOTE(arsenalmania @ Jul 14 2007, 02:13 PM)
It's a cycle of life on this planet earth. New phones are definitely more expensive of course and the price would start to drop after one or two weeks or months. But if you keep waiting, the new phone with nicer look will release again the the cycle goes on if you know what I'm trying to say. To be honest, I don't really like buy phone that my friends have because I don't to bump or clash with others so probably at the moment, I'm the very first person to have s500i in my campus, probably my church as well. LOL.
well said. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
iRonTech
post Jul 15 2007, 12:03 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

eh...just notice S500i (probably the 1st slide form SE) provide "close slide to end call" feature rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

(previous W850i only capable "Open slide to answer")
onimusha_m16
post Jul 15 2007, 01:40 PM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 15 2007, 12:03 PM)
eh...just notice S500i (probably the 1st slide form SE) provide "close slide to end call" feature  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif

(previous W850i only capable "Open slide to answer")
probably many ppl would not slide up their S500i to answer the call because of the unstable slide mechanism
Goliath764
post Jul 17 2007, 07:26 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

How's the music quality of this phone? The speaker loud or not?
iRonTech
post Jul 18 2007, 08:21 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Goliath764 @ Jul 17 2007, 07:26 PM)
How's the music quality of this phone? The speaker loud or not?
IMO, sound db just little bit lower than W850i.
Daven81
post Jul 20 2007, 01:05 AM

1,340 posts

hi s500 owners! got my hands on this phone today and it's great!
the slide, to me, is ok, not that bad as i thot when i read here previously.
the buttons may be fragile, but i cant see how it can be broken. hopefully it does stay the same. the look is awesome, but some sad comment is that there is no pause button on the side of the phone, and no radio.. sad.gif
overall very satisfied with this phone.. well price will well drop over the weeks but i got it now and that's all i want. smile.gif
iRonTech
post Jul 20 2007, 08:12 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Daven81 @ Jul 20 2007, 01:05 AM)
the buttons may be fragile, but i cant see how it can be broken. hopefully it does stay the same. the look is awesome, but some sad comment is that there is no pause button on the side of the phone, and no radio.. sad.gif
overall very satisfied with this phone.. well price will well drop over the weeks but i got it now and that's all i want. smile.gif
Congratulations!! rclxms.gif

IMO, pause button only available in W550i blush.gif

Want Radio, TrackID should get W580i smile.gif (of coz, price also higher than S500i)
rubicube
post Jul 20 2007, 10:00 PM

164 posts

How much did you get it for?

I'm also thinking to buy my wife the Samsung U600 or this! Any opinions?
Daven81
post Jul 20 2007, 10:05 PM

1,340 posts

QUOTE(rubicube @ Jul 20 2007, 10:00 PM)
How much did you get it for?

I'm also thinking to buy my wife the Samsung U600 or this! Any opinions?
got it for rm1250 with 1gb sandisk memory. ori set. im sure you can get it a bit cheaper - the sales person did well enough to earn my $. good set but with basic functionality, the look of it is great, i am sure ur wife will like the look of it! (i am a male btw and love it as well tongue.gif )
not sure about U600 so cant really comment... :|
MR.Shiney
post Jul 20 2007, 10:22 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

is the themes only compatible with the phone?
i want other themes which i can change the menu icons sweat.gif
adlinaimi
post Jul 20 2007, 10:33 PM

Daven81,

you got in Low yatt Plaza itself is it? =)
arsenalmania
post Jul 22 2007, 06:40 PM

27 posts

Congratulation, mate. Welcome to S500i. I bought it last week and I had used for around ten days BUT today I realized one of the keypad had cracked. My goodness, I donno it's resulted because of me or my friends using it because this phone was just simply so cool until wherever I go, it attracts people (which it's a bad thing and everybody wants to test it). It's magnet to fingerprint and now I have a new hobby (polishing my phone before I go out). LOL. Just be careful using it, mate. LOL. The keypads are really fragile too be honest. What can I say is S500i is for artistic people. Really a nice, cool phone and the phone's specifications are pretty okay and I really love the everlasting theme so much. Just simply amazing.

Added on July 22, 2007, 6:42 pmP/S: I'm a hardcore SMS typist too.

This post has been edited by arsenalmania: Jul 22 2007, 06:43 PM
Daven81
post Jul 24 2007, 12:06 PM

1,340 posts

arsenalmania, sorry to hear that your keypad cracked.. i am keeping my fingers crossed that mine would last longer..
yeah it is a fingerprint magnet.. cant clean especially the area between the screen and the phone.. sad.gif
and 1 more thing, i havent setup my gprs yet! phone not recognise... sigh.. urs done?
edkiasu
post Jul 24 2007, 10:26 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

Gosh, the keypad will spoil easily one? Then must be take good care of it
Daven81
post Jul 24 2007, 11:16 PM

1,340 posts

QUOTE(adlinaimi @ Jul 20 2007, 10:33 PM)
Daven81,

you got in Low yatt Plaza itself is it? =)
hi there, i got it at digital mall PJ rclxms.gif
Kameshikarin
post Jul 25 2007, 05:33 PM

277 posts

Look what somebody posted on gsmarena board.

Broke key issue is recognized officially by SE in Germany. The reason was a chemical reaction between the keypad-resin and the green paint. So only the green S500i built before W(eek)27 are affected. You can check the "construction date" by taking out the battery and check the sticker on your mobile device.

Well.. if its true then it could be good news for future s500 buyers.. and its also mentioned that the yellow version doesn't have broken keypad problems.
post Jul 25 2007, 06:35 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

haha
so unlucky lehh
coz green is so nice
Goliath764
post Jul 25 2007, 06:49 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

QUOTE(Kameshikarin @ Jul 25 2007, 05:33 PM)
Well.. if its true then it could be good news for future s500 buyers.. and its also mentioned that the yellow version doesn't have broken keypad problems.
Good news to me, I can get this phone when I have enough money then. No need to worry about the fragile keypad.
arsenalmania
post Jul 25 2007, 07:43 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Kameshikarin @ Jul 25 2007, 05:33 PM)
Damn it. Really? wink.gif

Added on July 25, 2007, 7:45 pm
QUOTE(Goliath764 @ Jul 25 2007, 06:49 PM)
Good news to me, I can get this phone when I have enough money then. No need to worry about the fragile keypad.
By that time, it's cheaper too. rclxms.gif

Added on July 25, 2007, 7:46 pm
QUOTE(edkiasu @ Jul 24 2007, 10:26 PM)
Gosh, the keypad will spoil easily one? Then must be take good care of it
Damn, already take very good care of it still crack in the end. I really hope Sony Ericsson would offer a better set of keypads too.

Added on July 25, 2007, 7:47 pm
QUOTE(Daven81 @ Jul 24 2007, 12:06 PM)
arsenalmania, sorry to hear that your keypad cracked.. i am keeping my fingers crossed that mine would last longer..
yeah it is a fingerprint magnet.. cant clean especially the area between the screen and the phone.. sad.gif
and 1 more thing, i havent setup my gprs yet! phone not recognise... sigh.. urs done?
yea. I already activated the gprs thing.

This post has been edited by arsenalmania: Jul 25 2007, 07:47 PM
iRonTech
post Jul 26 2007, 10:36 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(arsenalmania @ Jul 25 2007, 07:43 PM)
Damn it. Really?  wink.gif

Added on July 25, 2007, 7:45 pm

By that time, it's cheaper too.  rclxms.gif

Added on July 25, 2007, 7:46 pm

Damn, already take very good care of it still crack in the end. I really hope Sony Ericsson would offer a better set of keypads too.

Added on July 25, 2007, 7:47 pm

yea. I already activated the gprs thing.
Sony Ericsson keypad problem solved

Remember the S500 keypad cracking problem I posted about a while back? Well, this problem has been officially recognized by Sony Ericsson. Their official explanation (from SE Germany) is that there is a chemical reaction between the green paint and the keypad material (plastic). This causes the keys to be easily broken. This is why the yellow version of the phone is not affected (no green paint). The issue is being resolved by SE. Also, apparently the affected S500's are made before week 27.

JAMP
so most of the crack problem from green color unit?

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Jul 26 2007, 10:38 AM
zyrl
post Jul 26 2007, 11:24 AM

Thunder buddies for life, right, Johnny?
885 posts

can it install additional application? like dictionary application?
iRonTech
post Jul 26 2007, 12:51 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(zyrl @ Jul 26 2007, 11:24 AM)
can it install additional application? like dictionary application?
Yes. try get it from www.getjar.com
zyrl
post Jul 26 2007, 03:35 PM

Thunder buddies for life, right, Johnny?
885 posts

but there are no S500 in its SE list
iRonTech
post Jul 26 2007, 03:52 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(zyrl @ Jul 26 2007, 03:35 PM)
but there are no S500 in its SE list
Not necessary S500. just select 320x240 resolution (eg: W850/K800) will do.
arsenalmania
post Jul 26 2007, 07:26 PM

27 posts

yea. according to gsmarena.
KTCY
post Jul 26 2007, 07:39 PM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Jul 20 2007, 10:22 PM)
is the themes only compatible with the phone?
i want other themes which i can change the menu icons sweat.gif
The flash theme compatible with all flash enable phone such as W850 and etc.
The menu icons can only be changed using mod method which I believe can't be done at this very moments.
gwsa
post Jul 28 2007, 04:37 PM

360 posts

Can someone tell me where the speaker located?
going to get this phone soon... smile.gif
iRonTech
post Jul 28 2007, 05:45 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(gwsa @ Jul 28 2007, 04:37 PM)
Can someone tell me where the speaker located?
going to get this phone soon... smile.gif
its located on the navigator key smile.gif

check out previous page, its about the "color" caused the keypad crack issue before you decided which color go for biggrin.gif
post Jul 28 2007, 06:01 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

haha but they say for green
s500 after week 27 wont have this problem...

StratOS
post Jul 28 2007, 06:10 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

Wut do you mean..? Its caused of the colour then will crack..?
gwsa
post Jul 28 2007, 08:13 PM

360 posts

But issit after W27 all S500 set changed??
wah..then all green colour set buyer would definitely regret...
but yellow is very ugly.. sweat.gif
G-Izzat
post Jul 29 2007, 02:29 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

I'm thinking of buying this phone now.
Is this the right time? Or should I wait for a few more weeks,guys?
post Jul 29 2007, 02:39 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 28 2007, 06:10 PM)
Wut do you mean..? Its caused of the colour then will crack..?
ya
thats what they say
becoz the green paint cause what chemical reaction something like that
gwsa
post Jul 29 2007, 08:12 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Jul 29 2007, 02:39 PM)
ya
thats what they say
becoz the green paint cause what chemical reaction something like that
so wad are we going to do ?
the news that saying those crack keypad problem only affect before W27 phone ??
and after W27 there'll be no worries for the phone's keypad ?? unsure.gif
dark_evilz
post Jul 30 2007, 01:02 PM

241 posts

ahhh.. juz bought for 2 weeks and i've crack 3 button of the keypad already... damn fragile..

and the most annoying thing is the earphone... when i listen to the mp3 via my the earfon, if handsfree port is been touch juz a little, the playback will stop and asking if the user want to play the music trough the speaker... damn its annoying...

if the w580 is the same as this fon.. then whats the point of having "shake control" technology if the handsfree port keep disengage..

iRonTech
post Jul 30 2007, 01:18 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(dark_evilz @ Jul 30 2007, 01:02 PM)

and the most annoying thing is the earphone... when i listen to the mp3 via my  the earfon, if handsfree port is been touch juz a little, the playback will stop and asking if the user want to play the music trough the speaker... damn its annoying...

1) what color you having ur S500i?

2) hmm.gif Mean the port have same problem with W900i??

shake control is on W910i smile.gif

dark_evilz
post Jul 30 2007, 03:02 PM

241 posts

i bought the black one..
dunno its the same port like w900 or not..
but wut i know, the port cannot be touch or move even juz a little..
it will stop the playback and message will popup, asking to play the music trough the speaker...
that mean i can listen to mp3 while walking or cycling or while putting my s500 in my pocket...

My button no '1','2', and '4' is crack... very fragile keypad..
its not like i hit it with hammer.. juz a gentle finger press.. mad.gif
Kameshikarin
post Jul 30 2007, 03:32 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 30 2007, 01:18 PM)
1) what color you having ur S500i?

2)  hmm.gif Mean the port have same problem with W900i??

shake control is on W910i smile.gif
The official website stated that W580i has Shake Control.
If the port can be accidentaly disconnected when you shake the phone then it could be a problem if you're using the headphone.
arsenalmania
post Jul 30 2007, 08:35 PM

27 posts

Half of my keypads are cracked after more than 15 days using. Brought back to the shop today, but the guy told me that have to wait for some time to get the replacement of the keypads. Maybe everyone who owns mysterious green s500i facing the same problem.

Added on July 30, 2007, 8:38 pmFor those for want to buy this phone, I think it is better to hold on a while. Let the better version keypads then baru buy it. Otherwise, very ma fan unless you're crazy of this phone for some time. Damn, pissed when someone in my course also got this phone after mine. Lol.

This post has been edited by arsenalmania: Jul 30 2007, 08:38 PM
JavaKom09088
post Jul 30 2007, 09:54 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(dark_evilz @ Jul 30 2007, 03:02 PM)
i bought the black one..
dunno its the same port like w900 or not..
but wut i know, the port cannot be touch or move even juz a little..
it will stop the playback and message will popup, asking to play the music trough the speaker...
that mean i can listen to mp3 while walking or cycling or while putting my s500 in my pocket...

My button no '1','2', and '4' is crack... very fragile keypad..
its not like i hit it with hammer.. juz a gentle finger press..  mad.gif
blink.gif oh tat's terrible 1 just gentle finger press can make the button crack ?? got photos of it or not can u show how it crack ???? ohmy.gif
gmail
post Jul 30 2007, 10:44 PM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

i also hav a green s500, luckily my keypad never crack.

touch wood sweat.gif
iRonTech
post Jul 31 2007, 01:02 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Kameshikarin @ Jul 30 2007, 03:32 PM)
The official website stated that W580i has Shake Control.
If the port can be accidentaly disconnected when you shake the phone then it could be a problem if you're using the headphone.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif mis-spot the shake control sweat.gif

gwsa
post Jul 31 2007, 10:28 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(arsenalmania @ Jul 30 2007, 08:35 PM)

so..how are we going to know that the better version keypad out ??
i'm dam hungry for new phone.. cry.gif
iRonTech
post Aug 1 2007, 08:04 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(gwsa @ Jul 31 2007, 10:28 PM)
so..how are we going to know that the better version keypad out ??
i'm dam hungry for new phone.. cry.gif
get S500 Midland set better since the pricing not much different ATM with AP set, if any crack, just send for warranty claim smile.gif
dark_evilz
post Aug 1 2007, 11:09 AM

241 posts

if keypad crack, can warranty ka?
mcchin
post Aug 1 2007, 12:38 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

yes cause it is a manufacturer defect
dark_evilz
post Aug 1 2007, 03:27 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Aug 1 2007, 12:38 PM)
yes cause it is a manufacturer defect
only for the ori pack or the ap set oso can?
dotn3t
post Aug 1 2007, 09:34 PM

472 posts

i think if manufacturer's defect, both ap or ori will be affected....
Daven81
post Aug 1 2007, 10:37 PM

1,340 posts

guys i have used it for 12 day, so far so goood.. and i got 1 surprise today.. all the with my phone's theme "everchanging", i saw blue, green and blue + green lights. then today suddenly i got purple lights. well maybe that's normal already for you guys.. but today i first time see it.. surprised and happy bout it. at first thought of ditching this for the w580 but now... i think this is nicer in it's way. smile.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 1 2007, 10:57 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(Daven81 @ Aug 1 2007, 10:37 PM)
guys i have used it for 12 day, so far so goood.. and i got 1 surprise today.. all the with my phone's theme "everchanging", i saw blue, green and blue + green lights. then today suddenly i got purple lights. well maybe that's normal already for you guys.. but today i first time see it.. surprised and happy bout it. at first thought of ditching this for the w580 but now... i think this is nicer in it's way. smile.gif
dude.. i felt tat way too..been seeing the blue-ish, green-ish light for sometime n today AUG 01, it turned purple..a new season..damn nice..the words..icons..everything..really its refreshing to my eyes.

sometimes i can just stare at the animations on the wallpaper for a minute.. laugh.gif
dark_evilz
post Aug 2 2007, 09:41 AM

241 posts

haha...mine too... it turn purple... so cool.. thumbup.gif
mcchin
post Aug 2 2007, 09:50 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(dark_evilz @ Aug 1 2007, 03:27 PM)
only for the ori pack or the ap set oso can?
ori you can go any SE to claim and it is easy since the problem is wellknown

ap, if unlucky get an un-ed dealer, you have to argue abit to get things done
dark_evilz
post Aug 2 2007, 11:58 AM

241 posts

owh.. tq.
i bought the ap set la.. such a mistake considering the price different is juz about rm50-60. huhu....
dotn3t
post Aug 2 2007, 01:59 PM

472 posts

What's the price difference between original and AP set? I know AP set is just around RM900+ , so original is set around RM1K?
arsenalmania
post Aug 2 2007, 10:43 PM

27 posts

YEAH ..... it turns to purple during days. Just like rayzrblade said, refreshed my eyes. The wallpapers also changed as time past. Yesterday, my friend asked me to send this theme to him but couldn't work for him LOL. I wonder what's the colour of the theme next month. They said those phones after week 28 are alright. Mine one is Week 26 or 27, no wonder. Can check behind the battery, sth like 07WXX. XX is the week. I think AP set just cost around 900 or below now cos' I bought it at 902 and that was three weeks ago. Original set, I think it is more than 1000.
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 2 2007, 11:07 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(arsenalmania @ Aug 2 2007, 10:43 PM)
YEAH ..... it turns to purple during days. Just like rayzrblade said, refreshed my eyes. The wallpapers also changed as time past. Yesterday, my friend asked me to send this theme to him but couldn't work for him LOL. I wonder what's the colour of the theme next month. They said those phones after week 28 are alright. Mine one is Week 26 or 27, no wonder. Can check behind the battery, sth like 07WXX. XX is the week. I think AP set just cost around 900 or below now cos' I bought it at 902 and that was three weeks ago. Original set, I think it is more than 1000.
after u seen/used this everchanging theme..you wouldnt wanna change it ever again..really..

certain themes work on specific models only..like i transfered a theme from w850i to my S500i, the wallpaper changes but the icons are the old plain looking ones. wink.gif
post Aug 3 2007, 12:11 AM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

i think ori only touch rm1k only
quite cheap... jus add a few 10 bucks can buy ori
dark_evilz
post Aug 3 2007, 09:53 AM

241 posts

exactly.. the price different is juz less then a rm100..
DreMAx
post Aug 4 2007, 06:00 PM

Nature's Best Music
3,799 posts

Good review razyblade. I only managed to see this kinda late which is today. Thanks for the review, I may consider getting this phone despite all the complains about the keypad.
G-Izzat
post Aug 4 2007, 09:52 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

I just got this phone from sony style klcc. damn nice. smile.gif
underworld
post Aug 4 2007, 10:37 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 4 2007, 09:52 PM)
I just got this phone from sony style klcc. damn nice. smile.gif
how much dude??
G-Izzat
post Aug 4 2007, 11:34 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 4 2007, 10:37 PM)
how much dude??
Rm1002. Thorus Set.
Nice,eh?
xSaberx
post Aug 5 2007, 12:53 AM

20 posts

hmm the theme of s500i is awesome..but, i wish the lights can be manually set lo... cry.gif
i mean not for only incoming calls but everyday color mood rclxms.gif
sonyclie77
post Aug 5 2007, 01:17 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(DreMAx @ Aug 4 2007, 06:00 PM)
Good review razyblade. I only managed to see this kinda late which is today. Thanks for the review, I may consider getting this phone despite all the complains about the keypad.
If you're going for the Green (which is nicer), I'd suggest you wait a while.

SE is coming up with a solution so that it does not crack in new handsets.

The Gold version is not affected though.
xSaberx
post Aug 5 2007, 01:19 AM

20 posts

hmmm jus wan to ask s500i user, can u lengthen the message tone? coz the message tone, nomatter how long the song i put, it rings only a few second cry.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 5 2007, 01:43 AM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(DreMAx @ Aug 4 2007, 06:00 PM)
thanks..this mobile looks so darn good that u dont even wanna care bout the keypad issue..hehe

QUOTE(xSaberx @ Aug 5 2007, 12:53 AM)
hmm the theme of s500i is awesome..but, i wish the lights can be manually set lo... cry.gif
i mean not for only incoming calls but everyday color mood  rclxms.gif
dude, the themes and the light effects are good enough compare to the other current borin mobiles.. laugh.gif
i really like to see the animation or even just the icon..its so ALIVE..
Samsung, nokia, moto..pls learn from SE tongue.gif

QUOTE(xSaberx @ Aug 5 2007, 01:19 AM)
hmmm jus wan to ask s500i user, can u lengthen the message tone? coz the message tone, nomatter how long the song i put, it rings only a few second  cry.gif
yeah...that bothers me too..i dont think theres any way to change it.
xSaberx
post Aug 5 2007, 01:57 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Aug 5 2007, 01:43 AM)
thanks..this mobile looks so darn good that u dont even wanna care bout the keypad issue..hehe
dude, the themes and the light effects are good enough compare to the other current borin mobiles.. laugh.gif
i really like to see the animation or even just the icon..its so ALIVE..
Samsung, nokia, moto..pls learn from SE  tongue.gif
yeah...that bothers me too..i dont think theres any way to change it.
awww...yaya, its so alive eventhough it canot be customize tongue.gif
oh, so there is no way to change it... cry.gif nvm..thx!
G-Izzat
post Aug 5 2007, 04:45 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Aug 5 2007, 01:17 AM)
If you're going for the Green (which is nicer), I'd suggest you wait a while.

SE is coming up with a solution so that it does not crack in new handsets.

The Gold version is not affected though.
I thought they already solved it?
Phones made after week 27 should be fine.
xSaberx
post Aug 5 2007, 05:03 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 5 2007, 04:45 PM)
I thought they already solved it?
Phones made after week 27 should be fine.
Yaya...they solve it, i jus bought my fone tis friday and the keypad jus nice laugh.gif
G-Izzat
post Aug 5 2007, 05:05 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

Yours is in which week was it manufactured?
Mine is W30. But I think my number 7 is about to crack.

Edit : It just did. Haha. Damn.

This post has been edited by G-Izzat: Aug 5 2007, 05:09 PM
xSaberx
post Aug 5 2007, 05:17 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 5 2007, 05:05 PM)

erm...how to check which date manufacture ler? hehez paiseh ya
oh ya, mine is original set, how bout urs? blush.gif
G-Izzat
post Aug 5 2007, 05:25 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

Mine is original too.
To check the manufacture date,just open the battery case,and take out the batter. You should see something like "07W25" like that at the back of the phone.
underworld
post Aug 6 2007, 03:40 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

so fast crack ?? darn i think i better wait on my purchase then
iRonTech
post Aug 6 2007, 03:42 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

laugh.gif laugh.gif (no offense...) I can see why S500i din't put in QuadPro game inside the phones... tongue.gif
post Aug 6 2007, 04:34 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

if they did put Quadpro inside
2,4,6,8 will crack very fast
adri4n
post Aug 6 2007, 05:32 PM

Running in Circles... Going No Where
1,850 posts

went sungai wang.. thorus set... with 1gb m2 stick

rm1090
underworld
post Aug 6 2007, 07:49 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(adri4n @ Aug 6 2007, 05:32 PM)
went sungai wang.. thorus set... with 1gb m2 stick

rm1090
ask sonystyle outlet ...all out of stock ...price quoted was RM 1005 add rm 20 for a 512mb memory card
RM 1090 is quite a good deal

G-Izzat
post Aug 6 2007, 10:43 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

Just tried sending the phone to the service center in avenue K. Unfortunately,there's no stock for the keypad and it'll arrive in 1 or 2 weeks.

They also said that they'll replace it for free,which is good enough. But I do hope the keypad they'll replace it with will be much better.
Daven81
post Aug 7 2007, 12:35 AM

1,340 posts

oh.. cracked already? well hope you can fix it soon... mine is week 26 so i guess i fall into the danger-zone. but so far still ok.. *cross my fingers*
anyway juz to reiterate, the phone is still superb... no wrong choice made.. rclxms.gif
post Aug 7 2007, 01:04 AM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

haha touch wood
but i saw some forummers say his phone is wk30
also crack
jensen
post Aug 7 2007, 05:27 PM

4 years still 4 stars
557 posts

may i know tat beside the pros and cons listed on 1st page, any other phone usability limitation?

btw: did the keypad light shine in green?does it look ugly?
dark_evilz
post Aug 7 2007, 05:41 PM

241 posts

the keypad is green color.. the light is never turn green.. shakehead.gif
and its one good looking cellphone.. thumbup.gif
even the theme is a finger of beauty.. icon_rolleyes.gif
xSaberx
post Aug 7 2007, 09:09 PM

20 posts

hey guys..problem here!
my s500i .... when i use normal calling or answering, there is no sound through the ear piece!!
when i use loud.speaker can, handsfree can...anyone hav tis problem?
G-Izzat
post Aug 7 2007, 11:06 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(xSaberx @ Aug 7 2007, 09:09 PM)
hey guys..problem here!
my s500i .... when i use normal calling or answering, there is no sound through the ear piece!!
when i use loud.speaker can, handsfree can...anyone hav tis problem?
Oh,wow. That is unheard of. Maybe it's broken.
underworld
post Aug 7 2007, 11:48 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

i just bought my s500 RM 1020 Thorus set wif 512 MB m2...... weak 30... i hope my keypad not so easy break.....
so i love this phone !

mmm, xSaberx din u test the phone out in the shop b4 paying ?
xSaberx
post Aug 8 2007, 12:18 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 7 2007, 11:48 PM)
i just bought my s500 RM 1020 Thorus set wif 512 MB m2...... weak 30... i hope my keypad not so easy break.....
so i love this phone !

Hmmm guys, i solve the problem.....its something link to ur USB to Handphone cable
i dunno whether some of u out there hav tis problem o not lo. JUs now i try plug the USB cable then switch to phone mode and try dial, the earpiece has back alive! rclxms.gif So i guess maybe the plug makes the earpiece got problem..lolz not sure, still finding the problem biggrin.gif
thx guys out there
underworld
post Aug 8 2007, 03:31 AM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(xSaberx @ Aug 8 2007, 12:18 AM)
Hmmm guys, i solve the problem.....its something link to ur USB to Handphone cable
i dunno whether some of u out there hav tis problem o not lo. JUs now i try plug the USB cable then switch to phone mode and try dial, the earpiece has back alive!  rclxms.gif  So i guess maybe the plug makes the earpiece got problem..lolz not sure, still finding the problem  biggrin.gif
thx guys out there
good to hear that ur phone nothing wrong...... u guys install the pcsuite on vista ?? kinda sux , doesnt run well on vista eventhough downloaded the newest software
G-Izzat
post Aug 8 2007, 11:43 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 7 2007, 11:48 PM)
so i love this phone !

Congrats,man. And good luck with your phone. I do hope your keypad break as mine did.
mcchin
post Aug 8 2007, 01:52 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 8 2007, 03:31 AM)
good to hear that ur phone nothing wrong...... u guys install the pcsuite on vista ?? kinda sux , doesnt run well on vista eventhough downloaded the newest software
well
vista is .... well... cr@p
hafta wait like another year before smooth implementations in most programs

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 8 2007, 11:43 AM)
Congrats,man. And good luck with your phone. I do hope your keypad break as mine did.
WHAT KINd of well wish izzat? doh.gif shakehead.gif
G-Izzat
post Aug 8 2007, 02:05 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Aug 8 2007, 01:52 PM)
well
vista is .... well... cr@p
hafta wait like another year before smooth implementations in most programs
WHAT KINd of well wish izzat? doh.gif  shakehead.gif
Aiyo,haha. Sorry,sorry. Mistyped it.

I do hope your keypad won't break as mine did.

Now,that is the right sentence.

tongue.gif

This post has been edited by G-Izzat: Aug 8 2007, 02:05 PM
post Aug 8 2007, 02:30 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

haha
choy choy touch wood
where can wish ppl keypad break
mcchin
post Aug 8 2007, 02:48 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

hahaha
caught you there..
but i sorta know whats you want to say
cause no one would say that

unless they are PURE EEEEVIIILLLLL!!!! (jeng-jeng-jeng!!!) laugh.gif

back to topic....
has anyone tried advancing the time to see the "everchanging" theme in all its glory?

G-Izzat
post Aug 8 2007, 02:53 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Aug 8 2007, 02:48 PM)
hahaha
caught you there..

back to topic....
has anyone tried advancing the time to see the "everchanging" theme in all its glory?
Heh,I'm not that evil. smile.gif

Anyways,I've heard that it'll change when it's valentine's day,Christmas and even Halloween.

Added on August 8, 2007, 5:21 pmOh,and btw,guys, how do you actually take the sim card out of the phone?

This post has been edited by G-Izzat: Aug 8 2007, 05:21 PM
xSaberx
post Aug 8 2007, 09:14 PM

20 posts

kekekz! rclxms.gif
The keypad, really so easily break ar? cham...i very scare jor cry.gif
underworld
post Aug 8 2007, 11:32 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 8 2007, 02:53 PM)
Heh,I'm not that evil.  smile.gif

Anyways,I've heard that it'll change when it's valentine's day,Christmas and even Halloween.

Added on August 8, 2007, 5:21 pmOh,and btw,guys, how do you actually take the sim card out of the phone?
wah don like tat lar wish me tat kind luck......... sweat.gif i damn careful whn typin sms ......

yeah.... how to take out the simcard??.....hav to korek it out ah ??? wink.gif
i din know so difficult to take out if not wud hav ask the sales gal to show it 2 me

TSrayzrblade
post Aug 9 2007, 07:29 AM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Aug 8 2007, 02:48 PM)
hahaha
caught you there..

back to topic....
if u try it now..thenwhenit happens..no more surprise already..hehe

QUOTE(xSaberx @ Aug 8 2007, 09:14 PM)
kekekz!  rclxms.gif
The keypad, really so easily break ar? cham...i very scare jor  cry.gif
it wont be tat cham la..been using a month..still alright..depends on usage n user ..

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 8 2007, 11:32 PM)
wah don like tat lar wish me tat kind luck.........  sweat.gif  i damn careful whn typin sms ......

yeah.... how to take out the simcard??.....hav to korek it out ah ??? wink.gif
i din know so difficult to take out if not wud hav ask the sales gal to show it 2 me
just use ur fingernail..press down..and the sim card will pop up..
mcchin
post Aug 9 2007, 09:00 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Aug 9 2007, 07:29 AM)
if u try it now..thenwhenit happens..no more surprise already..hehe
hmmm..
i am not up to suprises,
impatient might i add... drool.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Aug 9 2007, 07:29 AM)
just use ur fingernail..press down..and the sim card will pop up..
some thing like the way SD card slot
press in to lock in place, press down to release it again
underworld
post Aug 9 2007, 10:43 AM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

can this phone download those java apps into the phone ?
mcchin
post Aug 9 2007, 12:16 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

like most of the recent SE phone
yes it supports java

http://www.sonyericsson.com/spg.jsp?cc=my&...ne=pp&pid=10854

lexasp
post Aug 9 2007, 12:17 PM

229 posts

so has the keypad issues been fix?
dark_evilz
post Aug 9 2007, 02:26 PM

241 posts

ayark.. mcm tu ka cabut simkad..
i juz korek the simcard using knife... huhu.. sweat.gif

then after i put it back n on the fon.. it restore the date on 1 jan 2000..
suddenly i realize the theme is changing.. got fire cracker... so cool.. rclxm9.gif
post Aug 9 2007, 04:04 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

lol
erm if the theme applied on other phones
will it change according to the date and time as well?
mcchin
post Aug 9 2007, 04:24 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Aug 9 2007, 04:04 PM)
lol
that no one have yeat to confirm
i have tried w900 theme on w550
only the desktop/standby change
the icon placement subsequent menu didnt.

but that is a bit different from the case now
cause this standby/desktop correspond to the time and date...
sir_impesto
post Aug 9 2007, 04:30 PM

729 posts

lol
I guess changing the theme in most of SE phone dosent affect the date....

TSrayzrblade
post Aug 9 2007, 08:19 PM

5,040 posts

lol
i dont think so..i think each theme is meant for certain models..
like i transfer a w850i theme to s500i, the wallpaper looks the same but the icons are the default ones.. sad.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 9 2007, 08:23 PM

5,040 posts

wub.gif man...i just tried changing the dates.. laugh.gif laugh.gif to holloween n christmas and the wallpaper ACTUALLY CHANGES

i m really loving it..not gonna change any time soon.. laugh.gif
arsenalmania
post Aug 9 2007, 08:59 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Aug 5 2007, 01:43 AM)
So true .. biggrin.gif

post Aug 9 2007, 09:09 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

ya i know the icons will be default
but what i more interested is in the wallpaper part
if lets say u transfer the everchanging theme to w850
will the wallpaper of everchanging change follow the time and date?
arsenalmania
post Aug 9 2007, 09:12 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Aug 6 2007, 04:34 PM)
if they did put Quadpro inside
2,4,6,8 will crack very fast
Yea same goes to mine. At the moment, only 4 keypads of mine are still in fine condition ROFL. Damn I want to replace the broken keypads. Such a nice phone but the keypads are cacat. Such a shame.

Added on August 9, 2007, 9:14 pm
QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 6 2007, 10:43 PM)
Just tried sending the phone to the service center in avenue K. Unfortunately,there's no stock for the keypad and it'll arrive in 1 or 2 weeks.
So does anyone already exhange the new keypads? Are they much better than last time one? I went to shop few weeks ago, they told me everywhere is out of stock. I mean the keypads.

Added on August 9, 2007, 9:15 pm
QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 8 2007, 02:53 PM)
Heh,I'm not that evil.  smile.gif

Oh really? That would be really, really, really f**kin' cool. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by arsenalmania: Aug 9 2007, 09:15 PM
post Aug 9 2007, 09:15 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

so when the keypad backlight lid on
it shines thru the crack>?
arsenalmania
post Aug 9 2007, 09:17 PM

27 posts

^^ Yes. Quite obvious actually.
post Aug 9 2007, 09:19 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

aiks
disappointed
last few months ago when they announced this phone
i was like WTF.. i must get this phone
when it is out.. so many problems
haih
make me dun feel like buying dy
G-Izzat
post Aug 9 2007, 10:59 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

Ouch.

This post has been edited by G-Izzat: Aug 9 2007, 10:59 PM
post Aug 9 2007, 11:32 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

omg
thought SE said only green got chemical reaction with the keypad which caused the crack
looks like its a pure lie
G-Izzat
post Aug 9 2007, 11:35 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

I sure do hope that this only happens to the early batch. We have to give them some time. The phone is still new.
mcchin
post Aug 10 2007, 09:27 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Aug 9 2007, 09:09 PM)
ya i know the icons will be default
but what i more interested is in the wallpaper part
if lets say u transfer the everchanging theme to w850
will the wallpaper of everchanging change follow the time and date?
ermm..
hard to say, cause , like i say earlier,
the wallpaper are not some beautiful gif format
at least not gif alone, since it corresponds with the tim and date change
so other phones without this instructions/program would only have the default gif
maybe 1 of the two dozens of the possible gif picture

what ever it is,
have to test it out physically
now cannot find the file to download
if got, atleast can test out on w850i

QUOTE(10071985 @ Aug 9 2007, 11:32 PM)
omg
thought SE said only green got chemical reaction with the keypad which caused the crack
looks like its a pure lie
might be initial report seems to be more of a green unit
since, like here in LYN, alot more ppl like the green more than the yellow
but when the problem surfaces, alot new buyer switched to yellow

might as well
be that the material use to produce are a bit inferior for normal usage?
cause AFAIK the keypad are molded all at once (the numbering are made in-situ while molding the keypad) and not post-printed.

My point of view....
Inferior material have been used
affected by the colour pellet but
all in all much more inferior product is used...

to many possibility
just hope no more future occurance...
Xcaliber
post Aug 10 2007, 12:37 PM

630 posts

To be or not to be ... To buy or not to buy... should i buy ? and my wife also like this phone.. kena beli dua.. adoii...

Should i ?
post Aug 10 2007, 02:39 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

hmmm
then have to ask those with se phones to try it out
if i am not wrong the everchanging theme is available in 1 of the threads here
but not sure which 1 dy
forgot
tongue.gif
mcchin
post Aug 10 2007, 04:19 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Aug 10 2007, 02:39 PM)
hmmm
then have to ask those with se phones to try it out
if i am not wrong the everchanging theme is available in 1 of the threads here
but not sure which 1 dy
forgot
tongue.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/498925/+1980#

here you go
but you have to use some sort of download manager to get the full file

ps: try the verchanging file on a w810i
it says corrupted file rclxub.gif

underworld
post Aug 10 2007, 04:20 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

guys, indoor pics i took loook kinda yellowish.... does it look like tat in u guys phone?

iRonTech
post Aug 10 2007, 04:27 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Aug 10 2007, 04:19 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/498925/+1980#

here you go
but you have to use some sort of download manager to get the full file

ps: try the verchanging file on a w810i
it says corrupted file  rclxub.gif
u need change the resolution fit to w810 smile.gif
mcchin
post Aug 10 2007, 04:34 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 10 2007, 04:20 PM)
guys, indoor pics i took loook kinda yellowish.... does it look like tat in u guys phone?
try changing the white balance option
using the manual instead of auto

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Aug 10 2007, 04:27 PM)
u need change the resolution fit to w810 smile.gif
hmmm
how?
post Aug 10 2007, 06:23 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

btw bro
when u try to install into the w810
wat format is it in?
.swf or .thm?
mcchin
post Aug 10 2007, 08:22 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Aug 10 2007, 06:23 PM)
btw bro
when u try to install into the w810
wat format is it in?
.swf or .thm?
i instal it as .thm,
since iRontech says to remove the .zip
arsenalmania
post Aug 11 2007, 01:35 PM

27 posts

The light is ORANGE today. Are you guys' phones the same? Awesome!
denzel88
post Aug 11 2007, 02:29 PM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

nice phone...almost wanted to buy this phone...but too bad it has a bad keyboard. sad.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 11 2007, 03:44 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(arsenalmania @ Aug 11 2007, 01:35 PM)
The light is ORANGE today. Are you guys' phones the same? Awesome!
yeah..why is it orange today? what occation?

xSaberx
post Aug 12 2007, 12:09 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Aug 11 2007, 03:44 PM)
yup...mine oso become orange, wat happen? wat date isit? rclxms.gif
but then turn back dark blue when nite..
SiLVeRHybRiD
post Aug 12 2007, 12:49 AM

<(0.0)<^(0.0)^>(o.o)>
855 posts

i rly wanted to get this hp soon edi..is the keypad matter really worst?

i am so disappointed eh....nuuu~
xSaberx
post Aug 12 2007, 01:07 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(SiLVeRHybRiD @ Aug 12 2007, 12:49 AM)

relax dude..it all depends the user! if u r a rough user, normatter wat fone or "rock" fone like 3310, u will get it spoil too... rclxms.gif
get wat i mean? biggrin.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 13 2007, 12:28 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(SiLVeRHybRiD @ Aug 12 2007, 12:49 AM)

to ensure it wont break easily..

1. DONT use fingernails to type
2. TRY to press the WHOLE button, dont apply force on 1 spot only.

then..i think it will be fine. biggrin.gif

its similiar to W850i dpad..
my frens dpad cracked..bcos she is a girl..and she used her nails to press those tiny little dpad buttons..tats why ,...

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Aug 13 2007, 12:30 PM
iRonTech
post Aug 13 2007, 12:43 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

Some investigate about the keypad crack issue...

Note, S500i & W580i facing the same issue. Yes, include W580i (my dream phone cry.gif cry.gif )... sweat.gif doh.gif

An interesting theory on why the S500 keypad breaks

This might be the cause of why those darn keypads break on the S500 and even the W580. This interesting theory is thought up by Amras from howardforums. Here is his exact explanation.

Perhaps anyone would think like I do.

Anyway, I believe the reason why keypads cracking in S500i/W580i is not because the green paint reaction whatsoever.

It's definitely not.

If it was, why the keypads crack always after we used it? Why don't they crack while in the box??

I'm sure it cracks because of the thinnest of the keypad plate and the design itself.

Look at this. The keypad plate is glued in its middle part to the bottom receptor.

So when you bend one key like this (say you press key 8, the key 9 will also be bended),

eventually the keypad will crack in the middle like this.

It really makes sense coz you simply cannot bend one thing that sticked in the middle with another object. And everytime you pressed a key, the next keypad(s) to the key is bended (coz they are joint together) until it eventually cracks around in the middle (coz the plate is very thin + it's glued in the middle part only + it's bended). That's why the crack never appears not around in the middle of the plate.

The solution is .. to change the keypad material with a stronger one. Or else.. change the design a bit: glue the whole bottom part of the plate or remove the joint between keypads. Though it will be very awkward to change a design after a phone been released.

JAMPBlog
doomx
post Aug 13 2007, 02:16 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Aug 13 2007, 12:43 PM)
Some investigate about the keypad crack issue...

Note, S500i & W580i facing the same issue. Yes, include W580i (my dream phone  cry.gif  cry.gif )...  sweat.gif  doh.gif
so sad,i also wanted the w580.. now got this type of problem d. dont know want to buy or not sad.gif
underworld
post Aug 13 2007, 04:09 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Aug 13 2007, 02:16 PM)
so sad,i also wanted the w580.. now got this type of problem d. dont know want to buy or not  sad.gif
buy buy buy lar....
don worry bout it......

xSaberx
post Aug 13 2007, 10:21 PM

20 posts

haiyo....say ady mah..depends on the user!
even u tell me its michael jordan, he needs rest! he is human! not superman! rclxms.gif
Quik
post Aug 14 2007, 12:27 AM

can any users of this hp tell me does it support chinese words?
sms in chinese?
Godevil
post Aug 14 2007, 12:30 AM

Engineer
1,226 posts

lol....
of cos got.... tongue.gif
Quik
post Aug 14 2007, 12:37 AM

QUOTE(Godevil @ Aug 14 2007, 12:30 AM)
lol....
of cos got.... tongue.gif
haha ok thank you blush.gif
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 14 2007, 12:24 PM

5,040 posts

apparently this keypad issue with affect a lot of the potential buyers..

but like i mentioned..just dont use fingernails or keep pressing the sides of the keypad..then it should be fine..

i i think its save for those with bigger thumbs.. laugh.gif bcos u will be pressing the WHOLE button..and the force is applied evenly..then cracking mmight not happen.
arsenalmania
post Aug 14 2007, 02:09 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Aug 11 2007, 03:44 PM)
Merdeka month lol.
underworld
post Aug 14 2007, 04:36 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Aug 14 2007, 12:24 PM)
apparently this keypad issue with affect a lot of the potential buyers..

but like i mentioned..just dont use fingernails or keep pressing the sides of the keypad..then it should be fine..

i i think its save for those with bigger thumbs.. laugh.gif bcos u will be pressing the WHOLE button..and the force is applied evenly..then cracking mmight not happen.
yeah agree with rayzrblade... i have been using the phone for the past whole week....
still ok mah..... tongue.gif
xSaberx
post Aug 14 2007, 04:47 PM

20 posts

ooo no one agree wif me? cry.gif cry.gif
post Aug 14 2007, 04:54 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

u've been using 1 week only
so still ok la haha
underworld
post Aug 14 2007, 07:01 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

the current music player kinda sux...any other music player like the walkman series can b downloaded ah ??
G-Izzat
post Aug 15 2007, 06:14 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

Just replaced my keypad. But then,I just noticed the black part which has the mic is quite loose and I think I can even pull it out. Sucks.

sad.gif

Keypad's doing great though.
AntonioKane
post Aug 16 2007, 02:00 PM

63 posts

i was very sad when i purchased this phone s500 from kenny in subang square. i got the details from garage sales.
after 3 days of usage i notice the keypad cracked and now is 4 keypad cracked. he said i cant claim keypad because is AP but i already make this case an issue by reporting it to the local authorities and i know things will get right soon.
anyone of u got same case as me please do sms me at 0163927912. such an irresponsible seller... i bet if i buy a toy hp also it wont crack it i drop it a million times
Kameshikarin
post Aug 16 2007, 02:13 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(AntonioKane @ Aug 16 2007, 02:00 PM)
i was very sad when i purchased this phone  s500 from kenny in subang square. i got the details from garage sales.
after 3 days of usage i notice the keypad cracked and now is 4 keypad cracked. he said i cant claim keypad because is AP but i already make this case an issue by reporting it to the local authorities and i know things will get right soon.
anyone of u got same case as me please do sms me at 0163927912. such an irresponsible seller... i bet if i buy a toy hp also it wont crack it i drop it a million times
I think if the keypad cracked then its not the seller's fault.
post Aug 16 2007, 03:52 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

ya i think not the seller's fault
coz it is a common issue on all s500 out there, whether ap or ori

This post has been edited by 10071985: Aug 16 2007, 03:52 PM
doomx
post Aug 16 2007, 04:31 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

i was very sad when i purchased this phone  s500 from kenny in subang square. i got the details from garage sales.
Hmm,my roommate bought an ap set S500 and he manage to claim warranty also because clearly it is not his fault spoiling the keypad. try asking kenny.. talk with him smile.gif
iRonTech
post Aug 16 2007, 04:39 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Kameshikarin @ Aug 16 2007, 02:13 PM)
I think if the keypad cracked then its not the seller's fault.
QUOTE(10071985 @ Aug 16 2007, 03:52 PM)
ya i think not the seller's fault
coz it is a common issue on all s500 out there, whether ap or ori
Depend which AP company also..some they allow warranty claim happy.gif
G-Izzat
post Aug 16 2007, 09:21 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Aug 16 2007, 04:39 PM)
Depend which AP company also..some they allow warranty claim happy.gif
K770i already, bro? tongue.gif
AntonioKane
post Aug 17 2007, 12:55 AM

63 posts

he acted like a dumb and keep saying is my fault same with his counter dog. I already bring this case to court. Hope process will be fast to give this kinda irresponsible seller a lesson. i better go buy a toy hp than buy from this shop ever again. C U IN COURT DUMB
Daven81
post Aug 18 2007, 07:54 AM

1,340 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 15 2007, 06:14 PM)
Just replaced my keypad. But then,I just noticed the black part which has the mic is quite loose and I think I can even pull it out. Sucks.

sad.gif

Keypad's doing great though.
1 month using the phone, everyday carefully taking care of the keypad, alas, the #4 is cracked now. cry.gif
want to check with you, you change yours by yourself or by warranty? if is a manufacturer defect, should be able to claim right? mine is thorus set... help!!

G-Izzat
post Aug 18 2007, 09:46 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(Daven81 @ Aug 18 2007, 07:54 AM)
1 month using the phone, everyday carefully taking care of the keypad, alas, the #4 is cracked now.  cry.gif
want to check with you, you change yours by yourself or by warranty? if is a manufacturer defect, should be able to claim right? mine is thorus set... help!!
You can replaced your keypad for free. But do bring the warranty card along.
iRonTech
post Aug 18 2007, 10:08 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 16 2007, 09:21 PM)
K770i already, bro?  tongue.gif
not yet... tongue.gif (SE 3G phone hor...very poisoning 1...they wont' built in EDGE together...)

QUOTE(AntonioKane @ Aug 17 2007, 12:55 AM)
he acted like a dumb and keep saying is my fault same with his counter dog. I already bring this case to court. Hope process will be fast to give this kinda irresponsible seller a lesson. i better go buy a toy hp than buy from this shop ever again. C U IN COURT DUMB
LYN court ??

for different AP company, really depend on their policy as stated what part under warranty.. (im not stand anyone site ok?)

very common case, previous W850i Navi Pad crack, it was manufactured fault, some AP company doesn't not allow warranty claim but some did.

IMO, buy AP cheaper, but still some risk buyer need face.. happy.gif
AntonioKane
post Aug 18 2007, 01:17 PM

63 posts

if anything happen to your keypad just bring it to court because it is manufacturer deffect and no matter what is written on the warranty it doesnt matter. They are certain law in giving out warranty . They cant make their own warranty withuot refferring to the law.That guy told me i can claim everything including keypad when i purchase it and insisted i buy ap because only difference is the service center.
doinkz_gaara
post Aug 18 2007, 01:35 PM

Too fast to live, too young to die
2,381 posts

So now it's after Week27 right? Lol.
Was thinking of getting this phone.

What kinda earphone they provide yea?
post Aug 18 2007, 02:25 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

erm.. i think those after week27 will crack also
but only the keypad got better build quality...
so can last longer a bit

G-Izzat
post Aug 18 2007, 08:06 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Aug 18 2007, 01:35 PM)
So now it's after Week27 right? Lol.
Was thinking of getting this phone.

What kinda earphone they provide yea?
They provide the basic earphone only. Not the in-ear earphones.
SiLVeRHybRiD
post Aug 19 2007, 06:19 PM

<(0.0)<^(0.0)^>(o.o)>
855 posts

juz bought 4 days ago...this hp FTW!!

so far no keypad cracked yet..i guess if use thumb like me wont crack kua~
i think if some people use fingernail and press mayb will leave more pressure towards the keypad...

btw good luk to all the s500i owners
G-Izzat
post Aug 19 2007, 07:38 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(SiLVeRHybRiD @ Aug 19 2007, 06:19 PM)
juz bought 4 days ago...this hp FTW!!

so far no keypad cracked yet..i guess if use thumb like me wont crack kua~
i think if some people use fingernail and press mayb will leave more pressure towards the keypad...

btw good luk to all the s500i owners
Congrats,bro.

And good luck to u too.
mcchin
post Aug 23 2007, 10:25 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

hmm izzat
how the keypad holding up?

G-Izzat
post Aug 23 2007, 10:36 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Aug 23 2007, 10:25 PM)
hmm izzat
how the keypad holding up?
Not that good. after a week and a half, the number 4, 6 and # cracked.
If all of the keypad crack, it'll be kinda cool, u know. tongue.gif
Retro. Haha.

The next time I go to the service center, I'll try and ask them for the gold S500 keypad.
Jaroque
post Aug 23 2007, 11:45 PM

995 posts

wow! I know gold keypads are more durable! Gold keypads on the mysterious green version...AWESOME drool.gif
mcchin
post Aug 24 2007, 09:48 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Jaroque @ Aug 23 2007, 11:45 PM)
wow! I know gold keypads are more durable! Gold keypads on the mysterious green version...AWESOME  drool.gif
some would say it clashes with the whole mysterious green scheme

hey some like it some dont... icon_rolleyes.gif
underworld
post Aug 24 2007, 12:25 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 23 2007, 10:36 PM)
Not that good. after a week and a half, the number 4, 6 and # cracked.
If all of the keypad crack, it'll be kinda cool, u know. tongue.gif
Retro. Haha.

The next time I go to the service center, I'll try and ask them for the gold S500 keypad.
crack again ur keypad ??? wow ... i wonder how u press ler the buttons
mcchin
post Aug 24 2007, 01:09 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 24 2007, 12:25 PM)
not really the problem of the user
but the design itself,
where all keys are linked together

even there are user that claims keys such as the # or * broke
even though never been used... doh.gif
post Aug 24 2007, 03:33 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

lol
then maybe is press too much 0
affecting the both the side * and #
G-Izzat
post Aug 24 2007, 07:38 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 24 2007, 12:25 PM)
Dude, someday you'll understand.
I type my sms using T9 nowadays u know. I didn't even press the keypad that hard at all.

Added on August 24, 2007, 7:39 pm
QUOTE(mcchin @ Aug 24 2007, 01:09 PM)
not really the problem of the user
but the design itself,
where all keys are linked together

even there are user that claims keys such as the # or * broke
even though never been used... doh.gif
Bro, the # key always use what. It's to make a space in messages. doh.gif

Added on August 24, 2007, 7:43 pm

New color. Contrasted Copper.

This post has been edited by G-Izzat: Aug 24 2007, 07:44 PM
post Aug 24 2007, 08:38 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

wahh
this color is more cool
G-Izzat
post Aug 24 2007, 08:57 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

Yeah. It does look cool.
I'm sure it'll not have the keypad problem. Hopefully.
mikeymikey
post Aug 24 2007, 10:28 PM

Hey, bought a wk30 s500i in taipei a few days ago (just returned it today due to a lame defect), no problems with the keypad since its after wk27, but an even dumb problem arose for me. The web and 'current applications' buttons were defective. all i had to do was press around the respective buttons and it would enable their menu. thus, if i was using it regularily and had to hit the back or delete button, if i pressed too hard or too low on the key, it would either bring up the web browser or the current applications menu. VERY ANNOYING. also within the few days i had it it became very creaky on some parts and seemed flimsy.

i am returning to the store tomorrow to buy another phone since i didnt really have time to look today, but i wanted peoples opinions. seems like the flimsy-ness of the phone is universal and thats just the way its built, so if i buy it again i will have to learn to live with that. although, what i wanted to know is that is there any other SE phone that supports the everchanging theme and will change according to date/time (i heard that w850i does, can anyone confirm?)
mcchin
post Aug 24 2007, 10:33 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 24 2007, 07:38 PM)
Bro, the # key always use what. It's to make a space in messages.  doh.gif
its been long since i use a SE phone
kinda got back to the chokia groove tongue.gif
G-Izzat
post Aug 24 2007, 11:35 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Aug 24 2007, 10:33 PM)
its been long since i use a SE phone
kinda got back to the chokia groove tongue.gif
Heh, I'm sure when the W910 or W960 comes out. You'll get back to the Sony Groove!
StratOS
post Aug 25 2007, 02:20 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

wait.. the white colour released already or not.. I heard from my fren he say he keep saw white colour for sell in my area already and i say dun have ler..
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 25 2007, 12:20 PM

5,040 posts

I type my sms using T9 nowadays u know. I didn't even press the keypad that hard at all.

i saw the dummy set at Jusco MidV..i tot its a dummy set painted with wrong color... laugh.gif
but then black n green is more striking...the copper one looks like those W series...
polarzbearz
post Aug 25 2007, 12:58 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

This color is way better than the green one, at least for me. Simple color yet attractive enough. tongue.gif
G-Izzat
post Aug 25 2007, 06:43 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Aug 25 2007, 12:58 PM)
This color is way better than the green one, at least for me. Simple color yet attractive enough. tongue.gif
I saw the dummy at Sony Style KLCC. The bronze looks kinda nice.
Jaroque
post Aug 25 2007, 08:57 PM

995 posts

doesnt this look like W580 =.=" wht so cool about this if it looks smth like w580? orait..except the orange and white keypad difference sweat.gif
G-Izzat
post Aug 25 2007, 09:07 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(Jaroque @ Aug 25 2007, 08:57 PM)
doesnt this look like W580 =.=" wht so cool about this if it looks smth like w580? orait..except the orange and white keypad difference  sweat.gif
Coz it has lots of colour varieties, I guess.
Hope the purple colour will come soon.
underworld
post Aug 26 2007, 01:40 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

my friend her s500 keypad just break on her # and 7 ...... AP donno can claim warranty or not..... i think if sms alot the chances of the keypad break is higher .....
StratOS
post Aug 26 2007, 02:32 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

AP cant claim warranty for the keypad crack. unless SE recall back all their S500 then both ori set and AP sets are allowed to send back to replace the keypad for free..
underworld
post Aug 26 2007, 02:37 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Aug 26 2007, 02:32 PM)
AP cant claim warranty for the keypad crack. unless SE recall back all their S500 then both ori set and AP sets are allowed to send back to replace the keypad for free..
any idea how much wud it cost to replace a break keypad ?
StratOS
post Aug 26 2007, 02:40 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

I also not sure yet.. have to check for the spare parts.. when i get the price then i will post it here.
underworld
post Aug 28 2007, 03:52 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

darn my keypad 4 just broke in2 ...playin too much of lumines i think
AntonioKane
post Aug 28 2007, 11:00 PM

63 posts

Got any problem just go report to TRIBUNAL COURT please if AP/ORi dunwan change for you..
no ppl report you think they will take it as manufacturer deffect?

KTCY
post Aug 29 2007, 01:04 PM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

Who to blame ? SE or Seller ?
Any crack issue.
panasonic88
post Aug 29 2007, 01:27 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 29 2007, 01:04 PM)
i doubt the AP shop can do anything for him.

SE should really do something on it lah.

either they take back all their SE S500i stock (especially the green S500i) or they stop the sales. else, more & more similar complains gonna come out.
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 29 2007, 03:11 PM

5,040 posts

so far so good...
UNDERGROUND
post Aug 29 2007, 03:29 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

My friend took her S500i compare with my W850i and the other friend's K800i , the color of the screen is TOTALLY diff , anyone know why ?
panasonic88
post Aug 29 2007, 05:25 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Aug 29 2007, 03:29 PM)
My friend took her S500i compare with my W850i and the other friend's K800i , the color of the screen is TOTALLY diff , anyone know why ?
totally diff?

so which is better?
UNDERGROUND
post Aug 29 2007, 05:52 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

By start, i don't believe it's better , but after a while , it seems totally different and better, the color is brighter , more vivid that type ...
panasonic88
post Aug 29 2007, 06:19 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Aug 29 2007, 05:52 PM)
By start, i don't believe it's better , but after a while , it seems totally different and better, the color is brighter , more vivid that type ...
u mean S500i?
UNDERGROUND
post Aug 29 2007, 06:26 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

Yap. Comparing both , my w850i seems like a plain picture.
KTCY
post Aug 29 2007, 06:29 PM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

Have you set the both phone in same wallpaper ? Or you just setting a phone with extra strong color while the other with pale color ? unsure.gif
UNDERGROUND
post Aug 29 2007, 07:04 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

Ya , same wallpaper on 3 phones , weird huh ...
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 29 2007, 09:36 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Aug 29 2007, 07:04 PM)
Ya , same wallpaper on 3 phones , weird huh ...
imagine what is it like if its 16m colors and VGA screen... drool.gif
G-Izzat
post Aug 29 2007, 09:59 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Aug 29 2007, 09:36 PM)
I think it's size will be quite thick. And I certainly don't like it.
mcchin
post Aug 29 2007, 10:02 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Aug 29 2007, 09:36 PM)
QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 29 2007, 09:59 PM)
I think it's size will be quite thick. And I certainly don't like it.
and the battery capacity slashed by half laugh.gif

ps: seem now thw w580 dying dee whistling.gif tongue.gif
G-Izzat
post Aug 31 2007, 12:16 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

Just wanna inform u guys. My new keypad which was just replaced by Sony Ericsson seems to be just fine and much sturdier than before.
It doesn't bend that much.
iRonTech
post Aug 31 2007, 01:29 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Aug 29 2007, 03:29 PM)
QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Aug 29 2007, 05:52 PM)
Because W850i LCD display more darker, even you set brightness to 100%. The other part, W850i built with the LCD auto brightness level control sensor. wink.gif

IMO, I prefer W850i display as it much comfort, not to make my eyes tire.

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 31 2007, 12:16 AM)
Just wanna inform u guys. My new keypad which was just replaced by Sony Ericsson seems to be just fine and much sturdier than before.
rclxms.gif Good to hear that.
underworld
post Sep 1 2007, 12:13 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Aug 31 2007, 12:16 AM)
can it b repaired on the spot ? which service centre u go ler?
SiLVeRHybRiD
post Sep 1 2007, 10:25 PM

<(0.0)<^(0.0)^>(o.o)>
855 posts

dang...my # button got a crack already....wonder if i can get free replacement by sony erricson though but i think thats impossible

how much is the price of a keypad i was juz wondering though

This post has been edited by SiLVeRHybRiD: Sep 1 2007, 10:30 PM
MorningBoyz
post Sep 2 2007, 01:16 PM

1,458 posts

any1 know is there any contrasted cooper s500i sell in kl?? or is it available yet here? drool.gif been looking/watching/seeing/seen/saw this hp for 1month already so must buy 1 for myself already cant tahan the beauty of this hp liao rolleyes.gif although keypad is an issue but nvm la whistling.gif

so any1 know where got sell contrasted cooper s500i? notworthy.gif
khun_khun
post Sep 2 2007, 06:13 PM

Past is history, Today is gift, Future is mystery.
1,698 posts

nice phone actually, but i heard tat inside keypad is easy to crack.
sonyclie77
post Sep 2 2007, 10:44 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 2 2007, 06:13 PM)
nice  phone actually, but i heard tat inside keypad is easy to crack.
That's a known fact that the S500i and W580i's keypads are very prone to cracks.

So potential buyer's please be aware that this problem is prevalent.
khun_khun
post Sep 2 2007, 10:54 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Sep 2 2007, 11:44 PM)
That's a known fact that the S500i and W580i's keypads are very prone to cracks.

anyone know why causes of this?

is it bcos element of housing is weak (manufacturer error)?

StratOS
post Sep 2 2007, 10:54 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

Well.. if u dun really care bout the cracks, its still a nice phone to use. My fren told me this. Slide down then no1 will notice the crack.. laugh.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Sep 2 2007, 10:56 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 2 2007, 10:54 PM)

I heard it has something to do with the color and chemical reaction with it... maybe someone else could clarify this??
khun_khun
post Sep 2 2007, 10:57 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Sep 2 2007, 11:44 PM)

youngkies
post Sep 2 2007, 11:09 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

almost get this phone until receive some news from the provider. sad.gif

have to wait longer.
sonyclie77
post Sep 3 2007, 12:25 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Sep 2 2007, 10:56 PM)
I heard it has something to do with the color and chemical reaction with it... maybe someone else could clarify this??
That's what I heard from the service centre guys as well.

I guess that's the main reason for the cracks.
khun_khun
post Sep 3 2007, 12:27 AM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Sep 2 2007, 11:56 PM)
I got wat u meant.

I think the paint tat SE used are raected with element of housing itself.

Tats just my thinking lar.

Anyone can clarify this more detail?

I think its a serious problem fro S500i as new comer in the market.
KTCY
post Sep 3 2007, 12:30 AM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

It has been clarify by Mobile Review regarding the issue of crack keypad which was cause by the chemical reaction towards the keypad.
If you need more detail, Google it. Lots of user review about this.
khun_khun
post Sep 3 2007, 12:40 AM

1,698 posts

can u give web link directly in this thread.

bcos this is will be usefull for all S500 fans. =)
KTCY
post Sep 3 2007, 12:48 AM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

Just google mate. Don't be so lazy.
Just type in "S500i crack keypad" or the other way round.
That's it. As simple as that.
khun_khun
post Sep 3 2007, 12:57 AM

1,698 posts

ok2, i will find out.

Btw, i think u are lazt ler bcos u r stated that your status very lazy. ha......
iCHiH
post Sep 3 2007, 12:58 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 3 2007, 12:30 AM)
It has been clarify by Mobile Review regarding the issue of crack keypad which was cause by the chemical reaction towards the keypad.
If you need more detail, Google it. Lots of user review about this.
hmm.gif hard to think the "crack" is related to the chemical reaction. hmm.gif hmm.gif
KTCY
post Sep 3 2007, 01:02 AM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 3 2007, 12:57 AM)
ok2, i will find out.

Btw, i think u are lazt ler bcos u r stated that your status very lazy. ha......
Yeah so ? Anything to do with you ? Do I have to report everything to you ? rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(iCHiH @ Sep 3 2007, 12:58 AM)
hmm.gif hard to think the "crack" is related to the chemical reaction. hmm.gif  hmm.gif
That's the reason that SE don't even know until people start complaining and they checked back only realized. Else, they wouldn't even release it at the very first
iCHiH
post Sep 3 2007, 01:03 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 3 2007, 12:27 AM)
I got wat u meant.

I think the paint tat SE used are raected with element of housing itself.
Tats just my thinking lar.
Anyone can clarify this more detail?

I think its a serious problem fro S500i as new comer in the market.
i think maybe the light spread out then the light atom hit the paint on the keypad than the chemical reaction occur, the stiffness of the keypad is affected when the force is exert on it theplastic deformation occur------>keypad crack phenomena tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif sweat.gif
khun_khun
post Sep 3 2007, 01:06 AM

1,698 posts

http://justamp.blogspot.com/2007/08/intere...500-keypad.html

Maybe tat web link can help all of u to find out about keypad crack
KTCY
post Sep 3 2007, 01:08 AM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

This is more useful I think
CLICK

rolleyes.gif
khun_khun
post Sep 3 2007, 01:09 AM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 3 2007, 02:02 AM)
Yeah so ? Anything to do with you ? Do I have to report everything to you ?  rolleyes.gif
smile.gif Juss kidding mar bro.

btw, thanks to u bcos u just help me to find out web link about keypad rack issue icon_rolleyes.gif
iCHiH
post Sep 3 2007, 01:15 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 3 2007, 01:06 AM)
http://justamp.blogspot.com/2007/08/intere...500-keypad.html
Maybe tat web link can help all of u to find out about keypad crack
according to my limited knowledge on solid mechanics, the material that choose to use for the keypad is not stiff at all, the material can't resist the force to bend elastically.
khun_khun
post Sep 3 2007, 01:17 AM

1,698 posts

Hm..... nice analysis.
feikai
post Sep 3 2007, 05:40 PM

168 posts

i use buy my w580i at 31th august..
and now my '5' key pad crack already
sigh.. seen friend telling me s500i also got same prob with it
so i take a view at here.. sigh
same problem also... how .. sien...
khun_khun
post Sep 3 2007, 08:34 PM

1,698 posts

I heard tat SE will change it for free.

Is it yours ORI set?

If yes, u maybe can go to claim SE services centre and get free new keypad
G-Izzat
post Sep 5 2007, 02:09 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 3 2007, 08:34 PM)
I heard tat SE will change it for free.

Is it yours ORI set?

If yes, u maybe can go to claim SE services centre and get free new keypad
If the W580/S500 is original, then SE Service Center will surely replace the keypad for you for free. Don't worry.
If it's AP, I don't know.
aquarlus
post Sep 6 2007, 03:58 PM

89 posts

anyone knows how to key lock the phone when it's closed? when u close the slide, it will lock automatically right? but how to lock it manually?
post Sep 6 2007, 04:02 PM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

if i m not mistaken
u can press the power button on top
and select to lock it
khun_khun
post Sep 6 2007, 04:37 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Sep 5 2007, 03:09 AM)
If the W580/S500 is original, then SE Service Center will surely replace the keypad for you for free. Don't worry.
If it's AP, I don't know.
i dun think Ap will provide free keypad replacement.

we can get it, but maybe need to pay lar. tongue.gif
ggoo
post Sep 8 2007, 06:35 PM

483 posts

so is this phone still a good buy?? or is there any other phones with the same price..
2uk3y
post Sep 8 2007, 06:42 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 6 2007, 04:37 PM)
i dun think Ap will provide free keypad replacement.

we can get it, but maybe need to pay lar. tongue.gif
if not mistaken.... AP set also can change it free if still in waranty period, but u need to send from where u buy it... hmm.gif

QUOTE(ggoo @ Sep 8 2007, 06:35 PM)
so is this phone still a good buy?? or is there any other phones with the same price..
actually yes.... but if u unlucky the keypad will crack but not all phone got this problem !!!! nod.gif
ggoo
post Sep 8 2007, 07:10 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Sep 8 2007, 06:42 PM)
if not mistaken.... AP set also can change it free if still in waranty period, but u need to send from where u buy it...  hmm.gif
actually yes.... but if u unlucky the keypad will crack but not all phone got this problem !!!!  nod.gif
hmm really ah? its a good buy?? i'm planning to get one.. but the key pad turns me down lar.. aiyo.. if let's say i get an original set and so... the keypad will be the same??
khun_khun
post Sep 8 2007, 07:14 PM

1,698 posts

Of course same lar but if buy ori we lucky lor becos SE provide free keypad replacement.
2uk3y
post Sep 8 2007, 07:30 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

QUOTE(ggoo @ Sep 8 2007, 07:10 PM)
hmm really ah? its a good buy?? i'm planning to get one.. but the key pad turns me down lar.. aiyo.. if let's say i get an original set and so... the keypad will be the same??
ori or ap set also same.... but pray la dont get unlucky one !!!! rolleyes.gif
AntonioKane
post Sep 8 2007, 07:51 PM

63 posts

CHECK THIS IMPORTANT THREAD. COSTUMER BEING SUED 500k! its RM500,000.00
khun_khun
post Sep 8 2007, 08:41 PM

1,698 posts

So, its just try our luck if we want willing to buy it.
arsenalmania
post Sep 10 2007, 02:20 AM

27 posts

I lost it after a very long story! Jesus Christ! My lovely phone.
sonic_cd
post Sep 10 2007, 02:29 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

i got one recently ap set , the infamous black green combo ... according to the seller , few customers came to him with the broken keypad ...
khun_khun
post Sep 10 2007, 02:37 AM

1,698 posts

wah..... u r take risk buy tis phone wor.

This color hav a big claim bour keypad crack.

See this statistics about keypad crack.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/432675/+700 (under 2uk3y post)

I hope u lucky lar, not like others. =)

This post has been edited by khun_khun: Sep 10 2007, 02:38 AM
sonic_cd
post Sep 10 2007, 11:57 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 10 2007, 02:37 AM)
wah..... u r take risk buy tis phone wor.

This color hav a big claim bour keypad crack.

See this statistics about keypad crack.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/432675/+700 (under 2uk3y post)

I hope u lucky lar, not like others. =)
well , even the seller tells me not to press the middle of the keypad with nails if i use it .. now, thats not a problem for me cause i have extremely short nails . but if you have long nails ( girls(and some guys) do as an example ) you may run into trouble.. well from the stats you posted , it seems week 31 and below would be affected , well mine`s a week 35 phone ..(apprently from indonesia market,judging by the manual ) well will give it a week and see what happens .
mobile-review states that its a chemical reaction which dissolves the base .. which in the end results in the keypad problem .. though i`m guessing whther being so thin as when you use the phone or charge the battery , whther the battery heating up affects the keypad or not ...
khun_khun
post Sep 10 2007, 01:00 PM

1,698 posts

Ic....... hm....... hopefully lar, u dun get tat problem even your phone fron week 35.

week 35 n 31 are not long time different mar.

Btw, wat do u meant by your S500i apparently from indonesia market?

ggoo
post Sep 10 2007, 02:39 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 10 2007, 01:00 PM)
Ic....... hm....... hopefully lar, u dun get tat problem even your phone fron week 35.

hey how to check the manufactured date arh?? the weeks
sonic_cd
post Sep 10 2007, 02:45 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 10 2007, 01:00 PM)

i mean the manual there its written in indonesian .. so i said its from the indonesian market there tongue.gif
khun_khun
post Sep 10 2007, 04:05 PM

1,698 posts

Ha...... how come ar malaysia phone got Indonesia language in manual.

never mind la as long as its not like others set tat keypad crack easily.
ganz
post Sep 10 2007, 06:22 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

ok.. to cut it short.. i can go to SE dealer to change the keypad- no question ask.. all button are crack into two... hate to deal with dealer
G-Izzat
post Sep 11 2007, 03:50 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

Purple colour S500 is now official.
khun_khun
post Sep 11 2007, 05:22 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Sep 11 2007, 04:50 PM)

Purple colour S500 is now official.
eit, how come ar no pict?

Can u show some pict of S500i purple. smile.gif
sonic_cd
post Sep 11 2007, 05:58 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

so far mine is still allright , no broken keypad s.
TSrayzrblade
post Sep 11 2007, 06:13 PM

5,040 posts

khun_khun
post Sep 11 2007, 06:26 PM

1,698 posts

Purple looks very nice.....

Hope, this color dun comes with keypad crack problem again.
TSrayzrblade
post Sep 11 2007, 06:47 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 11 2007, 06:26 PM)
Purple looks very nice.....

Hope, this color dun comes with keypad crack problem again.
cool huh..4 colours...4 season.. collect them ALL.. drool.gif laugh.gif
khun_khun
post Sep 11 2007, 06:57 PM

1,698 posts

4 color. 4 season?

hm...... nice illustration.
G-Izzat
post Sep 11 2007, 07:38 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

This post has been edited by G-Izzat: Sep 11 2007, 07:38 PM

JavaKom09088
post Sep 11 2007, 07:51 PM

442 posts

white seems plastic.black more solid look... purple.....once for a while is nice ...if u wan to face it for long time...then i think black and white is the best biggrin.gif
khun_khun
post Sep 11 2007, 08:01 PM

1,698 posts

How about gold color?

wat do thinking?
TSrayzrblade
post Sep 11 2007, 08:30 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Sep 11 2007, 06:57 PM)
4 color. 4 season?
hm...... nice illustration.
i think this is what they try to imply..since its a mobile inspired by nature..

winter - white
autumn - purple..
summer - yellow
spring - black

just guessing... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Sep 11 2007, 08:31 PM
khun_khun
post Sep 11 2007, 08:35 PM

1,698 posts

i think yellow for fall season bcos leaves is falling n color is brown (similar like yellow).

green for summer lor.
G-Izzat
post Sep 13 2007, 05:39 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

Talking about seasons now,eh?

Anyways, have any of u guys ever had a prob with the day and night theme?

Because right now, whenever i press the activity menu from the main screen, it kinda lags a bit.
But when using other themes, entering the activity menu is very smooth.
StratOS
post Sep 13 2007, 07:48 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

BTW, white is official colour now for s500 already right..??
sonic_cd
post Sep 13 2007, 11:51 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Sep 13 2007, 07:48 AM)
BTW, white is official colour now for s500 already right..??
well based on the pictures i can say so ..
khun_khun
post Sep 13 2007, 02:06 PM

1,698 posts

I think SE will launch purple color very soon.

so, its look like season set. ha.....
tplcaik
post Sep 13 2007, 05:03 PM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

The keypad problem solve alr?
KTCY
post Sep 13 2007, 09:46 PM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

Yesterday went to play this phone. The everychanging theme really rocks and my hand kinda itchy to change to this phone wub.gif
panasonic88
post Sep 13 2007, 10:22 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 13 2007, 09:46 PM)
Yesterday went to play this phone. The everychanging theme really rocks and  my hand kinda itchy to change to this phone wub.gif
wow serious huh?

not afraid of cracky keypads?
KTCY
post Sep 13 2007, 10:24 PM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

That's the problem. sad.gif
I asked the SE Service Center. Midland set will cover all so still not sure going to buy or not.

p/s : I-Mobile 902 very cheap now. Not even RM 1,000 rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Sep 13 2007, 10:24 PM
G-Izzat
post Sep 13 2007, 10:28 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 13 2007, 10:22 PM)
wow serious huh?

not afraid of cracky keypads?
Don't think the keypad cracking problem will occur again. I've replaced my keypad and now it seems much more solid. Been using it for more than a month already.
sonyclie77
post Sep 13 2007, 11:58 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 13 2007, 10:24 PM)
I asked the SE Service Center. Midland set will cover all so still not sure going to buy or not.

OT: I-Mobile's features are not as good as any SE phones, save for the face that the camera's darn good!
tplcaik
post Sep 17 2007, 02:16 PM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Sep 13 2007, 11:58 PM)
OT: I-Mobile's features are not as good as any SE phones, save for the face that the camera's darn good!
U r right and the 902 design r ugly too. Not like S500i wub.gif
iCHiH
post Sep 17 2007, 04:43 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 13 2007, 10:24 PM)

go to buy it. laugh.gif i love yellow colour one drool.gif
G-Izzat
post Sep 20 2007, 12:57 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

The copper one looks damn nice. Pure.
Ritz Crackers
post Sep 30 2007, 09:40 AM

204 posts

Anyone knows where can I get a Ice Purple SE500i?
Is the color available in Malaysia market?
I went looking for it, can't find lar in KK... cry.gif
Only found the Black and Yellow version selling at RM958 @ Kompleks Karumunsang (aka "KK Lowyat" sad.gif )

If available in KL... then I have to FLY OVER lor cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Ritz Crackers: Sep 30 2007, 09:42 AM
marmite
post Oct 1 2007, 04:14 PM

77 posts

hello
i plan to buy s500i

may i know is the keypad will still crack? if it will be crack, may i know how to get to know which batch that will crack (e.g, Imei no, production no. etc)
sonic_cd
post Oct 1 2007, 05:28 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(Ritz Crackers @ Sep 30 2007, 09:40 AM)

Anyone knows where can I get a Ice Purple SE500i?
Is the color available in Malaysia market?
I went looking for it, can't find lar in KK...  cry.gif
Only found the Black and Yellow version selling at RM958 @ Kompleks Karumunsang (aka "KK Lowyat" sad.gif )

If available in KL... then I have to FLY OVER lor  cool2.gif

purple color spotted in the acion mobile booth in sungei wang on saturday ...i say you better wat fr it to arrive in your area then to fly down to get one .
ooj
post Oct 3 2007, 11:33 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 1 2007, 05:28 PM)
purple color spotted in the acion mobile booth in sungei wang on saturday ...i say you better wat fr it to arrive in your area then to fly down to get one .
Spotted purple colour in Low Yat yesterday but the shop marketed it as limited edition for RM1499. I'm waiting to get the white one for my wife. Anyone knows when it comes out? None of the retailers seem to know.
TSrayzrblade
post Oct 3 2007, 04:11 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(ooj @ Oct 3 2007, 11:33 AM)
Spotted purple colour in Low Yat yesterday but the shop marketed it as limited edition for RM1499. I'm waiting to get the white one for my wife. Anyone knows when it comes out? None of the retailers seem to know.
doh.gif those people at lowyat or Sgwang..dont really know the the definition of LIMITED and LIMITED EDITION..

The phone MIGHT have LIMITED STOCK at first..and DOESNT mean its LIMITED EDITION.. vmad.gif its not that SE only made 5000 pieces or what... doh.gif

just another way to jack up the price... shakehead.gif
iCHiH
post Oct 4 2007, 12:21 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Oct 3 2007, 04:11 PM)
doh.gif those people at lowyat or Sgwang..dont really know the the definition of LIMITED and LIMITED EDITION..

The phone MIGHT have LIMITED STOCK at first..and DOESNT mean its LIMITED EDITION..  vmad.gif its not that SE only made 5000 pieces or what... doh.gif

just another way to jack up the price... shakehead.gif
i am so agree with you, when i read someone post said "LIMITED EDITION" i have no word to describe. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
underworld
post Oct 10 2007, 03:49 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

just change my keypad ...looks n feel more solid
G-Izzat
post Oct 10 2007, 04:04 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Oct 10 2007, 03:49 PM)
just change my keypad ...looks n feel more solid
changed it at the service center?
underworld
post Oct 10 2007, 04:17 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Oct 10 2007, 04:04 PM)
changed it at the service center?
yeah change it at service centre in avenue K ... not many customers ther...
raining again
post Oct 11 2007, 03:05 AM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

i have 2 friend bought this phone. One of my friend last weak bring back to the seller about the crackling of the keypad. the seller said the keypad will still break again even after changing new one.my friend told me if you put a little too much pressure when sms-ing will straight away break.I will upload a photo to let u guys see the crackling condition. tongue.gif
underworld
post Oct 11 2007, 09:39 AM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(raining again @ Oct 11 2007, 03:05 AM)
i have 2 friend bought this phone. One of my friend last weak bring back to the seller about the crackling of the keypad. the seller said the keypad will still break again even after changing new one.my friend told me if you put a little too much pressure when sms-ing will straight away break.I will upload a photo to let u guys see the crackling condition. tongue.gif
i ask the service gal, will this crackin keypad happen again ? after 1 year warranty , then how ? i hav to pay for the replacement keypad ? she just smile only doh.gif
sonic_cd
post Oct 11 2007, 11:41 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(raining again @ Oct 11 2007, 03:05 AM)
he, does your fren have long fingenails or not ? apparently the w580i also got this keypad problem ...
underworld
post Oct 11 2007, 12:51 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

those who sms alot i don recommend this phone ler...my frend had a AP s500
2nd time the keypad broke...she does sms alot
LeonTan
post Oct 11 2007, 11:04 PM

**SHINE**
2,152 posts

I thought I want to buy s500 but I think I need tot hink again because I sms a lot la... s500 very nice la...
raining again
post Oct 11 2007, 11:34 PM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 11 2007, 11:41 AM)
he, does your fren have long fingenails or not ? apparently the w580i also got this keypad problem ...
no ! like what underworld said . he sms 5 bugs a day XD
LeonTan
post Oct 12 2007, 12:04 AM

**SHINE**
2,152 posts

So anyone still facing keypad cracks? I want to buy la...

This post has been edited by LeonTan: Oct 12 2007, 03:35 AM
underworld
post Oct 15 2007, 06:58 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(LeonTan @ Oct 12 2007, 12:04 AM)
So anyone still facing keypad cracks? I want to buy la...
just buy lor.. ! biggrin.gif
LeonTan
post Oct 16 2007, 02:51 AM

**SHINE**
2,152 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Oct 15 2007, 06:58 PM)
just buy lor.. !  biggrin.gif
haha... Change mind... wink.gif
Mayb w580 already, scared s500 the keypad easily spoilt...
G-Izzat
post Oct 16 2007, 04:30 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

Just changed my mysterious black S500 keypad to the silver coloured keypad. Quite easy to do.

I have an extra black keypad left.
underworld
post Oct 16 2007, 04:05 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Oct 16 2007, 04:30 AM)
Just changed my mysterious black S500 keypad to the silver coloured keypad. Quite easy to do.

u bought it? how much?
G-Izzat
post Oct 16 2007, 05:40 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Oct 16 2007, 04:05 PM)
u bought it? how much?
Around 14 US dollars.
ggoo
post Oct 19 2007, 11:56 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Oct 16 2007, 05:40 PM)
Around 14 US dollars.
bro.. any pics?? i wanna see..
hanissyazwan
post Oct 21 2007, 05:39 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

does the key cracking only occur in the mysterious green phone?
underworld
post Oct 22 2007, 07:32 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

crap ...my number 4 keypad break again....looks like replacement oso not so tahan
lmt396
post Oct 24 2007, 10:42 PM

149 posts

if flash w580 software can or not?
Isx
post Oct 31 2007, 08:26 PM

190 posts

my s500i black green.
let me see.
no 2,4,5,8 and #!
is cracked.
zzz.
i only sent a 2032 msges per month.
The no 4 pad cracked cause i type "haha" alot.
can i go change my phone ?
i still have warranty.
Thorus set.

sonic_cd
post Oct 31 2007, 10:09 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(lmt396 @ Oct 24 2007, 10:42 PM)
if flash w580 software can or not?
will not work cause the s500i does not have the hardware .
edit: my keypad not yet cracked

This post has been edited by sonic_cd: Oct 31 2007, 10:11 PM
G-Izzat
post Oct 31 2007, 10:11 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 31 2007, 10:09 PM)
will not work cause the s500i does not have the hardware .
It can work, but the pedometer won't work.
sangels
post Nov 5 2007, 10:02 PM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Oct 16 2007, 04:30 AM)

hmm.gif I plan to change my black-green casing also. Can show pic of ur new keypad?? smile.gif

Added on November 5, 2007, 10:08 pmI bought my S500i for one month and found no 3 key cracked. Then it cracked 1 key every week. Now total 4 keys cracked. cry.gif So annoying to see a bright line in the middle of the key when i sms in the dark. sad.gif Wanna wait till all keys cracked then go back for warranty, but it seems someone also facing the same problem after the replacement. Should I change the whole set of the casing and the key pad? Any opinion?? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by sangels: Nov 5 2007, 10:08 PM
hanissyazwan
post Nov 6 2007, 02:11 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

i really want to buy this fone. but the comments have shocked me. i love the green one. but i see that its keypad gets cracked so quickly. so what can i do? plz inform me.

Ritz Crackers
post Nov 6 2007, 09:12 PM

204 posts

keypad crack? like how oh?
anyone care to snap a picture of the "crack" and show us here? cool2.gif

khun_khun
post Nov 10 2007, 03:11 AM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Nov 6 2007, 03:11 AM)
i really want to buy this fone. but the comments have shocked me. i love the green one. but i see that its keypad gets cracked so quickly. so what can i do? plz inform me.
just bring back to warranty lor, they will replace it freely.
johnnycp
post Nov 12 2007, 04:15 AM

599 posts

is it the keypad cracking problem still occur ??
cheewooi
post Nov 14 2007, 07:43 AM

Old Bird
540 posts

I bought mine yesterday, white version.
My problem - I can't sync it with my PC using SE PC Suite. They said "Connection to Phone Time Out"

Anyone can help?
blademaster
post Nov 14 2007, 08:08 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(cheewooi @ Nov 14 2007, 07:43 AM)
My problem - I can't sync it with my PC using SE PC Suite. They said "Connection to Phone Time Out"

Anyone can help?
how much you bought ar?
cheewooi
post Nov 14 2007, 03:50 PM

Old Bird
540 posts

RM1050 original set with 512mb M2 from Action. I duno if it is cheap anot...very frustrated already when another phone failed me.
youngkies
post Nov 14 2007, 03:59 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(cheewooi @ Nov 14 2007, 07:43 AM)

Anyone can help?
uninstall all the driver and re-install all over again.

happened when phone is conflicting with the computer.
cheewooi
post Nov 14 2007, 09:21 PM

Old Bird
540 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Nov 14 2007, 03:59 PM)
uninstall all the driver and re-install all over again.

happened when phone is conflicting with the computer.
Ok, tried it out, now bluetooth can sync, but after i disconnect and try again the same problem come again.damn..
this is just 2nd day i own the phone...

What are the thign beside the driver?

Nokia have easier user interface.......
pinkyMonster
post Nov 23 2007, 05:28 PM

my keypad crack too..
number 1,2,3,8..
auto shut down..sigh..
and battery problem...

seems like 100% s500i having keypad problem..
xSaberx
post Dec 2 2007, 06:21 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(pinkyMonster @ Nov 23 2007, 05:28 PM)
my keypad crack too..
number 1,2,3,8..
auto shut down..sigh..
and battery problem...

yalor....sad, mine oso, keypad 2, 4 6 7... cry.gif
shean
post Dec 5 2007, 12:21 AM

514 posts

Hi, mind i ask if im using thorus set, can i claim the warranty for the cracked keypad? If im not mistaken there's 1 new SC at pyramid! Tq.
G-Izzat
post Dec 5 2007, 12:27 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(shean @ Dec 5 2007, 12:21 AM)
Hi, mind i ask if im using thorus set, can i claim the warranty for the cracked keypad? If im not mistaken there's 1 new SC at pyramid! Tq.
Yes, you can. You must got to the official service centre.
sonic_cd
post Dec 5 2007, 12:46 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(pinkyMonster @ Nov 23 2007, 05:28 PM)
my keypad crack too..
number 1,2,3,8..
auto shut down..sigh..
and battery problem...

that depends leh , mine is crack free .
shean
post Dec 5 2007, 01:55 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Dec 5 2007, 12:27 AM)
Yes, you can. You must got to the official service centre.
okay! thx alot! will do on friday!
underworld
post Dec 5 2007, 08:16 AM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(shean @ Dec 5 2007, 01:55 AM)
okay! thx alot! will do on friday!
goto avenue K sony centre...no ppl and very fast
amcorp mall or damansara uptown is ok too
sunway pyramid ...no stock wan normally ..but u can try call 1st
shean
post Dec 6 2007, 12:04 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Dec 5 2007, 08:16 AM)
goto avenue K sony centre...no ppl and very fast
amcorp mall or damansara uptown is ok too
sunway pyramid ...no stock wan normally ..but u can try call 1st
Pyramid is nearest to me! Amcorp mall? i scared to get caught in the jam! Arrgh! lol
But thx anyway, appreciate all yr feedbacks! nod.gif
arsenalmania
post Dec 25 2007, 01:57 PM

27 posts

Can the Everchanging theme support for 6300?
G-Izzat
post Dec 25 2007, 02:15 PM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(arsenalmania @ Dec 25 2007, 01:57 PM)
Can the Everchanging theme support for 6300?
I don't think so.
hanissyazwan
post Dec 28 2007, 05:05 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

does S.E S5001 is hav great handphone ?? Y so many people say the keypad cracking ?? some 1 can tell me is that true ?? smile.gif

G-Izzat
post Dec 28 2007, 05:45 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Dec 28 2007, 05:05 AM)
does S.E S5001 is hav great handphone ?? Y so many people say the keypad cracking ?? some 1 can tell me is that true ?? smile.gif
It's a good phone. But the keypad cracks. Heh. I've used it before and it is true. You can search for the pictures. smile.gif
hanissyazwan
post Dec 28 2007, 07:43 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

i just google and found something useful.
just want to share wit u all,
To those whose keypad crack-
The phone is fragile when you press hard, and because it's made of plastic/glue. If you press in the center of each keypad, and make sure your hand is not wet or sticky. It's gonna be find. One thing when you text message, try not to text fast. This phone is not a good idea to text fast because the keypad doesn't lay flat like Motorola. Sony Ericsson is pretty reliable and last long, unless for those who text hard, fast, careless

This post has been edited by hanissyazwan: Dec 28 2007, 07:44 AM
G-Izzat
post Dec 28 2007, 09:42 AM

Hey Ho!
1,173 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Dec 28 2007, 07:43 AM)
i just google and found something useful.
just want to share wit u all,
I think there's a few pictures of the crack keypad in this thread. You could look for it.
ben3003
post Jan 3 2008, 10:31 AM

10,859 posts

ap set can give back to change the keypad? aiyo... white version also got this problem??

Added on January 3, 2008, 10:47 ambtw, is it the paint crack or the whole keypad button just break into half?

Added on January 4, 2008, 7:02 pmbtw, i just got my s550i!! nice woot!!

This post has been edited by ben3003: Jan 4 2008, 07:02 PM
underworld
post Jan 17 2008, 12:10 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 3 2008, 10:31 AM)
ap set can give back to change the keypad? aiyo... white version also got this problem??

Added on January 3, 2008, 10:47 ambtw, is it the paint crack or the whole keypad button just break into half?

Added on January 4, 2008, 7:02 pmbtw, i just got my s550i!! nice woot!!
s550i ? wat model is this ler ?
damn the SE service centre in Avenue K close down liao... doh.gif
ben3003
post Jan 22 2008, 01:44 PM

10,859 posts

woot press wrong, should be s500i. Bukit Bintang there got SE service centre or not? My slide alignment not good le... dunno can service or not.
LeonTan
post Jan 26 2008, 06:49 PM

**SHINE**
2,152 posts

hi... is it ok to buy s500 now? Do s500i keypad still happening?
Goliath764
post Feb 3 2008, 07:46 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

QUOTE(LeonTan @ Jan 26 2008, 06:49 PM)
hi... is it ok to buy s500 now? Do s500i keypad still happening?
Same question too.
Jay714
post Feb 6 2008, 11:06 PM

574 posts

Anyone has any idea how to make S500i work with MyPhoneExplorer?
MaggieQ
post Feb 21 2008, 10:43 PM

43 posts

is the broken keypad still occur?
Jay714
post Feb 28 2008, 09:01 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(MaggieQ @ Feb 21 2008, 10:43 PM)
is the broken keypad still occur?
Unfortunately the answer is yes.
MaggieQ
post Feb 28 2008, 09:40 PM

43 posts

i ask the sony phone seller is the keypad crack still occur... they said that the phone is new batch..
skyer
post Mar 1 2008, 12:21 AM

816 posts

S500i users, I have a doubt on the battery performance. I just bought a BlackGreen S500i for my gf 2 weeks ago and the battery only lasted for 1 day. She needs to charge the phone everyday. Is this normal???

Just normal usage, 5 sms, no songs, talking over phone about 10 mins per day....
SUSMichi
post Mar 3 2008, 12:07 AM

251 posts

^
wah doesnt sound normal.. so fan lor if little usage like that need to charge everyday?
StratOS
post Mar 3 2008, 12:12 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

QUOTE(skyer @ Mar 1 2008, 12:21 AM)
S500i users, I have a doubt on the battery performance. I just bought a BlackGreen S500i for my gf 2 weeks ago and the battery only lasted for 1 day. She needs to charge the phone everyday. Is this normal???

Just normal usage, 5 sms, no songs, talking over phone about 10 mins per day....
better so back the shop and ask for battery replacement lo.. impossible battery life short till like tat.. battery warranty normally is 3-6 months,... can go back and they will check the battery life using a special tool.. confirm battery problem la..
skyer
post Mar 3 2008, 11:41 PM

816 posts

I changed the Screen Brightness to 50% jor...now the phone can last at most 2 days...

Can the fancy light off ar?
evangene
post Mar 11 2008, 05:25 PM

QUOTE(ganz @ Sep 10 2007, 06:22 PM)
ok.. to cut it short.. i can go to SE dealer to change the keypad- no question ask.. all button are crack into two... hate to deal with dealer
Well, ganz, you are lucky to be able to get it replace without mush hussle! I went to the dealer twice to demand for the replacement of my cracked keypad (1st wth 1 crack when it was only less than 2 weeks in use and 2nd with half of the keypad crack in less than 3 months use) and they refused to do it!! Even though it was openly known that the problem was caused by sony and yet they dare to accuse me of PRESSING TOO HARD on the keypad! So, my advice to all is don't buy your handset from this dealer, Cosmos, warranty by Gelant Distributors in LowYat Plaza, 1-58, 1st Floor!
one0202
post Mar 12 2008, 04:39 PM

429 posts

i buy this fon for my gf last 2 month...
yesterday, she said that no 6 button crack already....... so sad laa...
i buy from thorus.....origilnal set one.....
where can i claim for warranty???
im living at wangsa maju........ where the nearest servis centre from wangsa maju????
thank in advance...
kenny6891
post Mar 18 2008, 12:22 PM

^MusIC^
628 posts

so now still not worth to buy s500i?
Waachaaa
post Mar 21 2008, 11:53 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(kenny6891 @ Mar 18 2008, 12:22 PM)
so now still not worth to buy s500i?
Oh no looks like im one of the victims. Just bought S500 as the seller con me thats 2nd batch no keypad crack problem.
Looks like the phone going to die soon. sad.gif
MaggieQ
post Mar 22 2008, 02:42 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Waachaaa @ Mar 21 2008, 11:53 PM)
Oh no looks like im one of the victims. Just bought S500 as the seller con me thats 2nd batch no keypad crack problem.
seller also told me that new batch no keypad problem.. so did u bought the 2nd batch and have problem with it?
eek-1
post Mar 28 2008, 12:24 AM

Custom member title
778 posts

Has anyone here flashed their s500 to w580?
G|O
post Mar 29 2008, 07:59 AM

372 posts

i juz got an ap s500...
the crack keypad prob will still happend according to the seller..
juz try to handle with care ...

btw...i had to pay rm50 to change for keypad...
boh bian mah...ap set loh... Orz~

Added on March 29, 2008, 8:07 ambtw..anyone of u know wats the latest firmware for this fon ?

This post has been edited by G|O: Mar 29 2008, 08:07 AM
iRonTech
post Mar 29 2008, 09:40 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Waachaaa @ Mar 21 2008, 11:53 PM)
sweat.gif change keypad which cost around rm20

QUOTE(eek-1 @ Mar 28 2008, 12:24 AM)
will it work? i doubt so, as w580i walkman built w light sense me feature. smile.gif
G|O
post Mar 29 2008, 12:23 PM

372 posts

can i know wats the fucntion of the "myfriend" part in S500 ?
driftmeister
post Mar 29 2008, 12:29 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(eek-1 @ Mar 28 2008, 12:24 AM)
there's few ppl at se-nse who successfully flashed their S500i into W580i
but bear in mind
S500i has no pedometer so prepare the lack of radio and fitness features
cyew86
post Apr 8 2008, 05:14 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

<deleted> ...

This post has been edited by cyew86: Apr 10 2008, 09:48 PM
cyew86
post Apr 9 2008, 05:13 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

<deleted> ...

This post has been edited by cyew86: Apr 10 2008, 09:49 PM
LeonTan
post Apr 12 2008, 11:57 PM

**SHINE**
2,152 posts

Is now s500i keypad's still easy to crack? coz maybe going to buy it next month...

This post has been edited by LeonTan: Apr 16 2008, 11:16 AM
Str33tBoY
post Apr 19 2008, 12:55 AM

1,874 posts

i bought dis hp for my gf...
overall i'm quite satisfy wif it...
jz dat it lack of sound quality...
maybe a little bit...
khun_khun
post Apr 27 2008, 02:34 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(LeonTan @ Apr 13 2008, 12:57 AM)
Is now s500i keypad's still easy to crack? coz maybe going to buy it next month...
i dun think so.......

bcos i never heard bout it again in this year.

i think tat issue is last year one, n SE hav made improvement oredi for next batch from tat time.
teikwing
post Apr 27 2008, 04:03 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(LeonTan @ Apr 12 2008, 11:57 PM)
think the keypad crack issues might still exist, in the old batches. make sure u ask the seller whether is there any warranty for it or u gotta pay yourself if need replacement as most AP companies do not offer warranty for that. smile.gif
khun_khun
post Apr 27 2008, 06:01 PM

1,698 posts

for this itme, better go for Original set la to reduce keypad crack risk
sonyclie77
post Apr 28 2008, 11:30 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

Just bought a used S500i, luckily its a Thorus set, cos the motherboard just fried, and its under warranty. Going to change the keypads as well as its already cracked.
William_Yeo
post May 18 2008, 02:47 PM

1,524 posts

how many of u encountered the keypad crack problemn ??? laugh.gif
enCORe
post May 18 2008, 08:18 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

not yet, love the phone but cannot compete my old w850,
I discover on the web, they replace the green keypad (misy black) with silver keypad, not only look impressive It might solve the keypad reliabilty especially rare problem on yellow version (which using silver keypad)

here
http://justamp.blogspot.com/2007/08/sony-e...ilver-keys.html

can AP/ Sony have this services ? hmm.gif

btw, see my signature for anyoen interested with my s500i

QUOTE(William_Yeo @ May 18 2008, 02:47 PM)
eek-1
post May 25 2008, 04:56 PM

Custom member title
778 posts

Where in LYP or in KL can I buy S500i keypad?
enCORe
post May 25 2008, 09:49 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

is not really hard to find it, you can find the whole housing for RM80

QUOTE(eek-1 @ May 25 2008, 04:56 PM)
Where in LYP or in KL can I buy S500i keypad?
eek-1
post May 25 2008, 11:06 PM

Custom member title
778 posts

Really? Are those original from sony or non-ori-but-triple-A-grade housings?
StratOS
post May 28 2008, 04:32 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

rm80 should be AAA casing la.. ori will easily cost more than rm 100..
sonic_cd
post May 28 2008, 05:13 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(William_Yeo @ May 18 2008, 02:47 PM)
recently only got it .. lol then had it replaced ..
StratOS
post May 28 2008, 09:42 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

sonic_cd.. u ori set ka..?
CyborgR
post Jun 4 2008, 09:08 PM

348 posts

is my thorus s500 unit , not the black green, the white choc unit can claim for keypad exchange?
clubnineextreme
post Jun 24 2008, 03:56 PM

can anyone help me, i own my p990i flip, my flip keypad had a malfunction, ithis thing occurs when i remove the usb from the computer, then i try press the center button, the button doenst work, then after a hours the all keypad doenst work anymore, but the QWERTY board working normally.. does any one know what price for the keypad or repairing the keypad, does it up to rm100, if you'll get the cheapest shop please pm me ok, a.s.a.p,
sonic_cd
post Jun 24 2008, 08:56 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ May 28 2008, 09:42 PM)
sonic_cd.. u ori set ka..?
no .

QUOTE(CyborgR @ Jun 4 2008, 09:08 PM)
is my thorus s500 unit , not the black green, the white choc unit can claim for keypad exchange?
if they kaeypad craks then should be able to
EmoPunkz
post Jul 21 2008, 04:23 PM

57 posts

just got mine!! ^^ looksgood.
hpe no craking happen!!
J-Slade
post Jul 27 2008, 11:06 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Woot looks like this thread is quite dead.. I just got mine today.. I know its a bit late and slow but yea.. I just got it when the price is the lowest... so yea smile.gif

The keypads looks pretty sturdy in this version.. i hope it doesnt crack the keypad... i wanna ask, u guys who used to frequent this thread not using your S500 edi?
eek-1
post Aug 12 2008, 09:56 AM

Custom member title
778 posts

Been using mine for awhile. Keypad cracked after 2 months. Doesn't bother me much though I plan to get it replaced before warranty ends.
TSrayzrblade
post Aug 12 2008, 04:15 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Jul 27 2008, 11:06 PM)
Woot looks like this thread is quite dead.. I just got mine today.. I know its a bit late and slow but yea.. I just got it when the price is the lowest... so yea  smile.gif

The keypads looks pretty sturdy in this version.. i hope it doesnt crack the keypad... i wanna ask, u guys who used to frequent this thread not using your S500 edi?
haha...i started this thread the first week i bought it..took loads of pics..page 1..
then 3 weeks later..keypad cracks...it was kinda cool at first..bcos got light emit tru the cracks..
then few more weeks later..cracked more..
and then SOLD IT..

hehe..
but seriously..no far..SE havent come out with any that can pawn s500i.. thumbup.gif
hirari
post Sep 18 2008, 10:44 AM

1,281 posts

I've been using mine for one and a half month already. No cracked keypad...yet. I hope it can stay that way for years to come. But the slider part is kinda wobbly tho. Still, imo the SE500i design is the best. happy.gif
mithril22
post Oct 7 2008, 09:32 PM

43 posts

bought my S500i last saturday (4 oct).
original spec, thorus.
keypad still ok.
battery still ok.
hopefully it will lasts long...
aero99
post Oct 9 2008, 06:33 PM

581 posts

i got my s500 for almost 3 month ++ ...
no crack on da keypad but some paint do drop then...
setoyo
post Oct 10 2008, 10:34 AM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Woot.. wanna buy this s500 ...
but when read throughly this forum..
im scared already.. sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by setoyo: Oct 10 2008, 10:38 AM
mithril22
post Oct 10 2008, 08:14 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(setoyo @ Oct 10 2008, 11:34 AM)
Woot.. wanna buy this s500 ...
but when read throughly this forum..
im scared already.. sweat.gif  sweat.gif
i know how u feel.
my S500i will be 1 week old tomoro (i bought it last saturday).
i also worry bout the keypad crack problem but i just hope it turns out ok as some users from oversea forums said SE has already encountered this prob.
just hv to wait & see then.

i suggest u wait for other comments or start looking at other models that might interests u besides S500i.
on the other hand, i also start looking at other models too heheh. cool2.gif

p/s: i bought S500i without knowing the specs. i "accidentally" bought it during hp stock clearance at lowyat last saturday. after that, i just found out bout the specs and the keypad prob. silly me. tongue.gif
setoyo
post Oct 10 2008, 08:47 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

@mithril22

what colour u bought?
mithril22
post Oct 10 2008, 09:58 PM

43 posts

mysterious green aka black cool2.gif
setoyo
post Oct 10 2008, 11:36 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

mithril22,

Are the keypad sturdy yet? Solid? mmm..
mithril22
post Oct 11 2008, 12:43 AM

43 posts

the keypad is quite sturdy and it's far from flimsy, just like normal plastic keypad.
no worries, u can try at phone shops.

on the other hand, here's my simple review for my phones.
a comparison between SE S500i vs Nokia XM 5310:
please note that SE 500i is my FIRST SE phone so any SE pros & cons in this review is totally new for me.

SONY ERICSSON S500i

Pros:
- appealing slider phone design, 1st phone in the world to combine black & green colour (according to gsmarena.com)
- animated default themes, everchanging theme (4 seasons) is the bomb! during the day, the theme on display shows a flower with butterflies flying around and the light is green. at night, the theme shows a flower with fireflies flying around and the light is blue. the theme will change from day-night, based on the clock.
- bright display, can control the brightness as well
- user-friendly (still getting used to it, 1st time using SE!)
- speaker is in the centre of the navigation button, a unique feature
- 2.0mp camera delivers decent quality photos
- light effects during receive call
- good sound quality even it's not a walkman series, only lack mega bass preset from walkman series
- great entertainment applications such as videodj, photodj, musicdj & sound recorder
- volume rocker act as phone status feature which shows profile (normal,silent,flight etc), model (S500i), phone memory (13mb free), memory stick (i.e 500mb free) & battery life (i.e 95%). when the phone is locked, press volume rocker and it will show the clock.
- C button (clear button) really helps to delete faster

Cons:
- only 12mb internal memory
- cannot lock the phone using control buttons (back, clear, 2 soft keys, internet & shorcut keys), have to wait for autolock. able to unlock the phone using 2 soft keys in slider closed condition.
- cannot assign the same ringtone to a specific contacts group, have to assign one by one
- doesn't have 2.5mm audio jack, limited to SE ear/headphones only
- not operatable without sim card
- no FM radio, not a big deal as i'm not a radio listener
- no flash & autofocus, not a big deal actually
- doesn't show the total amount of messages unlike nokia models, same goes to applications etc (other SE models are like this also rite?)

NOKIA XPRESSMUSIC 5310

Pros:
- nice slim design for candybar form factor
- shortcut features on display
- 2.5mm audio jack, any ear/headphone can connect
- keypad is easy to navigate, nokia always bout user-friendly!
- dedicated music buttons really helps
- can assign the same ringtone to a specific contacts group
- operatable without sim card
- decent sound quality
- FM radio & sound recorder application
- scientific calculator application

Cons:
- mmc slot is inside the cover
- no animated default themes
- photo quality is blurry & camera has slow response (someone from lowyat said that it's not 2.0mp but 1.3mp instead! oversea website tested it. in fact, in 5310 tv advertisement on youtube also shows it's 1.3mp....bloopers maybe? so if it's 1.3mp, no wonder it's blurry)
- no flash & autofocus, not a big deal actually
- lagging during network finding, loading contacts & pressing buttons

so which one i'm using rite now?
of coz it's SE S500i!
sad to say that i'm selling my nokia 5310 to my officemate by end of this month bcoz she likes it.
however, since the S500i keypad crack problem (which i hope my keypad won't crack any time soon! now it's already one week!), now i'm beginning to look at other SE and nokia models heheh. cool2.gif

credits to gsmarena.com for the photos
setoyo
post Oct 11 2008, 09:01 AM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Good review bro..
mithril22
post Oct 15 2008, 06:56 PM

43 posts

just wanna add 1 more comparison between SE S500i and Nokia XM 5310 regarding the sound quality using respective earphones given:

SE S500i - using Bass (without changing anything) as the preset (i'm always bout the bass as i'm also the bassist in my band heheh), the sound is full, clean, clear and of coz, more bass to it. S500i only has 1 speaker in the centre of the navigation button which is very unique feature i would say.

Nokia XM 5310 - using Bass as the preset (i set this one myself), the sound is clean & clear but not too bassy and it sounds "dry" too. 5310 hv 2 speakers at the back of the phone which i think it will boost more for the sound if not using earphone.

conclusion: for using earphone, S500i is better than 5310 as 5310 sounds "dry" in my opinion. without using earphone, S500i is still better than 5310 in my opinion as the S500i speaker is facing up (when you put it on the surface) and at the same time, we are able to look at the display if someone calls/msg whilst 5310 is at the back of the phone & hv to put the phone's backside facing up so that we could hear the sound clearly. so if someone calls/msg, we hv to pick it up instead of just looking at the display.
lim47
post Nov 4 2008, 12:57 PM

1,209 posts

Until now the s500i still facing the keypad problem ???
mithril22
post Nov 4 2008, 01:47 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(lim47 @ Nov 4 2008, 01:57 PM)
Until now the s500i still facing the keypad problem ???
i have no idea but after 1 month using it, my S500i is OK.
lim47
post Nov 7 2008, 11:44 AM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(mithril22 @ Nov 4 2008, 01:47 PM)
i have no idea but after 1 month using it, my S500i is OK.
Thanks for your reply !!! icon_rolleyes.gif
kigabex
post Nov 7 2008, 11:57 PM

hi there! i already buy this phone last month at lowyat ground floor. At that time, there's a clearance stock for this phone and other models. i bought it at rm599! it really a bargain. after 3 weeks using the phone, one of the keypad starting to crack! not to worry, as the official warranty from SE still valid! hehe.. i just send my phone to SE service centre at Berjaya Complex, in front of Berjaya Times Square. After 1 hour service, my phone is in its original state! they changed the cracked keypad with a new one. It feels that the new one is better than previous one. Overall, this phone is good and im satisfied with it! To those who want to buy this phone, just buy it. biggrin.gif
david890701
post Dec 13 2008, 05:04 PM

-
3,152 posts

so, does the keypad still cracking?
mithril22
post Dec 17 2008, 04:56 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(kigabex @ Nov 8 2008, 12:57 AM)
hi there! i already buy this phone last month at lowyat ground floor. At that time, there's a clearance stock for this phone and other models. i bought it at rm599! it really a bargain. after 3 weeks using the phone, one of the keypad starting to crack! not to worry, as the official warranty from SE still valid! hehe.. i just send my phone to SE service centre at Berjaya Complex, in front of Berjaya Times Square. After 1 hour service, my phone is in its original state! they changed the cracked keypad with a new one. It feels that the new one is better than previous one. Overall, this phone is good and im satisfied with it! To those who want to buy this phone, just buy it. biggrin.gif
i believe u bought this phone on the same day as my S500i (sold it already) bcoz i also bought it in october, specifically 4th october, saturday.
luckily for me, i only used it like 1 month and sold it off bcoz i was "accidentally" bought it...bcoz of the clearance stock!
also, i didn't found any cracks on the keypad but due to the fact that i'm afraid if it will crack any time soon, so i sold it off.

nevertheless, it's a good phone actually.
it's just the keypad crack problem.
xortz
post Jan 24 2009, 10:22 PM

1,534 posts

hello
can someone help me
why each time i switch on S500 , it show a popups dialog
"warning all content on memory card will be lost , format anyway"
but there is no problem with the memory card since if i click on NO , the data (mp3 , picture , video) is still there...
how to disable this thing ?

alpha_company
post Jan 24 2009, 10:37 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

a friend of mine has this phone...

he wants to know whether he can update the firmware and how to do it?

steps?
lim47
post Mar 13 2009, 06:54 PM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jan 24 2009, 10:37 PM)
a friend of mine has this phone...

he wants to know whether he can update the firmware and how to do it?

steps?
Bring back 2 SE service center thumbup.gif
jauzi90
post May 11 2009, 09:39 PM

156 posts

I need a help from any technician or someone that have the problem before..

as attached below,there is a part missing.. its kind of thin metal plate that connect the two copper connector and the rest of the thin metal stick under the sticker above the USB/charger port.. and i want to know whether the part in the Sony s500i affect my Line Network coverage.. Because im having difficulties to have a coverage after the missing.

Hp Brand : Sony S500i

efarhan
post Jun 28 2009, 03:45 AM

229 posts

i know this thread is quite old ..bt does anyone encounter the issue regarding the camera refuses to take photos ? it snaps..then exits the camera application and the pic is not saved also... like nothing happened..anyone ? i r&d'ed the whole net and no answer leh...aihz..

P/S : i already installed the firmware using the update service provided on the site.. so i guess its not the firmware..

This post has been edited by efarhan: Jun 28 2009, 03:45 AM

0.1867sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:10 PM