Unifi Air, is it good?

evilsmile
post Aug 10 2019, 10:27 AM

248 posts

Is it true if i apply unifi mobile broadband https://unifi.com.my/personal/home/wireless-broadband

before 31 ogos. after 1 sept, tm convert become unifi air rm79 unlimited?
evilsmile
post Sep 19 2019, 01:00 PM

248 posts

is it true unifi air use diffrent coverage than unifi mobile?

my area unifi mobile strong 4g lte. unifi website got no info when i check
evilsmile
post Sep 27 2019, 09:00 AM

248 posts

Which modem router is good to buy for unifi air other than huawei b168?
evilsmile
post Nov 13 2019, 11:39 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(strike01 @ Nov 12 2019, 04:58 PM)
D-Link DWR-921 (About RM300)
D-Link DWR-953 (About RM375)
TP-Link Archer MR600 (About RM500)
Huawei B618s-65d (About RM800)

Just got the MR600 on sale yesterday for RM430, seems like pretty good value for its features.
mr600 looks good, feature packed. rm430 is cheap

however, tp-link i think can't manual/force lock band 38/40 and no manual/force carrier aggregration like huawei can.

please post your tests and experience with mr600 and unifi air soon. thumbsup.gif
evilsmile
post Nov 15 2019, 11:06 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Nov 14 2019, 05:25 PM)
so if
- subscribe unifi air + use their router = 2 years contract
- subscribe unifi air + buy own router = no contract

is it?
buy own router = expensive for starter

coz deposit is rm100 + it's expensive for huawei b618s even used one

there are cheaper 4g modem router like tenda but specs are not as good as huawei one
evilsmile
post Nov 16 2019, 10:43 AM

248 posts

unable to figure out how to connect to 3g/H+ using Unifi Air

what band, apn to use? set auto but modem says signal excellent but cant connect

reason i want to use H+ is because to avoid congestion at night. 4g day speed is good > 20Mbps but night ~5Mbps

This post has been edited by evilsmile: Nov 16 2019, 10:46 AM
evilsmile
post Nov 18 2019, 11:09 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(strike01 @ Nov 15 2019, 07:08 PM)
Correct, you cannot lock band 38/40 using MR600. But I think it will prioritize whichever bands that provides LTE-A.
An interesting feature of the modem is that it connects to two bands at the same time, presumably for better reliability. In my case it's band 40,40.

(Please ignore the 0Mbps speeds, clearly a glitch happened there)
As far as speeds go this is what I got. Normally around 50-60Mbps, and can go to 80+Mbps off peak. Not too shabby for the price. I'm satisfied.

Huawei B618s-65d is still going be to much better than MR600, I've seen some people get over 100Mbps with that. But you'll have to cough up the money if you don't take the contract.
if using tplink mr600, how you know the router connected to band 40, band 38 or band 5? can check inside 192.168.1.1?
evilsmile
post Nov 18 2019, 11:10 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(ming0000 @ Nov 17 2019, 10:28 PM)
My Unifi Air speed tonight at 10:26pm
Using Dlink DWR 921, setting auto all.
evening can do 4-5mbps Download speed.
if changing router, will effect more?
so where is your location? city or kampung area?
evilsmile
post Nov 20 2019, 01:06 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(siang930615 @ Nov 19 2019, 11:56 PM)
My unifi air review after using it for a month
so far i feel its still better than my streamyx
the speed not so stable especially at peak hours this my testing

for people who wanna register unifi air better test with phone first
cause unifi air support band5/38/40 since i get b618 tm set it already lock band40

for gaming part better stick with streamyx / fibre
unifi air can play dota when solo using the internet for other game i not sure
different version of hmanager? can share the apk? thanks
evilsmile
post May 30 2020, 05:34 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ May 30 2020, 01:43 PM)
any idea how to improve signal strength especially band 5 signal? use external antenna like lpda will help??
personally tested unifi air will full signal connected to band 5. 15-20mbps is max speed can get. rarely get above 30mbps. b615 huawei

band 5 unifi air is extremely heavenly congested. nothing much can do if want to improve speeds as the infra is overlimit
evilsmile
post Jun 2 2020, 11:15 AM

248 posts

Hello guys, I learned recently that TPlink MR600 now has beta firmware that should be able to manually select/lock band for example lock B5/B38/B40 for Unifi Air or manual 4G+ CA with B3+B7 for Digi i150 users

https://www.tp-link.com/my/home-networking/...i/archer-mr600/

https://community.tp-link.com/en/home/forum...c/205912?page=1

https://community.tp-link.com/en/home/forum...c/193174?page=4 (scroll to post #41 for test results)

however beta firmware is for EU model only right now, and I don't have the device to test. Not sure works or not on MR600 MYset. According to TPLink website, MYset use EU V1 firmware which should be able to test this Beta firmware.

https://www.tp-link.com/my/support/download/archer-mr600/

TP-Link MR600 has very good spec and support most telco in MY and tplink has 3 year local warranty which is excellent. But people sleeps on their router and mifi coz unable to lock band like Huawei.

If MR600 (MY set) soon be able to get lock band feature. I think this model will be good alternative to B618s and B818 for power users. Priced is RM500 right now

This post has been edited by evilsmile: Jun 2 2020, 11:32 AM

0.0196sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:26 AM