92 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Unifi Air, is it good?

khainiz94
post Jul 1 2020, 10:05 AM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(KennyGump @ Jun 30 2020, 01:01 PM)
B818 or B618 is so expensive.
Around 750-800, alamak.
If I go for normal modem with 150mbps 2.4ghz, only 300+.
But downside is, it won't get the max performance like B618/B818.
Haiz, life is tough.
Imagine getting the contract earlier and you can own that B618 for free.
TM is so unethical.
Now same package but low end modem and downgraded performance.
Ya I agree it is god tier.
But the price is high too.
I would have got that B618 for free if I signed that contract earlier.
Now can only makan sendiri.
With a little bit of budget, you can get Huawei B525 with 600 Mbps LTE performance around RM500.
Most modems that around that budget you give is not LTE-A, so you cannot take full advantage of the speed to the max.
If you do want that Huawei B525, I can give you the link.

Many people said now there is less B618 because Huawei is replacing it with B818.
But maybe TM did not want it because it is too expensive.
So they replace it with a subpar modem which is ZTE MF286C.
nightzstar
post Jul 1 2020, 11:00 AM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(kitter @ Jun 30 2020, 12:06 AM)
I just signed Unifi Air contract free for parents in a kampung only with Streamyx. This kampung only one Jalan can support up to 8mbps, my house is lucky happened to be in that jalan. But, one thing I consider is the upload speed is too slow.
So I took a risk to apply Unifi Air. I have been using Unifi mobile for 4 years, and I know that it is running band 5 for 4G in my kampung. I don't care that much, bought tp link mr6400 to try on it. It did impress me, I got max 19 to 20mbps download speed max 9.8mbps for upload.
FYI, my kampung is at least 15km away from their official Unifi Air coverage. So far I am quite satisfied. YouTube 1080, TV box no issue at all.
consider trying parabolic antenna? i wonder will it help to capture band38/40 signal? hmm.gif
PseudoWoodo
post Jul 1 2020, 04:52 PM

63 posts

After the 2 years contract finished, can we keep the b618 if we choose to terminate the plan?
kitter
post Jul 1 2020, 06:08 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jul 1 2020, 11:00 AM)
consider trying parabolic antenna? i wonder will it help to capture band38/40 signal?  hmm.gif
My kampung is totally out of B38/B40 signal.
Only able to capture B5 signal.
aizamev
post Jul 2 2020, 10:04 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(PseudoWoodo @ Jul 1 2020, 04:52 PM)
After the 2 years contract finished, can we keep the b618 if we choose to terminate the plan?
yes. after 24 months, you no longer have contract with tm. you can terminate anytime and not need to return b618 modem
LemonKnight
post Jul 2 2020, 05:47 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jul 1 2020, 10:05 AM)
With a little bit of budget, you can get Huawei B525 with 600 Mbps LTE performance around RM500.
Most modems that around that budget you give is not LTE-A, so you cannot take full advantage of the speed to the max.
If you do want that Huawei B525, I can give you the link.

Many people said now there is less B618 because Huawei is replacing it with B818.
But maybe TM did not want it because it is too expensive.
So they replace it with a subpar modem which is ZTE MF286C.
Hey man, so I was thinking of subscribing to the non contract based plan after seeing poor reviews of the ZTE. I'm not willing to spend anything beyond rm400 for a router. How do I find modems that support LTE A? What band am I supposed to look for?
khainiz94
post Jul 2 2020, 06:39 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(LemonKnight @ Jul 2 2020, 05:47 PM)
Hey man, so I was thinking of subscribing to the non contract based plan after seeing poor reviews of the ZTE. I'm not willing to spend anything beyond rm400 for a router. How do I find modems that support LTE A? What band am I supposed to look for?
For LTE-A modem the budget is a bit high than a typical modem.
Plus with unifi Air using a different band than the three top telcos, so your budget will be a bit high.
I think the cheapest is B525 which is around 400+.
But of course the best is B618-65d which can pull more signal and better stability in terms of speed.
LemonKnight
post Jul 2 2020, 06:46 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jul 2 2020, 06:39 PM)
For LTE-A modem the budget is a bit high than a typical modem.
Plus with unifi Air using a different band than the three top telcos, so your budget will be a bit high.
I think the cheapest is B525 which is around 400+.
But of course the best is B618-65d which can pull more signal and better stability in terms of speed.
You're getting like 50mbps+ on average download speeds using the b618, yeah?

I'll think about it, I'm looking at reviews and some say they get downloads of 15mbps with a cheaper 200rm router.

Thanks for the reply. Maybe I should just stick to fibre.
khainiz94
post Jul 2 2020, 06:54 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(LemonKnight @ Jul 2 2020, 06:46 PM)
You're getting like 50mbps+ on average download speeds using the b618, yeah?

I'll think about it, I'm looking at reviews and some say they get downloads of 15mbps with a cheaper 200rm router.

Thanks for the reply. Maybe I should just stick to fibre.
Yeap but not the B618.
I am using it with B818.
Well you pay cheap, get slower speeds.
But of course that is also depends on how crowded the tower is in that area.

Well if you got fibre, why not stick to that?
If I do have the choice to subscribe to fibre, I will subscribe to it.
Lower ping and more stable speeds.
The only issue is I am left to choose of Streamyx 4 Mbps or unifi Air.
As long unifi Air is able to give good download speeds, I am satisfied already.
LemonKnight
post Jul 2 2020, 08:34 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jul 2 2020, 06:54 PM)
Yeap but not the B618.
I am using it with B818.
Well you pay cheap, get slower speeds.
But of course that is also depends on how crowded the tower is in that area.

Well if you got fibre, why not stick to that?
If I do have the choice to subscribe to fibre, I will subscribe to it.
Lower ping and more stable speeds.
The only issue is I am left to choose of Streamyx 4 Mbps or unifi Air.
As long unifi Air is able to give good download speeds, I am satisfied already.
The idea of unlimited data anywhere is tempting. I'd be happy to put this in-between my trips to get speeds of at least 15mbps. Office, home, grandparent's place, wherever. Guess... You can't have everything in this country.
focusrite
post Jul 2 2020, 09:39 PM

409 posts

I got my Huawei b818 and I tested it from 730pm to 8pm

Speed around 10mbps to 20mbps. Sometimes suddenly dip to 2.

Is this normal speed for that time?

Will test the off peak speed on Saturday.

Also, my router already shows it is at 3 bars, is there any chance that getting an external antenna would help with the speed?
focusrite
post Jul 2 2020, 09:46 PM

409 posts

How do you guys find out the location of the tm 4g towers?
focusrite
post Jul 2 2020, 10:38 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(azwandy @ Feb 25 2020, 06:46 PM)
LPDA 1 unit is rm75.. need 2 so 75x2 = rm150

the bracket is the same for tv antenna.. around 8-10 ringgit.. the metal pole is around 10-15 ringgit.. all i bought from hardware shop..

no cost of installation as i did all by myself since I have all the tools (power drill etc).. just need chair/staircase to install

if you are not confident to install urself, maybe mytv@freeview installer can setup the pole everything for you..
did the antenna come with an installation guide? I'm not very good with these sorts of things sweat.gif
Daniel Hyuuga
post Jul 3 2020, 08:20 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(sky96 @ Jun 30 2020, 12:35 PM)

date : May 13 2020, check unifi air coverage, got covered (almost)

[url=https://pictr.com/image/7aZnvD
user posted image[/url]

Now, no coverage. why lol... either a glitch or somebody didn't do their work properly haha

Now here's the thing, i use unifi mobile here, the LTE signal is full, speed is around 8-9Mbps as expected. Youtube 4K pon lepas punya. Does unifi air coverage be the same as mobile?
First pic is LTE Band 5 for Unifi Mobile, 2nd pic is LTE Band 40 for Unifi AIR.

Can still use Unifi AIR regardless but risk slower than streamyx is real.
ahlong
post Jul 3 2020, 12:08 PM

not a debt collector
612 posts

A new customer (yesterday received the sim) +without device (sim only)

Testing with my phone 2nd sim (Oneplus7T) the speed was around 60MB-71MB

Nice ah.. coverage blue..
focusrite
post Jul 3 2020, 12:33 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(ahlong @ Jul 3 2020, 12:08 PM)

what time you test?
ashdwoers
post Jul 3 2020, 12:36 PM

Newb
2,234 posts

QUOTE(focusrite @ Jul 2 2020, 09:39 PM)
I got my Huawei b818 and I tested it from 730pm to 8pm

Speed around 10mbps to 20mbps. Sometimes suddenly dip to 2.

Is this normal speed for that time?

Will test the off peak speed on Saturday.

Also, my router already shows it is at 3 bars, is there any chance that getting an external antenna would help with the speed?
Congested?
Already check sinr rsrq value etc?
pysh
post Jul 3 2020, 12:38 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(ahlong @ Jul 3 2020, 12:08 PM)

heads up u cant tether from the phone to another device..
u still need the huawei modem.
LohMaiGai
post Jul 3 2020, 01:49 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(pysh @ Jul 3 2020, 12:38 PM)
i use hua wei mobile phone(mate 9). can do tethering to my laptop

This post has been edited by LohMaiGai: Jul 3 2020, 01:49 PM
khainiz94
post Jul 3 2020, 02:04 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(pysh @ Jul 3 2020, 12:38 PM)
Unifi Air can tether.
Unlimited quota and tethering, no speed cap.

92 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:08 PM