Unifi Air, is it good?

kitter
post Oct 2 2019, 11:20 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(x3Number1x @ Oct 2 2019, 06:46 PM)
glad to hear that, that means either phone or router the speed wont diff much?
So you use hotspot for devices to connect?
kitter
post Oct 4 2019, 10:41 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(x3Number1x @ Oct 3 2019, 06:05 PM)
right now yes, cause im outside the coverage area so im still testing the reliability
oh i see... thanks for the info
Ya, hope to listen from your test result soon.
As my kampung area also out of the said coverage area. However my unifi mobile there is quite stable and good.
Wonder Unifi Air works well out of the coverage area or not.
kitter
post Oct 26 2019, 09:17 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(siang930615 @ Oct 25 2019, 11:04 PM)
on my phone i get 8~12 mbps but with b618 router i can reach 30~40 mbps
Where can get B618 router separately?
kitter
post Oct 27 2019, 11:29 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(siang930615 @ Oct 27 2019, 12:10 AM)
this b618 too expensive even 2nd hand need RM6xx
i just borrow from friend test it out and then confirm ok then i just sign 2 year contract get free from tm
True! I wanna do as this way too. To bad I don’t have friend having this router. sweat.gif
kitter
post Nov 11 2019, 12:33 PM

363 posts

Any recommended router to use for Unifi Air if I don't want to sign the 2 year contract? As I see the price of 618s-65d is quite pricey.
kitter
post Nov 11 2019, 10:09 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(RedShirt @ Nov 11 2019, 07:15 PM)
I just ordered a cheap older Huawei. Should be arriving tomorrow for me to test with Unifi Air
Model 618s-65d?
How much you got it?
kitter
post Nov 12 2019, 06:14 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(strike01 @ Nov 12 2019, 04:58 PM)
D-Link DWR-921 (About RM300)
D-Link DWR-953 (About RM375)
TP-Link Archer MR600 (About RM500)
Huawei B618s-65d (About RM800)

Just got the MR600 on sale yesterday for RM430, seems like pretty good value for its features.
Wow so good.
I wanna test my area before getting a 4g router. As from their website, my area is not covered by Unifi air. However I can use Unifi mobile there with a quite good speed.
kitter
post Nov 15 2019, 10:17 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Nov 15 2019, 09:35 AM)
Unifi Air and Unifi Mobile is using the same coverage.

My advice, go with the B618-65d modem. The performance way better from the alternative modem above.
I also thought they use the same coverage. I would wish to give a test before buying the modem, however, too bad, hard to borrow it. sweat.gif
kitter
post Jun 26 2020, 02:38 PM

363 posts

Will Unifi Air be capped after a certain amount of GB Usage?
Such as Youtube can only run on 480P or 720P?
kitter
post Jun 28 2020, 08:10 AM

363 posts

Hi All,

Is there any way to lock the 4G band frequency at tp-link MR6400?
kitter
post Jun 28 2020, 10:04 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(ashdwoers @ Jun 28 2020, 09:58 AM)
last time i read got firmware update can lock band

but BETA la  hmm.gif
I checked my firmware it is 1.2.0 0.9.1 v0001.0 Build 191223 Rel.75067n.
And I saw there is a latest firmware but need to update online. Dare not try that. What if halt at halfway.
kitter
post Jun 30 2020, 12:06 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(FunkyBass @ Jun 29 2020, 05:11 PM)
How to check coverage
Some info say only city area
Some info say if you can use unifi LTE mobile at that area then it cover
I just signed Unifi Air contract free for parents in a kampung only with Streamyx. This kampung only one Jalan can support up to 8mbps, my house is lucky happened to be in that jalan. But, one thing I consider is the upload speed is too slow.
So I took a risk to apply Unifi Air. I have been using Unifi mobile for 4 years, and I know that it is running band 5 for 4G in my kampung. I don't care that much, bought tp link mr6400 to try on it. It did impress me, I got max 19 to 20mbps download speed max 9.8mbps for upload.
FYI, my kampung is at least 15km away from their official Unifi Air coverage. So far I am quite satisfied. YouTube 1080, TV box no issue at all.
kitter
post Jun 30 2020, 08:58 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jun 30 2020, 06:57 AM)
Well for kampung is a non-issue using Band 5 because it is less crowded.
In towns and cities, most Band 5 connections are not even able to give at least 1 Mbps download which is really worst than Streamyx.
We have to factor in everything first in order to subscribe it.
You can see how much people complained on FB unifi about unifi mobile due to bad speeds and unstable service thanks to their use of Band 5 with small bandwidth for their LTE service.

That is why I suggest to test unifi mobile BEBAS first, if it is up to par, then you can subscribe to it.
Exactly, I have tested Unifi Mobile for 4 years then only I subscribe Unifi Air.
Factor in everything in this 4 years.
kitter
post Jul 1 2020, 06:08 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jul 1 2020, 11:00 AM)
consider trying parabolic antenna? i wonder will it help to capture band38/40 signal?  hmm.gif
My kampung is totally out of B38/B40 signal.
Only able to capture B5 signal.
kitter
post Jul 6 2020, 06:08 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jul 1 2020, 11:00 AM)
consider trying parabolic antenna? i wonder will it help to capture band38/40 signal?  hmm.gif
Bro,

Have you tried?
And what kind of parabolic antenna you get?
kitter
post Jul 6 2020, 09:30 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jul 6 2020, 08:01 PM)
Not yet bro coz quite expensive. Currently am satisfied with my current internet speed and stability
haha. Alright, I also satisfied with Band5 connection.
15-20Mbps download, 9-10Mbps upload speed for kampung area.

0.0629sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:53 PM