157 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying directly from Lenovo Malaysia website?

ijan
post Jan 30 2024, 12:42 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

oh, i use my touch screen quite a lot
at times i dont think i can have a normal workflow without it (for mobile, laptop usage)

sHawTY
post Feb 2 2024, 09:49 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

MYTELECHAT has expired. Anyone has new codes to share?
zstan
post Feb 6 2024, 08:20 AM

15,856 posts

Anybody experience laptop can't be tracked and the delivery kept rescheduling? Better to contact lenovo customer service or the courier?
iiee
post Feb 6 2024, 10:53 AM

361 posts

Heard of Lenovo name for very long but all the while stuck with Dell. Anyone has experience with their next business day on site warranty, how good Lenovo on this?
Do they have enough spare part or always need to get from Singapore?
Is the service technician skillful & helpful; or come with the face like we owe them lots of money?
Does Lenovo recognize the accidental damage warranty or always try to avoid to replace?

These questions are not related to service center, i am looking for on site service only.

This post has been edited by iiee: Feb 6 2024, 10:56 AM
sHawTY
post Feb 6 2024, 03:34 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(iiee @ Feb 6 2024, 10:53 AM)
Heard of Lenovo name for very long but all the while stuck with Dell.  Anyone has experience with their next business day on site warranty, how good Lenovo on this?
Very good. I came from Dell to Lenovo. Lenovo handles our claims better
Do they have enough spare part or always need to get from Singapore?
Depends on which type of warranty you buy. We're using Premier Onsite so far we get the replacement parts within 1 ~ 3 working days
Is the service technician skillful & helpful; or come with the face like we owe them lots of money?
Can't comment on this as that's a personnel issue, not Dell's fault
Does Lenovo recognize the accidental damage warranty or always try to avoid to replace?
Can't comment on this as well because we never bought accidental damage add-on
iiee
post Feb 6 2024, 05:35 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 6 2024, 03:34 PM)
Can't comment on this as that's a personnel issue, not Dell's fault
Can't comment on this as well because we never bought accidental damage add-on
Thanks for the feedback.
No Dell personnel so far never show sour face, in fact very "helpful", and i can get more replacement items on top of what should be.
I travel quite often so accidental damage is good for me, had claimed few times also, no question asked. However 1 year only can claim 1 time, so need to "utilize" it with proper timing.

My problem with Dell is not their service, but the laptop design. Out of the current 3 top companies, none has perfect fit, there is always one having advantages but with other disadvantages. Lenovo always has good name and more supporters, but i am hesitating because their laptop has only 2 m.2 slots if not mistaken and this is important for me i need 4-5. Referring to P16 Gen2 model.
The Premier Support Plus 5 yr add-on plan is too much expensive compared to Dell, more than triple. Hardware alone about same price. The 3yr plan very cheap, but to extend 2 more year for RM 5000 is just crazy.

This post has been edited by iiee: Feb 6 2024, 05:54 PM
PRSXFENG
post Feb 6 2024, 11:03 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(iiee @ Feb 6 2024, 05:35 PM)
but i am hesitating because their laptop has only 2 m.2 slots if not mistaken and this is important for me i need 4-5.  Referring to P16 Gen2 model.
Hmm 4/5 is quite a lot, it's hard to find beyond 3 usually

Do note that Lenovo does employ hardware whitelisting

Example, P14s Gen 4
You may look at it and see 2 M.2 slots, but the 2nd slot in that machine is reserved for WWAN and the machine will refuse to boot if you install an SSD there, throwing a "unauthorized network card" error

The P16G2 does seem like it has 2 real M.2 NVMe slots

Some models may also whitelist the WiFi card
chkwong
post Feb 7 2024, 08:08 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 6 2024, 11:03 PM)
Hmm 4/5 is quite a lot, it's hard to find beyond 3 usually

Do note that Lenovo does employ hardware whitelisting

Example, P14s Gen 4
You may look at it and see 2 M.2 slots, but the 2nd slot in that machine is reserved for WWAN and the machine will refuse to boot if you install an SSD there, throwing a "unauthorized network card" error

The P16G2 does seem like it has 2 real M.2 NVMe slots

Some models may also whitelist the WiFi card
Personally, I don't support nor recommend any laptops that whitelist parts. This is just forcing you to get their expensive over-priced parts. Even some HP model does this. Though the CS will neither confirm nor deny, but trying to put in 3rd party parts don't work. But when you put in the original listed parts, it works. Which of course is more than 2x the price of the 3rd party parts. The 3rd party parts do work in other laptops. So, it's not faulty.
Smurfs
post Feb 11 2024, 04:58 PM

1,060 posts

Question To All Lenovo laptop user, where do u guys send ur laptop for dust cleaning / reapply thermal paste after a few years of using?

Or u guys just DIY ?
poooky
post Feb 19 2024, 05:12 PM

824 posts

Looking at the E14 Gen 5 AMD and wow is it expensive. RM 6k for something decent.

Seems like not able to get something relatively new and decent for 3k anymore.
chkwong
post Feb 19 2024, 09:48 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Feb 11 2024, 04:58 PM)
Question To All Lenovo laptop user, where do u guys send ur laptop for dust cleaning / reapply thermal paste after a few years of using?

Or u guys just DIY ?
DIY. Know your parts and components inside out.
sHawTY
post Feb 20 2024, 04:40 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 19 2024, 05:12 PM)
Looking at the E14 Gen 5 AMD and wow is it expensive. RM 6k for something decent.

Blame Ringgit Malaysia for that.

Now, there's no choice but to opt for the slightly downgraded product line, namely the ThinkBook.
Nevertheless, it's still miles better than the IdeaPad product line though.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Feb 20 2024, 04:42 PM
poooky
post Feb 22 2024, 05:34 PM

824 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 20 2024, 04:40 PM)
Blame Ringgit Malaysia for that.

Now, there's no choice but to opt for the slightly downgraded product line, namely the ThinkBook.
Nevertheless, it's still miles better than the IdeaPad product line though.
Ideapad 5i with i5-13500H, 16GB ram can be had for ~3.5k. Meanwhile Thinkbook with i5-1335U, 32gb ram, 100% sRGB is around 4.5k.

The Thinkbook specs are more futureproof, but will likely wait for a major discount code.
chkwong
post Feb 23 2024, 08:13 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 22 2024, 05:34 PM)
Ideapad 5i with i5-13500H, 16GB ram can be had for ~3.5k. Meanwhile Thinkbook with i5-1335U, 32gb ram, 100% sRGB is around 4.5k.

The Thinkbook specs are more futureproof, but will likely wait for a major discount code.
For me, it's either the ThinkPad or IdeaPad, not in between. 1k is a lot of money, can upgrade many things. Unless you are mobility most of time, get something affordable (best bang for buck). Otherwise, it's ThinkPad.
ldragon
post Mar 4 2024, 01:29 AM

1,026 posts

New code TIMESALE
ldragon
post Mar 4 2024, 01:31 AM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 19 2024, 05:12 PM)

Extra RAM & NVME upgrade buy from other shop cheaper.

This post has been edited by ldragon: Mar 4 2024, 01:36 AM
SUSmegashock
post Mar 4 2024, 01:34 AM

I haven't bought from Lenovo Malaysia's site, but I've heard mixed reviews. Most of them say it's smooth sailing.
sHawTY
post Mar 4 2024, 03:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(megashock @ Mar 4 2024, 01:34 AM)
I haven't bought from Lenovo Malaysia's site, but I've heard mixed reviews. Most of them say it's smooth sailing.
Aside for the delays during the MCO period, my experience buying directly from Lenovo is far better than my experience with Dell/HP
Nowadays if got delays, we get partial refund too. Around 5 ~ 7% of the total amount written in the invoice

Bought close to 200 laptops from them for my workplace
poooky
post Mar 4 2024, 04:31 PM

824 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Mar 4 2024, 01:31 AM)

Extra RAM & NVME upgrade buy from other shop cheaper.
Where did you find this TIMESALE coupon?
ldragon
post Mar 4 2024, 07:24 PM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Mar 4 2024, 04:31 PM)
Where did you find this TIMESALE coupon?
It auto listed when I add items into cart.

157 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:04 PM