Investment Anyone kena burnt in investment?, Experience and your lesson learnt

TSfairylord
post May 5 2019, 10:19 PM, updated 7y ago

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

Anyone veteran unker auntie experienced kaokao lost in investment before?

How you deal with it emotionally?
How you live after the lost?
How the lost change your lifestyle and mind in term of financial?

Your experience is youngster lesson, if you don't mind to share.

NOTE : Serious thread, no kopitiam (at least don't get transferred), no fighting.

This post has been edited by fairylord: May 5 2019, 10:33 PM
SUSDavid83
post May 5 2019, 10:20 PM

52,874 posts

You experienced burnt in investment?
Under the sea now?
thefryingfox
post May 5 2019, 10:24 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

I kena burn bad investment mostly in share. Wiped out 80 percent of my savings.....I feel very down for months .....but took it in my stride and pick my self up instead of 14th floor. 80 percent of saving was after 14 years of slogging

Oh well..now I recover and am more contented and do my homework and get wisdom before venture out again. So far just small small investment here and there
SUSDavid83
post May 5 2019, 10:27 PM

52,874 posts

If I divert the money for high risk investment, I'll prepare to lose it.

Otherwise, set an attainable goal. Don't be greedy.

Emotional plays an important role in our investment decision and it always cloud your wisdom.

Lastly, depends on investment asset classes, some of them are recoverable over time. You just need to be patient and let it cruise through the test of time.
ANGELNHERO
post May 5 2019, 10:53 PM

My experience is small burnt but all the Money invest become air disappear, not much but have teach me not to be greedy.
The long term investment with steady return just the correct way become successful for rich. Instant rich game , we no enough money to play with them.
Ramjade
post May 6 2019, 12:01 AM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ May 5 2019, 10:19 PM)

NOTE : Serious thread, no kopitiam (at least don't get transferred), no fighting.
1/ maybank silver account
- learnt that not wise to buy gold and silver from banks as spread too large.

2/ foreign FD with Malaysia bank
-learnt that banks always win in terms of exchange rate.

3/ amanah saham variable price
- learnt that best to keep cost low, avoid agents. 5% commision cut is hefty.
Bjorn1688
post May 6 2019, 02:48 AM

1,924 posts

I invested a lot in British banking and engineering stocks.

Lost a lot of money during the subprime crisis.

I once invested money to set up an Irish pub in Phuket, it had some very healthy returns and I mostly got back my money by the 6th month. Myself a Brit and a Thai who was the local partner. On the 8th month the local partner shit the place down by deregistering the company and then selling the assets and operations to another company he owned and hired another British expat to be the pub manager. The premise and the owner perished during the tsunami.

Well you learn to pick up the pieces and move along while keeping a straight face.
icemanfx
post May 6 2019, 04:12 AM

21,456 posts

Every investor get burned in investment, it is a matter of magnitude. Normally, those greedy would get or nearly wiped out.

If leveraged to invest, failure could be catastrophic.

There is no quick and easy way to make money else there should be a lot more than 4% of adults in this country have over us$100k net worth.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 6 2019, 06:40 AM
Jordy
post May 6 2019, 10:53 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

I invested in this stock back in 2010 just after it went public at the A-region and kept averaging downwards due to my believe that investment in Education is one of the best, and then I finally sold it off between the C- and D-region after realising that this company is going into a sh*thole.

Lesson learnt - never get involved with companies closely tied with Government policy. Any slight change in Government policy could mean the end of the company.

The same can be said with the situation of TM is in right now. See chart below.

wongmunkeong
post May 6 2019, 11:42 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

1. Be unemotional - use pre-planned If-Then-Else (eg. portfolio rebalancing IF.., IF x falls 20% or more.., IF..), numbers/knowned,
NOT based on feel/crystal balls
Do NOT "plan fire escape during fire". That's where fear & greed jumps on me.

2. All financial plans are useless - it's the planning that is useful.
ie. the logic/reasons/whys. Thus, one can always tweak when things happens or goals moved/changed

3. All financial goals are really life goals.
If i dont have a burning reason WHY i NEED to reach the goals... then.. meh.. i won't carry through

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 6 2019, 11:51 AM
Boomwick
post May 6 2019, 11:47 AM

994 posts

I invested in a company called HEXAGON because people are saying this company got robert kuok inside to help.

Although investment is bit big, around few K because already pn17 that time.

But that white knight didnt happen. Hexagon delisted and gone.

Same as trasmile case.

Never invest becuz thinking got prominent investor inside and will rescue it
icemanfx
post May 6 2019, 01:39 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ May 6 2019, 11:47 AM)
I invested in a company called HEXAGON because people are saying this company got robert kuok inside to help.

Although investment is bit big, around few K because already pn17 that time.

But that white knight didnt happen. Hexagon delisted and gone.

Same as trasmile case.

Never invest becuz thinking got prominent investor inside and will rescue it
When tips reached average Joe, is about time to sell.

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 6 2019, 10:53 AM)

I invested in this stock back in 2010 just after it went public at the A-region and kept averaging downwards due to my believe that investment in Education is one of the best, and then I finally sold it off between the C- and D-region after realising that this company is going into a sh*thole.

Lesson learnt - never get involved with companies closely tied with Government policy. Any slight change in Government policy could mean the end of the company.

Contract secured through political connection mean the company doesn't has the capability to bid on level playing field. Most will fail with political connection.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 6 2019, 01:43 PM
Krv23490
post May 6 2019, 02:32 PM

2,175 posts

Invested in GoPro , wanted to play earnings, ended up bag holding many years back.

Bought Netflix at 100, sold at 110. Trading at 385 today
veron4best
post May 6 2019, 02:56 PM

1,146 posts

lost more than 50% capital in stock trading due to no real sifu to learn from last time.

kept emotionally aside, set a cut-loss margin. nvr fall in love in any stock.

cherroy
post May 6 2019, 02:57 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 6 2019, 10:53 AM)

My pov and experience

Keep on averaging down is not a good practice in investing.

When a stock is keep on going down on long term basic, it is better to review the reason of it.
Good stock that are registering stable and profit growing and keep on rewarding shareholders with generous dividend, generally their stock price won't keep on sliding on long term basic one.

Whenever an invested target poorly perform, it is advisable to patiently monitoring first instead eager to average down, if really that bad, sliding non-stop, cut loss early.
Average down could mean double the loss instead of trying to gain back.
Average down may be = bet more on the losing stock... sweat.gif

Get rid of losing stock, but keep those performing (gain) one should be the motto of investing.
But most people did the other way. Take profit (sell) those gain one (normally gain a little), but keep losing one and average down more.

Average up is better that average down.

There are many, ten or hundreds of many good stocks out there for choosing around.
Don't need to fall in love in one or two.

We are not choosing a single "wife" in investing, we can or should have wife(s) in investing. laugh.gif

Diversification is important to mitigate the risk in investing.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 6 2019, 02:58 PM
Jordy
post May 6 2019, 06:03 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 6 2019, 02:57 PM)
My pov and experience

Keep on averaging down is not a good practice in investing.

When a stock is keep on going down on long term basic, it is better to review the reason of it.
Good stock that are registering stable and profit growing and keep on rewarding shareholders with generous dividend, generally their stock price won't keep on sliding on long term basic one.

Whenever an invested target poorly perform, it is advisable to patiently monitoring first instead eager to average down, if really that bad, sliding non-stop, cut loss early.
Average down could mean double the loss instead of trying to gain back.
Average down may be = bet more on the losing stock... sweat.gif

Get rid of losing stock, but keep those performing (gain) one should be the motto of investing.
But most people did the other way. Take profit (sell) those gain one (normally gain a little), but keep losing one and average down more.

Average up is better that average down.

There are many, ten or hundreds of many good stocks out there for choosing around.
Don't need to fall in love in one or two.

We are not choosing a single "wife" in investing, we can or should have wife(s) in investing.  laugh.gif

Diversification is important to mitigate the risk in investing.
You are right, and my mistake should serve as a lesson to all other young investors alike.
Well I was young and naive back then with nobody to caution me on such stuffs, I had to learn everything the hard way.
But being burnt is one sure way to keep improving yourself.
MeToo
post May 6 2019, 06:07 PM

9,336 posts

Current MTM I'm down 280,000... havent exit cause... how to take such losses... still hanging on..
MeToo
post May 6 2019, 06:08 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 6 2019, 02:57 PM)

THIS is so true.

I suffer form this as well, fast to book the (tiny) profit, but when lost too stubborn to cut.

Now the hole very deep... cannot even cut cry.gif cry.gif
David_77
post May 6 2019, 06:51 PM

In a hurry to make up for lost time!
2,396 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 6 2019, 04:12 AM)
Every investor get burned in investment, it is a matter of magnitude. Normally, those greedy would get or nearly wiped out.

If leveraged to invest, failure could be catastrophic.

There is no quick and easy way to make money else there should be a lot more than 4% of adults in this country have over us$100k net worth.
Aunty, typo is it? Now 4%?
thesoothsayer
post May 6 2019, 11:37 PM

954 posts

Made tonnes, then started getting overconfident in options. Coupled with a serious lack of sleep due to family reasons, I lost about 170k.

Fortunately, mostly RSU money. If it's savings, probably will be even more heartbreaking.

Learned not to be too greedy and overconfident. biggrin.gif

Leo the Lion
post May 7 2019, 08:43 AM

6,358 posts

I once lose 8k in forex. just because I managed to get return 2k before losing huge amount. I was greedy and overconfident. That was 7 years ago.

kelvinlym
post May 7 2019, 12:02 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

Started investing since 2009.

Lesson learnt: Best time to start is after a recession.

Lost about EUR2k trying to understand forex derivatives.

Lesson learnt: Not for mortals. Will not touch ever again.

Got some stocks in the red, but fortunately overall up cos of portfolio diversification. Worst performer -44% (LPKF). Best performer +511% (MSFT). Lucky enough to have made more hits than misses. My holding period is very long. I've held MSFT for 10 years.

Lesson learnt: Diversify, won't be super rich, but will let you sleep at night.
kingz113
post May 7 2019, 12:26 PM

323 posts

Invested in a friend. Purely emotional decision. Bought into his sob story, and wanted to help him

Long story short, the guys a con. Lost about 20k.

The experience gained however is immense. Never give into emotional blackmail and be prepared to burn a bridge. That pain of being betrayed is still very fresh, and now all my friendly loans are backed by paperwork and guarantees/collateral.
sjteh
post May 7 2019, 01:34 PM

222 posts

Invest in btc n eth during hoo haa time. Lost 10k. Lesson learnt.
Goal post need to be shift again.
SUSDavid83
post May 7 2019, 01:38 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(sjteh @ May 7 2019, 01:34 PM)
Invest in btc n eth during hoo haa time. Lost 10k. Lesson learnt.
Goal post need to be shift again.
BTC is gaining traction back from 4000 to current >5000 level.
It's time to go in again! brows.gif
normanTE
post May 7 2019, 02:16 PM

259 posts

it is easy to start up any business but within 5 year how many of them close down? 70% and within the next 5 yr how many of those surviving business actually survive.? only 10%.. just like any top athelete and business. this is a truth and a statistic that we cant ignore. But here is the trick the moment you are within that top 10 % you can buy anything include private yatch or jet or any limited edition watch. This is the truth.

Trading is a business that if you have no risk management you gona loss it. it is all about probability mindset and dealing with constant uncertainty. which is no different from traditional business.

i am consistently taking my losses whenever it predefined. following my trading plan.
you can be a long term trader that follow monthly chart or short term trader watching 15 min to 1 hour chart it is the same except the reaction have to be much quicker in 15 min chart.

prior entry you can choose what to buy at what price level and how much to buy. and after entered the trade you only have 2 choice where to take profit and cut your losses it is all about emotion and psychology. if you dont have that sorted out dont take it.

QUOTE FROM SOROS;
IT'S NOT WHETHER YOU ARE RIGHT OR WRONG, BUT HOW MUCH YOU MAKE WHEN YOU'RE RIGHT AND HOW MUCH YOU LOSE WHEN YOU'RE WRONG.

This post has been edited by normanTE: May 7 2019, 04:32 PM
prophetjul
post May 7 2019, 03:05 PM

12,269 posts

Lost 230k investing in precious metals stocks.

However, that was after I made 1.8mil in them same stocks.

Lesson learnt: nothing goes up forever! smile.gif

Anyone here got burnt by Genneva gold??? wink.gif
TSfairylord
post May 7 2019, 06:40 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

Thank you for all not hesitate to share the experience. It's really seldom reading about the adverse side of investment as none would like to share the failure.

So far, have not seen any unker aunty share about the 2008 and earlier recession, how to live over the doom days. May be we all here are majority investor (or new) of youngster generation which yet to experience those suffering moment from financial and investment perspective.

Always we heard some sifu suggest to average down and when you believe continue to hold, or save warchest and get ready to hoot during/after recession. I just don't understand how to hold up my believe when the price arrow are shooting down in a graph and my heart is keep pumping the blood all over the body while we unable to identify where is the bottom and start bounce back.

Are you able to hold?
Are you dare to hoot?

This post has been edited by fairylord: May 7 2019, 06:41 PM
Ramjade
post May 7 2019, 07:35 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ May 7 2019, 06:40 PM)
Thank you for all not hesitate to share the experience. It's really seldom reading about the adverse side of investment as none would like to share the failure.

So far, have not seen any unker aunty share about the 2008 and earlier recession, how to live over the doom days. May be we all here are majority investor (or new) of youngster generation which yet to experience those suffering moment from financial and investment perspective.

Always we heard some sifu suggest to average down and when you believe continue to hold, or save warchest and get ready to hoot during/after recession. I just don't understand how to hold up my believe when the price arrow are shooting down in a graph and my heart is keep pumping the blood all over the body while we unable to identify where is the bottom and start bounce back.

Are you able to hold?
Are you dare to hoot?
How to know what to hold? Hold cash rich companies, companies which people still need to use during bad times or good unit trust.

Yes no problem holding.
Yes no problem hooting also as evidence in Dec 2018. When price of a stock drop by almost 30%* take a chance and hoot.
Not seating on 10%p.a dividend

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 7 2019, 07:37 PM
ytan053
post May 7 2019, 08:34 PM

565 posts

Are you able to hold?
Are you dare to hoot?
The reason why investor can decide on the above questions is because they don't have strategy and plan.

The fundamental of the investment is very important. First criteria is u must satisfy yourself whether ur selection of your investment is a good and resilient one. Once u satisfy yourself with that, then it is very easy to decide. When the price is low, u keep entering to average down. U will not be able to identify the bottom but if u have a plan (like down by x% or x amount then u enter). Without a plan, u wont know when to enter.

This is why many investor exit the market last year and those who stay invested or even top up during down period get to reap off the benefits when it rebounded.

Back in 2008 when the market was bad, auntie A invest more when the investment is losing money. When comes to 2009, uncle B enjoys a 60% rebound but auntie A who invests more when the market was low enjoy 80% rebound. In this case, both auntie A and uncle B invest into the same investment, which is good and resilient, just that A top up when it's low and B didnt top up.

Not saying that history will repeat but if u know your investment well, have a plan / strategy, then u will succeed more than those investors who doesn't have the knowledge.

Also, those "sifu" is partially right bout average but this is half the story. Did they tell u the other half of the story is to satisfy yourself with a solid and resilient investment? If one keep average down a lousy investment, then this person is losing more money even more especially when the investment doesn't rebound or stay negative for the next 10 years or more.
edyek
post May 7 2019, 08:41 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

Are you able to hold?
Are you dare to hoot?
You see from the stock/shares part of view. There are other types of investment which if hoot correctly and hold, have low risk (if you know your investment well).

Of course, common scenario almost if not all investor will lose or make wrong decision throughout the journey, but if one has the proper knowledge, the wins are always more than the lose and the lose generally is insignificant amount if compare to the wins.

So if one made a good choice at the present time, but suffer loses in the future due to circumstances say market downturn, rather than term it is as "burnt", we would say its a loss of money in investment.

If use the term "burnt" meaning one have no proper knowledge and sebarang hentam making poor choices and occur losses. Hence the term burnt.

Siu dai talk kok only. sweat.gif
SUSlowya
post May 7 2019, 08:52 PM

4,821 posts

just remember this: when you -50%, you need +100% to make it back to where you came from, and it's almost impossible given that if you cannot make positive investment.

This maths is hard coded to make people lose in investment especially without first understanding risk of ruin.

If you don't know this, you will probably tinkle with martingale and end up ruining your portfolio.

x% traders will lose x% of their portfolio in x days. You tell me what is x=?
roarus
post May 7 2019, 10:30 PM

1,042 posts

1. Bank Foreign FD: bought when GBP tanked around 2008, huge chunk of profit eaten by massive bank FX spread
2. Bank Gold Account - went practically nowhere in 6 years, CAGR prolly around ~2%
3. Crappy endowment plans - PruCash, HLA Evergreen - more than halfway through/completed, will just put leave them in the naughty corner of my portfolio
4. Heng Yuan share - learnt to treat i3 forum like kopitiam
5. 'Saving' more with ILP - have since tuned down premiums to levels enough to sustain policy

All in all, only no. 4 resulted in -ve realized returns. The rest being cost of opportunity.

This post has been edited by roarus: May 7 2019, 10:30 PM
Jordy
post May 8 2019, 12:10 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

Are you able to hold?
Are you dare to hoot?
Before I start, I would like to clarify that I am not yet an unker category, but I have lived through 2007-2008 subprime crisis (second crisis in my life).
Reason I did not share about the subprime crisis is because my losses were quite insignificant as compared to the loss I shared regarding MEGB. I had the first crisis in year 2006, just before the 2007 subprime meltdown hit.
So my capital wasn't a lot when it hits. I only started rebuilding back my warchest from 2008 onwards by hustling in between classes and then reinvested everything (hoot) back into stock market into 2009. That was my big break and I finally got to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I recovered when the market boomed into 2010, where I got the confidence and hoot into the wrong MEGB (which made me lose a hell lot of money I recovered).

The MEGB saga took me 3 years to get back on track and in 2013 I decided to put back everything to hoot the market again. Between 2013 and 2015, it was my hayday as I made a lot of money (and loss some).
For the past 20 years of my investing journey, I have lost and re-hoot the market over several times. Now I have learnt to hold on to my stocks, don't want to repeat the same mistake again of selling and realising the losses during a crisis.
kbandito
post May 8 2019, 12:23 PM

1,184 posts

Sold an ICO at 13x profits, then it went on to 100x. Opportunity cost of RM200,000 there.

Held another ICO up to 25x and didn't sell, now trading at cost price. Opportunity cost of RM80,000 there.
ShinG3e
post May 8 2019, 12:39 PM

o0o
1,552 posts

lost more than 10k because trusted my remisier to make the right speculative call

lesson learnt: DYOD

real55555
post May 8 2019, 12:44 PM

309 posts

Made some losses investing in stocks and lessons learnt. I think due to the following reasons:

1. 'Does not really understand' what and why I am actually buying. Some are from tips, analyst recommendations etc. They will only tell you when to buy, wont tell you when to exit.
2. Does not have the time to monitor closely, and also the knowledge to reach a decision. Some people will said everyday just spend a few minutes look at the price, but you also have to know what each price level means, otherwise it is just numbers to you.
3. Most important. Did not set exit target (take profit and cut loss). Ended up just buy and don't know when to sell.
4. Since doesn't have a clear objective, I guess it also doesn't help in mitigating the emotional up and down looking at the stock price movement. Ended up making decisions based on gut feelings.

So after these lessons, I realized I'm not suitable to invest in stock market. So I go for unit trusts, but i guess this one is a story for another day as this thread is about getting burnt in investment.
saintmikal
post May 8 2019, 08:31 PM

157 posts

Goldquest from Hong Kong.

Younger years, plain stupidity.
z21j
post May 8 2019, 11:30 PM

1,307 posts

Invested in an offshore registered company for 5k, but got return 300k in a month. Instead of sending money back but i decided to let go. Dont understand why the gain in such a short period scare of dirty money. Dont know whether im stupid or what but probably im fated to be a failed investor who has small risk appetite
SUSyklooi
post May 8 2019, 11:40 PM

8,188 posts

Amithabha........Om, Om, Om.
console.gif

normanTE
post May 9 2019, 08:44 AM

259 posts

Are you able to hold?
Are you dare to hoot?
I wont call my self a sifu. in life if you are looking hard enough youwill get the answers. judging from this you are from investing perspective (fundemental is very important)
if you are certain the business that you holding is fundementally strong you should continue to hold.
what is the criteria of good business ? you must understand just like any profession it take many year to specialise in their craft. heard of law of 10,000 hours.

to cut the granny story short. here is the lead
consistent earning and sales growth and low debt with lot of cash in hand which mean they have some forms of moat.
Current ratio excced 1.5 and Debt /equitty ratio of <0.5
sales and general administartion exceed of 30% of gross profit margin is a no no meaning management taking too much in bonus or salary
what is the outstanding shares look like? are they printing more shares or share buy back. (usually not happen with malaysia stock)
(again if you are investing this is also a probablity strategy it doesnt mean it work all the time it also depend on economic environment if us going war with china those probability most like wont work, like winter your crops just dont grow)

investing you need a one great deal of ingredient that is PAtiently waiting for the right price.
like mr buffet once said like a punch card. if you can only punch 20 time in your lifetime you will think very hard each time before you make those punches and infact you dont need 20 punch to get rich. probably 3-4 punch you will be in a comfort zone.

good luck.
David_77
post May 9 2019, 08:45 AM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ May 8 2019, 11:30 PM)
Invested in an offshore registered company for 5k, but got return 300k in a month. Instead of sending money back but i decided to let go. Dont understand why the gain in such a short period scare of dirty money. Dont know whether im stupid or what but probably im fated to be a failed investor who has small risk appetite
I think you are wise cos might be a case where they are using your bank account for money laundering.
normanTE
post May 9 2019, 09:00 AM

259 posts

Everyone fall but what did you learn from the fall that is more important and look at the ray dalio principle.
solstice818
post May 9 2019, 10:15 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ May 6 2019, 06:08 PM)
THIS is so true.

I suffer form this as well, fast to book the (tiny) profit, but when lost too stubborn to cut.

Now the hole very deep... cannot even cut  cry.gif  cry.gif
The biggest lesson I have learnt from investing is know when to cut the losses. Always save your bullet for another day.

This post has been edited by solstice818: May 9 2019, 10:18 AM
junclj
post May 9 2019, 11:27 AM

2,348 posts

My money was burnt in buying shares. The current situation in bursa Malaysia is not recommended to buy shares now. I was lost 30~40% from my total investment in market shares. Now what only I can do is hold for it up to 20~30 years.

Fortunately, I am still young. I can save money to invest in others safer investment such like asb and asb2. My trading account now left untouched, the money is still there. I'm still holding some shares of 3 companies but all 3 shares are losing money. So I not really care about it, although I'm losing 5 digits amount. Few years ago, I was starting to build up another investment in ASB and ASB2. So hopefully I will save up more money in the next few years. My target is 6 digits in next 10 years and 7 digits in next 30 years.

This post has been edited by junclj: May 9 2019, 11:44 AM
icemanfx
post May 9 2019, 12:06 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ May 8 2019, 12:39 PM)
lost more than 10k because trusted my remisier to make the right speculative call

lesson learnt: DYOD
QUOTE(real55555 @ May 8 2019, 12:44 PM)
Made some losses investing in stocks and lessons learnt. I think due to the following reasons:

1. 'Does not really understand' what and why I am actually buying. Some are from tips, analyst recommendations etc. They will only tell you when to buy, wont tell you when to exit.
2. Does not have the time to monitor closely, and also the knowledge to reach a decision. Some people will said everyday just spend a few minutes look at the price, but you also have to know what each price level means, otherwise it is just numbers to you.
3. Most important. Did not set exit target (take profit and cut loss). Ended up just buy and don't know when to sell.
4. Since doesn't have a clear objective, I guess it also doesn't help in mitigating the emotional up and down looking at the stock price movement. Ended up making decisions based on gut feelings.
So after these lessons, I realized I'm not suitable to invest in stock market. So I go for unit trusts, but i guess this one is a story for another day as this thread is about getting burnt in investment.
QUOTE(junclj @ May 9 2019, 11:27 AM)
My money was burnt in buying shares. The current situation in bursa Malaysia is not recommended to buy shares now. I was lost 30~40% from my total investment in market shares. Now what only I can do is hold for it up to 20~30 years.

Fortunately, I am still young. I can save money to invest in others safer investment such like asb and asb2. My trading account now left untouched, the money is still there. I'm still holding some shares of 3 companies but all 3 shares are losing money. So I not really care about it, although I'm losing 5 digits amount. Few years ago, I was starting to build up another investment in ASB and ASB2. So hopefully I will save up more money in the next few years. My target is 6 digits in next 10 years and 7 digits in next 30 years.
For years, bursa is known as a crocodile pond and yet many still attempt to profit from it.

ShinG3e
post May 9 2019, 12:25 PM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 9 2019, 12:06 PM)
For years, bursa is known as a crocodile pond and yet many still attempt to profit from it.
migrate to SGX liao. brows.gif more choices and transparency. brows.gif
PrincZe
post May 9 2019, 01:33 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ May 9 2019, 12:25 PM)
migrate to SGX liao.  brows.gif more choices and transparency. brows.gif
boss shing3e, does this mean sgx got better returns/ rates as well?
ShinG3e
post May 9 2019, 01:37 PM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ May 9 2019, 01:33 PM)
boss shing3e, does this mean sgx got better returns/ rates as well?
oooooohhhh wait i didn't say that. innocent.gif

there are better returns/rates elsewhere around the world or even in msia but there are some solid factors that makes me consider SGX such as

1. government regulator and authorities credibility like MAS
2. choices of company in SGX, more diversified and covers alot asia pacific, some europe, some US...
3. the forecast of MYR/SGD appreciating
4. etc...

many more. can compare and see see if you like whichever suits your investment appetite.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post May 9 2019, 02:38 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

Up to date.

Tio burn around 6k.

Most from UT.

Lesson learned is that. Anything that move daily. Don't ever lumpsum. And don't be easily emotional breakdown.

Really grateful that I still hold to my principal that don't know anything then don't invest in that. If not I will tio burn more bad in crypto, shares.

UT tio burn because no study about it. Don't know deep just dive in it. Now invest according to region etc etc. More systematic.

I myself quite conservative. At least 60% in ASNB FP. That really save me a lot.
alexkos
post May 9 2019, 05:21 PM

2,275 posts

I huat 140% then crash 25% super painful, now only play indexing...

Never burn, never know your limit hehe...
alexkos
post May 9 2019, 05:24 PM

2,275 posts

Lesson learned

1. Markiel fooled by randomness
2. Bogleheads indexing
3. Efficient market hypothesis masuk tong sampah.

Why? Coz when crash, your ahpa ahma also can't recognize you. No need talk growth value momentum investing, TA, bla bla bla.

Worst if you signed up for margin.
alexkos
post May 9 2019, 05:25 PM

2,275 posts

Advertisement time

In times of market volatility, pls consider indexing as one of the way to preserve your wealth. Click on my signature for redirect. Sekian.
alexkos
post May 9 2019, 05:26 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ May 7 2019, 08:52 PM)
just remember this:  when you -50%, you need +100% to make it back to where you came from, and it's almost impossible given that if you cannot make positive investment.

This maths is hard coded to make people lose in investment especially without first understanding risk of ruin.

If you don't know this, you will probably tinkle with martingale and end up ruining your portfolio.

x% traders will lose x% of their portfolio in x days. You tell me what is x=?

alexkos
post May 9 2019, 05:29 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 6 2019, 11:42 AM)
1. Be unemotional - use pre-planned If-Then-Else (eg. portfolio rebalancing IF.., IF x falls 20% or more.., IF..), numbers/knowned,
NOT based on feel/crystal balls
Do NOT "plan fire escape during fire". That's where fear & greed jumps on me.

2. All financial plans are useless - it's the planning that is useful.
ie. the logic/reasons/whys. Thus, one can always tweak when things happens or goals moved/changed

3. All financial goals are really life goals.
If i dont have a burning reason WHY i NEED to reach the goals... then.. meh.. i won't carry through
Ah wong, can we be unemotional? Kahneman say cannot. Thaler juga.
alexkos
post May 9 2019, 05:31 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 6 2019, 06:03 PM)
You are right, and my mistake should serve as a lesson to all other young investors alike.
Well I was young and naive back then with nobody to caution me on such stuffs, I had to learn everything the hard way.
But being burnt is one sure way to keep improving yourself.
Yes... Averaging down is painful to watch in hindsight....

We human got overconfidence issue... Janji proven correct by keeping our hopes on falling stocks sad.gif
alexkos
post May 9 2019, 05:34 PM

2,275 posts

The aunty uncle keep told me if they only bought public bank in 1997....but got another bank bankrupt that time... What name d?
flight
post May 9 2019, 05:59 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 9 2019, 08:45 AM)
I think you are wise cos might be a case where they are using your bank account for money laundering.
5k to rm300k. I dont know what it is, but i dont think its money laundering.

Anyway, from my expe4ience. I averaged down into a company with a strong track record. 15 years profit, revenue and equity from 20% cagr every single year. They invested into the wrong sector and took a major hit. I thought they would rebound in 1 or 2 years. It took 3 years and even today they r still working through their issues.

I lost 6 figures at the low. However if i had held it to the rebound i would have made double or triple my money. I was in the red for years. I learned many many lessons. Not just financial lessons.

For me it wasnt any one lesson, i just improved my investing acumen. I made back all my money and quadrupled the original sum.
David_77
post May 9 2019, 06:02 PM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(flight @ May 9 2019, 05:59 PM)
5k to rm300k. I dont know what it is, but i dont think its money laundering.

Anyway, from my expe4ience. I averaged down into a company with a strong track record. 15 years profit, revenue and equity from 20% cagr every single year. They invested into the wrong sector and took a major hit. I thought they would rebound in 1 or 2 years. It took 3 years and even today they r still working through their issues.

I lost 6 figures at the low. However if i had held it to the rebound i would have made double or triple my money. I was in the red for years. I learned many many lessons. Not just financial lessons.

For me it wasnt any one lesson, i just improved my investing acumen. I made back all my money and quadrupled the original sum.
It’s a public listed company? No clear but you said you recover your principal righty? Even though the company is still working out their issue.

Zhik
post May 9 2019, 06:02 PM

eeerrrmmmnnn, stupidity has no limit?
1,226 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ May 5 2019, 10:24 PM)
I kena burn bad investment mostly in share. Wiped out 80 percent of my savings.....I feel very down for months .....but took it in my stride and pick my self up instead of 14th floor. 80 percent of saving was after 14 years of slogging

Oh well..now I recover and am more contented and do my homework and get wisdom before venture out again. So far just  small small investment here and there
Bro, hownis ur skill now?
In forex or local market?
David_77
post May 9 2019, 06:03 PM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 9 2019, 05:34 PM)
The aunty uncle keep told me if they only bought public bank in 1997....but got another bank bankrupt that time... What name d?
MBF finance or something?
flight
post May 9 2019, 06:09 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 9 2019, 06:02 PM)
It’s a public listed company? No clear but you said you recover your principal righty? Even though the company is still working out their issue.
Notion vtec. Started buying at 70+ cents. Avged down until 45 cents, avg price about 50 to 60 cents Bought millions of warrants. My name was in the top 3 holders of warrants in dunno which year. 18 cents avg price. Sold out at around 6 cents. In total lost about 50% of my port. I sold it 3 months before the warrants went up five fold and the mothershare went up to rm1.3. After holding it for 3 years. I bought another company that went up almost 10x. Made back all my money.

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 9 2019, 06:03 PM)
Those talking about public bank in 1997. Today there r similar banks trading at what public bank was trading at 20 years ago. They r in greece. The whole greek banking syatem market cap is less than hong leong bank.
alexkos
post May 9 2019, 06:12 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 9 2019, 06:03 PM)
Hehe... If buy mbf.. Kaput 100%
David_77
post May 9 2019, 06:33 PM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(flight @ May 9 2019, 06:09 PM)
Notion vtec. Started buying at 70+ cents. Avged down until 45 cents, avg price about 50 to 60 cents Bought millions of warrants. My name was in the top 3 holders of warrants in dunno which year. 18 cents avg price. Sold out at around 6 cents. In total lost about 50% of my port. I sold it 3 months before the warrants went up five fold and the mothershare went up to rm1.3. After holding it for 3 years. I bought another company that went up almost 10x. Made back all my money.
Cool! Regardless from which counter, the most important is you got back your capital and more 👍
David_77
post May 9 2019, 06:33 PM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 9 2019, 06:12 PM)
Hehe... If buy mbf.. Kaput 100%
Those were bad time for lots of uncles and aunties.
icemanfx
post May 10 2019, 01:29 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 9 2019, 06:33 PM)
Those were bad time for lots of uncles and aunties.
What is your burnt story? Property investment?
David_77
post May 10 2019, 07:56 AM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 10 2019, 01:29 AM)
What is your burnt story? Property investment?
You know, money game/fx/options scammers like an Aunty banyak jahat hati.

She derives pleasure from others’s pains. Worst, she thinks of how to scam them. Really bad this Aunty.
icemanfx
post May 10 2019, 08:13 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 10 2019, 07:56 AM)
You know, money game/fx/options scammers like an Aunty banyak jahat hati.

She derives pleasure from others’s pains. Worst, she thinks of how to scam them. Really bad this Aunty.
BBB/uuu mentality is like mlm guru, tell glory story, pretend to be successful to attract novice to enter the market to buy overpriced property. It is no wonder karma is back to bite BBB/uuu.
David_77
post May 10 2019, 08:26 AM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 10 2019, 08:13 AM)
BBB/uuu mentality is like mlm guru, tell glory story, pretend to be successful to attract novice to enter the market to buy overpriced property. It is no wonder karma is back to bite BBB/uuu.
You know, I like to tell a little bit of story. Now, mind you, it’s from research mainly, also a bit experience lah.

One aunty, behaving like chicken little, kept crying ‘the sky is falling, the sky is falling’

Then one day, to everyone’s surprise, she managed to convince herself of her lies, so sell cepat-cepat.

For the next few years, prices kept going up, meletup lagi for some years and now plateau. She gets desperate, kicked herself for missing out on the increase. But salut to her, she keeps on ‘the sky is falling, the sky is faling’

So she came up with a plan. Why not scam people? Since people are greedy, let promote money game/fx/options. Let’s transfer those money to her pocket.

Tada! She has two weapons now... ‘the sky is falling’ and money game.

You’ll see her lurking around the forum. So don’t be alarm.

Sekian terima kasih.
icemanfx
post May 10 2019, 08:30 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 10 2019, 08:26 AM)
You know, I like to tell a little bit of story. Now, mind you, it’s from research mainly, also a bit experience lah.

One aunty, behaving like chicken little, kept crying ‘the sky is falling, the sky is falling’

Then one day, to everyone’s surprise, she managed to convince herself of her lies, so sell cepat-cepat.

For the next few years, prices kept going up, meletup lagi for some years and now plateau. She gets desperate, kicked herself for missing out on the increase. But salut to her, she keeps on ‘the sky is falling, the sky is faling’ 

So she came up with a plan. Why not scam people? Since people are greedy, let promote money game/fx/options. Let’s transfer those money to her pocket.

Sekian terima kasih.
To BBB/uuu, property overhang is fake news. In denial, hope to attract novice to buy overpriced property.

David_77
post May 10 2019, 08:35 AM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 10 2019, 08:30 AM)
To BBB/uuu, property overhang is fake news. In denial, hope to attract novice to buy overpriced property.
I don’t know lah. Someoneof your intellects (I think) would think that Aunty is pretty stupid, no because she sold off early but beating her self over it.

Also evil to try and promote scam like money game or leverage investment like options. 🤷‍♂️

bourse
post May 10 2019, 09:02 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 6 2019, 12:01 AM)
- learnt that not wise to buy gold and silver from banks as spread too large.

-learnt that banks always win in terms of exchange rate.

- learnt that best to keep cost low, avoid agents. 5% commision cut is hefty.
- feel the same here. hard to earn.

-initially wanted to open forex account and lastly tak jadi.

- invest in UT, just losing the opportunity cost after 5 years of keeping it. Even no gain no loss, i still feel like better put into FD.
icemanfx
post May 10 2019, 09:17 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 10 2019, 08:35 AM)
I don’t know lah. Someoneof your intellects (I think) would think that Aunty is pretty stupid, no because she sold off early but beating her self over it.

Also evil to try and promote scam like money game or leverage investment like options. 🤷‍♂️
Smartest investors could always time the market and sell at the highest price.
aspartame
post May 10 2019, 09:18 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 10 2019, 08:26 AM)

Sekian terima kasih.
Lol.. u just summed up auntie’s modus operandi...I say now auntie has propephobia...
David_77
post May 10 2019, 09:41 AM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 10 2019, 09:17 AM)
Smartest investors could always time the market and sell at the highest price.
con-woman always says "there are better investment" "hint-hint, i have the secrect".

money game/fx/options like that aunty also smart. evil but smart. oh, she starting to use religion to back her claim too.
David_77
post May 10 2019, 09:46 AM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ May 10 2019, 09:18 AM)
Lol.. u just summed up auntie’s modus operandi...I say now auntie has propephobia...
lol! that aunty, million million posts, sama sama stuff. bitter cos missed out on the home run, bitter cos find herself stupid to sell early. evil cos promote money game/fx/options through leverage.

but i no say it's our aunty hor. it's for those terasa.
icemanfx
post May 10 2019, 10:16 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ May 10 2019, 09:18 AM)
many die hard/obsessesed property investors are addicted to high leverage like compulsive gambler without realizing it.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 10 2019, 10:29 AM
[Ancient]-XinG-
post May 10 2019, 10:20 AM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 10 2019, 09:46 AM)
lol! that aunty, million million posts, sama sama stuff. bitter cos missed out on the home run, bitter cos find herself stupid to sell early. evil cos promote money game/fx/options through leverage.

Damn I been here quite sometime yet I still don't k ow who is this lol
TSfairylord
post May 10 2019, 07:06 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 9 2019, 05:24 PM)
Lesson learned

2.  Bogleheads indexing

Why? Coz when crash, your ahpa ahma also can't recognize you. No need talk growth value momentum investing, TA, bla bla bla.

Your word of "Bogleheads" led me to this thread opening.

Bro, anyone else.. If you wish to read more about failure in investment :
https://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=25126

alexkos
post May 10 2019, 08:20 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ May 10 2019, 07:06 PM)
Your word of "Bogleheads" led me to this thread opening.

Bro, anyone else.. If you wish to read more about failure in investment :
https://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=25126
Hehe... Malaysian dunno bogel head yet... Wait botak and lost all money only wake up =P
flight
post May 10 2019, 09:12 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 10 2019, 09:46 AM)

I terasa ok. Do not do not listen to the ppl spreading negative news. I am getting hated by ppl i do not even know because these evil ppl r going around manipulating the gullible
David_77
post May 10 2019, 10:28 PM

2,396 posts

QUOTE(flight @ May 10 2019, 09:12 PM)
I terasa ok. Do not do not listen to the ppl spreading negative news. I am getting hated by ppl i do not even know because these evil ppl r going around manipulating the gullible
Ok ok. You terasa. No kiatan to me. If in your real life people hate you because of rumour, maybe good to do self reflecting lah.

Online ini open forum, k? 😉
flight
post May 11 2019, 04:46 AM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 10 2019, 10:28 PM)
Ok ok. You terasa. No kiatan to me. If in your real life people hate you because of rumour, maybe good to do self reflecting lah.

Online ini open forum, k? 😉
Kena sabo until everything also gone. How to self reflect. Dont get scammed by these ppl.

This post has been edited by flight: May 11 2019, 04:50 AM
icemanfx
post May 11 2019, 12:15 PM

21,456 posts

Those with inferiority complex tend to names calling, personal attack instead on subject.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 11 2019, 12:52 PM
xcxa23
post May 11 2019, 01:31 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 9 2019, 05:24 PM)
Lesson learned

2.  Bogleheads indexing

Mind sharing more details?

Came across some video, articles saying if only they bought the index or funds after the financial or subprime crisis. Look for long term like 20 to 30 years.. value up by few hundred %. Then show chart of period from 19xx to 2016.. which is indeed uptrending graph.

What it's like during those crisis in Malaysia? Most YouTube video or article only talks about the US and world generally..

This post has been edited by xcxa23: May 11 2019, 01:32 PM
VyvernS
post May 11 2019, 02:42 PM

~Keep Your Eyes on the Monitor~
1,954 posts

Anyone kena burnt in investment?, Experience and your lesson learnt (Investment)..

Plenty....Malaysian stocks (I think it was a stock begin with R that cost me a lot, I bought on margin in that one, lost about 2k back then which was about 1/5 of my portfolio)..one of them, WCT, Zelan, Cocoland...

US Stocks - Chimera Investment (-USD1800), BP (bought as a good investment but it tanked after Deepwater Horizon), and used to be Starbucks (I bought it a 2nd time after a loss on the 1st, and it has netted me well)....

I guess it made me wiser not to buy on rumours and sell on news...A bit more cautious in buying stocks, setting a plan for my trading style (either hold or sell at x% profit), stick to the plan, not let emotions run the show, look for solid stocks to hold, etc.

Since then I have had my fair share of losers, but more winners. You can't win them all, but you try to shoot for as many winners as possible. A lot of it for me goes into studying the P&L, Balance Sheets, Review company, etc.

Even after that I still won't hit winners all the time, some are losers but you won't lose big if there are solid fundamentals with the company - timing might just be out (i.e. free hand tweet from POTUS at odd hours) or market sentiment turned against the industry...

Someone mentioned (I think Jordy) said average down. I used to do that until I read another book that said you should average up, not down (William J. O'Neil - How to Make Money in Stocks). But read it for yourself to understand the context. Today, looking back, I can't fathom why I averaged down.
ChAOoz
post May 11 2019, 02:56 PM

3,500 posts

Bought into agriculture commodity etf thinking rapid population growth + frequent natural disaster and climate change will push prices up due to supply < demand in the long run.

Human capabilty proved my predicition wrong as technology and science increase yield so much that they consistently outpaced demand and the population insatiable hunger.

But im still holding it, maybe one day thanos predicition is right. Over population will happen.
VyvernS
post May 11 2019, 03:05 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ May 11 2019, 01:31 PM)
Mind sharing more details?

Came across some video, articles saying if only they bought the index or funds after the financial or subprime crisis. Look for long term like 20 to 30 years.. value up by few hundred %. Then show chart of period from 19xx to 2016.. which is indeed uptrending graph.

What it's like during those crisis in Malaysia? Most YouTube video or article only talks about the US and world generally..
If you meant the 2008 crisis, it was a scary roller coaster ride. I remembered the biggest fall in the KLSE and it came the day after everyone returned from Deepavali holidays. A few days early DJIA had just slumped. So we had Deepavali to enjoy and prepare for the bloodshed that came next. But once that was over, and if you had cash leftover, it was a buying spree.

And if you bought right and traded smart, you would have made a bunch of cash...The risk was the market would tank, but once it went up, and investor confidence grew, it was time to buy.

Public Bank was RM8 or something....That was the 1st stock I bought after the crash...and still hold. I don't think I can get that price again.
And there were a few times I went in for like 200,000 of a RM0.20 company and only to sell it at RM0.22, netting RM4,000 in a trade. Do this a few times over a few companies and then you get the stock market to pay for your honeymoon, house renovation and much more...

Oh...And I joined LowYat Forum in May 2008
xcxa23
post May 11 2019, 05:02 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(VyvernS @ May 11 2019, 03:05 PM)
If you meant the 2008 crisis, it was a scary roller coaster ride. I remembered the biggest fall in the KLSE and it came the day after everyone returned from Deepavali holidays. A few days early DJIA had just slumped. So we had Deepavali to enjoy and prepare for the bloodshed that came next. But once that was over, and if you had cash leftover, it was a buying spree.

And if you bought right and traded smart, you would have made a bunch of cash...The risk was the market would tank, but once it went up, and investor confidence grew, it was time to buy.

Public Bank was RM8 or something....That was the 1st stock I bought after the crash...and still hold. I don't think I can get that price again.
And there were a few times I went in for like 200,000 of a RM0.20 company and only to sell it at RM0.22, netting RM4,000 in a trade. Do this a few times over a few companies and then you get the stock market to pay for your honeymoon, house renovation and much more...
yes and for every crisis happened, especially in asia and how malaysia market reacted.
thanks for your input.. i am still studying that time and had absolutely no interest in finance.

only started interested and investing during 2010.. blush.gif

do you still remember which company, survive the 2008 crisis and still doing well in brusa
i do heard alot ppl, aunty uncle, say if only that time buy bank share.. wondering which section able to tank the market.

haha.. i jz manage to profit 6k+ from construction share..

damn.. heart of steel.. 2008 was second crisis?
manage to earn from recent trade war?
icemanfx
post May 11 2019, 05:22 PM

21,456 posts

David_77
SUSMNet
post May 11 2019, 09:50 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ May 11 2019, 02:56 PM)
Bought into agriculture commodity etf thinking rapid population growth + frequent natural disaster and climate change will push prices up due to supply < demand in the long run.

Human capabilty proved my predicition wrong as technology and science increase yield so much that they consistently outpaced demand and the population insatiable hunger.

But im still holding it, maybe one day thanos predicition is right. Over population will happen.
May I know what ETF ?
perplexedstill
post May 12 2019, 12:56 PM

143 posts

Hi sifu, i would like to know how and where to buy stocks? Newbie here.
ChAOoz
post May 12 2019, 03:05 PM

3,500 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 11 2019, 09:50 PM)
May I know what ETF ?
Invesco DB Agriculture Fund. It just got hammered again by trade deals.

Jordy
post May 12 2019, 03:39 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(VyvernS @ May 11 2019, 02:42 PM)
Anyone kena burnt in investment?, Experience and your lesson learnt (Investment)..

Plenty....Malaysian stocks (I think it was a stock begin with R that cost me a lot, I bought on margin in that one, lost about 2k back then which was about 1/5 of my portfolio)..one of them, WCT, Zelan, Cocoland...

US Stocks - Chimera Investment (-USD1800), BP (bought as a good investment but it tanked after Deepwater Horizon), and used to be Starbucks (I bought it a 2nd time after a loss on the 1st, and it has netted me well)....

I guess it made me wiser not to buy on rumours and sell on news...A bit more cautious in buying stocks, setting a plan for my trading style (either hold or sell at x% profit), stick to the plan, not let emotions run the show, look for solid stocks to hold, etc.

Since then I have had my fair share of losers, but more winners. You can't win them all, but you try to shoot for as many winners as possible. A lot of it for me goes into studying the P&L, Balance Sheets, Review company, etc.

Even after that I still won't hit winners all the time, some are losers but you won't lose big if there are solid fundamentals with the company - timing might just be out (i.e. free hand tweet from POTUS at odd hours) or market sentiment turned against the industry...

Someone mentioned (I think Jordy) said average down. I used to do that until I read another book that said you should average up, not down (William J. O'Neil - How to Make Money in Stocks). But read it for yourself to understand the context. Today, looking back, I can't fathom why I averaged down.
If the company is doing well and generates good FCF year after year, but for some reason the price is decreasing, then it could be good to average down. Be mindful though of the valuation which you are buying into. You have to check if the share is indeed undervalued before you average down. It's a double-edged sword.
Government policy changes also will have a great effect on the related stocks. I was unlucky because I averaged down when PTPTN decided to trim down the margin of loan per student. That was a grave mistake.

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ May 11 2019, 05:02 PM)
yes and for every crisis happened, especially in asia and how malaysia market reacted.
thanks for your input.. i am still studying that time and had absolutely no interest in finance.

only started interested and investing during 2010..  blush.gif 

do you still remember which company, survive the 2008 crisis and still doing well in brusa
i do heard alot ppl, aunty uncle, say if only that time buy bank share.. wondering which section able to tank the market.

haha.. i jz manage to profit 6k+ from construction share..

damn.. heart of steel.. 2008 was second crisis?
manage to earn from recent trade war?
There are plenty of them. I did invest into Scientex, Axreit and Atrium after 2008 and was well rewarded. I did not hold on to Scientex and Axreit when they jumped between 800% and 200% from the price I sold respectively. That was also a mistake for me. They were doing SO well. And as with the case of Public Bank which VyvernS mentioned, jumped from RM8 to RM25-ish now.
cherroy
post May 12 2019, 03:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 12 2019, 03:39 PM)
If the company is doing well and generates good FCF year after year, but for some reason the price is decreasing, then it could be good to average down. Be mindful though of the valuation which you are buying into. You have to check if the share is indeed undervalued before you average down. It's a double-edged sword.
Government policy changes also will have a great effect on the related stocks. I was unlucky because I averaged down when PTPTN decided to trim down the margin of loan per student. That was a grave mistake.
There are plenty of them. I did invest into Scientex, Axreit and Atrium after 2008 and was well rewarded. I did not hold on to Scientex and Axreit when they jumped between 800% and 200% from the price I sold respectively. That was also a mistake for me. They were doing SO well. And as with the case of Public Bank which VyvernS mentioned, jumped from RM8 to RM25-ish now.
Just to add (not to disagree the use of FCF, in fact FCF is one of strong indicator how well the company is doing)

FCF is not foolproof figure to see whether it is worth to average down or not, especially those cash generated is not rewarding back to shareholders as dividend.
Also, billions of cash may be wiped out in single poor investment decision made by the company, or large capital outlay needed to replace the depreciation figure that resulted FCF every year one.

There are companies with strong FCF, even racking up billion of cash in coffer, but stingy to reward their shareholders, generally those stock share price won't be performing too well either.

There is one common feature on those stock that so called rewarding over the long term -> Strong FCF that translated into generous dividend to shareholders.

Jordy
post May 12 2019, 04:46 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 12 2019, 03:48 PM)
Just to add (not to disagree the use of FCF, in fact FCF is one of strong indicator how well the company is doing)

FCF is not foolproof figure to see whether it is worth to average down or not, especially those cash generated is not rewarding back to shareholders as dividend.
Also, billions of cash may be wiped out in single poor investment decision made by the company, or large capital outlay needed to replace the depreciation figure that resulted FCF every year one.

There are companies with strong FCF, even racking up billion of cash in coffer, but stingy to reward their shareholders, generally those stock share price won't be performing too well either.

There is one common feature on those stock that so called rewarding over the long term -> Strong FCF that translated into generous dividend to shareholders.
Yes, thank you Cherroy for adding that. I didn't mean to add so much detail into my previous post. There are just too many factors to be considered that if we mention all, it will definitely be as long as a blog post laugh.gif

But truth be told, dividend investing is one of the sure way to success in long term stock investing. Invested in the right companies at below their intrinsic value, you can just ride through thick and thin of the economy, unless of course like what Cherroy said if the company made a wrong investment decision, then the company will be in a difficult situation.
wenyao1121
post May 12 2019, 05:51 PM

44 posts

Kena burnt by Genting Malaysia while I thought all the bad news already factor in, who know the Genting really that sui, after 3 bad news came out, they kena one more.

Luckily now go up a bit.
xcxa23
post May 13 2019, 08:22 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 12 2019, 03:39 PM)
Why did not hold on? Exit strategy, target reach secure profit?
Hmm.. so indeed there company that may strive even tho crisis occur.. just we have to have sharp intuition and not blindly listen to so called buy buy buy low low low.

I was told, during crisis, most secure and confirm won't delisted is bank sector. Which I think is half true? BNM won't let bank run happen but as for delisted, I think bnm don't really care right?

May I know why you opt for the two stock not bank stock?
Boomwick
post May 13 2019, 11:49 AM

994 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ May 13 2019, 08:22 AM)
Hmm.. so indeed there company that may strive even tho crisis occur.. just we have to have sharp intuition and not blindly listen to so called buy buy buy low low low.

I was told, during crisis, most secure and confirm won't delisted is bank sector. Which I think is half true? BNM won't let bank run happen but as for delisted, I think bnm don't really care right?

Eon bank got delisted after merged with hlb.
Investor tat invested at rm8 got burned when take over proce rm 5+
cherroy
post May 13 2019, 03:53 PM

25,802 posts

Bank stock is not foolproof.

There were banks that facing severe problem during downturn due to increase of NLP, which needs to be bail out or seek for financial assistance that may dilute existing shareholder.
It may not be delisted easily, but it doesn't mean share price won't plunge.

Best eg. would be US famous bank C that before financial crisis, its share price was around USD50, now after the crisis with economy fully recover and even with DJ shooting all time high (with reverse split 10:1), now share price is around USD 68.
Normalise the reverse split mean before crisis USD 500 --> USD68 now.

privatequity
post May 13 2019, 04:09 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 13 2019, 03:53 PM)
Bank stock is not foolproof.

There were banks that facing severe problem during downturn due to increase of NLP, which needs to be bail out or seek for financial assistance that may dilute existing shareholder.
It may not be delisted easily, but it doesn't mean share price won't plunge.

Best eg. would be US famous bank C that before financial crisis, its share price was around USD50, now after the crisis with economy fully recover and even with DJ shooting all time high (with reverse split 10:1), now share price is around USD 68.
Normalise the reverse split mean before crisis USD 500 --> USD68 now.
Hi cherroy, may I have your opinion for the following:-

I've some capital, say RM500K which is allocated for fixed deposit/saving. I'm currently putting them in my Maybank Private Banking a/c with annual interest of 2.3% (most updated one), computed on a daily basis. The another option would be putting them in FD, for 1-month tenure, FD rate about 2.95% in Maybank. However, I will use the funds to apply for IPO (new shares) whenever there's. Keeping them in private banking a/c allowing me to enjoy the daily interest without any tenure like the FD. If I were to put them in FD, I might need to withdraw to apply for the IPO, before the FD matures (interest will be forfeited).

And I was also thinking, since I've allocate this portion as my saving/FD, should I just keep them in FD and keep them untouched? As I've already allocated a portion to equities (in my brokerage a/c).

Appreciate your views! Thanks!
cherroy
post May 13 2019, 04:19 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ May 13 2019, 04:09 PM)

I've some capital, say RM500K which is allocated for fixed deposit/saving. I'm currently putting them in my Maybank Private Banking a/c with annual interest of 2.3% (most updated one), computed on a daily basis. The another option would be putting them in FD, for 1-month tenure, FD rate about 2.95% in Maybank. However, I will use the funds to apply for IPO (new shares) whenever there's. Keeping them in private banking a/c allowing me to enjoy the daily interest without any tenure like the FD. If I were to put them in FD, I might need to withdraw to apply for the IPO, before the FD matures (interest will be forfeited).

And I was also thinking, since I've allocate this portion as my saving/FD, should I just keep them in FD and keep them untouched? As I've already allocated a portion to equities (in my brokerage a/c).

I don't think above query has any to do with the topic.

Anyway, just OT a bit, it depends on one's financial management preference, and there are plenty of option/ways eg.
1. Split FD into various trench, that ensure every week you have FD matured to withdraw upon, aka you have a much loose liquidity.
2. There are some good high yield saving/current account in other bank, that may have good rate, we have a topic of it as well. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4439367
3. Money market instrument.

IPO is not everyday got one and there is published schedule as well. So one can actually plan ahead for the liquidity needed.
icemanfx
post May 13 2019, 04:46 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ May 13 2019, 04:09 PM)

If private bank client, there are some high yield bonds available.

Rm500k qualified for private bank?
silverviolet
post May 13 2019, 08:00 PM

181 posts

Sure a lot Kena burnt. .stocks down down down
VyvernS
post May 13 2019, 09:21 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(perplexedstill @ May 12 2019, 12:56 PM)
Hi sifu, i would like to know how and where to buy stocks? Newbie here.
No no...not sifu....Just a small fry trying to make some extra galleon smile.gif

I believe you have the same question in another thread and Jordy has answered.

I wish you good fortunes in the trades to come!
icemanfx
post May 14 2019, 12:07 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(silverviolet @ May 13 2019, 08:00 PM)
Opportunity favours the prepared mind.
Jordy
post May 14 2019, 11:42 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

I was almost broke at that time, having just lost everything I had in a failed business just prior to that. So I was basically living on a RM300 monthly allowance.
I had to keep an active trading routine to keep my portfolio growing. Sometimes I had to resort to day or contra trading. As I had very small capital at that time, I didn't have the kind of holding power which I had now.

I opted for the 2 stocks (and a few others) based on fundamental, they had all the right numbers with steady growth, so they hit all my indicators. That was why I boarded them at the low, only to miss the sail few years down the road.
So now another lesson learnt, is to keep fundamentally strong stocks (if one has the holding power to do so). One day it will eventually fly.
foofoosasa
post May 14 2019, 04:10 PM

3,482 posts

Here are some of my sharing

1) Invested around 20k AUD 11 years ago in one small cap IT company listed on ASX. Done all the TA & FA and whatever analyst. Lose 90% of my capital. That amount of money is big for me 11 years ago.
Lesson learnt : never invest big especially in small cap. Only Trade them. Somemore stubborn don't want to cut lose but luckily I didn't average down.

2) Invested in Sapura energy I guess 3 years back. Estimated Lost around RM40k
but this time I smarter, I cut loss when down almost 30% from my purchase price.

Lesson Learnt : don't try to pick the bottom without doing sufficient homework.

3) Venture with friend for Bird Nest Farm 4 years back. Estimated lost RM 30k.
Lesson Learnt : learnt this lesson how screen through bullshit people that only know talk but no action. P
sl3ge
post May 15 2019, 03:24 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ May 7 2019, 10:30 PM)
1. Bank Foreign FD: bought when GBP tanked around 2008, huge chunk of profit eaten by massive bank FX spread
2. Bank Gold Account - went practically nowhere in 6 years, CAGR prolly around ~2%
3. Crappy endowment plans - PruCash, HLA Evergreen - more than halfway through/completed, will just put leave them in the naughty corner of my portfolio
4. Heng Yuan share - learnt to treat i3 forum like kopitiam
5. 'Saving' more with ILP - have since tuned down premiums to levels enough to sustain policy

All in all, only no. 4 resulted in -ve realized returns. The rest being cost of opportunity.
for me i3 forum comment is like s**t
dont ever go there
it will confuse ur mind
Ramjade
post May 15 2019, 03:39 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(silverviolet @ May 13 2019, 08:00 PM)
Depends on how you look it. This recent fall is neglible. Not even double digit drop.
heavensea
post May 16 2019, 01:37 AM

9,616 posts

1) Don't invest like you're gambling.

2) You win, you win. You lose, you lose. Don't be greedy for lambo dream, also don't be stubborn and never cut lost until under wear gone.

3) 1/10 total wealth allocated in high risk "stuff", but make sure you at least understand how it's basically works.

We all are trader in this world, we trade our times, health to work and get paid.
Well, after all money is just a figure.

So do no trade everything for it, doesn't worth. At all

This post has been edited by heavensea: May 16 2019, 01:39 AM
Boomwick
post May 16 2019, 09:57 AM

994 posts

Anyone kena burn with bond investment ?
Want to listen bond investment story..

Havoc Knightmare
post May 16 2019, 05:39 PM

Invictus
1,205 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ May 16 2019, 09:57 AM)
There hasn't been a default in the Malaysian bond market in many years.. you'll be more likely to find them in Singapore. The most recent one being Hyflux, and there are plenty of disgruntled investors there.
Krv23490
post May 16 2019, 06:10 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ May 16 2019, 09:57 AM)
QUOTE(Havoc Knightmare @ May 16 2019, 05:39 PM)
There hasn't been a default in the Malaysian bond market in many years.. you'll be more likely to find them in Singapore. The most recent one being Hyflux, and there are plenty of disgruntled investors there.
go to finance section of sghardwarezone, saw a thread with damn alot of pages about it

Didnt check it out but you can if you are interested. As Havoc Knightmare said, pretty sure got alot of unhappy investors there
silverviolet
post May 16 2019, 10:41 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 15 2019, 03:39 PM)
Depends on how you look it. This recent  fall is neglible. Not even double digit drop.
I guess its last yr then

This post has been edited by silverviolet: May 16 2019, 10:41 PM
VyvernS
post May 17 2019, 02:46 PM

1,954 posts

Everyone makes mistakes. That's why kena burn in investment and a lot of us have made those mistakes.
But the most important are the lessons you take away from those mistakes and whether you learn from them.
Bonds, equities, mutual funds, business venture, gold accounts, bitcoins etc. etc. all are opportunities. We just need to learn to separate the bad and the good and invest within our means and our risk profiles.

icemanfx
post May 17 2019, 08:27 PM

21,456 posts

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 17 2019, 08:33 PM
icemanfx
post May 17 2019, 08:30 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(VyvernS @ May 17 2019, 02:46 PM)
Everyone makes mistakes. That's why kena burn in investment and a lot of us have made those mistakes.
But the most important are the lessons you take away from those mistakes and whether you learn from them.
Bonds, equities, mutual funds, business venture, gold accounts, bitcoins etc. etc. all are opportunities. We just need to learn to separate the bad and the good and invest within our means and our risk profiles.
Only uninitiated has zero failure rate. If one could achieve near zero failure rate, he would be richer than Warren Buffett. The higher the confidence level, the higher the losses.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 18 2019, 01:20 PM
SUSMNet
post Sep 21 2019, 02:51 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(onios32 @ Sep 19 2019, 09:15 AM)
Its a good topic to share your good and bad lessons.
I am seasoned fund manager and burnt thousands of  dollar to learn how to track scams.
Especially in Malaysia, we like "cepat Kaya"
U trade which instrument for investor?
moosset
post Sep 21 2019, 03:34 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ May 14 2019, 04:10 PM)
2) Invested in Sapura energy I guess 3 years back. Estimated Lost around RM40k
but this time I smarter, I cut loss when  down almost 30% from my purchase price.
I'm still holding Sapura. Fc*k! What should I do with it?? I think it's about 25k loss now!!

IIRC, I think I average down ....

Lesson: don't trust crony companies blindly ....

This post has been edited by moosset: Sep 21 2019, 03:36 PM
SUSbronkos
post Sep 21 2019, 03:40 PM

1,159 posts

just remember rule of thumb for any investment.

"Your gain is someone else loss" or

"Your loss is someone else gain"

MUM
post Sep 21 2019, 04:03 PM

14,927 posts

that rule of thump cannot be applied to "any investment".....
ex,....this investment...stock investment.
sell 0.10 higher than buying price,....
buyer bought and sell again at 0.10 higher and repeat...who is the one losing>....
thus "your gain is someone else loss" is not applicable to "ALL"

SUSRagingBalls
post Sep 21 2019, 04:09 PM

282 posts

Anyone lost money in ABFUND, eGOLD, etc during the early 2000s?
aspartame
post Sep 21 2019, 05:55 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 21 2019, 02:51 PM)
U trade which instrument for investor?
Likely a scammer forex “fund manager” fishing for funds ...

Forex trading is mostly scammer business
Cubalagi
post Sep 21 2019, 07:16 PM

4,491 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 21 2019, 03:34 PM)
I'm still holding Sapura. Fc*k! What should I do with it?? I think it's about 25k loss now!!

What's ur average price?

Oil price is in positive uptrend. Hold a bit longer and pray there is a temporary ceasefire between US and China in early Oct.

moosset
post Sep 21 2019, 09:00 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 21 2019, 07:16 PM)
What's ur average price?

Oil price is in positive uptrend. Hold a bit longer and pray there is a temporary ceasefire between US and China in early Oct.
RM 4.20! I was such an idiot! Should have stopped loss!! bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

I'm still not sure if I can trust the management. Maybe there's no hope.
Cubalagi
post Sep 21 2019, 09:43 PM

4,491 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 21 2019, 09:00 PM)
RM 4.20! I was such an idiot! Should have stopped loss!!  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

I'm still not sure if I can trust the management. Maybe there's no hope.
Damn, my condolences... at that price I guess u bought this in 2014..before the oil price crash. U do know that it will never go back to that price, ever again? Look for an exit in the coming months.

Well dont feel so bad. 24k can be earned via other means. PNB also in the same boat as u. N I think they would hv lost hundreds of millions if not billion.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 21 2019, 09:45 PM
moosset
post Sep 21 2019, 09:56 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 21 2019, 09:43 PM)
Damn,  my condolences... at that price I guess u bought this in 2014..before the oil price crash. U do know that it will never go back to that price, ever again? Look for an exit in the coming months.

Well dont feel so bad. 24k can be earned via other means. PNB also in the same boat as u. N I think they would hv lost hundreds of millions if not billion.
I was naive back then .... thinking if PNB owns it, surely no problem. After all, they could give 7% every year... and also it was related to some politicians.

Nowadays I just want to diversify and go beyond just Bursa Malaysia.

Yes, I try not to think about it and move on. If only I could sell it at RM1 to exit ...
foofoosasa
post Sep 21 2019, 11:56 PM

3,482 posts

How many percent of capital lost? If more than 50% honestly even myself also reluctant to do cut lost because damage is done. Hopefully oil price recover lo, so u won't damaged that badly. If less than that i suggest you cut it and switch to other stocks since many big company also quite cheap at the moment.

Anyway sorry for OT guys.
moosset
post Sep 22 2019, 08:33 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Sep 21 2019, 11:56 PM)
How many percent of capital lost? If more than 50% honestly even myself also reluctant to do cut lost because damage is done. Hopefully oil price recover lo, so u won't damaged that badly. If less than that i suggest you cut it and switch to other stocks since many big company also quite cheap at the moment.

Anyway sorry for OT guys.
more than 90%!! cry.gif
cockerish
post Sep 22 2019, 08:36 AM

12k SP@M Club
13,619 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Sep 21 2019, 04:09 PM)
Anyone lost money in ABFUND, eGOLD, etc during the early 2000s?
E gold...got burnt when they claim kena raid blablaa.....but only lost about 4k....still alot consider my income was only 1.8pm at that time
Singh_Kalan
post Sep 22 2019, 09:25 AM

2,033 posts

Got burned when first learn to invest in local stock back in 2005. Lesson learned, never trust the analyst target price. You are almost certain to lose money from it. Its totally unreliable.

Now become wiser, study and make my own decision. Overall investment is making money.
Singh_Kalan
post Sep 22 2019, 10:21 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Sep 21 2019, 03:40 PM)
just remember rule of thumb for any investment.

"Your gain is someone else loss" or

"Your loss is someone else gain"
Investing is not a zero sum game. Gambling is.

This post has been edited by Singh_Kalan: Sep 22 2019, 10:21 AM
foofoosasa
post Sep 22 2019, 11:39 AM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 22 2019, 08:33 AM)
more than 90%!!  cry.gif
For me no difference to cut loss, damage ia done . Just gamble to wait turnaround, u set your new TP and please be realistic. Hopefully recent oil related matter in middle east can push a bit the share price.
icemanfx
post Sep 22 2019, 12:38 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Sep 22 2019, 09:25 AM)
Got burned when first learn to invest in local stock back in 2005.  Lesson learned, never trust the analyst target price.  You are almost certain to lose money from it.  Its totally unreliable.

Now become wiser, study and make my own decision.  Overall investment is making money.
For reasons, bursa is known as crocodile pond.

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Sep 22 2019, 11:39 AM)
For me no difference to cut loss, damage ia done . Just gamble to wait turnaround, u set your new TP and please be realistic. Hopefully recent oil related matter in middle east can push a bit the share price.
High oil price is almost always follow by global economic recession.
moosset
post Sep 22 2019, 09:37 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Sep 22 2019, 09:25 AM)
Got burned when first learn to invest in local stock back in 2005.  Lesson learned, never trust the analyst target price.  You are almost certain to lose money from it.  Its totally unreliable.

Now become wiser, study and make my own decision.  Overall investment is making money.
if analysts so good, they would be millionaires already. Why do they still work as analysts? tongue.gif

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 22 2019, 12:38 PM)
High oil price is almost always follow by global economic recession.
how high are we talking about? I should prepare then ....
icemanfx
post Sep 22 2019, 09:51 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 22 2019, 09:37 PM)
if analysts so good, they would be millionaires already. Why do they still work as analysts? tongue.gif
how high are we talking about? I should prepare then ....
some analysts in nyc, london, sg, hk, etc yearly income include bonus could be >$1m and many are multi millionaires.

high until it create inflation, reduce disposable income and corporate income.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Sep 22 2019, 09:52 PM
moosset
post Sep 22 2019, 09:55 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 22 2019, 09:51 PM)
some analysts in nyc, london, sg, hk, etc yearly income include bonus could be >$1m and many are multi millionaires.

and they still work at the same position, creating brokers' report?

Multi millionaires don't have other better things to do but to analyse stocks for commoners, so that everyone gets rich? hmm.gif
icemanfx
post Sep 22 2019, 09:58 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 22 2019, 09:55 PM)
and they still work at the same position, creating brokers' report?

Multi millionaires don't have other better things to do but to analyse stocks for commoners, so that everyone gets rich?  hmm.gif
Most reports are for internal consumption. published reports are intended to move price like "tips" and not illegal for these companies to sell after price moved.

brokenbomb
post Sep 23 2019, 01:50 AM

1,269 posts

Started last year around july-sept

Followed analyst recommendation. Beginners luck. Untung here and there

Then october - dec datang. Kena burnt

Lesson learnt.

Cut your lost early
Never catch a falling knife
budang
post Sep 23 2019, 12:04 PM

975 posts

I'm on the same boat as you bro. But maybe about half your loss.

That a$$hole CEO is still raking in millions of salary despite the company bleed like hell.

Haih no light at the end of tunnel but it's a lesson learnt.
frostfrench
post Sep 23 2019, 04:28 PM

465 posts

Before the last Malaysia general election, was happy holding construction related company shares.
After general election, all construction on hold, so my portfolio gone red red red, still not yet fully recover lor
johnnyzai89
post Sep 23 2019, 08:43 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Sep 23 2019, 05:28 PM)
Before the last Malaysia general election, was happy holding construction related company shares.
After general election, all construction on hold, so my portfolio gone red red red, still not yet fully recover lor
wait for next budget lo
moosset
post Sep 23 2019, 09:00 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Sep 23 2019, 04:28 PM)
constructions? like Gkent?
frostfrench
post Sep 25 2019, 03:42 PM

465 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 23 2019, 09:00 PM)
constructions? like Gkent?
yes, I still holding Gkent cry.gif
moosset
post Sep 25 2019, 06:14 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Sep 25 2019, 03:42 PM)
yes, I still holding Gkent  cry.gif
my friend got lucky. He actually talked to me straight after PH won the election. I was like, maybe it's time to sell, so he sold it.
ah_suknat
post Sep 26 2019, 08:14 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 6 2019, 02:53 AM)

Score A?
Hasuu P
post Sep 26 2019, 01:00 PM

Probation

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Sep 25 2019, 03:42 PM)
yes, I still holding Gkent  cry.gif
Haha, well better than Ekovest for now. Had to cut-loss on it.
Jordy
post Sep 26 2019, 03:13 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Sep 26 2019, 08:14 AM)
Score A?
Masterskill (MEGB).
Dratini
post Oct 11 2019, 11:57 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 21 2019, 04:03 PM)
buyer bought and sell again at 0.10 higher and repeat...who is the one losing>....
Umm.. there's a loophole in your logic, the buyer buys and sells 0.1 higher, and repeat.
But when the buyer sells 0.1 higher, and the next buyer who bought with +0.1, he/she is already losing money if the stock doesn't worth that price.

Since resources is not unlimited/infinity, and money doesn't get created from thin air, when someone is making money, someone else is definitely losing money.
It might not show if the buyer are in between buying and selling while the price goes up, but soon, people gonna deem the price is not worth the company's stock, hence, the bubble.
icemanfx
post Oct 11 2019, 12:39 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 21 2019, 04:03 PM)
This is how bubble is formed. the price will cease to rise and even crash when there is not enough buyers willing to buy at latest highest price e.g gold, btc.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Oct 11 2019, 12:39 PM
hft
post Oct 11 2019, 12:42 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ May 5 2019, 10:19 PM)

If gambling, need to do it right way. And every investment is essentially a gambling. Success not guranteed.
hft
post Oct 11 2019, 12:45 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 22 2019, 08:33 AM)
more than 90%!!  cry.gif
If you willing to take this much risk, better join me gambling elsewhere for steady return. We shall split the revenues between fund owner & trade manager.
hft
post Oct 11 2019, 12:47 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ May 9 2019, 10:15 AM)
The biggest lesson I have learnt from investing is know when to cut the losses. Always save your bullet for another day.
I’m looking for risk taker, for 3-10% return a month.
RigerZ
post Oct 11 2019, 05:30 PM

On the way on the way
1,016 posts

Most of the burns here are from stocks/shares..... Any burn from unit trust?
ahwai
post Oct 11 2019, 07:36 PM

448 posts

10k paper loss from unit trust after holding > 5 years
SUSMNet
post Oct 11 2019, 08:52 PM

11,954 posts

Which UT u hold?
icemanfx
post Oct 11 2019, 11:29 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(hft @ Oct 11 2019, 12:47 PM)
I’m looking for risk taker, for 3-10% return a month.
Only possible in money game, scam and ponzi scheme.

genesic
post Oct 12 2019, 03:38 AM

822 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Oct 11 2019, 08:36 PM)
did you perform DCA technique, or just one lump sum 10 years ago?
10 years is a long period..the UT should have recovered eventually

This post has been edited by genesic: Oct 12 2019, 03:42 AM
hft
post Oct 12 2019, 01:00 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 11 2019, 11:29 PM)
Only possible in money game, scam and ponzi scheme.
Forex is a scam. But money is good is on right entry exit side.
icemanfx
post Oct 12 2019, 01:27 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(hft @ Oct 12 2019, 01:00 PM)
Forex is a scam. But money is good is on right entry exit side.
Dratini
post Oct 13 2019, 05:48 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Oct 11 2019, 07:36 PM)
Mind sharing after holding more than 5 years, and yet still 10k paper loss?
Is it through Self invest via FSM etc, or thru agent?
ahwai
post Oct 14 2019, 10:50 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(Dratini @ Oct 13 2019, 05:48 PM)
Mind sharing after holding more than 5 years, and yet still 10k paper loss?
Is it through Self invest via FSM etc, or thru agent?
mostly through agent EPF investment
another self invest also paper loss
RigerZ
post Oct 14 2019, 05:46 PM

On the way on the way
1,016 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Oct 14 2019, 10:50 AM)
mostly through agent EPF investment
another self invest also paper loss
may we know which funds are those?
ahwai
post Oct 14 2019, 07:20 PM