Investment Anyone kena burnt in investment?, Experience and your lesson learnt

icemanfx
post May 6 2019, 04:12 AM

21,456 posts

Every investor get burned in investment, it is a matter of magnitude. Normally, those greedy would get or nearly wiped out.

If leveraged to invest, failure could be catastrophic.

There is no quick and easy way to make money else there should be a lot more than 4% of adults in this country have over us$100k net worth.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 6 2019, 06:40 AM
icemanfx
post May 6 2019, 01:39 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ May 6 2019, 11:47 AM)
I invested in a company called HEXAGON because people are saying this company got robert kuok inside to help.

Although investment is bit big, around few K because already pn17 that time.

But that white knight didnt happen. Hexagon delisted and gone.

Same as trasmile case.

Never invest becuz thinking got prominent investor inside and will rescue it
When tips reached average Joe, is about time to sell.

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 6 2019, 10:53 AM)

I invested in this stock back in 2010 just after it went public at the A-region and kept averaging downwards due to my believe that investment in Education is one of the best, and then I finally sold it off between the C- and D-region after realising that this company is going into a sh*thole.

Lesson learnt - never get involved with companies closely tied with Government policy. Any slight change in Government policy could mean the end of the company.

The same can be said with the situation of TM is in right now. See chart below.
Contract secured through political connection mean the company doesn't has the capability to bid on level playing field. Most will fail with political connection.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 6 2019, 01:43 PM
icemanfx
post May 9 2019, 12:06 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ May 8 2019, 12:39 PM)
lost more than 10k because trusted my remisier to make the right speculative call

lesson learnt: DYOD
QUOTE(real55555 @ May 8 2019, 12:44 PM)
Made some losses investing in stocks and lessons learnt. I think due to the following reasons:

1. 'Does not really understand' what and why I am actually buying. Some are from tips, analyst recommendations etc. They will only tell you when to buy, wont tell you when to exit.
2. Does not have the time to monitor closely, and also the knowledge to reach a decision. Some people will said everyday just spend a few minutes look at the price, but you also have to know what each price level means, otherwise it is just numbers to you.
3. Most important. Did not set exit target (take profit and cut loss). Ended up just buy and don't know when to sell.
4. Since doesn't have a clear objective, I guess it also doesn't help in mitigating the emotional up and down looking at the stock price movement. Ended up making decisions based on gut feelings.
So after these lessons, I realized I'm not suitable to invest in stock market. So I go for unit trusts, but i guess this one is a story for another day as this thread is about getting burnt in investment.
QUOTE(junclj @ May 9 2019, 11:27 AM)
My money was burnt in buying shares. The current situation in bursa Malaysia is not recommended to buy shares now. I was lost 30~40% from my total investment in market shares. Now what only I can do is hold for it up to 20~30 years.

Fortunately, I am still young. I can save money to invest in others safer investment such like asb and asb2. My trading account now left untouched, the money is still there. I'm still holding some shares of 3 companies but all 3 shares are losing money. So I not really care about it, although I'm losing 5 digits amount. Few years ago, I was starting to build up another investment in ASB and ASB2. So hopefully I will save up more money in the next few years. My target is 6 digits in next 10 years and 7 digits in next 30 years.
For years, bursa is known as a crocodile pond and yet many still attempt to profit from it.

icemanfx
post May 10 2019, 01:29 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 9 2019, 06:33 PM)
Those were bad time for lots of uncles and aunties.
What is your burnt story? Property investment?
icemanfx
post May 10 2019, 08:13 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 10 2019, 07:56 AM)
You know, money game/fx/options scammers like an Aunty banyak jahat hati.

She derives pleasure from others’s pains. Worst, she thinks of how to scam them. Really bad this Aunty.
BBB/uuu mentality is like mlm guru, tell glory story, pretend to be successful to attract novice to enter the market to buy overpriced property. It is no wonder karma is back to bite BBB/uuu.
icemanfx
post May 10 2019, 08:30 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 10 2019, 08:26 AM)
You know, I like to tell a little bit of story. Now, mind you, it’s from research mainly, also a bit experience lah.

One aunty, behaving like chicken little, kept crying ‘the sky is falling, the sky is falling’

Then one day, to everyone’s surprise, she managed to convince herself of her lies, so sell cepat-cepat.

For the next few years, prices kept going up, meletup lagi for some years and now plateau. She gets desperate, kicked herself for missing out on the increase. But salut to her, she keeps on ‘the sky is falling, the sky is faling’ 

So she came up with a plan. Why not scam people? Since people are greedy, let promote money game/fx/options. Let’s transfer those money to her pocket.

Tada! She has two weapons now... ‘the sky is falling’ and money game.

You’ll see her lurking around the forum. So don’t be alarm.

Sekian terima kasih.
To BBB/uuu, property overhang is fake news. In denial, hope to attract novice to buy overpriced property.

icemanfx
post May 10 2019, 09:17 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ May 10 2019, 08:35 AM)
I don’t know lah. Someoneof your intellects (I think) would think that Aunty is pretty stupid, no because she sold off early but beating her self over it.

Also evil to try and promote scam like money game or leverage investment like options. 🤷‍♂️
Smartest investors could always time the market and sell at the highest price.
icemanfx
post May 10 2019, 10:16 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ May 10 2019, 09:18 AM)
Lol.. u just summed up auntie’s modus operandi...I say now auntie has propephobia...
many die hard/obsessesed property investors are addicted to high leverage like compulsive gambler without realizing it.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 10 2019, 10:29 AM
icemanfx
post May 11 2019, 12:15 PM

21,456 posts

Those with inferiority complex tend to names calling, personal attack instead on subject.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 11 2019, 12:52 PM
icemanfx
post May 11 2019, 05:22 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(VyvernS @ May 11 2019, 03:05 PM)
If you meant the 2008 crisis, it was a scary roller coaster ride. I remembered the biggest fall in the KLSE and it came the day after everyone returned from Deepavali holidays. A few days early DJIA had just slumped. So we had Deepavali to enjoy and prepare for the bloodshed that came next. But once that was over, and if you had cash leftover, it was a buying spree.

And if you bought right and traded smart, you would have made a bunch of cash...The risk was the market would tank, but once it went up, and investor confidence grew, it was time to buy.

Public Bank was RM8 or something....That was the 1st stock I bought after the crash...and still hold. I don't think I can get that price again.
And there were a few times I went in for like 200,000 of a RM0.20 company and only to sell it at RM0.22, netting RM4,000 in a trade. Do this a few times over a few companies and then you get the stock market to pay for your honeymoon, house renovation and much more...
Oh...And I joined LowYat Forum in May 2008
David_77
icemanfx
post May 13 2019, 04:46 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ May 13 2019, 04:09 PM)
Hi cherroy, may I have your opinion for the following:-

I've some capital, say RM500K which is allocated for fixed deposit/saving. I'm currently putting them in my Maybank Private Banking a/c with annual interest of 2.3% (most updated one), computed on a daily basis. The another option would be putting them in FD, for 1-month tenure, FD rate about 2.95% in Maybank. However, I will use the funds to apply for IPO (new shares) whenever there's. Keeping them in private banking a/c allowing me to enjoy the daily interest without any tenure like the FD. If I were to put them in FD, I might need to withdraw to apply for the IPO, before the FD matures (interest will be forfeited).

And I was also thinking, since I've allocate this portion as my saving/FD, should I just keep them in FD and keep them untouched? As I've already allocated a portion to equities (in my brokerage a/c).

Appreciate your views! Thanks!
If private bank client, there are some high yield bonds available.

Rm500k qualified for private bank?
icemanfx
post May 14 2019, 12:07 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(silverviolet @ May 13 2019, 08:00 PM)
Sure a lot Kena burnt. .stocks down down down
Opportunity favours the prepared mind.
icemanfx
post May 17 2019, 08:27 PM

21,456 posts

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 17 2019, 08:33 PM
icemanfx
post May 17 2019, 08:30 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(VyvernS @ May 17 2019, 02:46 PM)
Everyone makes mistakes. That's why kena burn in investment and a lot of us have made those mistakes.
But the most important are the lessons you take away from those mistakes and whether you learn from them.
Bonds, equities, mutual funds, business venture, gold accounts, bitcoins etc. etc. all are opportunities. We just need to learn to separate the bad and the good and invest within our means and our risk profiles.
Only uninitiated has zero failure rate. If one could achieve near zero failure rate, he would be richer than Warren Buffett. The higher the confidence level, the higher the losses.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 18 2019, 01:20 PM
icemanfx
post Sep 22 2019, 12:38 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Sep 22 2019, 09:25 AM)
Got burned when first learn to invest in local stock back in 2005.  Lesson learned, never trust the analyst target price.  You are almost certain to lose money from it.  Its totally unreliable.

Now become wiser, study and make my own decision.  Overall investment is making money.
For reasons, bursa is known as crocodile pond.

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Sep 22 2019, 11:39 AM)
For me no difference to cut loss, damage ia done . Just gamble to wait turnaround, u set your new TP and please be realistic. Hopefully recent oil related matter in middle east can push a bit the share price.
High oil price is almost always follow by global economic recession.
icemanfx
post Sep 22 2019, 09:51 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 22 2019, 09:37 PM)
if analysts so good, they would be millionaires already. Why do they still work as analysts? tongue.gif
how high are we talking about? I should prepare then ....
some analysts in nyc, london, sg, hk, etc yearly income include bonus could be >$1m and many are multi millionaires.

high until it create inflation, reduce disposable income and corporate income.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Sep 22 2019, 09:52 PM
icemanfx
post Sep 22 2019, 09:58 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 22 2019, 09:55 PM)
and they still work at the same position, creating brokers' report?

Multi millionaires don't have other better things to do but to analyse stocks for commoners, so that everyone gets rich?  hmm.gif
Most reports are for internal consumption. published reports are intended to move price like "tips" and not illegal for these companies to sell after price moved.

icemanfx
post Oct 11 2019, 12:39 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 21 2019, 04:03 PM)
that rule of thump cannot be applied to "any investment".....
ex,....this investment...stock investment.
sell 0.10 higher than buying price,....
buyer bought and sell again at 0.10 higher and repeat...who is the one losing>....
thus "your gain is someone else loss" is not applicable to "ALL"
This is how bubble is formed. the price will cease to rise and even crash when there is not enough buyers willing to buy at latest highest price e.g gold, btc.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Oct 11 2019, 12:39 PM
icemanfx
post Oct 11 2019, 11:29 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(hft @ Oct 11 2019, 12:47 PM)
I’m looking for risk taker, for 3-10% return a month.
Only possible in money game, scam and ponzi scheme.

icemanfx
post Oct 12 2019, 01:27 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(hft @ Oct 12 2019, 01:00 PM)
Forex is a scam. But money is good is on right entry exit side.

0.0166sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:11 AM