1032 Pages « < 754 755 756 757 758 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

littlegamer
post Jul 22 2021, 05:06 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 22 2021, 04:49 PM)
if want to buy and forget,...historically S&P 500 has a better chance....this better chances also has to be dependent of when you buy it and for how long before you EXIT....

i think your "experience" is similar to another forummer had expressed just 2 months ago. He has 2 SAMY port (both Old and new)
he compared a before May 2020 SAMY port (heavier in S&P) with another SAMY port that are reoptimizes in May 2020, which was more diversified
his "OLD" port performed better, this few months back

my take is,
SAMY is not a buy and hold investment style platform ....for they are charging mgmt fees.
there is a different between buy and hold investment style between investor like us and the management of the investment platform like SAMY.
we investor buy and hold in SAMY for we think that SAMY will "NOT" buy and hold without changing its composition
if i wanted a buy and hold for long term non active investment port,...i would not go for SAMY....why pay them annually for doing nothing

same goes for FSM management portfolio....we buy it for know they will manage it for us and we paid them for it....
same goes for any unit trust funds too.....we buy them knowing that the fund managers will get "good" stocks for us

while we let them manage it for us,....the decision of where and how to allocate it is their prerogative...

if after some time,...if we feel that it is NOT performing as expected.....we EXIT

same as employing a staff to help us in our business.....if he cannot perform,...get him fired.

YES,....the fact is true if comparing the last 10 months....i think S&P500 has performed much BETTER than any platform that has KWEB & GOLD in it.

YES too on this " someone here posted something regarding SA might not outperform sp500, but will have lesser fluctuations,"...for the composition in it is different....., BUT again,.....depending on when that data are being made and till when will that data stopped....example, those that got into S&P500 6 months before the DOTCOM burst or Sub-prime crisis starts, would have said...."damn...should not have placed all my eggs into this S&P500" during his review 3 years later
Thanks this is good information. Now that you mention, comparing old and new SA port.
Maybe is a good way to not auto reoptimize. But create a new portfolio and deposit there onwards. I think Samy does not allow re opt some and leave some not re opt.
honsiong
post Jul 22 2021, 05:11 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Jul 22 2021, 05:06 PM)
Thanks this is good information. Now that you mention, comparing old and new SA port.
Maybe is a good way to not auto reoptimize. But create a new portfolio and deposit there onwards. I think Samy does not allow re opt some and leave some not re opt.
Weeks ago they disabled it and made everyone move to new portfolios. Trading for the minority staying on old portfolios makes it inefficient for them.

Also we pay them fees to figure out whats best for us, so in their opinion old portfolios no longer work well, and we should either follow them, or quit stashaway n DIY.
littlegamer
post Jul 22 2021, 05:12 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 22 2021, 04:33 PM)
if you have deposited since january 2020 then you also likely experienced negative returns in March 2020 which have now bounced back to 6 to 7%. if you clam to have six figures investments i am wondering how did you dca..?
Few k a month? Is been 19 months since then. Jan to March has some drop. Then August or something last year gld drop by alot, this year, kweb drop alot.

If that makes sense.
MUM
post Jul 22 2021, 05:12 PM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Jul 22 2021, 05:06 PM)
latest info we got is ...portfolios will be "AUTO" optimised....
thus that forummer redeemed his port last week because he does not like "auto" reoptimization of his port
zstan
post Jul 22 2021, 05:18 PM

15,856 posts

think nobody could foresee the KWEB crash and Jack Ma opening his big mouth.
littlegamer
post Jul 22 2021, 05:20 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 22 2021, 05:11 PM)
Weeks ago they disabled it and made everyone move to new portfolios. Trading for the minority staying on old portfolios makes it inefficient for them.

Also we pay them fees to figure out whats best for us, so in their opinion old portfolios no longer work well, and we should either follow them, or quit stashaway n DIY.
I see.

Then partially I do not agree SA approach. When I can't make a decision should I should keep old portfolio. Still, that dosent mean they are doing it simply. If that's the case I keeping both, my SA and akrunow.

Is all in the game of diversification.

To be fair if wasn't kweb, I think SA bull like mad this year, but as all investment, if everyone knows future, there won't be speculation.

Since SA has considerably wide diversification, where akrunow.com have rather specific etf, in case akrunow side go south, SA portfolio will balance it out ( seeing from a POV all my money invested)

General rule of thumb, etf should grow overtime, the amounts of gains are always in debate. I feel in all ways we are winning just by how much.
littlegamer
post Jul 22 2021, 05:25 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 22 2021, 05:18 PM)
think nobody could foresee the KWEB crash and Jack Ma opening his big mouth.
I think this falls under '' risk of investment '' , have to expect these kind of drop.

I would have double down on portfolio with most kweb if they don't reoptimize..

China did that crack down, but I see the fundamentals of tech are unchanged, this crash could be momentarily.

That's why I was kinda disagree SA move to re opt, why sell when things are in the cheap ( I think re opt sell some to buy other etf, correct me if I'm wrong)

By all means I might be the fool here coming back to quote myself, glad SA rebalance my portfolio in the future. But for that we have to wait and see.

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Jul 22 2021, 05:26 PM
Medufsaid
post Jul 22 2021, 05:29 PM

3,489 posts

they kept kweb in 36% and sold off the ETFs that are in green, for 6%, kweb is totally out already

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Jul 22 2021, 05:29 PM
backspace66
post Jul 22 2021, 05:45 PM

2,139 posts

Totally out of the old port, left with the newer port that was auto optimized. Only chump change remaining around 10k.

Just for the record. June 2020 to july 2021, old US centric portfolio

I have to credit SA for the smooth withdrawal, i made 7 withdrawal in total and all credited at T+2 (working days of course). Amount is around 75k, not sure if it would be the same for 6 figure or more withdrawal though.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Jul 22 2021, 05:49 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Jul 22 2021, 05:56 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

I'll be honest, I read a single book, put 60% into VWRA and 40% in SA so I don't lose everything if either go kaput, and just look at my invoice once a month, it's working out so far LOL

I just stop by now and then with popcorn and find the occasional promo code.

Shame that the other two thread is dead, with one shop holding onto a dead ETF for years and increasing fees and the other having technical issue every other month, its harder for them to have as much discussion...

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Jul 22 2021, 05:57 PM
littlegamer
post Jul 22 2021, 06:00 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 22 2021, 04:37 PM)
Defensive... yeah, and diversified, managed by professionals.

I used to live in SG but now in KL. If you wanna buy ETFs directly check out Ziet Invest youtube channel on https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-h5sZ-O_4KbdzPy6hxYd9g

1. Open CIMB Singapore account
2. Open Interactive Brokers, or Prosperus, Moomoo etc

I consider Ziet the best finfluencer in Msia right now. He doesn't shill for any particular services at the moment, more honest than Jason Leong, Suraya Ringgit oh ringgit, KC Lau actually.
Thanks, this will be very helpful. Will take a look into it
AnasM
post Jul 22 2021, 07:02 PM

569 posts

bila SA nak lancarkan portfolio yg patuh kpd shariah?
I xleh nak invest SA sbb haram xpatuh shariah
tadashi987
post Jul 22 2021, 07:28 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(AnasM @ Jul 22 2021, 07:02 PM)
Tanya SA jangan tanya kita whistling.gif
djhenry91
post Jul 22 2021, 07:41 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(AnasM @ Jul 22 2021, 07:02 PM)
wahed the only choice
encikbuta
post Jul 22 2021, 10:34 PM

275 posts

StashAway Malaysia has decided to conduct another round of portfolio re-optimization amidst the changing environment. You can read their original article here but to sum it up, they believe that while the U.S. indices are skyrocketing right now, it does seem that inflation in the U.S. is starting to speed up from its current figure of 5.4% p.a. in June 2021.

To paraphrase a page from the "Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham", when inflation shot above 6%, stocks stank. The stock market lost money in 8 of the 14 years in which inflation exceeded 6%; the average real return for those 14 years was a measly 2.6%. While mild inflation allows companies to pass the increased costs of their own raw materials on to customers, high inflation wreaks havoc - forcing customers to slash their purchases and depressing activity throughout the economy.

So StashAway Malaysia has decided to re-optimise the aggressive 36% portfolio as follows:

Consumer Staples (XLP), Energy (XLE), REITS (VNQ & VNQI), Precious Metals (GLD) & US High Grade Bonds (AGG): These stock types have historically proven to perform very well (vs the stock market) in times of high inflation. You will notice they are commodity or 'basic necessity' type of stocks.

Australia (EWA): What better way to capture commodity returns than investing in a commodity-exporting country?

Small Cap (IJR): This is more to do with capturing the momentum rather than the inflation returns. Value stocks have been in the shadows of growth stocks for a few years. Now that value stock is back in the spotlight again, they foresee this to trend for quite a while to make up for lost times (vs growth stocks).

China Tech (KWEB): This is more to do with capturing the potential rather than the inflation returns. With a population of 1.4 billion, rapidly growing economy and laser focus on becoming a technology superpower, it only makes sense to keep invested in this ETF.

As for my opinion, I am pretty glad that they did not give up on KWEB despite their horrible run in year 2021. KWEB is a high risk, high reward ETF which I don't mind holding on for a while. As for the overall strategy, it does makes sense but only if their prediction that the inflation will continue to rise to uncontrollable levels comes true.
adele123
post Jul 22 2021, 10:39 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(encikbuta @ Jul 22 2021, 10:34 PM)

Now that is a reasoning i can accept. I do hope they are right for the sake of my money

This post has been edited by adele123: Jul 22 2021, 10:44 PM
honsiong
post Jul 22 2021, 10:47 PM

3,182 posts

It's easier than ever to leave Stashaway and just buy Vanguard ETFs directly.

If you disagree with stashaway's portfolio management, can look into buying VWRA with Interactive Brokers or Prosperus - lower div tax, maximum diversification.
stormseeker92
post Jul 23 2021, 12:17 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 22 2021, 10:47 PM)
It's easier than ever to leave Stashaway and just buy Vanguard ETFs directly.

If you disagree with stashaway's portfolio management, can look into buying VWRA with Interactive Brokers or Prosperus - lower div tax, maximum diversification.
still baffles me why would some people waste time in stashaway if you know they dont provide what you want. instead expend energy to complaint lol
honsiong
post Jul 23 2021, 12:45 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Jul 23 2021, 12:17 AM)
still baffles me why would some people waste time in stashaway if you know they dont provide what you want. instead expend energy to complaint lol
Some people are probably trying to sway us lazy investors to try their strategies.

Some want validation that their forex market timing works.

honsiong
post Jul 23 2021, 01:52 AM

3,182 posts

BTW stashaway has abandoned using ESG ETFs. They made a blog post on ESG outperforming stock indices, then they sent out a survey asking us how we feel about ESG.

I voted against ESG.

Ben Felix made a video about it. https://youtu.be/weVAN2HxXjk

Basically there are reasons to believe ESG will be a bit overvalued from now, and having good past outperformance does not mean the future will be the same.

1032 Pages « < 754 755 756 757 758 > » Top

0.0238sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:30 AM