18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

Hoshiyuu
post Feb 4 2021, 12:01 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Joseph @ Feb 3 2021, 11:49 PM)
OK good. Mine is a malaysian account. Hopefully they can change it to high risk portfolio without any problem.
Just another newbie experience, hope it helps.

I just started my Stashaway account today, and high risk portfolio was locked away from me too.

First I Whatsapp'ed them asking for further input, they told me to wait for a business day for replies due to high load on customer support.

Being impatient, I went to read the FAQ and found the SQX quiz, I spend about 90 minutes and luckily scored 100%, I screenshot it and send to Stashaway Whatsapp. The questions are relatively straight forward and the numbers are simplified in the question examples, and you can freely go back to read notes before clicking next and try to answer the question again.

Within 10 minutes they replied me saying congratulation and will enable high risk access in 2-3 business day.

Feel pretty smooth, the whole process is maybe half a morning or less.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 4 2021, 12:03 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 4 2021, 07:01 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Joseph @ Feb 4 2021, 05:07 PM)
I just whatsapp them and they told me to watch the videos. I told them I already did that. After that, I have to wait 2-3 business days. I guess that is next week. smile.gif
Haha, I feel a bit wasted my time then, I don't deny that the quiz is amazingly informative, but 80% of it is things I won't touch, and is the reason why I am trying stashaway (futures, calls, daily leverage certificates)...

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 4 2021, 07:01 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 6 2021, 09:15 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(infernape772 @ Feb 6 2021, 09:07 AM)
...With SA, you are not tied to your emotions in terms of what to buy or sell, or react rashly to market news or outcomes, just let it's algorithm do the diversification and balancing, while you consistently DCA into it...
Haha, unfortunately from what I have been reading, the freedom and ease SA provided for managing it also seems to let people change portfolio every other week and stop depositing when there is a dip then regret and top-up after when it's up... no wonder cannot reach projected gains.
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 6 2021, 07:00 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Can always lump sum your RM100k into Stashaway Simple then DCA a certain amount weekly into portfolio until target meet too if don't wanna hold the cash and rot while waiting to DCA it too I guess?
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 6 2021, 09:53 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Out of curiosity if you don't mind, are you investing anywhere else?
Are you comfortable with all 100k dumped into a platform you haven't tried much with?
Are you really sure that you won't be tempted to check twice a day before and after sleep?
And when that 100k turned into 70k you won't panic sell?
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 7 2021, 02:55 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(criticalbomb @ Feb 7 2021, 02:54 PM)

Reporting my 11 month 36% investment journey with StashAway.

Betting with both China and US market equities and backup plan with GLD if shits happening.
I think it a wise strategy.But i still hope for next rebalancing asset,we can change GLD to others.

Last,may the bull market keep continuously. drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
wow black bar very long, must be 7 digit tongue.gif
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 11 2021, 02:05 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 11 2021, 12:58 PM)
Anyone park cash into into SA Simple? the advertised returns of 2.4% p.a are better than most FD available.
I am parking 1 month salary in Versa and 1 month salary in SA Simple, so far "personally" Versa less hassle and way faster/smoother in and out. Returns remains to be seen so no comment yet, early indication too biased towards one side that it doesn't make sense...
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 11 2021, 04:27 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 11 2021, 04:01 PM)
Cool, if you don't mind me asking, why weekly instead of monthly? Is there a strategy behind it?
Good to know. Thanks
What's Versa?
Its basically just like SA Simple... money market fund sold as an FD alternative, pushing liquidity as its selling point. Versa's direction is trying to make MMF as liquid as possible, so you can deposit and withdraw quickly. Stashaway's view is that SA Simple's delay in withdrawal is great for investor self control.

SA Simple underlying fund: https://www.eastspring.com/my/funds-and-sol...s?fundcode=E026
Versa underlying fund: https://affinhwangam.com/invest-with-us/lis...etails?q=EDFHCF

In practice, while Versa advertises T+1 withdrawal, realistically speaking its more like T+2, so its only a slight improvement over SA simple for withdrawal. Versa also offer overnight interest for deposit processing delays.

In future, Versa seems to hint at a card that can spend your funds in Versa directly, but I'll believe it when I see it.

---

I also believe in weekly DCA too since the ... for the lack of proper terms since I am somewhat newbie too - "resolution" of the DCA is better.
But if I am really honest? DCA weekly just make me feels better it scratch that "money spending" itch. So overall I save more.

But anyway, I am not DCA-ing by choice, I'm DCA-ing because I am investing a portion of my income. if I had 100k lying around you can be sure I am lump-sum-ing them hahaha.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 11 2021, 04:37 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 11 2021, 09:29 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 11 2021, 06:04 PM)
You can go try withdraw small amounts of less than RM1 then you know how much the difference.  I been putting in lump sum in xxxx and withdraw daily in small amounts of less than RM1 when the MYRUSD price alert trigger on my dashboard

You wouldn’t understand unless you have trade FX derived FI and MMF, FX and ETF directly hence you wouldn’t understand when to take profit at the right time  rclxms.gif
Sorry ya interested but not very financially literate... do you mean withdraw whenever ringgit is weak? e.g. last week withdraw RM1 will deduct 0.26USD from fund so better don't, today withdraw RM1 only deduct 0.24USD from fund so more value? mixing forex trade style action into withdrawing earnings?
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 13 2021, 04:09 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Feb 12 2021, 12:09 PM)
How do you set auto DCA weekly? I don't see that option. It's either twice a month or monthly.

You can set up 4 different monthly schedule, so it would become functionally weekly.
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 14 2021, 01:20 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

deleted, oops

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 14 2021, 01:27 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 14 2021, 01:55 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Feb 14 2021, 01:40 AM)
Ayyyy that was it, thank you! False alarm haha  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
According to Google's rate was slightly higher at 0.2366865, at least that's a lot closer now.

So it turns out SA in fact has the best conversion rate.

OK just to clarify for the rest, the excel is "actual charge" takes Google's FX rate as a benchmark, then whatever difference from the FX = "additional" amount charged by the fintech.
...Now I'm back to wondering why my account is at a loss even after 6 months in this bullish market. Apparently there's a considerable % invested in gold commodity and it's at a loss. So is it something to do with my risk profile after all?
For your reference...

As for your returns, was your investment lump sum? What is your risk level? Did you change risk or withdraw during the interval? And if you are okay with it, what is your return in %?
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 14 2021, 02:16 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Feb 14 2021, 02:08 AM)
It was a lump sum (as per the previous screenshots, 20k). My SA risk index is 10% since inception, never changed that, never topped up nor withdrawn. My current portfolio value is RM19889 sweat.gif yes it's a loss
Granted, I lost my referral bonus because I left my account idle for too long before I did anything about it, I lost the 6mo free management fee so there was that minor setback there.

I am consciously holding back from investing any further into SA because the result's been disappointing really... wondering if I can/should do something about it?
That's odd. Your fees on a napkin math is only about RM80 between Aug 2020 to Jan 2021, market has done nothing but go up and SA happily reports good returns during this period, even if considering the lower risk setting...

Gonna need out local sifus to decipher why you would have lost money after half a year. Maybe you can post your TWR/MWR % here too just in case.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 14 2021, 02:18 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 16 2021, 01:00 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(kiba84 @ Feb 16 2021, 05:43 AM)
Hi all, I just started with SA. After the assessment, it shows me 6.5% risk and when I check here, we have so many people with 36% risk assessment. When I check to change the risk, for some reason it only allowing up to 22%. What is the best way to do this? I'm looking for a long term investment. So is it better to stick with 6.5% as the automated risk says and create a new portfolio for 22%? Any advise? Not sure how to get 36% portfolio thou.
https://www.stashaway.my/r/debunking-high-risk-high-return

FYI, this article is heavily suggested by StashAway, its probably worth a read.

Just another beginner's two sens, the market "always goes up" - but if you are in your 60s, and you suddenly have a saving goal, and you absolutely can't afford to wait 5 to 10 years for a crashed market to recover - don't do 36% - thats what the risk number that reads to me: how long can I afford to wait for it to go up, how big of a dip I can take before I panic sell.

During the questionnaire, Stashaway recommended me to stay below 12%, but to me, I treat the money I put into Stashaway as "poof, gone up in a puff of smoke forever" and I have a small emergency fund setup elsewhere, so knowing I won't hand itchy sell everything when 36% down and cursing the world, I unlocked my risk level and started at 36% instead.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 16 2021, 01:00 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 16 2021, 05:46 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 16 2021, 05:57 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 17 2021, 02:15 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

For what its worth, I've bought some MYR domiciled TradePlus S&P New China Tracker ETF on bursa myself recently. https://tradeplus.com.my/new_china-tracker can check how much overlap with KWEB if interested I guess?
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 17 2021, 10:29 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Feb 17 2021, 06:06 AM)
Boss, wanna ask about this etf.
Got sales charge for this etf? Or platform fee?
I go flip2 but still dun under stand the fee involved.
Only know the fee involve in mutual fund.
I do purchase mutual fund that invest in this etf, by affin oso with sales charge 1% (but now is 0% sales charge)

This is the fees of the underlying ETF, which is about as standard ETF as it gets.

The ETF itself doesn't charge you anything more than that.

Sales charge wise, there isn't a sale charge per se but there is a trading cost, you can treat it as any other stock listed on the bursa, i.e. you are paying broker fees (I'm using M+/Mplus, <50,000=0.08%, >50,000=0.05%, or RM8, whichever highest), stamp duty (Exempted until 31 December 2025, normally RM1 per RM1000 bought in stocks), clearing fees (0.03% in transaction value), etc, can check on https://www.bursamalaysia.com/trade/trading...ansaction_costs
Its shares are sold mostly by Affin Hwang to maintain liquidity of the ETF ( everytime I check there is 1000 lot available for buy&sell) due to general lack of interest.

For example, 200 shares of said ETF quoted at 9.99 per share would be RM1998, the actual transaction would probably be around ~RM2009/RM2007(exempted stamp duty). Most of the fees would be broker fees which is lowered by a lot if you can afford to trade at larger volumes.

Considering I invest in StashAway its probably weird and not recommended that I want to actively manage a few select ETFs, hahaha, but I am very tempted to put extra money into either ETF that StashAway doesn't invest in but I am interested, and ETF that I felt StashAway isn't putting enough of my money in. (I am targeting about 30% self managed 70% stashaway ratio for now)

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 17 2021, 11:12 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 17 2021, 10:40 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 17 2021, 10:17 AM)
i just joined SA.
And today i received a message that says that i authorised my bacnk to pay Pacific Trustees Berhad , limit MYR30,000.00 is successful.

IS THIS NORMAL?
Authorized to pay, not paid, don't worry. You are basically allowing the bank to transfer up to RM30k at your will.

Pacific Trustees is a Securities Commission licensed trustee who provides custodial services to StashAway Malaysia. Your cash deposits are held with Pacific Trustees's Citibank Berhad account.

Pacific Trustees has opened this account specifically for safekeeping the assets of StashAway Malaysia's customers.

Similarly, the account with our broker Saxo is also opened by Pacific Trustees. This provides additional security for customers and mitigates against the risk of StashAway Malaysia going bankrupt as customers' funds are unmingled with StashAway Malaysia's.

https://www.stashaway.my/faq/360009976633-w...acific-trustees

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 17 2021, 10:41 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 17 2021, 11:54 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Feb 17 2021, 11:45 AM)
I though got sales charge or any others fee involve.
Thanks for the info.
Bcoz I saw oso can buy this etf through affin platforms.
Huh. That's weird. The nature of ETF (Exchange-Traded-Fund) is to be traded on stock exchange, the hell is Affin doing putting ETF on their Allocate Plus (i assume this is the platform you are referring to) lmao
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 17 2021, 12:19 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Feb 17 2021, 12:11 PM)
Ya, the name is affin hwang new China tracker fund.
Its on allocate plus n almost all in this etf.
Sementara wait I kaji this etf, I just stick to this mutual fund first. 👍👍
Yeap looking at it too, just found it at https://affinhwangam.com/invest-with-us/lis...tails?q=NCTFHCF

This product was launched very recently at 2020 Nov compared to the ETF which was launched Jan 2019 (AFAIK)

Fees wise they seem to match each other on management fee, so there is just the difference in sale charge. You seem to get to buy at RM100 increments too after initial investment.

It does mention about 6.8% of your investment is held in cash/money market funds/deposits instead of all in, so maybe there is a tiny bit of difference?

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 17 2021, 12:27 PM

18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0500sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:23 PM