1032 Pages « < 726 727 728 729 730 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

honsiong
post Jun 18 2021, 08:11 PM

3,182 posts

StashAway macam just updated their graphql API. My scraper using their API v1 and `x-client-identifier: webapp@2.26.0` request header stopped working.

Anyway, switched to /api/v2 and x-client-identifier: webapp@4.4.0. Anyone else scraping stashaway here?
lee82gx
post Jun 18 2021, 10:40 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(no6 @ Jun 18 2021, 05:08 PM)
does that means bond prices are usually up during the bear market ?
You need to understand more on bonds.
Central banks judge the pace of growth, and economic expansion.
If they think equity, growth and especially inflation is getting out of hand, then they will start to raise interest rates.

When this occurs, companies who need money to invest, will need to RAISE interest on their bond coupons, beyond interest rates to attract investment. The nett effect becomes the investor then will decide that a bond coupon is actually a safer and higher yielding investment than a piece of share of the same company that issues the bonds, and also higher yielding than just saving it in banks.

This means he will either not price the share so high, or he will sell the share and buy the bond instead. This is the trigger of a bear market. This is what it means to be in the bear market.

All this is actually very natural in a capitalist accounting world. An Equity is a shareholder liability, and a bondholder is a debt liability. They both exist in the balance sheet on the same side. After the debtor, next the bondholder has the second right to collect the debt to the amount owed (Principal+interested and bonus), but has no right to a share of the profits or the assets which the shareholder has. When a company is bankrupt, the shareholder has a certificate of a proportion of the remainder of the assets which in theory you liquidate and distribute.

lolabunny123
post Jun 18 2021, 11:24 PM

413 posts

This could be old news but I just realized we can direct debit to SA Simple. Previously cannot πŸ™ƒ
honsiong
post Jun 19 2021, 12:17 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(lolabunny123 @ Jun 18 2021, 11:24 PM)
This could be old news but I just realized we can direct debit to SA Simple. Previously cannot πŸ™ƒ
Direct debit is no good. Better schedule jompay or GIRO from your bank site instead.
ironman16
post Jun 19 2021, 12:30 AM

2,437 posts

QUOTE(lolabunny123 @ Jun 18 2021, 11:24 PM)
if nothing happen is ok.......if something weird happen.......kasi debit until ur account become zero baru u tahu.......after that take a few day investigate n return.....that time u makan mee maggi aje..... laugh.gif
GymBoi
post Jun 19 2021, 03:06 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Jun 17 2021, 12:11 AM)
1) Set your jompay instruction
2) Go to "Manual Deposit" and your manual monthly deposit in StashAway as EXACT AMOUNT of your instruction. example: it each jompay is RM100 per week, set monthly deposit as RM100. No worries about "going over" StashAway will simply follow your instructions on how to handle your deposit based on your instruction.
3) Manual one-time deposit is for people who do lump sum.
4) No need, just create a one-time deposit for the extra amount and deposit the extra. StashAway executes one-time deposits first before they execute monthly order. Ref-1 (for Jompay) will always remain the same for each account so you can even just use the saved "Favourite bill" in your banking site/app.
2) Really? Is that what you doing? Actually i already whatsapp SAMY before i posted and they tell me bank do 100/week... app do 400/month =.=
4) Thanks!!

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jun 17 2021, 03:57 AM)
They will split up to 3 buy orders especially volatile season like this week until it reduces to 1% cash holdings

Anyway I had the same experience just like you when my account was open on Friday and my buy order was completed on Tuesday all depends whether you register the onboarding process and account opening was smooth especially eKYC process is complete due with correct documentations

Anyway, you just missed out because you are buying on the peak on Tuesday
I see thanks for the split info .. for the peak yeah too bad haha anyway i just start small and just plan to DCA weekly for 10-20 years ... not gonna look at anything.. treat it as a forced savings since i have bad money management lol .. see money in bank want to use, better auto transfer away to SAMY

SUSxander83
post Jun 19 2021, 04:53 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jun 19 2021, 03:06 AM)
2) Really? Is that what you doing? Actually i already whatsapp SAMY before i posted and they tell me bank do 100/week... app do 400/month =.=
4) Thanks!!
I see thanks for the split info .. for the peak yeah too bad haha anyway i just start small and just plan to DCA weekly for 10-20 years ... not gonna look at anything.. treat it as a forced savings since i have bad money management lol .. see money in bank want to use, better auto transfer away to SAMY
If small sum you don’t need to worry much because if investment savings SA is consider solid because of their strategies and coupled with the lower fees which hopefully goes down more in future

It is currently peak on consolidation so if you just put it will definitely grow for sure just VCA with the right value in order rclxms.gif

guy3288
post Jun 19 2021, 09:07 AM

5,829 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 17 2021, 03:26 PM)
Money market funds can actually drop, they are not savings or fixed deposits.

This blog article explains how stahsaway simple is affected by huarong: https://investmentmoats.com/money/huarong-d...cash-solutions/

Basically if got debt write offs, you lose money!
thanks, can lose money also sweat.gif

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 19 2021, 12:17 AM)
Direct debit is no good. Better schedule jompay or GIRO from your bank site instead.
direct debit means, ? auto debit simple to portfolio?
why no good?

you mean autodebit from bank savings account better?

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jun 19 2021, 12:30 AM)
if nothing happen is ok.......if something weird happen.......kasi debit until ur account become zero baru u tahu.......after that take a few day investigate n return.....that time u makan mee maggi aje..... laugh.gif
i dont think is this reason, takkan system so lousy, money can simply credit into a stranger person

i suspect no good becos you waste time money on sell-withdraw-buy......waiting for him to clarify
ironman16
post Jun 19 2021, 09:15 AM

2,437 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 19 2021, 09:07 AM)
thanks, can lose money also sweat.gif
direct debit means, ? auto debit simple to portfolio?
why no good?

you mean autodebit from bank savings account better?
i dont think is this reason, takkan system so lousy, money can simply credit into a stranger person

i suspect  no good becos you waste time money on  sell-withdraw-buy......waiting for him to clarify
Previously got happen one time, many ppl with direct debit kena, deposit until acc almost zero, that time many ppl 😑.
SAMY said not their problem, is the company that handle direct debit ( for SAMY)

Who know future thing. πŸ˜‚
Pewufod
post Jun 19 2021, 09:22 AM

1,536 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jun 19 2021, 09:15 AM)
Previously got happen one time, many ppl with direct debit kena, deposit until acc almost zero, that time many ppl 😑.
SAMY said not their problem, is the company that handle direct debit ( for SAMY)

Who know future thing. πŸ˜‚
i remember it was called curlec
anyway i still use direct debit because i believe with the previous fiasco, they must have taken extra measures to prevent similar occurrence again
ironman16
post Jun 19 2021, 09:50 AM

2,437 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Jun 19 2021, 09:22 AM)
i remember it was called curlec
anyway i still use direct debit because i believe with the previous fiasco, they must have taken extra measures to prevent similar occurrence again
ya......hope so......

but i seldom use direct debit in my investment......i prefer manually / jompay through SI cool2.gif
lolabunny123
post Jun 19 2021, 10:00 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jun 19 2021, 12:30 AM)
Haha I remember that news back then. But luckily I use my secondary bank account to direct debit instead and inside only got a few K. If they DD all I won’t suffer and have to eat Maggi πŸ˜…
ironman16
post Jun 19 2021, 10:02 AM

2,437 posts

QUOTE(lolabunny123 @ Jun 19 2021, 10:00 AM)
Haha I remember that news back then. But luckily I use my secondary bank account to direct debit instead and inside only got a few K. If they DD all I won’t suffer and have to eat Maggi πŸ˜…
thumbsup.gif ......this is what i do with my investment acc......use the secondary acc.....any thing happen oso nvm.....
prophetjul
post Jun 19 2021, 10:35 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 18 2021, 03:19 PM)
According to SA, their own prescribed risk index (Value at risk) of 36% IS indeed matching and equaling the the S&P 500 Risk index (this is a well known figure you can just google it).

The logic is with equal risk (standard deviation) the return should be equal.

Now, the job of SA is to make sure the standard deviation remains the same at 36% Var, and if that is the case year in year out, then if your portfolio does NOT match S&P500, then there is really no point to give SA your 0.8% fee.

Back when KWEB shot up early this year, we handily beat S&P 500 for a few months. It means nothing now that KWEB is no longer erectile, and it also means nothing if not compounded over many years....so, as many investment cases, beating S&P 500 is over long period is indeed no simple matter. It is not impossible, just improbable. I believe we will match S&P 500 and outperform it in the long run by maybe 1-2% if we are lucky.

It does beat EPF, but there is no guarantee. The thing is, if you withdraw from EPF, you are subjecting your money to RISK. Now you are the only one able to gauge the worth of taking such a risk. TBH, I will never withdraw from EPF, as I always aim to squeeze my own income for savings and investments. That is a personal thing.
Since EPF guarantees 2.5%, it should viewed as a bond. Therefore investing in SA which in fact is a basket of mostly equities, it must beat the 2.5% by a long margin to be acceptable.
i would like to see it beat EPF by at least 2.5+5 over a 10 year period.
zstan
post Jun 19 2021, 11:45 AM

15,856 posts

fuh USA equities meltdown. gold also crashing laugh.gif interest rates not even raised yet
stormseeker92
post Jun 19 2021, 07:12 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 19 2021, 11:45 AM)
fuh USA equities meltdown. gold also crashing laugh.gif interest rates not even raised yet
Almost wiped out the unrealised profit for me. March 2021 flashback lol
MUM
post Jun 19 2021, 08:31 PM

14,852 posts

when it needs to go up, it will to go up.....

XweienX
post Jun 19 2021, 09:34 PM

455 posts

As I always say, if your portfolio is down, you just haven't zoomed out enough.
guest54321
post Jun 19 2021, 10:08 PM

183 posts

Been depositing 1k every month. How come my total returns still stagnant at rm500-rm800 monthly? Risk appetite set to 22%
zstan
post Jun 19 2021, 10:49 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(guest54321 @ Jun 19 2021, 10:08 PM)
Been depositing 1k every month. How come my total returns still stagnant at rm500-rm800 monthly? Risk appetite set to 22%
cause the market had been stagnant for past few months?

1032 Pages « < 726 727 728 729 730 > » Top

0.0254sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:40 AM