1032 Pages « < 718 719 720 721 722 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

SUSxander83
post Jun 7 2021, 08:20 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jun 6 2021, 05:26 PM)
still thinking, but maybe as a starter, around 1000 and after that DCA and see how it goes. my target is those American/Europe ETF.
You can probably put in rm500 to start 1st and wait till KWEB and GLD dips then only VCA to ride the momentum

Currently you have to be patient because GLD, IVV and XLY is all close to the peak while XLP, KWEB are waiting for breakout now

In general, SA compositions of ETFs are highly stable because it is investing based on economic sector even with KWEB trading 30% off its high yet the composition portfolio is able to ride on volatility well

Since you’re on DCA just choose the right risk for you and slowly VCA rclxms.gif

Noob Boy 1996
post Jun 8 2021, 12:29 AM

67 posts

Hi guys. I have 3 portfolio on SA (22%, 30%, 36%). All are getting positive returns. I'm thinking of selling my 22% so that I can put that money in 30% and 36%. I choose 22% in February as a start-up and only have Rm600 in 22% with RM5 profit. What do you guys think?
MUM
post Jun 8 2021, 02:24 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(Noob Boy 1996 @ Jun 8 2021, 12:29 AM)
Hi guys. I have 3 portfolio on SA (22%, 30%, 36%). All are getting positive returns. I'm thinking of selling my 22% so that I can put that money in 30% and 36%. I choose 22% in February as a start-up and only have Rm600 in 22% with RM5 profit. What do you guys think?
Which risk level suited you better?
During the recent drops in feb/march,... Which risk level impacted you emotionally the most?
SUSxander83
post Jun 8 2021, 02:35 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

Since you diversified you will be better off selling off 30% and park equally to 22% and 36% if you are worried about volatility otherwise it will be better off for you to just choose one and park it all there

30% with 10% IVV you won’t see much profit due to high price of IVV but is good indicator for you to benchmark against the markets

But the question is for you what is the goal for you on picking those portfolios and you should have answers for yourself
JJ93
post Jun 8 2021, 09:52 AM

109 posts

How come my IVV target weightage is 5% only for SRI30% ? Am I the only one macam ini?
prophetjul
post Jun 8 2021, 12:49 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 7 2021, 09:51 AM)
For those of you who think lump sum entry right now is not advisable or that current market levels are “too high”.

I present to you another way of thinking this complex lump sum thingy from my perspective.

Suppose like many of us, you built your portfolio over 2 years of DCA, 1k per month. Now you have to 100k.

If suddenly thru no fault of your own, StashAway accidentally liquidates your entire holdings today, say RM50k to 100k, and they promise you no fee / no charge buyback in any way you want, will you buy back everything as is in lump sum (and get back what you had)?

Or will you think that you will DCA again, split over some arbitrary comfortable time period?

See, whichever way you do you need to be comfortable (with self assurance that this is more profitable than the other way).

If you do think the “DCA” way is surely better, May I suggest you liquidate now and do it! The only reason not is you are confident it will actually go up more than down over time isn’t it?

I learned this over some investment newsletter r and books. As of today, I’m happy to rebuy anything I have, but this is a personal thing.
i did something or this order last Feb and March when covid was first announced.
i had invested in a logistics company in Wuhan!
As a rule, i never sell all my holdings in any event. That's because i am not holding very speculative stocks.

So i sold 80% of my SREITs holdings in FEb/March 2020 in one go for each stock. For example this particular stock went from 80 to 42 at the low.
For my re-entry, i did DCA over the next 10 weeks after the perceived low of each stock with the same money received from the sales.
So now, i am holding 50% more stock quantity than in March 2020 with the same holding cost.

Since the stocks have made a recovery, i am well up on my portfolio circa Feb 2020 presently.

Just sharing.
lee82gx
post Jun 8 2021, 01:28 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 8 2021, 12:49 PM)
i did something or this order last  Feb and March when covid was first announced.
i had invested in a logistics company in Wuhan! 
As a rule, i never sell all my holdings in any event. That's because i am not holding very speculative stocks.

So i sold 80% of my SREITs holdings in FEb/March 2020 in one go for each stock. For example this particular stock went from 80 to 42 at the low.
For my re-entry, i did DCA over the next 10 weeks after the perceived low of each stock with the same money received from the sales.
So now, i am holding 50% more stock quantity than in March 2020 with the same holding cost.

Since the stocks have made a recovery, i am well up on my portfolio circa Feb 2020 presently.

Just sharing.
Interesting. But the question is do you have the same amount of holding (in shares or in $ value) if compared to before COVID was announced....either way what’s happen in the past is in the past...

And generally speaking, as of today will you liquidate and rebuy the same things immediately or will you DCA?

DragonReine
post Jun 8 2021, 01:30 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(JJ93 @ Jun 8 2021, 09:52 AM)
How come my IVV target weightage is 5% only for SRI30% ? Am I the only one macam ini?
Not just you. If I check SRI 30% that's the current target weight for IVV:

Note that IVV is under their "International Equities" in asset class.

nightzstar
post Jun 8 2021, 01:37 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jun 7 2021, 08:20 PM)
You can probably put in rm500 to start 1st and wait till KWEB and GLD dips then only VCA to ride the momentum

Currently you have to be patient because GLD, IVV and XLY is all close to the peak while XLP, KWEB are waiting for breakout now

In general, SA compositions of ETFs are highly stable because it is investing based on economic sector even with KWEB trading 30% off its high yet the composition portfolio is able to ride on volatility well

Since you’re on DCA just choose the right risk for you and slowly VCA  rclxms.gif
Thanks for the advice, may I ask vca is value cost averaging?
honsiong
post Jun 8 2021, 01:43 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jun 8 2021, 01:37 PM)
VCA is bullshit. How do you even measure value in the first place?

If the stock market keeps going up steadily for years and years without dips and corrections, will you keep reducing investments?

Also Stashaway is diversified portfolio by default, deposit - investment flow takes days, whatever VCA, timing the market can trip you up.

Just DCA, aim to invest the same RM every week/month, then live your life. Delete Stashaway app if that helps you.
prophetjul
post Jun 8 2021, 01:44 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 8 2021, 01:28 PM)
Interesting. But the question is do you have the same amount of holding (in shares or in $ value) if compared to before COVID was announced....either way what’s happen in the past is in the past...

And generally speaking, as of today will you liquidate and rebuy the same things immediately or will you DCA?
i had essentially the same value as at Feb/March 2020 but more shares. So as the share prices recovered, my portfolio value went up faster with the increased number of shares.

As for today, if another pandemic situation comes, i will liquidate just the same to around 20 to 25% of my number of shares presently.
I am an age where i need to ensure my capital is properly preserved.
As i showed, i will DCA since i do not know where the low of the stocks are.
lee82gx
post Jun 8 2021, 01:56 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 8 2021, 01:44 PM)
i had essentially the same value as at Feb/March 2020 but more shares. So as the share prices recovered, my portfolio value went up faster with the increased number of shares.

As for today, if another pandemic situation comes, i will liquidate just the same to around 20 to 25% of my number of shares presently.
I am an age where i need to ensure my capital is properly preserved.
As i showed, i will DCA since i do not know where the low of the stocks are.
It’s very important you are comfortable. And that’s all that matters. Not more money or less money.
prophetjul
post Jun 8 2021, 02:03 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 8 2021, 01:56 PM)
It’s very important you are comfortable. And that’s all that matters. Not more money or less money.
Yeah... at 60, one needs peace much more than money. biggrin.gif
lee82gx
post Jun 8 2021, 02:36 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 8 2021, 02:03 PM)
Yeah... at 60, one needs peace much more than money.  biggrin.gif
At any age for that matter....
Pursue self sufficiency rather than a number

And thanks for teaching us young punks a thing or two about investing, dear sir/mdm
DragonReine
post Jun 8 2021, 02:51 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 8 2021, 01:43 PM)
VCA is bullshit. How do you even measure value in the first place?

If the stock market keeps going up steadily for years and years without dips and corrections, will you keep reducing investments?

Also Stashaway is diversified portfolio by default, deposit - investment flow takes days, whatever VCA, timing the market can trip you up.

Just DCA, aim to invest the same RM every week/month, then live your life. Delete Stashaway app if that helps you.
Agree with this, especially if you're a newbie investor.

There's no optimal VCA in StashAway because

1) There's always a processing time of at least 2 days between deposit and the actual buy order executing, so depositing that day NEVER GUARANTEES that you will invest in a "low" time, as buy order could just as easily happen to execute on a high day.
2) diversified portfolios, so overall highs and lows are not drastic enough to justify the waiting for high/low to happen, especially due to the processing time of #1. It also means highs and lows tend to happen gradually, so it's hard to predict when is the absolute low and when is the absolute high.
3) forex risk, as we're converting from MYR to USD (or GBP if you're assigned a profile under GBP due to domestic ringgit borrowing), so even if the stocks is on low, MYR might be weak on the day you're converting so you have less USD to buy with.

The only viable strategies in SA are DCA or just lump sum investing regardless of timing. Lump sum works in your favour in the very long term (many years) most of the time, but it can be uncomfortable to see the ups and downs especially if you're bad luck and invest during a high. Again, StashAway's portfolio by its nature will not climb high or drop low drastically, most of the time the value is in single digit % or decimal points of a % of earn/loss. Exceptions are during major events like recent pandemic crash and crackdown of China tech, none of which are predictable.

StashAway should be treated like EPF/SSPN/ASB/regular mutual funds: put in what you're comfortable putting in, and forget about it until it's time to withdraw.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Jun 8 2021, 02:52 PM
SUSxander83
post Jun 8 2021, 09:16 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jun 8 2021, 01:37 PM)
Yes and VCA always when MYRUSD rates are increasing and withdraw when decreasing

tehoice
post Jun 9 2021, 09:35 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jun 8 2021, 09:16 PM)
Yes and VCA always when MYRUSD rates are increasing and withdraw when decreasing
withdraw and then buy back again? if yes, when? when dip again? what if the dip is small and it is on its way up?
honsiong
post Jun 9 2021, 10:25 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jun 9 2021, 09:35 AM)
withdraw and then buy back again? if yes, when? when dip again? what if the dip is small and it is on its way up?
Some people just believe they can control the market.
prophetjul
post Jun 9 2021, 10:34 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 9 2021, 10:25 AM)
Some people just believe they can control the market.
You mean TIME the market?
infernape772
post Jun 9 2021, 10:40 AM

296 posts

Most of the ETFs are duplicated lol, just different allocation.

1032 Pages « < 718 719 720 721 722 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:00 AM