Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

infernape772
post Oct 1 2020, 11:47 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Sep 24 2020, 03:50 PM)
I invested in SA since May 2020 with 36% and 18% portfolio.

My unrealized gain in MYR almost fully wiped off. What's the reason for recent sharp drop? Sorry a newbie in investment here, too busy to keep up with the news.
The big reason was US's second COVID relief bill was blocked, indicating that more people will suffer from unemployment and a ton of other related issues. Another big worry is the upcoming elections as well as the increase in cases of COVID.

Source: https://www.chicagotribune.com/coronavirus/...w3gq-story.html
infernape772
post Feb 6 2021, 09:07 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(AnasM @ Jan 31 2021, 10:59 PM)
unittrust managed by professional why they no charge monthly fee while SA charge monthly fee?
Usually come in 3 components where they charge you:

1. Sales charge (5-6%, some even double charge you when withdrawal)
2. Annual management fees (for equities usually about 1~2%)
3. Expense ratio (depending on which UT fund)

For UTs, you have to really believe in the fund managers/organization to actively manage your fund to outperform the benchmark/market. Although past performance does not indicate future performance, 70% actively managed fund cant even bear the S&P Composite 1500 (Source: https://www.forbes.com/sites/lcarrel/2020/0...h=7b792ab947b0).

Stashaway's selling point is taking your trigger finger and emotions of your investment journey, while providing consistent returns. If you were to understand the fundamentals of ETFs (the main vehicle of SA's investments), it was never to beat the market, but more of tracking the market. That's why each ETF has crazy amount of holdings and stakes in so many companies and businesses. With SA, you are not tied to your emotions in terms of what to buy or sell, or react rashly to market news or outcomes, just let it's algorithm do the diversification and balancing, while you consistently DCA into it.

If UTs can outperform SA, hooray great for you, but most of us do not have the time or effort to research on the thousands of UTs out there, comparing the charges, the underlying assets, geographical allocation etc. We just want consistent returns for the future, hence SA.
infernape772
post Feb 6 2021, 12:44 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Feb 6 2021, 09:15 AM)
Haha, unfortunately from what I have been reading, the freedom and ease SA provided for managing it also seems to let people change portfolio every other week and stop depositing when there is a dip then regret and top-up after when it's up... no wonder cannot reach projected gains.
People should learn that time in the market beats timing the market. Rebalancing and changing your portfolio would mean buying and selling certain ETFs in your portfolio, taking away the potential gains throughout that transaction time period.
infernape772
post Feb 24 2021, 11:06 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Feb 24 2021, 10:59 AM)
Thank you very much for your response smile.gif

I happen to be venturing into SA for the first time this week...so I'm like, aiks, what's all these noises...did I just do something wrong at the wrong time again @_@

And also, it's odd that funds have been transferred, but allocations to the funds have been made yet as I see it's still showing Cash (100%)...is this normal?
Yes it will take time. First the they will have to convert your money to USD, which is what you see now parked in cash. Then they have to execute the buy order, which will take place when the market opens in the US. So most of the time usually you can see money already in but no holdings yet in the morning, then the following day can see the execution of the buy order and your cash will be deducted. I believe the ETFs have no liquidity issues, so almost 100% of the time it will buy the ETFs once US markets are open.
infernape772
post Mar 2 2021, 02:16 AM

296 posts

What is the rebate we received in simple? I did not make any deposit in there at all.
infernape772
post Mar 6 2021, 10:34 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 6 2021, 09:56 AM)
Ah, I see. Because I'd imagine if I was in my 60s I'd like to not worry about losing value because I am withdrawing for spending during bad times or just... have to hold back on withdrawal because it's down 50% for the next 4 years LOL

On the other hand switching the entire portfolio down to lower risk also feel not worth it....

Interested to know more perspective!
It is really up to your own risk appetite. Who can predict when you retire the market will not crash? If you have a 36% portfolio, which are mostly equities, a crash like in 2008 would wipe 50% of your account and takes 2 to 3 years to recover. Can you retirement be delayed for 2-3 years? If you can tolerate the risk for higher returns, sure go ahead. But those returns are only realized when you actually exit.

A lower risk portfolio would no be affected by a crash like 2008 as much, but you pay the price of gains for the peace of mind. Most people here are young, and nowhere near retiring age, that is why they are able to tolerate higher risks. Any crash, give it a few years and it will recover. With SA however, you would also hope that they don't go bankrupt during a crash. I know our monies are held by a trustee, but to claim back that money would take weeks or months too. During a crash where everyone is losing their jobs and everything goes haywire, do you have that time to sacrifice to get back your investments, when you still have to put food on the table?

Diversify your asset classes, diversify your regions, and diversify your platforms of investments.
infernape772
post Mar 6 2021, 10:57 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 6 2021, 10:45 AM)
The beauty of ETF managed by professionals is that you are very unlikely to get a 50% crash. Every year the portfolios are reoptomised to the current situation. Unless shares or forex where you can lose 50% a day
It would be interesting to see what are SA's allocation during a global market crash haha, imagine having your asset allocation 100% in GLD haha
infernape772
post Mar 7 2021, 08:04 AM

296 posts

It's hard to buy the dip through SA cause of fluctuating FX rates, as well as time of execution of buy order.
infernape772
post Mar 16 2021, 03:36 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 16 2021, 02:54 PM)
have to register an account first before can see the data on the composition of each of the RI?
or just download the apps then can already?
You can create an account first, and view the weightage of each asset class before creating your first portfolio.

https://www.stashaway.my/how-we-invest
infernape772
post Mar 16 2021, 04:37 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 16 2021, 03:51 PM)
Thks for suggestion,... After creating the a/c,... Does it has an expiry date of when I need to put $$ inside before they closed my a/c?
As far as i know, there is no expiry date to your portfolio or your account. You can refer here:
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/115010107968-a...t-log-in-often/

You just pay the management fees based on what how much investments you have with them
infernape772
post Mar 17 2021, 06:43 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(tsutsugami86 @ Mar 17 2021, 05:12 PM)
What kind of emergency immediately need us to pay money ? (other than kena kidnapped & pay money to along cannot use credit card)
The easiest one to point out is that if one of relatives of family member had an accident, and they don't have medical insurance, or their medical insurance rejected/explode.

Or if you have kids and touchwood they turn out to be diabetic and needs insulin shots, or undergo some surgery for birth defects.

Life is filled with uncertainties, and you should always sediakan payung sebelum hujan smile.gif
infernape772
post Mar 22 2021, 05:08 PM

296 posts

I believe some people are still rolling on the free annual management fee by referring other people. I invested for more than 1 year on SA have not started paying management fees yet, plan to take out big chunk once the term ends.
infernape772
post Mar 22 2021, 09:18 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Mar 22 2021, 09:11 PM)
wahed does not understand the malaysian investment thesis which is max risk should NOT have bonds, and does not require "Shariah compliant local equity".

If only they just offer their Wahed ETF + Gold, it would be a good portfolio. It would still be Shariah compliant. But in my experience stick anything with the Shariah compliant, it doesnt end too well.

I have some capital in Wahed too.
Returns is one thing, but I personally do not like the most aggresive portfolio as well. With a local ETF and Gold and only 60+% exposure to US, it's barely the most aggressive.
infernape772
post Mar 23 2021, 11:28 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Mar 23 2021, 07:45 AM)
recently jumped on the bandwagon and started investing in SA
currently im investing in two portfolios, 30% and 22%
to me i treat 30% as sort of an equity portfolio, 22% as balanced

just some questions that i have because im new to SA/etfs, hope some members here can help to clarify  hmm.gif

1. is it better to invest more money into the 2 portfolios that i currently have or to have more portfolios (36%, 18%) to be more "diversified" and to cover more bases

2. is the asset allocation for my 30% the same as all other investors that are holding the 30% portfolio also?

3. if say i were to invest in 2 portfolios, 30% and 36%, would there be a big overlap in assets allocation for both this portfolios? for example both risk portfolios invest in IJR and XLV, is it just the difference in how much im buying into the etfs?

notworthy.gif
There are overlaps, if you look at the underlying ETFs and their holdings. It's just the % allocation different (aka how much money is proportioned into that %). If you want to truly diversify, you should have a portfolio with different asset classes, with different holdings. For example, there's no point holding both SPY and VOO when both of their underlying holdings are SnP500 companies.
infernape772
post Mar 29 2021, 10:30 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 29 2021, 10:18 AM)
As a I am new, so far I experienced to notice there are 2 types of promo codes,
1 is referral code,... To use upon or after registration... Easier to do it when registering.
Must do deposit to activates the promo.... Once activated it last 6 months.
Just not sure how long will SA accepts referral code if you asked them to manually key into their system... Ex, will they still accept if you had opened the a/c 2 yrs ago but still empty inside.....now wanted to activates referral code manually.?

The other is partnership code,... Reading past few postings, seems like it has must use/key in by date. Once keyed in, it has validity period
Referral code also will automatically show up under promotions, don't have to manually key in promo code. I try to spread out the referrals if possible, to get the longest duration of free management fees (I have less than 30k AUM in SA). If not it will stack the duration with increased limit.

For example: You invite friend A in Jan 2021, they deposit money you get free management fees for 6 months until June 2021 for 30k. In March 2021 you invite friend B they deposit money you get the same benefit also, free management fees for 6 months until Aug 2021 for 30k. BUT for Mar 2021 until June 2021, you got 2 referral stack together, the management fees waiver will be up to 60k AUM for that 3 months.
infernape772
post Mar 29 2021, 11:18 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 29 2021, 10:42 AM)
Will you need SA to manually key in their system if you did not have the referral codes upon registering a new a/c... Only got tyour friend's referral codes 2 weeks later?
I am not sure myself if they are able to accommodate your situation. By right is you register using your friend's referral code, and make deposit only both get management fees waiver.
infernape772
post Apr 2 2021, 10:29 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(akping_1 @ Apr 2 2021, 10:19 AM)
from The Edge report, likely rakuten may offer to buy US stock market soon, so u can just jump to rakuten and DIY yourself.
Side note, not too sure how the government will react to this. Will greatly encourage people to invest money on foreign companies instead of going local. We have yet to allow easy and affordable trading of foreign equities in Malaysia is partially to safeguard our own local business anyways. Just curious why it took so long for local brokers (besides banks) to allow trading of foreign equities if not due to political pressure.
infernape772
post Apr 15 2021, 09:33 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Seth Ho @ Apr 14 2021, 09:20 PM)
i am currently got 30% and would like to change to 36% any suggestion how to do it? just change to 36% or open a new one and withdraw all of the 30%. Saw a few suggestion base on last post?

i am focusing on long term is 30% or 36% more suggested, what i know is 36% is more towards china stock? previously i did not choose 36% because not wanting vanguard etf.
It's more or less the same, just 36% has more weightage on KWEB.
infernape772
post Jun 9 2021, 10:40 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Noob Boy 1996 @ Jun 8 2021, 12:29 AM)
Hi guys. I have 3 portfolio on SA (22%, 30%, 36%). All are getting positive returns. I'm thinking of selling my 22% so that I can put that money in 30% and 36%. I choose 22% in February as a start-up and only have Rm600 in 22% with RM5 profit. What do you guys think?
Most of the ETFs are duplicated lol, just different allocation.

0.4546sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:30 PM