12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

> Vivian Balakrishnan remarks that Malaysia-, -Singapore water deal is "morally wrong"

SUSleongfish3
post Mar 3 2019, 05:08 PM

Honestly speaking, there are more pressing matters for us to attend to n work on than this stupid H2O thing.

Instead of upping our own game n increase our competitiveness.

How about bringing back all our overseas workers who are contributing to other economies(yes, including those in SG)?

vanillapire
post Mar 3 2019, 05:08 PM

375 posts

Having said that is morally wrong, Singapore!
A deal is a deal and must be renegotiated that matches current environment and contexts
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 05:09 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(aniaaw325 @ Mar 3 2019, 04:48 PM)
And we bloody hell said this is SG fault?

Our JB MB had jux admitted that we will plan to reduce dependence on SG on treated water😔

We are behaving like master race accusing other race of doing well because they work hard?
Not sure if it was naivety, greed or laziness that got us trapped by the British.

If the British can even cut off the thumbs of Indian mill workers in order to destroy their textile industry, we are probably lucky just to kena conned by them.

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 05:10 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 3 2019, 04:59 PM)
Humkaling Mamakthir should honour the agreement.

Abislah Johor if Singapore stops supplying treated water to Johor.
I didn't know Johor cannot treat it's own water in future. Im not talking about now, im talking about in future.
SUSmleemlee232
post Mar 3 2019, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(gogocan @ Mar 3 2019, 05:07 PM)
Trump pull out of a fair agreement all the time no problem..why malaysia pull out of illogical agreement causing problem?

Malaysia so soft..why not stop the water and bring the case to ICJ? I confident even the judge there will find the term in the agreement ridiculous
Do you know SG is selling treated watet at a loss to Johor?

SG quoted S$2.40 to treat water. So far, no MY govt officer dispute the figure😔

Will judge consider this?
gogocan
post Mar 3 2019, 05:16 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(leongfish3 @ Mar 3 2019, 05:08 PM)
Honestly speaking,  there are more pressing matters for us to attend to n work on than this stupid H2O thing.

Instead of upping our own game n increase our competitiveness.

How about bringing back all our overseas workers who are contributing to other economies(yes, including those in SG)?
Najib last time even abolish toll collection for malaysian working in sinkapor. Hopefully new govt will introduce back the toll. At least money from the toll can be used as a form of replacement tax to those working and paying tax to singakapor govt.

SUSmleemlee232
post Mar 3 2019, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(gogocan @ Mar 3 2019, 05:16 PM)
Najib last time even abolish toll collection for malaysian working in sinkapor. Hopefully new govt will introduce back the toll. At least money from the toll can be used as a form of replacement tax to those working and paying tax to singakapor govt.
You are ignoring the elephant in the room!

What kind of rubbish govt we have that depends on other countries / govt to provide jobs for our own citizens?

gogocan
post Mar 3 2019, 05:25 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(mleemlee232 @ Mar 3 2019, 05:11 PM)
Do you know SG is selling treated watet at a loss to Johor?

SG quoted S$2.40 to treat water.  So far,  no MY govt officer dispute the figure😔

Will judge consider this?
Cost to treat water in malaysia is RM 2.30. So rather than paying RM 7.20 to singkapor why not use the balance to build a better water treatment plant in johor.

Maybe can ask Johor MB to consider this.
iGamer
post Mar 3 2019, 05:26 PM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Johor should not do any other infrastructure development until they build their own water treatment plant.

Then we process our own water, what little balance we have only we sell to cheapskate Singaporean.
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 05:26 PM

1,985 posts

Trump pull out of a fair agreement all the time no problem..why malaysia pull out of illogical agreement causing problem?

Malaysia so soft..why not stop the water and bring the case to ICJ? I confident even the judge there will find the term in the agreement ridiculous
So far I noticed in history that many would break agreements (fair or unfair) it they are or have become militarily stronger.

The United States broke many treaties with many Indian tribes because its army was far stronger.

The Communists in China ended many unequal treaties after they defeated the Nationalists.

wanted111who
post Mar 3 2019, 05:28 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 05:20 PM)
I can buy an apartment for only 450k myr, which takes me only 2-3 years to save due to govt subsidies. I can sell it later for more.

Look like you're one of the people milking malaysia as well. No wonder such a strong rejection.

Have a personal question would like to ask you, have you visited genting highland? Just wondering if SG people prefer sentosa island or genting highland.

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 05:15 PM)
they will never go back to msia and let their standards if living drop
Maybe for retirement or family they would.
Another example of how SG is milking MY. Hope Malaysian will wake up.

This post has been edited by wanted111who: Mar 3 2019, 05:32 PM
Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 05:35 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 3 2019, 04:52 PM)
I knew it was low, but not so low. No wonder there got so much of cash stashed in their banks
This kind of bloodsucking behaviour should be stopped. I hope the income tax department comes out with a policy to audit every year every company that have invoices that originate from Singapore.

Artus
post Mar 3 2019, 05:39 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 05:20 PM)
Working in sg, I get paid 2-3x what lawyers in msia get paid.

I can just drink from the tap, food and water is so clean, I feel healthy.

Everything is clean and modern.

I can buy an apartment for only 450k myr, which takes me only 2-3 years to save due to govt subsidies. I can sell it later for more.

I can go to uni and I got a degree from a top 15 world ranked uni for just 20k SGD. First class hons as well.

I am so thankful for being born Singaporean.
Are you thankful to the host that your country is sucking from?

SUSmleemlee232
post Mar 3 2019, 05:50 PM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 05:35 PM)
This kind of bloodsucking behaviour should be stopped. I hope the income tax department comes out with a policy to audit every year every company that have invoices that originate from Singapore.
You seemed like a smart cookie.

Why cant we lower our tax rate to be sama sama as SG?

We are definitely in better position to lower as we hv oil, palm oil, durian, rubber n all kind of resources.

Wait, we hv Labuan. What happen?

We really must not behave macam master race.

Always blame other race for working hard n succeed.

This post has been edited by mleemlee232: Mar 3 2019, 05:51 PM
Heroicage
post Mar 3 2019, 05:54 PM

265 posts

They could also devise an external water cost to Singapore the same,but now .. Malaysia will not provide piping. And if Singapore wishes to get the piping, pay X amount per metre. Malaysia by right is still selling cheap water,but now,... Singapore needs to pay for the pipe at a different cost. Not sure how detail is the contract binding.
ALeUNe
post Mar 3 2019, 05:56 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

Meh... Trump pulls out from unfair agreement.
He loves fair agreement.
Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 06:06 PM

Lol. This thread gives me a headache.

Anyway... discuss and agree on a new pricing if you will. Let me repeat this. The cost is small to what Sg or My earns.

The question begs itself to be answered.. and the answer is that this issue is being politicised for Mahathir's benefit.

After a bit of googling, I found this fact (revealed in Sg's parliament):

"Malaysia previously acknowledged that they chose not to seek a review of the deal in 1987 because they benefited from the pricing arrangement.

"Mahathir... was the prime minister at that point of time, and himself explained that Malaysia did not review the price as any revision would affect the price of treated water sold by Singapore to Malaysia," he told the Singapore Parliament yesterday.

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/466302

----------------

Now Sg unlike My's make a flying car type of minister or the Johor MB's suddenly vanished degree, will not spout nonsense, especially in its Parliament.

If Sg's foriegn minister said that, they can certainly back it up with proof e.g. letters of correspondenc, etc. I fully expect Sg to release such docs if Tun continues to spout nonsense.

So what does it show? It was Tun who created this mess. Here's another trick question: Did he create other messes as well? Oh why did we see him as some form of saviour. /facepalm.

VeeJay
post Mar 3 2019, 06:33 PM

3,844 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Mar 3 2019, 04:22 PM)
Water issues aside
Damn these Singaporean politicians really know how to speak
Calm, collective, intellectual, straight to the point, clear, soft spoken, civilised

They sound so educated
Maybe because they are
Exact;y...i thought the same as well, its so clear, no emotional statement and putar belit...its full of chronological facts
Heroicage
post Mar 3 2019, 06:33 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(wannastudy @ Mar 3 2019, 05:59 PM)
Msia has no leverage over sg anymore, 0.

Even in terms of military, sg has built up a military that is much stronger than msia, so when push comes to shove, sg does not fear msia.

There is really nothing msia can gain by trying to screw sg over.

There is a lot msia can gain by working with sg
You make me laugh with your answers, You don't get what I was trying explain, but nvm. I don't wanna screw your small island coz there is nothing interesting at all. I just want my gov to charge for servicing our water piping....and if you folks needed water , u can opt to recycle your toilet water if u find our water is too expensive.
agent sawyer
post Mar 3 2019, 07:49 PM

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 3 2019, 04:21 AM)
You can even equate an investment incentive of a genuine investor with transfer pricing activity? Why are you trying so hard to protect Singapore's morally wrong behaviour of helping others to avoid paying taxes in the countries that generated the profits?
Msia do it = investment incentive

Singkie do it = morally wrong behaviour to avoid paying taxes

rolleyes.gif

Pulling "morally wrong" card against Lynas is especially... erm....

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 3 2019, 07:26 AM)
They are not so stupid. Rather bribe Indonesia to have it on Batam island or further and drag power lines to supply Singapore.

Nobody so stupid to place a ticking time bomb in a such small land mass country
Nuke =/= explosion

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 3 2019, 08:40 AM)
The official explanation apparently is that hyflux betted big on energy generation in their latest tuaspring plant, but then energy prices tanked so nobody wanted to buy it over and so they just bled money until coffers were dry.
I have no idea

I really should be more aware of these things... but just so much to handle

QUOTE(KopiChia @ Mar 3 2019, 03:50 PM)
Ever heard of Vivian Hsu? Go Google her.
>expects Chinese to spell or use English names right

Son...

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 04:06 PM)

We don't know how to treat water? We don't have land to build water treatment plant? We don't have money? Don't have technology?

Tongkat lebih penting

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0152sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:01 AM