> Vivian Balakrishnan remarks that Malaysia-, -Singapore water deal is "morally wrong"

Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 3 2019, 08:40 AM)
The official explanation apparently is that hyflux betted big on energy generation in their latest tuaspring plant, but then energy prices tanked so nobody wanted to buy it over and so they just bled money until coffers were dry.
Hyflux (by itself) is just one plant. It is unlikely the Sg government will let the plant come to waste. This is essentially a private company. The Sg government is watching events very closely. The real issue I have heard is not energy. But membrane technology. The membranes developed by Hyflux the company is more expensive than the ones imported from other countries e.g. germany. It killed them. If the Sg government is to take over, it will use the most cost efficient membrane. But I would think the Sg government wants to see whether Hyflux, a homegrown company, can still survive.

SG do have a number of desalination plants, SingSpring (Hyfluz and Keppel), Sungei Tampines, Tuaspring (Hyflux), Tuas Desalination Plant (TDP3) (PUB -SG government), Keppel Marina East Desalination Plant (KMEDP) (PUB - Sg government), Jurong Island Desalination Plant (JIDP)( PUB-Sg government, and more under development e.g. Changi Desalination Plant (CDP) (PUB- SG government), etc.

Sgreans are tactical and work on the basis of long term strategy and what is cost efficient and failing that, a balance of achieveable best aims. I have a feeling they can in fact be self reliant now if they increase production of new water and clean water from their New Water and desalination plants. But, it will cost them more to use desalination (of course they can afford it). Also, the cost of desalination is going down as tech matures.

Do not be surprised if they say suddenly decide to not buy water anymore i.e. way before 2016. In fact, the number of new desalination and New Water plants coming online suggests that they will no longer indeed need Malaysian water. The Sg government does not want to be distracted by this childish argument about an international agreeement agreed and signed by both countries and one in which Malaysia ( "sleeping" as admitted by Daim) forgot to exercise its right of review. The eventual money involved is inconsequential or small to what they earn.

Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 06:06 PM

Lol. This thread gives me a headache.

Anyway... discuss and agree on a new pricing if you will. Let me repeat this. The cost is small to what Sg or My earns.

The question begs itself to be answered.. and the answer is that this issue is being politicised for Mahathir's benefit.

After a bit of googling, I found this fact (revealed in Sg's parliament):

"Malaysia previously acknowledged that they chose not to seek a review of the deal in 1987 because they benefited from the pricing arrangement.

"Mahathir... was the prime minister at that point of time, and himself explained that Malaysia did not review the price as any revision would affect the price of treated water sold by Singapore to Malaysia," he told the Singapore Parliament yesterday.

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/466302

----------------

Now Sg unlike My's make a flying car type of minister or the Johor MB's suddenly vanished degree, will not spout nonsense, especially in its Parliament.

If Sg's foriegn minister said that, they can certainly back it up with proof e.g. letters of correspondenc, etc. I fully expect Sg to release such docs if Tun continues to spout nonsense.

So what does it show? It was Tun who created this mess. Here's another trick question: Did he create other messes as well? Oh why did we see him as some form of saviour. /facepalm.

Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 08:25 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 08:15 PM)
I see it at another angle, SG can't get any better deal except from Malaysia,  reason SG buying from Malaysia because it's cheap.

Take below article for example, about importing chicken egg from my.
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&...fGO6rrBgN4QYsM4

SG said they can import egg from TH. The things is the market cost for 10 egg in TH is 45 bath = myr 5.77 and the alternative SG is saying is more exspensive than malaysia. That haven't including logistics cost, transporting egg from TH to SG is impossible to be cheaper than transporting from Johor to SG.

You knew it, we knew it. So stop trying to say SG is Malaysia biggest customers. SG had other alternative but why they can't exercise it? So, we push when we can, because you will still buy from us even though we are exerting political pressure on your government. Water deal is coming, I don't see why we need to back down and Singaporean will still buy from Malaysia. Water or farming products or other things for as long as we are cheaper.
Errr. myr 5.77 is about $1.20 Sg dollars for ten eggs or abt 10 Sg cents per egg. Given their already high income, that is peanuts. Even if it doubles, it is still peanuts. The cost of one miserable cup of coffee in their kopitiam is more than $1.20 Sg dollars.

They may complain. But it doesn't mean they cannot afford it.

This post has been edited by Mai189: Mar 3 2019, 08:25 PM
Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 09:11 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 08:34 PM)
They can afford it, I didn't say they can't afford it, but why still choosing Malaysia? Because it's better options.

Same goes to water deal, SG can opt for alternatives and not to buy from us. They already found the alternative years ago, they can turn sea waters and waste waters to drinkable waters.
Yet, they dying to protect the MY SG water deal. Why?

You like it or not, water deal is going to be push through, so Singaporean should prepare to pay few cent more for the water laugh.gif they can afford it. Few cent increase of price for a cup of coffee in kopitiam wouldn't kill them. At least the price won't double.
Well; logically you will aim for something cheaper of course when say 2 shops sell the same thing.

My point is that the price difference is inconsequential in your telur example. in fact, the ones suffering will be our local egg producers as they will lose Sg customers.

My goodness.. what is a few cents or dollars more to a Singaporean?

This price thing on water has been going on like decades. They are still paying the same price..As I work here, I can say that most sg people simply want to terminate the deal. But Sg government will continue to seek out and maintain the best deal..why not right? win win for SG.

Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 09:18 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 09:14 PM)
Yes win win, so why is it so difficult to increase the cost from 3 cent myr to 17 cent myr? SG can afford it. MY will be happy and its win win no?
Sorry, I really dont know how to bridge the logic behind your cranium. The international agreement signed by both countries determined the price to be like so. So why would Sg opt for a price that is even slightly higher? If you haggle over the price of an item, you would naturally aim to maintain the price you want to pay. So Sg will hold on to that price for as long as it can. Who is smiling?

Mai189
post Mar 3 2019, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Mar 3 2019, 09:25 PM)
It's contradicting what you're saying now with your post earlier. So if I understand it correctly, SG can afford to pay more but will not be paying us more because of an agreement made 50 years ago and felt that it is morally right?

Hope SG is in the position to do so, to protect the deal for as long as they can.
Well I do not know what is morally wrong about keeping to your part of the agreement. Lol. Do not listen to Tun too much. Heed my advice. He is an opportunistic politician. May allah and especially the people whom he offended all this while forgive him.

Let's say you rent a room at say 5 myr per day and there is a signed agreement between you and the landlord. Obviously, you will seek to maintain the rent at 5 myr. It is a totally different thing if the landlord inserted a clause stating that the price will go up several months down the road.
Mai189
post Mar 4 2019, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(hiro2016 @ Mar 4 2019, 11:10 AM)
To be honest, I do not think Malaysia will bring this to court, if they know what they are doing.

Same goes to the high speed rail, they keep 'tekan' Singapore saying they will cancel and etc. but in the end, they choose to postponed and paid Singapore compensation.

Singapore is a kiasu country, they will make sure that they will have every ammo they have if they want to fight. Not easy to cheat them.

Politic can be disgusting and ugly... to be honest this PH govt is not doing very well at the time being... especially those important issues. and keep blaming the previous govt and 1MDB.

anyway, there's a time limit for them 5 years, we will see.
I do hope malaysia brings this to icj or whatever. Just to proof Tun wrong. Im appreciative of truths but not outright lies..that is deceiving the rakyat and morally wrong.

For info, Sg will not lose as it is complying with the international agreement. Malaysia, on the other hand, wants a change to a signed agreement.

There is no way

Mai189
post Mar 4 2019, 12:36 PM

And Sgs point is that this is an international agreement. Kejanjian antara dua jiran. Nevermind the moral part of keeping to your promises or what Islam says about it. Furthermore, Tun forgo the right of review in 1987. So why the fuss?

To tell you the truth. I do believe Sg given its wealth is prepared to pay more. But how did My approach Sg? Accuse this..accuse that. Do you really expect Sg to say yes esp. when it is economically, militarily and financially better.

Sg will just sit there and watch My moan and groan. In a few years, they will just stop buying - this is their stated goal anyway.

Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0140sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 08:19 PM