198 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

TOMEI-R
post May 7 2019, 06:06 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Omamori_gamaguchi @ May 7 2019, 06:02 PM)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TuVRCXynpA
You can watch this video, while using Pasmo you save a lot of hassles while looking for coin and changes.

Well I figure out many Japanese especially those old school one, they still prefer coins because they think they can finish their coins this way as because Japan has many types of coins, 1 yen, 5 yen, 10 yen, 50 yen, 100 yen, and 500 yen.

My Japanese friend was one of them, I beh tahan so I just gave him a Suica before I left Japan instead of looking for refund.
Yes I am Malaysian, and I taught a Japanese how to use Suica and re-charge Suica. icon_idea.gif 

Maybe they think they can use up their coins this way as Japan has many types of coins, 1 yen, 5 yen, 10 yen, 50 yen, 100 yen, and 500 yen. Please bring a separate coin wallet for these, I like to collect Japanese gamaguchi and thus my name haha!

Cost effectiveness part, to be honest, I don't feel save much because each transaction you save few yens compare to using paper ticket. (This is why I prefer Seoul Subway over Tokyo subway, Seoul has free transfer within bus and subway in 40 minutes up to 2 times wee!)

One more thing I don't like from Japan train is that they have many private rail company. So it is a challenge on cost effectiveness while you transfer.

Example: I want to go to Kamata station from Haneda airport. (Kamata station is different with Keikyu Kamata Station, they are 1km apart, and distances between Haneda airport and Kamata station is only 7km.)

Google will give you 3 options:
1) Take express limo bus 280 yen.
2) Take Keikyu train to Keikyu Kamata Station then walk 1km to Kamata station 300 yen (sweat)
3) Take Keikyu train to Shinagawa station then transfer to JR to Kamata Station, 580 yen.

Because they are all different companies, the cost add up. Its fun to do homework before you start your journey!

However, you can save the time dealing with machine all the time if you are gonna be a heavy user. If only one or few times or you already have passes, then its OK.
Thank you very much for your insights. thumbup.gif Btw, can I can use suica/pasmo for the airport limousine bus? Is it ok to just buy the Airport Limousine Bus tickets when I arrive at Haneda late at night or better to buy in advance?
sacwoc
post May 7 2019, 06:16 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 7 2019, 06:06 PM)
Thank you very much for your insights.  thumbup.gif Btw, can I can use suica/pasmo for the airport limousine bus? Is it ok to just buy the Airport Limousine Bus tickets when I arrive at Haneda late at night or better to buy in advance?
If I remember, you cannot use suica/pasmo. You either buy the ticket at the counter or at the machine. Not sure if you can purchase in advance especially from Haneda to whatever destination. Also there are some limousine + subway pass as well: https://www.limousinebus.co.jp/en/guide/tic...subwaypass.html
TSsweet_pez
post May 7 2019, 07:09 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(ahlin @ May 6 2019, 02:50 PM)
Which is better? I'm planning to get SUICA as it is available on klook.

Willer is cheap plus they have promo now, only 1000yen per way, but unfortunately, not something my parents want. Any other recommedation? If not last resort will go for bullet train.

JR pass not worth for me IMO, because we didn't go back to Tokyo afterwards.
I have no idea what sort of promotion Klook has for SUICA... coz as far as I know it's like Touch N Go. You reload and tap tap tap to use. Gives you more convenience of using card than to buy ticket at each stop.

To get from Tokyo to Osaka or the other way: bus, train, domestic flight or drive down laugh.gif
cappuccino vs latte
post May 7 2019, 10:23 PM

743 posts

Experienced after dinner at Sukiya Asakusa, the cashier not able to recognise ICOCA I handed over to him. He had to consult with another staff then only able to choose the right payment mode on cashier machine. It happened at Bic Camera Akihabara Store as well. Nonetheless, cashier at Lawson Store was able to recognise it immediately. Hence it depends on individual actually.
Blofeld
post May 8 2019, 09:02 AM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 2 2019, 01:33 PM)
Blofeld Nagano Niigata Yamagata areas are all 3hrs ish from Tokyo and have plenty of snow activities for non skiiers for a short 2 or 3 day jaunt.

Yamagata area you can go see the fox village and go to zao onsen to see the snow monsters. On your way back stop over for day onsen at kaminoyama onsen.

http://look-see-eat.blogspot.com/2018/02/z...-itinerary.html

Alternately go Nagano Niigata area to check out the snow monkeys. And stay overnight at an onsen town up in the mountains to walk around in the snow.

http://look-see-eat.blogspot.com/2016/02/n...awara-plum.html

If you don't want to travel so far then from Tokyo there are many places nearby that are day trippable, for example mt fuji area, gala yuzawa area, etc.
Thanks for the recommendation.

How about between Hokkaido and the Nagano area above you mentioned. Which one is a better place to go?

Fyonne
post May 8 2019, 09:04 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ May 7 2019, 10:23 PM)
Experienced after dinner at Sukiya Asakusa, the cashier not able to recognise ICOCA I handed over to him. He had to consult with another staff then only able to choose the right payment mode on cashier machine. It happened at Bic Camera Akihabara Store as well. Nonetheless, cashier at Lawson Store was able to recognise it immediately. Hence it depends on individual actually.
u can check if their name tag or something has this yellow green arrow head thingie. that beginner who just started working. dun go harsh on em.
Like a Bause
post May 8 2019, 03:23 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ May 6 2019, 05:04 PM)
Fushimi Inari, both give different experience. try to do both if u can. my night time experience, unable to climb up til mid area overhead view of Kyoto city due to previous typhoon.
night time seem more beautiful. but my day time able to view Kyoto city.

night view? if u mean night illumination, i only visit Eikanko, Toji-ji n Kibuneyama's Kifune Jinjia + Momiji Tunnel.
Thanks buddy, I'll take a look on these places to decide which is best for my travel plan.. biggrin.gif

By the way guys, what is the best mode of transport to go Kyoto from KIX Airport? As I will be arriving at KIX around 930pm.. hmm.gif
-kytz-
post May 8 2019, 03:29 PM

12,573 posts

-edit-

This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 8 2019, 06:44 PM
Fyonne
post May 8 2019, 04:58 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ May 8 2019, 03:23 PM)
Thanks buddy, I'll take a look on these places to decide which is best for my travel plan..  biggrin.gif

By the way guys, what is the best mode of transport to go Kyoto from KIX Airport? As I will be arriving at KIX around 930pm..  hmm.gif
try get Haruka. its express train. quickest way to get there.
if u havent bought IC card. i think there is Haruka Icoca combo.
victorsoo
post May 8 2019, 05:35 PM

53 posts

Thanks buddy, I'll take a look on these places to decide which is best for my travel plan..  biggrin.gif

By the way guys, what is the best mode of transport to go Kyoto from KIX Airport? As I will be arriving at KIX around 930pm..  hmm.gif
The last Haruka Express leaves KIX at 10.16pm. That's a big risk if you have to clear immigration, collect your luggage (if you have any) and collect your ICOCA card if you don't have one.

You're better off taking the JR train from KIX to Osaka then change trains from Osaka to Kyoto.
Like a Bause
post May 8 2019, 05:58 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(victorsoo @ May 8 2019, 05:35 PM)
The last Haruka Express leaves KIX at 10.16pm. That's a big risk if you have to clear immigration, collect your luggage (if you have any) and collect your ICOCA card if you don't have one.

You're better off taking the JR train from KIX to Osaka then change trains from Osaka to Kyoto.
yeah.. that's what I'm worry about too.. sweat.gif

still contemplating on whether to use Osaka Amazing Pass / ICOCA card for my travel around OSAKA.. will be staying in OSAKA for 5 days, which includes 1 day in USJ.
TOMEI-R
post May 8 2019, 09:25 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ May 7 2019, 06:16 PM)
If I remember, you cannot use suica/pasmo. You either buy the ticket at the counter or at the machine. Not sure if you can purchase in advance especially from Haneda to whatever destination. Also there are some limousine + subway pass as well: https://www.limousinebus.co.jp/en/guide/tic...subwaypass.html
We can actually buy tickets for the limousine bus in advance. I would prefer to do so rather than hunting high and low for the counters when we are tired after landing. But if the flights get delayed or we get delayed at baggage collection or customs, then the tickets would be wasted.

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ May 8 2019, 05:58 PM)
yeah.. that's what I'm worry about too..  sweat.gif

still contemplating on whether to use Osaka Amazing Pass / ICOCA card for my travel around OSAKA.. will be staying in OSAKA for 5 days, which includes 1 day in USJ.
If you are going for the attractions covered under Osaka Amazing Pass, I would strongly suggest that you go for it. Its really worth the money if you plan to do the attractions. I was hoping there is a similar pass for Tokyo instead. Anyone?
PCLover2010
post May 8 2019, 10:49 PM

190 posts

Is there any kind of daily pass for trains within Osaka city to buy upon arriving at Kansai airport?
I need it for 4 days travelling within Osaka city centre and the surrounding (like Umeda, Kita, Minami, Universal Studio).
MR_alien
post May 9 2019, 08:57 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

there are only 2 ways going there
1 by haruka express, another by airport limousine bus
based on my research(cuz i'm going for this route as well)
if u already possess an IC card and do not plan to get another IC card
the haruka express is very expensive on it's own, it is only when u get the ICOCA combo thn it's worth it

i end up decide to go for the airport limousine bus, it's cheaper @ 2550 yen and it operates until midnight

This post has been edited by MR_alien: May 9 2019, 02:29 PM
Omamori_gamaguchi P
post May 9 2019, 09:13 AM

Probation

Try yasaka taxi,

https://www.yasakataxi.jp/english/shuttle_ICASSP2012/

Review in traditional Chinese:
https://tw.tokyocreative.com/articles/25606...ong-cheng-cheng

I took that with my aunt during my first trip to Kyoto in March 2016, the price had increased but still worth because it is same function as taxi, send you to your booked airbnb or hotel.

Omamori_gamaguchi P
post May 9 2019, 09:27 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Omamori_gamaguchi @ May 9 2019, 09:13 AM)
Try yasaka taxi,

https://www.yasakataxi.jp/english/shuttle_ICASSP2012/
Review in traditional Chinese:
https://tw.tokyocreative.com/articles/25606...ong-cheng-cheng
I took that with my aunt during my first trip to Kyoto in March 2016, the price had increased but still worth because it is same function as taxi, send you to your booked airbnb or hotel.
Oops sorry, didn't notice they set up a new rule on no reservation for arrival after 9pm, last time my flight 10pm reached no problem one, my cousin helped me booked because it was only available in Japanese sad.gif
sacwoc
post May 9 2019, 10:47 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 8 2019, 09:25 PM)
We can actually buy tickets for the limousine bus in advance. I would prefer to do so rather than hunting high and low for the counters when we are tired after landing. But if the flights get delayed or we get delayed at baggage collection or customs, then the tickets would be wasted.
OH ya. Can actually booked online. Did not know that. Normally if your flight are early/late you can still board another bus if seats are available. They explain this in Japanese but not English.

ご予約頂きました便より早い便への変更は、空席があれば可能です。
発券カウンター係員、のりば係員にお申し出下さい。
なお、係員がいない停留所では、乗務員にお申し出下さい。
また、到着遅れなどにより予約された便にご乗車いただけない場合、自動的に次便への振替えは致しませんので、あらかじめご了承下さい。
また、当日のお電話での時間変更はお受けできませんのでご注意ください。
次便以降で空席のある便をご利用下さい。
TOMEI-R
post May 9 2019, 11:48 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ May 9 2019, 10:47 AM)
OH ya. Can actually booked online. Did not know that. Normally if your flight are early/late you can still board another bus if seats are available. They explain this in Japanese but not English.

ご予約頂きました便より早い便への変更は、空席があれば可能です。
発券カウンター係員、のりば係員にお申し出下さい。
なお、係員がいない停留所では、乗務員にお申し出下さい。
また、到着遅れなどにより予約された便にご乗車いただけない場合、自動的に次便への振替えは致しませんので、あらかじめご了承下さい。
また、当日のお電話での時間変更はお受けできませんのでご注意ください。
次便以降で空席のある便をご利用下さい。
Oh... Thanks. Didn't know that. I think I will only buy when I arrived to be safe.
mastering89
post May 9 2019, 12:12 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

Seeing JPY rate goes up alot more than last April. (on xe.com)
anyone know whats the current buying/selling rate anywhere?
TOMEI-R
post May 9 2019, 12:30 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 9 2019, 12:12 PM)
Seeing JPY rate goes up alot more than last April. (on xe.com)
anyone know whats the current buying/selling rate anywhere?
37.75 now.

198 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:30 PM