Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

victorsoo
post Jan 24 2019, 02:12 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(skylinegear @ Jan 24 2019, 01:50 PM)
If i am staying near kyoto station

Day 1 visit arashiyama then kinkaju-ji
Day 2 visit fushimi inari then kiyomizudera

Can kyoto bus and subway pass cover the routes i am going?

Thanks in advance
Yes, the bus and subway pass covers the areas you are going: https://www2.city.kyoto.lg.jp/kotsu/webguid...bs_and_sta.html

victorsoo
post Jan 25 2019, 10:33 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Jan 24 2019, 05:06 PM)
thx thx ts noted!  thumbup.gif

hi all, i'm planning my pre wed photography + honeymoon during autumn 
bought tix for 12-20 oct. (hopefully can see full red autumn leaves during this period)

actual photography might take place during 17,18 oct

current scenery ayam thinking for the photo:
1. nara park - deer, mountain, sunset (must)
2. fushimi inari - shrine stuff (must)
3. bamboo forest - bamboo trees lol (like waste of time?)
4. sagano train
might not go alot of places due to time constraint for photographer and travelling. so limit to few "more memorable" places.

wanna ask is there any other 'hidden' location asides from the more tourist common places to take my pre-wed photo?
and any advise for taking pre-wed photo in japan.

arigato.  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(torres09 @ Jan 24 2019, 10:50 PM)
I don't think October can get full autumn foliage in Kyoto. Went in 2017 during end November and I was about 1 week too late. Best should be mid-Nov.
Yeah, torres09 is right. I went to Kyoto-Osaka from 17-26 Oct last year and only some leaves were starting to change colour. If you're going even earlier than I did, you might also just see very little autumn foliage.

The bamboo forest is unique and has its own charm. If you can somehow avoid the crowds you should go.

Not sure if those pay-to-enter temples and gardens allow you to take wedding photos inside but some of them are very beautiful.
victorsoo
post Feb 22 2019, 11:40 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 15 2019, 06:17 PM)
abt transportation..got a few question
1. what type of pass do we actually need in osaka/kyoto?...my tokyo trip, i only use my icoca card all the way
the trip posted by regentCID somemore include JR train shocking.gif
2. if the subway in kyoto straight forward or is it like tokyo where 1 track occupies a few train going different place that need to use hyperdia to track it?
because based on what regentCID posted, seem like very straight forward..like each train has their own track
Based on my experience:
1. You only need a pass if you intend to travel often on a bus, subway or train within a day. Example, a Kyoto 1-day bus pass costs 600 yen while a single bus ride costs 230 yen. So only if you take a bus 3 times or more within a day will you save money with a bus pass. Otherwise an Icoca card is enough.

2. Kyoto subway is easy peasy - only 2 lines with some stations intersecting with the train lines.
victorsoo
post Mar 12 2019, 10:24 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ Mar 12 2019, 10:16 AM)
Why would anyone get pocket wifi? Isnt tourist sim card more convenient?

No issue of wifi battery running out
I agree that a tourist SIM is more convenient if you are traveling alone or as a couple/small family. But if you are going in a large group, a pocket WiFi makes sense - you wouldn't want 10 people tethering off your phone's hotspot and drain your battery! Also, some phones do not have dual SIM feature so to have to swap SIM cards means people cannot call your original number if there's emergency.
victorsoo
post Mar 14 2019, 04:36 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(ReBornKS @ Mar 14 2019, 02:17 PM)
Hi, I have 3 Full days in Kyoto, is it worth to get the this subway & bus pass? (https://www2.city.kyoto.lg.jp/kotsu/webguide/en/ticket/regular_1day_card_comm.html)

Planning to buy 1 day and 2 Days = total 3 days. Any Advise?

My itinerary as below:

Day 1 KIX -> Kyoto -> Nishiki Market -> Fushimi Inari Taisha -> Gion (Hanami Koji)
===================================================================================================

Day 2 TOGETSUKYO BRIDGE > Sagano Bamboo Forest > Tenryu-Ji Temple > OKOCHI SANSO VILLA > KINKAKUJI TEMPLE (THE GOLDEN PAVILION)
===================================================================================================== 

Day 3 Kiyomizu-dera > Sanenzaka & Ninenzaka > Yasaka Pagoda > Ishibekoji Alley > Kodaiji Temple > Yasaka Shrine > Maruyama Park
======================================================================================================
I feel you might not need any pass at all.

Day 1 to Nishiki can use subway or bus. From there to Fushimi Inari you'd use the Keihan line and same line back to Gion.
Day 2 to Arashiyama you'd probably use the JR train. Then bus to Kinkaku-ji.
Day 3 in your itinerary is all walking.
victorsoo
post Mar 15 2019, 03:01 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(ReBornKS @ Mar 15 2019, 02:43 PM)
I see...so basically i just use their ICOCA will do right?
Yup, ICOCA can use on almost all public transport.

But let's say your day 2 you need to take a bus to Kyoto station, then a bus to Kinkaku-ji, then a bus to dinner or back to your hotel, THEN you can consider getting a 1-day bus pass because if you take bus 3 times or more in a day, the bus pass is cheaper than using ICOCA.
victorsoo
post Mar 18 2019, 10:28 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(PCLover2010 @ Mar 17 2019, 07:46 PM)
How much do I need at least to survive for 5D4N at Osaka?
Roughly my travel plan to jalan2 (local transport/rail), see2, makan2, maybe enter some places requires entry tickets for 2 days for 1 pax.
I don't plan to buy much for souvenir.
I'm thinking I may want to spend close to RM750 to exchange close to 20,000 Yen. Will this be enough?
I think it should be enough. When I went last year, I averaged about ¥3,000-4,000 per day per person, quite a fair bit spent on food and snacks. LOL. biggrin.gif
victorsoo
post Mar 28 2019, 10:35 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 28 2019, 09:46 AM)
my flight is AA to KIX, the usual 9.30PM arrive time
yup, plan namba area and kyoto station area(if i ever plan to stay in kyoto, near to transport)
but initially i was planning to go kyoto 1st, thn only move back to osaka so don't need osaka >> kyoto thn osaka again for flight back
but seem doesn't make sense due to my late arrival

now i'm pretty confused on how to plan my itinerary laugh.gif
the USJ is also giving me a headache
If you are arriving KIX at 9.30pm, then it makes sense to stay in Osaka first. Your flight back should be at night too then so technically you could go straight to KIX from Kyoto, no need to come back to Osaka again.

If you plan to make day trips to Kyoto, the only problem with staying in Namba area is that I think there is no direct train from Namba to Kyoto. You will have to switch to a different train line. I think cheapest from Namba is ¥590 one way per person on the Keihan line. So you can do the math for your family if you wanna do day trips if it is cost effective for you or not.

Personally, I found staying in Kyoto made more sense in terms of time and transportation as there are too many things to see and do there. But of course, it all boils down to what you and your family want to do lah. biggrin.gif
victorsoo
post Apr 12 2019, 12:00 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 11 2019, 04:45 PM)
just found out airbnb in osaka and kyoto is expensive, it's even more expensive than what i stayed in shinjuku like 3 years ago
hotels in kyoto is even more insanely priced
The cheapest airbnb i can find for 5D4N is RM1800 for 4 person near kyoto station

this is what i can come up for kyoto so far...need opinion
Oct 3rd (Thursday) – Reached KIX, haruka/limousine bus to kyoto
Oct 4th (Friday) – Kiyomizu-dera, Kodaiji Temple, Yasaka Shrine till Gion-Shijo Station, Kawaramachi Shopping Street, Nishiki Market, Imperial palace
Oct 5th (Saturday) – Arashiyama Bamboo Forest, Golden Pavilion
Oct 6th (Sunday) – Fushimi Inari, Uji(Maybe), Nara
OCt 7th(Monday) - ????, back osaka

Anyone idea where can i slip in ginkakuji and philosopher's path?..or can skip?
or put on monday morning?
A lot of people have already commented on your itinerary but I just want to mention that your 4th Oct itinerary looks really packed and rushed. How do you plan to go from one location to another? Because my experience of a similar route last time was a lot of walking - by the time my wife and I reached Yasaka Shrine was already lunch time. Of course, we took our time to enjoy each location we visited before we continued on so I guess it will all depend on your pace.

Personally I thought Ginkaku-ji had one of the best gardens among all the temples we visited in Kyoto. If you want to slot that in, I would suggest doing it on 6th Oct and dropping Uji and Nara. You can visit Nara from Osaka (I think the train ride is cheaper too from Osaka compared to from Kyoto).
victorsoo
post Apr 22 2019, 10:11 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(hamtaro98 @ Apr 21 2019, 07:57 PM)
Hi guys just need some opinion here from all the seniors here.
Im gonna travel to osaka next year mid of january and when i reach kansai airport it will be around 9.40pm night.

1) So im just dilemma wherther i should stay a night at the nearest hotel from airport or head directly to osaka city hotel ?

2) Second question is im thinking if i stay at the hotel near to kansai airport then i should direct to kyoto in the next morning to start my itinerary in kyoto first and save osaka for the last.

3) And lastly can i just stay osaka for my 8 days trips and travel conveneintly to kyoto and nara ?

Any recommendation ? Thanks alot.

Btw my trip is 8days 7 nights.
1. If you arrive KIX at 9.40pm, you should be able to catch the last 2 or 3 Airport Rapid trains to Osaka. Better to head to Osaka.

2. If following (1) above, just start your itinerary in Osaka. You can move to Kyoto later as you can catch the direct train from Kyoto to KIX for your return flight.

3. You can. The only thing is traveling to Kyoto from Osaka daily will cost more so you have to do your own calculations and see which is more worth it. Personally I find there's a lot to see in Kyoto so I prefer to base myself in Kyoto.
victorsoo
post Apr 23 2019, 11:08 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(hamtaro98 @ Apr 22 2019, 11:23 PM)
Thanks for the info, think i will just skip the airport hotel option and head straight to Osaka city (near Dotonburi ?) from the airport.

So which of the following plan is recommended as im currently drafting my itinerary ?

A. 2 days in Osaka -> 3 days in Kyoto and Nara -> 2 days in Osaka
B. 4 days in kyoto and Nara -> 3 days in Osaka (provided i head straight to Kyoto in the next morning after arrive in Kansai so i will just stay my first night in Osaka)
C. 3 days in Osaka -> 4 days in Kyoto and Nara (last day take the train from kyoto to Kansai airport)

Sorry this is the first time travel to Japan (2 pax) and landed in Kansai airpport at 9.40 night really make me headache.

Thanks for the help.
As another forumer mentioned, your itinerary should be what you want to see/do there. My wife and I are more into food and cultural experience; we're not so into shopping. So we spent 5 days in Kyoto and 3 days in Osaka (incl. a day trip to Nara).

Personally, I would recommend you do KIX - Osaka - Kyoto - KIX instead of coming back to Osaka before your flight home. The couple of hours you need to pack, check out, take the train to Osaka, drop luggage, etc. can be better spent on doing something on your itinerary.
victorsoo
post May 7 2019, 11:20 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 7 2019, 10:42 AM)
Among all the paid temples in kyoto, which would be the most worthwhile to visit? Nanzenji, Tofukuji, Kinkakuji, Daigoji, etc.

Not to go in to pray but more to visiting the gardens and surroundings

Visiting this autumn mid to late November
My personal favourites for gardens are Okochi-Sanso Villa and Ginkaku-ji. biggrin.gif
victorsoo
post May 8 2019, 05:35 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ May 8 2019, 03:23 PM)
Thanks buddy, I'll take a look on these places to decide which is best for my travel plan..  biggrin.gif

By the way guys, what is the best mode of transport to go Kyoto from KIX Airport? As I will be arriving at KIX around 930pm..  hmm.gif
The last Haruka Express leaves KIX at 10.16pm. That's a big risk if you have to clear immigration, collect your luggage (if you have any) and collect your ICOCA card if you don't have one.

You're better off taking the JR train from KIX to Osaka then change trains from Osaka to Kyoto.
victorsoo
post May 14 2019, 10:48 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 14 2019, 10:23 AM)
I have the same thoughts too last time, tried to cover Tokyo and also Kansai area in one trip but realised its too rushing. Now in the midst of arranging my itinerary in Osaka (5 nights) and Kyoto (7 nights).

Agree with the touch n go, some places might really take time to explore like dotonburi, shinsaibashi and shinsekai. In kyoto, I would really like to take my time to wander the streets of Gion; Hanamokoji Dori, Ninenzaka & Sanenzaka, Gion Shirakawa and the nearby Yasaka Shrine. Kiyomizudera is nearby too but I read its still under construction so I might give this a miss..

Ohh not to mention the beautiful Pontocho Alley!
QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 14 2019, 10:30 AM)
kiyomizudera is under renovation on the outside, from what i read, still can enter
i'll still be going on oct
Noooo, don't miss Kiyomizu-dera. They are doing restoration work on the exterior but you can still go in and explore.

This is how it looked like back in October last year:
victorsoo
post Jun 10 2019, 03:52 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(cat2 @ Jun 10 2019, 03:13 PM)
Hi all,

May I ask which is the best start point to explore Dotonbori all the way to Shinsaibashi shopping street or either way...Some i read say get off at Osaka Namba station but since the location is not far I want to know where to start is better.

Thanks in advance
You could take a subway to Shinsaibashi station and start walking down to Dotonbori from there. Maybe aim to reach the Ebisu bridge by evening so that you can see all the neon signboards lit up (you'll have to do some research to find out what time they turn on the lights). Lots of things to eat around Dotonbori too so you can have dinner there.
victorsoo
post Jun 10 2019, 05:39 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(cat2 @ Jun 10 2019, 04:45 PM)
thank you for your opinion...I think i will spend whole day at there from noon onwards since there are much to see and walk right?
Yup. The shopping street itself already got a lot to see. Then you will get distracted by all the other things along all the lorong-lorong also. I didn't see all of Shinsaibashi myself - I came from the Denden Town side and by the time I finished exploring Dotonbori I was tired already. laugh.gif
victorsoo
post Jul 18 2019, 03:02 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Jul 18 2019, 02:42 PM)
i believe other than the train and boat ride.. the Arashiyama town itself is beautiful enough for you to explore..  smile.gif
I totally agree! My wife and I spent a whole day in Arashiyama. We didn't do the train and boat ride but we explored the northern side where there are some beautiful temples and gardens, and so much quieter than the main town area. Plus, the main town area has plenty of things to see, taste and explore. smile.gif
victorsoo
post Jul 29 2019, 04:50 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(zeronova @ Jul 29 2019, 03:52 PM)
Hey everyone, I am going to Osaka in October. Still quite conflicted on which train to take from Kansai Airport (KIX) to Osaka.

There are 2 main choices now:
1) ICOCA/Haruka package costing = 4600yen round trip (inclusive of 2000yen ICOCA purchase)
2) Nankai Airport Express costing =  3840 yen = 1840 round trip (920 one way) + 2000yen ICOCA

Is there any reason to use ICOCA/Haruka package when Nankai Airport Express costs less? I am planning to use ICOCA to travel around Osaka (and USJ), Kyoto and Nara only.

Also, is RM 3,000 for expense enough in Osaka? Exclude accommodation and USJ ticket since they are already paid for before the trip.
I guess it depends where you're staying in Osaka. If your hotel is located around the Namba area, then your options would be:

1. ICOCA/Haruka package costing = 4200 yen round trip (inclusive of 2000 yen ICOCA purchase) --- you get off at Tennoji station
2. Nankai Airport Express costing = 3840 yen = 1840 round trip (920 one way) + 2000 yen ICOCA

However, if you're staying to the north around Shin-Osaka station, then your options would be:

1. ICOCA/Haruka package costing = 4600 yen round trip (inclusive of 2000 yen ICOCA purchase)
2. Nankai Airport Express costing = 4400 yen = 1840 round trip (920 one way) + 560 yen on Midosuji line subway (280 yen one way) + 2000 yen ICOCA --- 200 yen cheaper than Haruka if you don't mind switching trains.

Haruka is faster and stops at main stations only. Nankai Airport Express is still a local train so it will stop at several stations and is slower but of course, is cheaper.

Your RM3,000 is for how many days of expenses and how many persons?
Last year my wife and I spent on average RM450 per day for 2 persons. But it depends how much you're willing to spend on food, transportation, entrance fees, souvenirs, etc. biggrin.gif
victorsoo
post Jul 31 2019, 09:49 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(zeronova @ Jul 30 2019, 10:41 PM)
RM 3,000 for 1 person haha. My accommodation is near Namba station, so I should use Nankai Airport Express?
Yeah, just take the Nankai Airport Express. Just be careful to read the signs and not step onto the Nankai Limited Express - that will cost you a bomb. laugh.gif

As another forumer pointed out, RM300 per day per person can be your reference point for expenses.
victorsoo
post Aug 8 2019, 10:58 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Aug 8 2019, 10:13 AM)
Thanks. Gonna stay near dotonbori..
Hmm. I don't think there's a direct train from Dotonbori area to Kyoto so you will have to add on a subway ride (230 yen one way) to Osaka or Shin-Osaka station or Yodoyabashi station (for Keihan line) to catch a train. So do take that into consideration.

0.1423sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:19 AM