198 Pages « < 131 132 133 134 135 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

babylon52281
post Oct 24 2019, 10:45 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Oct 24 2019, 01:37 PM)
what is the problem with GRAB here ?
I don't use Grab often, but often on those times when I used my driver could get lost and needing me to guide him back the right way, or laboriously make a longer way around just because the GPS tells him to do that. I find taxi drivers are still better at choosing the best routes around.
But that's just from my experience.
FreedomSeeker
post Oct 24 2019, 11:00 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(yh28 @ Oct 24 2019, 09:59 PM)
Hi just a quick one.
I'm in Fukuoka right now, staying nearby Yakuin subway station.

Any idea where can I get the Kuromon market like Kobe/Wagyu slab cooked over stall instead of restaurant? Not planning to go full course due to budget.

Also if I were to call a cab to airport in the midnight, let's say about 2am (flight at 7am), any apps that is user friendly like Grab in Malaysia? 4 pax with 4 luggage looking for maybe a 6 seater car.
You staying airbnb? Last time i ask my host to help me call cab & he friendly enough to help.

If hotel i think lagi easy hotel staff to help you.

Fukuoka Airport is not 24h. I think open at 6am. Why go so early at 2am?
god2077
post Oct 25 2019, 07:55 AM

210 posts

I going to osaka on year end (December end) anywhere is a good place for ski?
JasonTheGreat
post Oct 25 2019, 08:02 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(god2077 @ Oct 25 2019, 07:55 AM)
I ski at Hirafu previously
Buy you need to take a flight to Sapporo.
Didn’t know got ski resort in Osaka
TOMEI-R
post Oct 25 2019, 09:12 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Mt Rokko snow park in Kobe. It's for beginners and kids snow playing though.
Like a Bause
post Oct 25 2019, 11:59 AM

419 posts

hi guys..would like to have your suggestions a lil.. is there any must have ramen, puffer fish n kobe beef restaurant in kyoto and osaka??

Is kani douraku nice to eat at dotonburi?

lyc1982
post Oct 25 2019, 02:00 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Oct 25 2019, 11:59 AM)
hi guys..would like to have your suggestions a lil.. is there any must have ramen, puffer fish n kobe beef restaurant in kyoto and osaka??

Is kani douraku nice to eat at dotonburi?

a must have ramen for everyone is different...mr google can help you a lot when you search

as for kobe beef...take a shinkansen to kobe, ishida is one of the recommended one
deodorant
post Oct 25 2019, 02:01 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Last time when I was doing some preliminary planning I remember reading that hachi kita kogen is one of the better Kansai area resorts, you can go check it out ba.

But Kansai area not that much information, vast majority of skiers go either to Hokkaido, or to the nagano / niigata / yamagata mountains, or even further north on Honshu.
swn525
post Oct 25 2019, 03:50 PM

877 posts

my airbnb booking has been cancelled 3 times in this month, i ask one of the host, they said can not accept the booking over 180 days in a year by the policy

but my booking is on March, confirm less than 180 days ranting.gif

waiting the host reply....

edit:
after ask the google, i think i miss understand the 180 days
they only allow rent out 180 days per year

i believe the host want save more days for Olympic/peak period to earn more

This post has been edited by swn525: Oct 25 2019, 04:16 PM
babylon52281
post Oct 26 2019, 11:43 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Oct 25 2019, 03:50 PM)
my airbnb booking has been cancelled 3 times in this month, i ask one of the host, they said can not accept the booking over 180 days in a year by the policy

but my booking is on March, confirm less than 180 days  ranting.gif

waiting the host reply....

edit:
after ask the google, i think i miss understand the 180 days
they only allow rent out 180 days per year

i believe the host want save more days for Olympic/peak period to earn more
Oh wow! I didn't know they could do that. Shockingly I didn't know they would do that in Japan! Talk about customer service. I feel your worry.

You might have to book Airbnb at less hotspot locations (not near any Olympic venue or quick access to public transports). And you might have to get it at outskirts of Tokyo in that case. Worse come to worse, have to book at proper hotels where they are less likely to cancel ur booking, but of course it won't be cheap.
-kytz-
post Oct 26 2019, 05:24 PM

12,573 posts

Hey guys, is it cheaper to buy strawberries/grapes in Kuromon Ichiba/Nishiki market or in supermarkets such as Takashimaya/Isetan/Daimaru? Any other places to recommend?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 26 2019, 06:38 PM
deodorant
post Oct 27 2019, 11:15 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 26 2019, 05:24 PM)
Hey guys, is it cheaper to buy strawberries/grapes in Kuromon Ichiba/Nishiki market or in supermarkets such as Takashimaya/Isetan/Daimaru?

Supermarkets tend to carry more atas range of fruits for gift-giving so they also tend to be more expensive. Markets or those neighbourhood supermarkets tend to be cheaper and almost as good IMO. My last trip a neighbourhood supermarket in asakusa was selling bunches of amaou strawberries at like 1000yen for 6 big ones, jin ho jiak.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Oct 27 2019, 11:15 AM
CtrlAltDelicious
post Oct 27 2019, 07:05 PM

178 posts

Any recommended shop to eat breakfast in Tsukiji Market?
BOTAK_WAI
post Oct 27 2019, 09:02 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,162 posts

just came back from osaka/kyoto/nara…10days family trip.

some attraction points are trap…lol. not worth to visit at all.

some tips:
1. KIX tourist counter opened at 7am, if u want to buy osaka amazing pass.

2. when u come out from airport, just walk to the opposite building to buy icoca+haruka. if u want to save money, just take nankai with icoca or buy ticket at the machine…super easy.

u can buy icoca from the machine itself.
top up icoca also super easy with machine or convenience store.

3. if u want to take nankai from osaka back to KIX to catch early flight, don't take the 1st train…it's full af…take the 2nd.

4. travel in kyoto use bus more than subway.

5. even travel 1 stop is same cost. plan your route wisely…

6. just use google map and u no need scare sesat…powerbank is a must have.

7. good luck to pure vegan…haha.

8. don't like some places with their late opening hour and early closing hour.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Oct 27 2019, 09:08 PM
BOTAK_WAI
post Oct 27 2019, 09:05 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,162 posts

Hey guys, is it cheaper to buy strawberries/grapes in Kuromon Ichiba/Nishiki market or in supermarkets such as Takashimaya/Isetan/Daimaru? Any other places to recommend?
your best places to buy
babylon52281
post Oct 27 2019, 11:05 PM

2,701 posts

Takashimaya/Isetan are rather higher class malls. If you want something more affordable, can go for supermarkets at AEON malls or Seiyu. But the best value is at the local markets where the locals shop at.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Oct 27 2019, 11:06 PM
babylon52281
post Oct 27 2019, 11:16 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 27 2019, 09:02 PM)

some tips:

Point 4&5. About the bus service, I believe cluster distances have same rate and this rate increase as you move to another cluster (ie Stop 1,2,3 - 120yen, Stop 4,5,6 - 170yen).

Point 8. Even Japan beginning to have work life balance compared to us. Lol!
BOTAK_WAI
post Oct 27 2019, 11:26 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,162 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 27 2019, 11:16 PM)
Point 4&5. About the bus service, I believe cluster distances have same rate and this rate increase as you move to another cluster (ie Stop 1,2,3 - 120yen, Stop 4,5,6 - 170yen).

Point 8. Even Japan beginning to have work life balance compared to us. Lol!
yea…subway also same.

work life balance? nah…those office guys still wait until after 10pm baru take subway go back home.
babylon52281
post Oct 27 2019, 11:39 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 27 2019, 11:26 PM)
yea…subway also same.

work life balance? nah…those office guys still wait until after 10pm baru take subway go back home.
Well its a start. I see retail and manufacturing/construction(?) are shifting over with earlier closing times. Even when I jalan-jalan at evening can see many blue collars already going back from work. Office staff I guess still follows the old work culture. Probably becoz their paid higher. Malaysia? Everybody works until late no matter which private sector we're in, so we're still worse off than Japan my friend. Whatmore if working for Chinaman companies.
Monya Meow Meow
post Oct 28 2019, 10:59 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 27 2019, 09:02 PM)

some tips:
1. KIX tourist counter opened at 7am, if u want to buy osaka amazing pass.

2. when u come out from airport, just walk to the opposite building to buy icoca+haruka. if u want to save money, just take nankai with icoca or buy ticket at the machine…super easy.

u can buy icoca from the machine itself.
top up icoca also super easy with machine or convenience store.

3. if u want to take nankai from osaka back to KIX to catch early flight, don't take the 1st train…it's full af…take the 2nd.

6. just use google map and u no need scare sesat…powerbank is a must have.

7. good luck to pure vegan…haha.

Point # 4, does it not take longer with the Kyoto traffic and are the buses packed?
What are some of the tourist traps that you mentioned for Osaka/Kyoto/Nara?
Thanks!

198 Pages « < 131 132 133 134 135 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:40 PM