198 Pages « < 130 131 132 133 134 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

[LinkZ]
post Oct 23 2019, 10:19 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Oct 23 2019, 11:49 AM)
why would u want to use a taxi in japan?
ICOCA is an IC card like our touch & go card
haruka pass is a 1 way express train ticket to kyoto station

if u owned a IC card like pasmo or suica, u don't need ICOCA
and there are other mode of transportation in KIX to go where u wanted to go too
Got elderly bro, just incase if we needs it i know where to find. Thanks for your advise bro.
cradle0fFilth2
post Oct 24 2019, 12:39 AM

108 posts

Hi guys, i am looking at the option of going to Tokyo via Cathay Pacific.

If i buy the ticket from Cathay Pacific official website, the return flight requires transit of only 1 hour and 5 minutes within the same terminal (terminal 1, that is). The flight between Narita and HK is Cathay Pacific (CX), while the flight between HK to KL is Cathay Dragon (KA)

Just want to be sure:
- is it correct to assume that when i check in my luggage in Narita, it will check thru all the way to KL without me needing to claim my luggage in between right? Understood that cathay pacific and cathay dragon is abang adik lah
- is 1 hour 5 mins of transit time enuf? i read that HK airport is very efficient and it should be enuf. but has anyone had such experience?

thanks!

This post has been edited by cradle0fFilth2: Oct 24 2019, 12:43 AM
fruitie
post Oct 24 2019, 01:01 AM

Rise and Shine
72,863 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth2 @ Oct 24 2019, 12:39 AM)
Hi guys, i am looking at the option of going to Tokyo via Cathay Pacific.

If i buy the ticket from Cathay Pacific official website, the return flight requires transit of only 1 hour and 5 minutes within the same terminal (terminal 1, that is). The flight between Narita and HK is Cathay Pacific (CX), while the flight between HK to KL is Cathay Dragon (KA)

Just want to be sure:
- is it correct to assume that when i check in my luggage in Narita, it will check thru all the way to KL without me needing to claim my luggage in between right? Understood that cathay pacific and cathay dragon is abang adik lah
- is 1 hour 5 mins of transit time enuf? i read that HK airport is very efficient and it should be enuf. but has anyone had such experience?

thanks!

Yes, luggage all the way from Tokyo to KL.

If they have such selection that means it is enough for you to transit. Assuming if due to delayed flight from Narita and you miss your connecting flight, Cathay will arrange you to board another flight, so no worries.
MR_alien
post Oct 24 2019, 07:20 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(LinkZ @ Oct 23 2019, 10:19 PM)
Got elderly bro, just incase if we needs it i know where to find. Thanks for your advise bro.
u use those e-hailing, their price is no different than any taxi on the road
so prepare to pay, only rich tourist take taxi in JP
Monya Meow Meow
post Oct 24 2019, 08:41 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Oct 24 2019, 07:20 AM)
I think for short distance travel for example between Kitaoji and Kinkakuji, it makes sense to take a taxi if you have 4 people in your group (especially if a few are elderly).
I would use public transport majority of the time but I can see the merit in taking taxis for such instances.
fruitie
post Oct 24 2019, 08:45 AM

Rise and Shine
72,863 posts

Any simpler way to go to Ginkakuji from Kinkakuji or vice versa?
RegentCid
post Oct 24 2019, 09:29 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 24 2019, 07:45 AM)
Show me your face picture then I told you the answer. tongue.gif
babylon52281
post Oct 24 2019, 09:33 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Oct 24 2019, 07:20 AM)
I wonder how does their taxi industry sustain if only rich tourist & Japanese uses them? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Oct 24 2019, 09:33 AM
RegentCid
post Oct 24 2019, 09:37 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 24 2019, 08:33 AM)
I wonder how does their taxi industry sustain if only rich tourist & Japanese uses them?  hmm.gif
Alot of Japanese using taxi. For Japan, time is everything....business traveler will used taxi to go any meeting and claim from company.
Japan after work need go social with co-worker and drink until late night, sometimes too late until miss last train then had to take taxi or sleep at comic book / computer store.

if you earn Japanese Yen then price of taxi actually consider reasonable.
Monya Meow Meow
post Oct 24 2019, 09:51 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 24 2019, 08:45 AM)
Probably the most straightforward way is that Raku bus, might take a loooong time though hmm.gif
MR_alien
post Oct 24 2019, 09:53 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 24 2019, 09:33 AM)
I wonder how does their taxi industry sustain if only rich tourist & Japanese uses them?  hmm.gif
japanese uses them, no problem at all because of how much they earn
it's only hard on the tourist
japanese take the shinkansen like nothing as well but for us, it looks expensive
and many of the taxi, they're being "booked" at night to take the "girls" from 1 place to another
fruitie
post Oct 24 2019, 09:55 AM

Rise and Shine
72,863 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 24 2019, 09:29 AM)
Show me your face picture then I told you the answer.  tongue.gif
It's OK. laugh.gif I'm already planning to skip Gingakuji because not accessible for me. tongue.gif
Just that I didn't manage to go last trip and this trip also seems like not possible. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Oct 24 2019, 09:51 AM)
Probably the most straightforward way is that Raku bus, might take a loooong time though  hmm.gif
Hmm.. I read about a bus route that takes long time, maybe this is the one...
Monya Meow Meow
post Oct 24 2019, 10:13 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 24 2019, 09:55 AM)
It's OK. laugh.gif I'm already planning to skip Gingakuji because not accessible for me. tongue.gif
Just that I didn't manage to go last trip and this trip also seems like not possible. laugh.gif
Hmm.. I read about a bus route that takes long time, maybe this is the one...
For me, Kinkakuji is easiest from Kitaoji station and Ginkakuji is easiest as the last stop on PP starting from Nanzenji.
It does mean 2 separate days but at least less time is spent on the bus sweat.gif
sacwoc
post Oct 24 2019, 10:20 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 24 2019, 09:37 AM)
Alot of Japanese using taxi. For Japan, time is everything....business traveler will used taxi to go any meeting and claim from company.
Japan after work need go social with co-worker and drink until late night, sometimes too late until miss last train then had to take taxi or sleep at comic book / computer store.

Thats true. Sometimes I am just lazy to squeeze into the train after work and just pay for the taxi to go home that cost about 4000yen. If you do direct conversion to MYR is of course expensive. Relatively its about MYR40.
fruitie
post Oct 24 2019, 10:20 AM

Rise and Shine
72,863 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Oct 24 2019, 10:13 AM)
For me, Kinkakuji is easiest from Kitaoji station and Ginkakuji is easiest as the last stop on PP starting from Nanzenji.
It does mean 2 separate days but at least less time is spent on the bus  sweat.gif
I will have to see Ginkakuji is nearer to which other attractions and see if I can squeeze in some time. hmm.gif
Monya Meow Meow
post Oct 24 2019, 10:26 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 24 2019, 10:20 AM)
I will have to see Ginkakuji is nearer to which other attractions and see if I can squeeze in some time. hmm.gif
If you go from south to north, it will be Nanzenji > Eikando > Reikanji > Honen-in > Ginkakuji with PP starting somewhere from Eikando onwards.
You can do that route in half a day.
babylon52281
post Oct 24 2019, 10:29 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 24 2019, 09:37 AM)

Even as a tourist, truthfully, I still see their rates as being reasonable considering the transparency of it, availability, much superior level of service, and the hassle free unlike our overpriced yet still plenty of headaches taxies. Even Grab here gives me headaches at times.
fruitie
post Oct 24 2019, 11:32 AM

Rise and Shine
72,863 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Oct 24 2019, 10:26 AM)
If you go from south to north, it will be Nanzenji > Eikando > Reikanji > Honen-in > Ginkakuji with PP starting somewhere from Eikando onwards.
You can do that route in half a day.
Thanks, let me plan first. biggrin.gif
ubsacc2004
post Oct 24 2019, 01:37 PM

No life without MUsic
1,860 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 24 2019, 10:29 AM)
Even as a tourist, truthfully, I still see their rates as being reasonable considering the transparency of it, availability, much superior level of service, and the hassle free unlike our overpriced yet still plenty of headaches taxies. Even Grab here gives me headaches at times.
what is the problem with GRAB here ?
yh28
post Oct 24 2019, 09:59 PM

164 posts

Hi just a quick one.
I'm in Fukuoka right now, staying nearby Yakuin subway station.

Any idea where can I get the Kuromon market like Kobe/Wagyu slab cooked over stall instead of restaurant? Not planning to go full course due to budget.

Also if I were to call a cab to airport in the midnight, let's say about 2am (flight at 7am), any apps that is user friendly like Grab in Malaysia? 4 pax with 4 luggage looking for maybe a 6 seater car.

198 Pages « < 130 131 132 133 134 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:29 PM