Tx3 mini tv box, Tx3 mini review

Digifriend07
post Nov 3 2019, 07:31 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 2 2019, 10:51 PM)
i assume u mean netflix HD/4k and not netflix SD.

.. if u want 5ghz wifi, astrogo, netflix hd/4k, there is only ONE box - shieldtv - rm1-1.8k depending on accessories.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4513032/+640

.. if just 5ghz wifi, netflix hd/4k, u can check mibox s... rm300 or so:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3561305/+3840

.. if just astrogo, 2.4ghz, u continue to read this tx3mini/max in detail... rm1xx.
Thanks bro... Right now astrogo is the most important. Netflix 4k already got at my smart tv...
AVFAN
post Nov 3 2019, 07:37 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Digifriend07 @ Nov 3 2019, 07:31 PM)
Thanks bro... Right now astrogo is the most important. Netflix 4k already got at my smart tv...
that being the case, u need not spend too much.

if buying tanix, please read up and ask seller:

.. ram + storage?
.. android version... 8.1, 9?
.. firmware version?
.. Alice UI?
.. option to close root?
.. can run astrogo, playtv.. other apps?
.. Bluetooth?
.. price?
AVFAN
post Nov 4 2019, 09:57 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Digifriend07 @ Nov 3 2019, 07:31 PM)

QUOTE(Mickey C @ Nov 1 2019, 09:28 PM)
QUOTE(ck_boon @ Oct 29 2019, 08:20 PM)

QUOTE(KamisF @ Oct 6 2019, 06:18 PM)

anyone wishing to buy tanix tx6 to use astrogo, please be informed... u may need to do some extra work to get there.
tx3 mini or max has simple close root option; no such issue.

thanks to azwandy for clarification:

QUOTE(azwandy @ Nov 3 2019, 08:23 PM)
bro, about tanix tx6... since u hv one... will be good if u can clarify n confirm...
.. is android9 the common version installed for new units now?
Yes.. all new batch preinstalled with Android9. The Android9 was released since February 2019 if not mistaken
.. is it alice UI or something else?
Alice UI is flagship Tanix launcher. Even new TX3 mini is using Alice. So Tx6 has been using Alice since Android 7
.. is it rooted or unrooted original?
Original from factory is rooted
.. if rooted, is there simple unroot option like tx3 or need to do something more elaborate?
No option to disable root. Need to perform manual unroot (delete all superuser binaries)
.. does astrogo work with rooted version... or need modified apk... or must unrooted first... after unrooting, official version works good?
Astrogo does not work with rooted box. If want to use unmodified APK astrogo on TX6, need to full unroot first.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4405774/+860#bottom

StevenL
post Nov 4 2019, 01:39 PM

732 posts

Shouldn't this thread belongs to Home Entertainment section? Moderator tongue.gif
lonelywolf90
post Nov 5 2019, 12:48 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 2 2019, 09:40 AM)
i do not know if there is a tx3mini alice UI firmware.
older tx3mini comes with 7.1 traditional UI while current ones, buyers report they are 8.1.
perhaps someone can confirm if the new 8.1 ones are Alice or old traditional UI.

but a few like mine, older orig 7.1... have converted to tx3MAX firmware with Alice UI, still android7.1
need some work... check post #458.
i suppose u can, should work.
personally, i am not a big fan of ATV os.. i dun find it faster or better in anyway compared to regular os.
for tx3, Alice UI is v good.
True but hardware wise should be the same. So the older batch of TX3 mini should be able to update to 8.1, isn't it?

QUOTE(sailou @ Nov 2 2019, 12:14 PM)
I just received a TX3 Mini Android 8.1 with Alice 2 weeks ago.

The firmware is 201903**

Still haven't tested it.
Is there any guide to update it? Checked in youtube, can't find any so far.

UPDATE : looking at post 458, seems like a risk to update haha sweat.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 5 2019, 10:13 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Nov 5 2019, 12:48 AM)
True but hardware wise should be the same. So the older batch of TX3 mini should be able to update to 8.1, isn't it?
Is there any guide to update it? Checked in youtube, can't find any so far.

UPDATE : looking at post 458, seems like a risk to update haha  sweat.gif
from the info posted by several users, tx3 mini has come with android 7.1, 8.1 and 9.
this box is >2 years old, apparently with several subversions - mini, mini-A, mini-L, min-LL...?
then there is "same" box labeled tx3 max.
unless a well informed seller will come in and explain all of it, we can't be sure which fits what.
one thing.... the official website still list tx3 mini with 7.1.
http://www.tanix-box.com/project-view/tani...-box-android-7/
likely the 8.1, 9 roms were created by some other AML enthusiasts or OEM's, tested good and used by many.
i am happy enough with tx3min7.1->tx3max7.1, no plans to change anymore.

AVFAN
post Nov 5 2019, 10:51 AM

24,449 posts

TANIX has a new box for sale... i find it interesting.

the TX9S is a "strange" box.... the chipset AML S912 is fine but has 8gb storage only; 2.4ghz wifi only; usb2.0 ports only; android 7.1.2.
but has gigabit LAN port, 2160p 60fps, VP9.
no info on whether rooted or not.
price: $25 or <RM100... biggrin.gif

TANIX TX9s REVIEW - THE BUDGET KING OF 2019 ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Apsq9Y95Uk

https://www.tanix-box.com/project-view/tani...am-8gb-storage/
Tanix TX9S – Android TV Box – Amlogic S912 – 2GB RAM / 8GB Storage
CPU: Amlogic S912, Octa core CPU 3 Ghz
GPU: Mali T820MP3
RAM: 2GB DDR3
Storage: 8GB eMMC
Wifi: 802.11 b/g/n
LAN: Gibabit Ethernet 10/100/1000
USB: 2 x USB 2.0 + SD Card

and this just launched... Tanix TX3 - this one is more exciting.
right... will add more confusion to previous "TX3".
this new one is using AML S905X3 chipset, comes in 2/16... 4/64gb, Alice UI, android 9, BT, USB3.0 2.5/5.8ghz, 8K capable.
indicative price.. rm120-200.
this new TX3 may eventually "replace" over all previous tx3min/max models..?
https://www.geekbuying.com/item/TANIX-TX3-A...4GB-420290.html

The TV Box Tanix TX3 includes the new AMlogic S905X3 SoC, a Quad Core manufactured in 12nm that reaches up to 1.9 GHz speed and integrates a Mali-G31 MP2 GPU. This SoC has 4 Cortex-A55 CPU cores and also an NPU for iA. The VPU is an Amlogic Video Engine 10 with Dolby Vision optional HDR, HDR10 +, HDR10, HLG and PRIME HDR support. This Smart Box is available in versions with 2/4 GB of DDR3 RAM and 16/32/64GB of eMMc storage memory that can be expanded from the included microSD card reader.

Other specifications
This Box includes at the level of wireless connectivity Wifi Dual Band and Bluetooth for both versions with 4GB of RAM and WiFi b/g/n without Bluetooth for the model with 2GB. In the connectors included in the plastic box are a USB 2.0 port, another USB 3.0, a 10/100 Ethernet connector, SPDIF audio output and an HDMI 2.1 video output. The operating system is Android 9.0 and a basic IR remote control is included.
https://androidpctv.com/tanix-tx3-s905x3-price-opinion/

full specs:
https://www.jerstvbox.com/product/tx3-s905x3/

from this video, can see "superuser option" - i take that means it has simple root closing option like tx3mini/max.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xuZyzRjgUg

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 5 2019, 01:46 PM
azwandy
post Nov 5 2019, 01:01 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2019, 11:51 AM)

the TX9S is a "strange" box.... the chipset AML S912 is fine but has 8gb storage only; 2.4ghz wifi only; usb2.0 ports only; android 7.1.2.

USB: 2 x  USB 2.0 + SD Card

this new one is using AML S905X3 chipset, comes in 2/16... 4/64gb, Alice UI, android 9, BT, USB3.0 2.5/5.8ghz, 8K capable.
from this video, can see "superuser option" - i take that means it has simple root closing option like tx3mini/max.
wow.. looks like scam.. how come you get the new s905x3 for under 200?

s905x3 is actually a small upgrade of s905x2 cpu.. mainly found on gt1 mini, tx5 max, a95 max..

problems with this is this might not be actual released by tanix.. lot of chinese manufacturer just slap in the tx brands..

AVFAN
post Nov 5 2019, 01:02 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(azwandy @ Nov 5 2019, 01:01 PM)
wow.. looks like scam.. how come you get the new s905x3 for under 200?

s905x3 is actually a small upgrade of s905x2 cpu.. mainly found on gt1 mini, tx5 max, a95 max..

problems with this is this might not be actual released by tanix.. lot of chinese manufacturer just slap in the tx brands..
check shopee...from china, from sabah...

https://shopee.com.my/search?keyword=tx3%20s905x3
azwandy
post Nov 5 2019, 01:06 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2019, 02:02 PM)
check shopee...from china, from sabah...

https://shopee.com.my/search?keyword=tx3%20s905x3
Damn.. i am still waiting for my beelink gt1 mini s905x3.. price definitely bit higher..
AVFAN
post Nov 5 2019, 01:20 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(azwandy @ Nov 5 2019, 01:01 PM)
i find the tx5max s905x2 very good - fast, good 5ghz wifi.

which is why i am v interested in this tx3 s905x3 model.

the thing about tx5max was there was no root closing option (had to do manual) and audio is restricted to lossy dd/dd+/dts.

since the video showed "superuser" option like tx3mini, astrogo/playtv shud work.

i am even more curious if it will pass thru lossless audio too like tx3mini.

if it does, i am more than willing to buy rightaway!! laugh.gif

i think this is still pre-order phase.

is this an official tanix box? will have to watch out fresh news/reviews.
azwandy
post Nov 5 2019, 04:52 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2019, 02:20 PM)
i find the tx5max s905x2 very good - fast, good 5ghz wifi.

which is why i am v interested in this tx3 s905x3 model.

the thing about tx5max was there was no root closing option (had to do manual) and audio is restricted to lossy dd/dd+/dts.

since the video showed "superuser" option like tx3mini, astrogo/playtv shud work.

i am even more curious if it will pass thru lossless audio too like tx3mini.

if it does, i am more than willing to buy rightaway!! laugh.gif

i think this is still pre-order phase.

is this an official tanix box? will have to watch out fresh news/reviews.
i usually refers to official tanix fb page.. they never ever mentioned this model at all..

do u know there is another tx5 named tx5 pro.. the casing design is like tx6.. but spec is like tx5 max.

that's y i now quite skeptical for all tanix boxes.. looks like the OEM chinese factories are churning out these boxes non stop with lot of variants..

what I read is s905x3 doesnt bring much to the cpu speed and performance.. antutu benchmark show performance improvement less than 9% over previous s905x2 cpu..

last time around i have return rate of 4 over 13 tx5 max.. that's y i am quite skeptical for all boxes from china..

AVFAN
post Nov 5 2019, 07:43 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(azwandy @ Nov 5 2019, 04:52 PM)
i usually refers to official tanix fb page.. they never ever mentioned this model at all..

do u know there is another tx5 named tx5 pro.. the casing design is like tx6.. but spec is like tx5 max.

that's y i now quite skeptical for all tanix boxes.. looks like the OEM chinese factories are churning out these boxes non stop with lot of variants..

what I read is s905x3 doesnt bring much to the cpu speed and performance.. antutu benchmark show performance improvement less than 9% over previous s905x2 cpu..

last time around i have return rate of 4 over 13 tx5 max.. that's y i am quite skeptical for all boxes from china..
hmm... my tx45max very ok...!! biggrin.gif

yes, tx5max is no longer on their list of offer... tx5pro... officially still android6....?

it is true, tanix does not behave like most others... they seem to keep a very low profile of themselves, out of date...

but let OEMS and others deal with whatever... strange biz model but guess they like it like that.. "shielded", still make enuf $...

even their website is blocked by ??... can only access with VPN/secured ones.
AVFAN
post Nov 5 2019, 11:07 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(davian666 @ Nov 5 2019, 08:30 PM)
Can anyone confirm whether the latest tx3 running android 9.0 is pre-rooted?
if u mean the latest model now in pre-order stage, there is no info yet on that yet.

just have to wait youtube reviews to come out from tv box stop, chigz or eta prime.
wyh
post Nov 6 2019, 12:45 AM

1,447 posts

not sure whats the difference in terms of application installed by local (as per above) compare with linglang. price linglang wins, but how about support ?
lonelywolf90
post Nov 6 2019, 01:51 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2019, 10:51 AM)

USB: 2 x  USB 2.0 + SD Card

full specs:
https://www.jerstvbox.com/product/tx3-s905x3/

This TX3 is quite interesting really, for that price and such specs, quite a bang for buck. But I have heard that Android 9 has been problematic, quite many vendors in Low Yat are not selling tv box with Android 9 and is still using Android 7.1. I might be wrong though.
puchongite
post Nov 6 2019, 07:58 AM

33,586 posts

QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Nov 6 2019, 01:51 AM)
This TX3 is quite interesting really, for that price and such specs, quite a bang for buck. But I have heard that Android 9 has been problematic, quite many vendors in Low Yat are not selling tv box with Android 9 and is still using Android 7.1. I might be wrong though.
Problematic or not, depends on what applications you want to run.

They maybe correct to say Android 9 is problematic for the older and established applications which they want to run. But as far as AstroGo is concerned, it likes newer Android version. Certain android 7 or 7.1 have older webview objects and is problematic for AstroGo.
AVFAN
post Nov 6 2019, 09:32 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Nov 6 2019, 01:51 AM)
this tx3 s905x3 is indeed very interesting.

the specs on paper.... for <rm200, u get 4+64gb, 8k24fps and hdmi 2.1 - u dun even find these in rm1k boxes!

however, gotta wait for full reviews... how well those features work.

i am quite hopeful as previous tanix models have proven to be very well accepted.

android9... i will not reject... some sellers prefer to stick to 7 or 8.. i think due to some ahem apps compatibility issues.

only preorders now, should be available within 2 weeks or so.

and see if anything on 11.11. biggrin.gif
azwandy
post Nov 6 2019, 12:58 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2019, 08:43 PM)
hmm... my tx45max very ok...!! biggrin.gif

yes, tx5max is no longer on their list of offer... tx5pro... officially still android6....?

it is true, tanix does not behave like most others... they seem to keep a very low profile of themselves, out of date...

but let OEMS and others deal with whatever... strange biz model but guess they like it like that.. "shielded", still make enuf $...

even their website is blocked by ??... can only access with VPN/secured ones.
https://www.geekbuying.com/item/Tanix-TX5-P...Box-417174.html

here it is.. the tx5 pro.. from the spec i guess it is on android 8.1

maybe u can try it to add to your collection.. hehehe
StevenL
post Nov 6 2019, 03:13 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(azwandy @ Nov 5 2019, 04:52 PM)
Wah! u selling boxes too?

88 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:39 PM