Tx3 mini tv box, Tx3 mini review

lonelywolf90
post Oct 31 2019, 11:30 AM

363 posts

Hello there, I'm facing issues with this TX3 Mini where the Netflix app doesn't work well with the remote control.

Do you guys have any alternative for this other than using the mouse? Because I'd like to navigate the app with the remote control instead, kindly advice smile.gif

I've checked around before and they said the current Netflix app version is catered more for tablet or smartphone so it wasn't meant for TVs or remote control etc. I actually tried installing the Netflix TV version but it is not compatible.

This post has been edited by lonelywolf90: Oct 31 2019, 11:33 AM
lonelywolf90
post Nov 2 2019, 12:47 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 31 2019, 12:29 PM)
No other way.... but to use mouse... wireless mouse or air mouse.

Becos netflix is built for AndroidTV os... tx3 mini is regular android os, not ATV.
I see, then I guess there's no choice, sigh.

And also, is it easy to upgrade the TX3 mini to the new Alice UI?
lonelywolf90
post Nov 5 2019, 12:48 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 2 2019, 09:40 AM)
i do not know if there is a tx3mini alice UI firmware.
older tx3mini comes with 7.1 traditional UI while current ones, buyers report they are 8.1.
perhaps someone can confirm if the new 8.1 ones are Alice or old traditional UI.

but a few like mine, older orig 7.1... have converted to tx3MAX firmware with Alice UI, still android7.1
need some work... check post #458.
i suppose u can, should work.
personally, i am not a big fan of ATV os.. i dun find it faster or better in anyway compared to regular os.
for tx3, Alice UI is v good.
True but hardware wise should be the same. So the older batch of TX3 mini should be able to update to 8.1, isn't it?

QUOTE(sailou @ Nov 2 2019, 12:14 PM)
I just received a TX3 Mini Android 8.1 with Alice 2 weeks ago.

The firmware is 201903**

Still haven't tested it.
Is there any guide to update it? Checked in youtube, can't find any so far.

UPDATE : looking at post 458, seems like a risk to update haha sweat.gif
lonelywolf90
post Nov 6 2019, 01:51 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2019, 10:51 AM)
TANIX has a new box for sale... i find it interesting.

the TX9S is a "strange" box.... the chipset AML S912 is fine but has 8gb storage only; 2.4ghz wifi only; usb2.0 ports only; android 7.1.2.
but has gigabit LAN port, 2160p 60fps, VP9.
no info on whether rooted or not.
price: $25 or <RM100... biggrin.gif

TANIX TX9s REVIEW - THE BUDGET KING OF 2019 ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Apsq9Y95Uk

https://www.tanix-box.com/project-view/tani...am-8gb-storage/
Tanix TX9S – Android TV Box – Amlogic S912 – 2GB RAM / 8GB Storage
CPU: Amlogic S912, Octa core CPU 3 Ghz
GPU: Mali T820MP3
RAM: 2GB DDR3
Storage: 8GB eMMC
Wifi: 802.11 b/g/n
LAN: Gibabit Ethernet 10/100/1000
USB: 2 x  USB 2.0 + SD Card

and this just launched... Tanix TX3 - this one is more exciting.
right... will add more confusion to previous "TX3".
this new one is using AML S905X3 chipset, comes in 2/16... 4/64gb, Alice UI, android 9, BT, USB3.0 2.5/5.8ghz, 8K capable.
indicative price.. rm120-200.
this new TX3 may eventually "replace" over all previous tx3min/max models..?
https://www.geekbuying.com/item/TANIX-TX3-A...4GB-420290.html
full specs:
https://www.jerstvbox.com/product/tx3-s905x3/

from this video, can see "superuser option" - i take that means it has simple root closing option like tx3mini/max.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xuZyzRjgUg
This TX3 is quite interesting really, for that price and such specs, quite a bang for buck. But I have heard that Android 9 has been problematic, quite many vendors in Low Yat are not selling tv box with Android 9 and is still using Android 7.1. I might be wrong though.
lonelywolf90
post Jun 25 2021, 10:35 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(edex @ Jun 24 2021, 06:43 PM)
I think the seller flash to slimbox ATV based on the photo in shopee

Right now I'm using slimbox for my tx3 s905x3. I download from here

https://slimboxtv.ru/glavnaya/tanix-tx3-bz-qz/
Actually wanted to understand better, is this a better and more recent firmware?

Because my TX3 mini is using Alice UX, I'm not sure if it requires any update since I've been using it more than a year now without doing anything to it
lonelywolf90
post Jul 10 2021, 06:24 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(tonyy2999 @ Jun 29 2021, 12:25 AM)
Hi guys,

a bit regret bought the TX6.

after buying, only noticed need to pay subscription for those taiwan live channels for my mom, what the....

i was using unblock tech ubox for years, all free, thought it is the same.

second, may i know how to add the channels to My Collection in Tanix TX6 ? I could not figure it out. Long press the ok wont work.

Card PM  Report Top
Does any Tanix tvbox support watching netflix in FHD or HD? I think I'm looking to upgrade my TX3 mini soon.

Any recommendations? Is Tanix still a good brand for their latest models? I don't even know where I should start researching since I didn't catch up with TV boxes for a long time.

Hopefully sifus here can recommend, I'm looking for a durable and reliable tv box to on almost 24/7 since my family and I take turns to use the tv box. My family streams a lot. Budget within RM200 like this awesome TX3 Mini.

This post has been edited by lonelywolf90: Jul 10 2021, 06:31 PM
lonelywolf90
post Jul 10 2021, 07:57 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Jul 10 2021, 07:12 PM)
Nope Netflix only in SD only but if Netflix HD or UHD then MiBox or latest KM2 Mecool is your cheapest I think available
Then I suppose I won't look at app support given the budget I'm aiming for. What tv box would be durable and reliable anyway?

This Tx3 Mini was really good, serving me for so long, there's really nothing for me to complain at that budget.
lonelywolf90
post Jul 12 2021, 05:15 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 11 2021, 09:33 AM)
i have 3 tanixes, last one bought >1.5 year ago.

tx3mini or tx3 s905x3 are both still good, with new android 9 or 10 now, i suppose.

they r great value for money.

just avoid tx6 which is said to have overheating problems.
I thought TX6S was ok.

I'm not really sure about this, but correct me if I'm wrong. Is the Amlogic CPU in the TX3 Mini better than the Allwinner CPU inside the TX6S?

I already know to avoid TX6 as it overheats, this was the response of many users.
lonelywolf90
post Jul 14 2021, 11:23 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 12 2021, 08:31 PM)
i wudn't know about tx6s...

chipset, Amlogic is usually an all round decent one; of course, firmware and the build matters.
there is no perfect box or one box that fits all.

i find tanix amlogic boxes cheap.. what more u want for <rm200! laugh.gif

they r durable, works good with popular apps - browser, youtube, china apps, web based apps, kodi, unifiplaytv... + axtrogo as bonus.

of course, if u must have netflix HD, buy some other.

and if u want the better audio+video functions for local playback with good home theater, tanix will not do.

for those, need to spend at least double.
Ya u got a point also. Only thing is that I thought I needed to upgrade, so I really couldn't figure out what to go for other than Tanix TX6S and the CPU isn't as good as TX3 Mini.

I've dug deeper and did some homework, turns out my current TX3 Mini still performs better than the TX6S, I'm backing out from this model lol.

This post has been edited by lonelywolf90: Jul 14 2021, 12:46 PM

0.0200sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:40 PM