671 Pages « < 414 415 416 417 418 > » Bottom

TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

onlinecheow P
post Dec 25 2021, 07:06 PM

Probation

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Dec 25 2021, 06:54 PM)
but overall i believe still better experience than unifi right? Thanks
I dont know much about how is unifi right now but TIME's in their worst condition.
I definitely wouldn't recommend anyone switching to TIME now.
aintnobody P
post Dec 25 2021, 11:13 PM

Probation

hi, i have recently subscribed to time (due to moved to condo). I have a google nest router, how can i replace the stock huawei router (HG8145V5) with the google nest router?
FusionXY
post Dec 25 2021, 11:24 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(aintnobody @ Dec 25 2021, 11:13 PM)
hi, i have recently subscribed to time (due to moved to condo). I have a google nest router, how can i replace the stock huawei router (HG8145V5) with the google nest router?
Contact CS to set router bridge mode.
Then setup PPPOE.
desmond1310
post Dec 26 2021, 08:02 PM

231 posts

Hi guys, I know my question is hardware related, but was hoping to get sifu advice here. I have also posted my question in the router thread, but am hoping for quick response, thus here i am as well. Sorry if my question is redundant.

I am on TIME fiber 500mbps plan.
Current router is Huawei WA8021V5.
Current modem is Huawei HG8240H5.

All the buzz around WIFI 6, i want to capitalize on the OFDMA and MU-MIMO tech and convinced to upgrade now.

What needs to change? The router only? or both router + modem?
May I have a recommendation of what brand and model?

I have my TIME username and password with me. Is that enough to setup with when i get the new WIFI 6 hardware? Or do i need more info?

Does my device needs to support WIFI 6 to make use of the OFDMA/MY-MINO tech? Main phones at home are iPhone XS, Mi 9T Pro, Redmi 10, Huawei Nova 3i (all support WIFI 5 only)

Many thanks in advanced.
PRSXFENG
post Dec 26 2021, 08:33 PM

2,614 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Dec 26 2021, 08:02 PM)
Hi guys, I know my question is hardware related, but was hoping to get sifu advice here. I have also posted my question in the router thread, but am hoping for quick response, thus here i am as well. Sorry if my question is redundant.

All the buzz around WIFI 6, i want to capitalize on the OFDMA and MU-MIMO tech and convinced to upgrade now.

I have my TIME username and password with me. Is that enough to setup with when i get the new WIFI 6 hardware? Or do i need more info?

Does my device needs to support WIFI 6 to make use of the OFDMA/MY-MINO tech? Main phones at home are iPhone XS, Mi 9T Pro, Redmi 10, Huawei Nova 3i (all support WIFI 5 only)

Many thanks in advanced.
The router needs to change (WA8021V5)
Brands, personally would say TP-Link or Asus
Asus more expensive but more features too
Can't go wrong with any depending on vudget
(skip TP-Link AX50 though, seems to have some heat related problems)

If it's the PPPoE username + password then yes it seems

Device wise,
OFDMA seems to need wifi 6, MU-MIMO seems to be a wifi 5 thing.
desmond1310
post Dec 26 2021, 08:48 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Dec 26 2021, 09:33 PM)
The router needs to change (WA8021V5)
Brands, personally would say TP-Link or Asus
Asus more expensive but more features too
Can't go wrong with any depending on vudget
(skip TP-Link AX50 though, seems to have some heat related problems)

If it's the PPPoE username + password then yes it seems

Device wise,
OFDMA seems to need wifi 6, MU-MIMO seems to be a wifi 5 thing.
Thanks bro. Helps so much. Regarding the devices reply, do you mean my WIFI 5 devices above cannot make use of the OFDMA, but it can make use of the MU-MIMO?

I am trying to google one by one of my devices to to see if it does support MU-MIMO in any way. Seems like the info is not that easy to come by.

This post has been edited by desmond1310: Dec 26 2021, 08:59 PM
edkk P
post Dec 26 2021, 10:30 PM

Probation

QUOTE(onlinecheow @ Dec 25 2021, 07:06 PM)
I dont know much about how is unifi right now but TIME's in their worst condition.
I definitely wouldn't recommend anyone switching to TIME now.
Yes man, Time internet speed has been bad for the last 2~3 weeks and it's terrible the last few days.
Ping to oversea game servers are very bad. Massive packet lost doh.gif
ThePolice P
post Dec 27 2021, 03:55 PM

Probation

Hello, I need some help with my TIME connection. Currently, under 100Mbps plan while using the HG8240H5 modem and WA8021V5 router with the latest firmware updated.

My desktop is connected with a powerline & CAT6 cable, however I'm only getting single digit speeds.

Also, I'm trying to get the PC connected to the data socket/SOHO box from the wall, but still no success in getting a connection.

Is there something I'm missing out? Abit lousy with internet connection issues. Thanks in advance.

https://pictr.com/images/2021/12/27/BdbqZ6.md.jpg
tzxsean
post Dec 27 2021, 11:05 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Dec 24 2021, 04:09 PM)
so 1 question right now TIME ppl started to laying cable at my taman (landed house area) so u all think how long will TIME started to offer their service in my area? Thanks
huh? Isn't TIME for high rise only?
FusionXY
post Dec 27 2021, 11:07 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 27 2021, 11:05 PM)
Limited high class landed property do cover also.
jjj2
post Dec 28 2021, 12:04 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(ThePolice @ Dec 27 2021, 03:55 PM)
Hello, I need some help with my TIME connection. Currently, under 100Mbps plan while using the HG8240H5 modem and WA8021V5 router with the latest firmware updated.
My desktop is connected with a powerline & CAT6 cable, however I'm only getting single digit speeds.
Please do a test by using the Cat6 network cable plug into LAN port of WA8021V5 & your laptop. Do a speedtest at speed.time.com.my

Also, I'm trying to get the PC connected to the data socket/SOHO box from the wall, but still no success in getting a connection.
Please take some pics to show us your current network connection.

Is there something I'm missing out? Abit lousy with internet connection issues. Thanks in advance.
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2021/12/27/BdbqZ6.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2021/12/27/BdbqZ6.md.jpg </a>
jjj2
post Dec 28 2021, 12:05 AM

3,612 posts

Not true, landed property as well, though coverage still kinda limited.

aniq8676
post Dec 28 2021, 12:33 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Dec 28 2021, 12:05 AM)
Not true, landed property as well, though coverage still kinda limited.
for landed, mostly in M40/T20 areas
jjj2
post Dec 28 2021, 12:42 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Dec 26 2021, 08:02 PM)

Change the Huawei WA8021V5 router.

Do provide your size layout diagram & size, your budget too of course.

Yes that is sufficient.

Yes. Anyway 500Mbps you wont see significant difference.

Many thanks in advanced.
squall_12
post Dec 28 2021, 07:36 AM

1,779 posts

my area have limited unifi port available (From what i heard is already full so some dont get it) so i guessing TIME is taking this opportunity to get customer from those that unable to apply unifi in my area.
desmond1310
post Dec 28 2021, 09:58 AM

231 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Dec 28 2021, 01:42 AM)
Many thanks jjj2!

I'm in a ~900sqft condo with 2 rooms.
What do you think about Asus RT AX56U? Budget at the moment <RM500

Also, am i correct to assume Asus RT AX56U can support 1gbps speed if i make the upgrade?

This post has been edited by desmond1310: Dec 28 2021, 11:38 AM
markypcs
post Dec 28 2021, 05:10 PM

574 posts

Spoke to ookas sales rep.

According to my setup, I cannot replace my existing setup with 2 TP Link AX73. He suggested to replace the C1200 mesh router to Deco M4 3 packs.
Attached below are images of my setup.
Main router: Huawei Echolife WA8021V5
Second ethernet port: TP Link Archer C1200

Can I get a second opinion here?

FusionXY
post Dec 28 2021, 09:45 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(markypcs @ Dec 28 2021, 05:10 PM)
Spoke to ookas sales rep.

According to my setup, I cannot replace my existing setup with 2 TP Link AX73. He suggested to replace the C1200 mesh router to Deco M4 3 packs.
Attached below are images of my setup.
Main router: Huawei Echolife WA8021V5
Second ethernet port: TP Link Archer C1200

Can I get a second opinion here?

If you have cable to the another then you replace with the ax73.
But due to limitations that this ax73 can pair with only repeater through one Mesh.

If you have cable running then it is fine.
markypcs
post Dec 28 2021, 09:55 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 28 2021, 09:45 PM)
If you have cable to the another then you replace with the ax73.
But due to limitations that this ax73 can pair with only repeater through one Mesh.

If you have cable running then it is fine.
What do you mean by AX73 can pair with only repeater through one Mesh?
My initial plan is to get two AX73 and see if it'll fix my weak wifi coverage issue, if that doesn't work, maybe get another AX73 (would this work if my 3rd location doesn't have lan cable?) or mesh to extend the range.
FusionXY
post Dec 28 2021, 09:57 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(markypcs @ Dec 28 2021, 09:55 PM)
What do you mean by AX73 can pair with only repeater through one Mesh?
My initial plan is to get two AX73 and see if it'll fix my weak wifi coverage issue, if that doesn't work, maybe get another AX73 (would this work if my 3rd location doesn't have lan cable?) or mesh to extend the range.
One Mesh is different from AiMesh.
AiMesh router with router is possible.
TP-Link one is can connect to repeater like REXXX
Repeater is like the one connect to wall socket one.

AX73 together with wireless cannot.
With wired can, set another one as an AP.

671 Pages « < 414 415 416 417 418 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:24 PM