Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

francbs
post Feb 14 2019, 10:58 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Feb 14 2019, 10:39 PM)
Yes, changing router is a better choice.
It will improve the coverage.

You may ask this guy SilentVampire as he is using C3150.
I'm using TIME and using own router instead of stock router.
C1200 cannot tahan with 800Mbps. I'm using 500Mbps, always got disconnection.

Thanks ... may i know what is the different for the model u recommend since the price i see quite a difference.
FusionXY
post Feb 14 2019, 11:09 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,832 posts

QUOTE(francbs @ Feb 14 2019, 10:58 PM)
Thanks ... may i know what is the different for the model u recommend since the price i see quite a difference.
You mean C3150 vs C5400X?

C5400X can handle more bandwidth and it is a gaming router.
C5400X is the latest and have more RAM.
C5400X is Tri-band router while C3150 is dual band router.
C5400X have 8 ports instead of 4 Ports in which normally you see on normal routers.
If you play heavy games then go for C5400X.
C5400X coverage and speed is better than C3150.
C5400X can cover 2 storey house well, for C3150 can cover, signal will be lower.
Get the C5400X so you don't need keep buying new router again in the future.
I'm using AC1900. Might upgrade later. C5400X is more newer.

SilentVampire
post Feb 15 2019, 10:31 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(francbs @ Feb 14 2019, 08:41 PM)
Budget should be around 1k
I suggest the C3150 V2. The C5400x is really good, bur if you have an average sized house, the C3150 is more than sufficient. Remove the repeater from your network as it does not help much.

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Feb 14 2019, 10:39 PM)
Yes, changing router is a better choice.
It will improve the coverage.

You may ask this guy SilentVampire as he is using C3150.
I'm using TIME and using own router instead of stock router.
C1200 cannot tahan with 800Mbps. I'm using 500Mbps, always got disconnection.

Cheers for the tag. Your C9 ia still working well? No point changing if it is. Might as well wait for the AX models.
opjust
post Feb 15 2019, 12:03 PM

720 posts

Hi forummers,

Would need a favour from you guys to recommend me a good router for my unifi. I’ve been using unifi for years, couldn’t remember when I start using probably 8-9 yrs ago. Since then I’m using the stock router innacomm rgx4400. Lately after been turboed to 500mbps connection become very bad.

Just for simple website loading it took ages, need frequent restart to reset the connection. I’m looking for a router to replace this. My budget is only around rm500.

Can you guide me which one I can buy? My usage is just mobile gaming sometimes, nextflix wired to my TV, laptop on WiFi, another tv upstairs using WiFi and want to add desktop to my house on WiFi as well. I do download as well from time to time.

Thanks in advance for your recommendation
SilentVampire
post Feb 15 2019, 12:13 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Feb 15 2019, 12:03 PM)
Hi forummers,

Would need a favour from you guys to recommend me a good router for my unifi. I’ve been using unifi for years, couldn’t remember when I start using probably 8-9 yrs ago. Since then I’m using the stock router innacomm rgx4400. Lately after been turboed to 500mbps connection become very bad.

Just for simple website loading it took ages, need frequent restart to reset the connection. I’m looking for a router to replace this. My budget is only around rm500.

Can you guide me which one I can buy? My usage is just mobile gaming sometimes, nextflix wired to my TV, laptop on WiFi, another tv upstairs using WiFi and want to add desktop to my house on WiFi as well. I do download as well from time to time.

Thanks in advance for your recommendation
See green text on my signature. I would recommend you to top-up and get the TP-Link C2300.
FusionXY
post Feb 15 2019, 04:48 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,832 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Feb 15 2019, 10:31 AM)
I suggest the C3150 V2. The C5400x is really good, bur if you have an average sized house, the C3150 is more than sufficient. Remove the repeater from your network as it does not help much.
Cheers for the tag. Your C9 ia still working well? No point changing if it is. Might as well wait for the AX models.
You're welcome.
My C9 still working good.
You have a good memory as you remember that I have Archer C9.

Will wait for AX. Afraid not compatible with AC.

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Feb 15 2019, 06:53 PM
francbs
post Feb 15 2019, 09:49 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Feb 15 2019, 10:31 AM)
I go to the local dealer shop here. C3150 out of stock. So good business. The price here around 7++. c5400x around 1299. The rest mostly dlink router. Btw does Asus worth the money in long run with its aimesh?
SilentVampire
post Feb 15 2019, 09:55 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(francbs @ Feb 15 2019, 09:49 PM)
I go to the local dealer shop here. C3150 out of stock. So good business. The price here around 7++. c5400x around 1299. The rest mostly dlink router. Btw does Asus worth the money in long run with its aimesh?
Just order online from OOKAS lol. It's only 670 from them on Shopper, and it is always the latest version from them. Asus router is good, but if you want mesh WiFi, might as well buy mesh Wifi, and not router that can be configured as mesh.
TSblacktubi
post Feb 16 2019, 12:55 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(francbs @ Feb 15 2019, 09:49 PM)
Although Asus routers are more expensive, I think they are still by far the best in terms of stability and support.

Imaging a 4 year old model RT-AC68U still updated with new features every so often and beat many routers at the same range. smile.gif
taqu
post Feb 16 2019, 10:57 PM

864 posts

Since Linksys & Netgear Nighthawks are rare here, only D-Link & TP-Link can rival Asus here. High performance, AI Mesh, AI Protection & traffic reports are Asus's selling points.

Since I can't justify the price, I opt to use multiple (including used) routers as wired access points around home & a Raspberry Pi to handle other functions.
Khan92
post Feb 17 2019, 11:28 AM

To live is to die
552 posts

Hey guy, can suggest a good router for 300 mbps?

For wireless performance

Budget 100-300
FusionXY
post Feb 17 2019, 01:04 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,832 posts

QUOTE(Khan92 @ Feb 17 2019, 11:28 AM)

For wireless performance

Budget 100-300
Tenda AC18 within your budget.

samliang
post Feb 17 2019, 02:17 PM

❤❤❤❤❤
649 posts

Hi guys, would like to ask are there any routers out there can compare with the price and performance of an Archer C3150 v2?
FusionXY
post Feb 17 2019, 02:59 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,832 posts

QUOTE(samliang @ Feb 17 2019, 02:17 PM)
Hi guys, would like to ask are there any routers out there can compare with the price and performance of an Archer C3150 v2?
SilentVampire
post Feb 17 2019, 03:52 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

Probably the C2300.

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Feb 17 2019, 02:59 PM)
SilentVampire
Cheers.
TSblacktubi
post Feb 17 2019, 04:01 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(Khan92 @ Feb 17 2019, 11:28 AM)

For wireless performance

Budget 100-300
TP-Link Archer A7 will be a great choice for this model. Not to mention it is really affordable now.

TP-Link Archer C2300 actually performs better than C3150 when comparing it with a normal laptop and not some high performance WiFi receiver.

Khan92
post Feb 17 2019, 08:38 PM

To live is to die
552 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Feb 17 2019, 04:01 PM)
TP-Link Archer A7 will be a great choice for this model. Not to mention it is really affordable now.
TP-Link Archer C2300 actually performs better than C3150 when comparing it with a normal laptop and not some high performance WiFi receiver.
I supposed better than unifi given router? Ac 1700 was it?

Thanks for the suggestion
FusionXY
post Feb 17 2019, 08:59 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,832 posts

QUOTE(Khan92 @ Feb 17 2019, 08:38 PM)
I supposed better than unifi given router? Ac 1700 was it?

Thanks for the suggestion
Hi, it is AC1750 Router.

orangutan
post Feb 17 2019, 09:26 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Feb 16 2019, 10:57 PM)
Since Linksys & Netgear Nighthawks are rare here, only D-Link & TP-Link can rival Asus here. High performance, AI Mesh, AI Protection & traffic reports are Asus's selling points.

Since I can't justify the price, I opt to use multiple (including used) routers as wired access points around home & a Raspberry Pi to handle other functions.
Mind sharing your actual purpose for using the Raspberry Pi? I have a spare one too but no idea what to use it for.
SilentVampire
post Feb 17 2019, 10:31 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Feb 17 2019, 04:01 PM)
So, would you recommend C2300 over C3150 in terms of wireless coverage and firmware? I have the C3150 but is considering the C2300 for my other house.

301 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:13 AM