301 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

midmay
post Mar 7 2019, 04:46 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 5 2019, 11:41 PM)
You should get the Asus PCE-AC88 if you want the best. Review on blacktubi site here: https://www.blacktubi.com/review/asus-pce-ac88-review/
Hi thanks for your advice , your recommendation seems much better choice.

However I would like to seek for your professional advice ,

My scenario is my router located in living room and no lan port was build , so originally I wanted to get a good pcie WiFi card for my desktop.

But after some research , some saying power line adapter is actually better and more stable vs WiFi , and using lab cable to connect my destop

Which will be much recommend ? Mine is a new condo and single phase
yongtjunkit
post Mar 7 2019, 04:50 PM

2,516 posts

Hi, Does anyone here knows which is better in terms of signal strength, stability, etc on 5 GHZ WiFi

Built in laptop vs usb wifi adapter?

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Mar 7 2019, 05:14 PM
TSblacktubi
post Mar 7 2019, 08:04 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 7 2019, 04:50 PM)
Hi, Does anyone here knows which is better in terms of signal strength, stability, etc on 5 GHZ WiFi

Built in adapter are always better provided that they are from the same generation.
SilentVampire
post Mar 7 2019, 10:28 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(midmay @ Mar 7 2019, 04:46 PM)
Hi thanks for your advice , your recommendation seems much better choice.

However I would like to seek for your professional advice ,

My scenario is my router located in living room and no lan port was build , so originally I wanted to get a good pcie WiFi card for my desktop.

But after some research , some saying power line adapter is actually better and more stable vs WiFi , and using lab cable to connect my destop

Which will be much recommend ? Mine is a new condo and single phase
It is better if you save your money and change your router to a router with stronger coverage. How big is your condo and what is your budget for a router? You have any preference towards a router brand?

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 7 2019, 04:50 PM)

Built in laptop of course, but if you have no choice, get USB wifi adapter.
yongtjunkit
post Mar 7 2019, 10:32 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 7 2019, 08:04 PM)
Built in adapter are always better provided that they are from the same generation.
QUOTE(SilentVampire)

Currently my laptop on support 2.4GHZ( brought it in 2013), need 5 GHZ to connect to school wifi due to wifi congestion and interference, internet connection on 2.4ghz wifi(at my college) can suddenly stop working bangwall.gif bangwall.gif might upgrade to a new laptop probably around 1 year time. Will USB wifi adapter be practical?

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Mar 7 2019, 10:36 PM
TSblacktubi
post Mar 7 2019, 10:36 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 7 2019, 10:32 PM)
Currently my laptop on support 2.4GHZ( brought it in 2013), need 5 GHZ to connect to school wifi due to wifi congestion and interference, internet connection on 2.4ghz wifi(at my college) can suddenly stop working  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  might upgrade to a new laptop probably around 1 year time. Will USB wifi adapter be practical?
I did WiFi card upgrade to a few old laptops before. You can explore this option else just stick to USB. smile.gif

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....=1&abbucket=18#
taqu
post Mar 7 2019, 10:38 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 7 2019, 10:32 PM)
Currently my laptop on support 2.4GHZ( brought it in 2013), need 5 GHZ to connect to school wifi due to wifi congestion and interference, internet connection on 2.4ghz wifi(at my college) can suddenly stop working  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  might upgrade to a new laptop probably around 1 year time. Will USB wifi adapter be practical?
USB Wifi adapter not practical for laptops. If your laptop can be opened, you can upgrade the internal Wifi card to something better like Intel 9260.
midmay
post Mar 8 2019, 09:45 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 7 2019, 10:28 PM)
It is better if you save your money and change your router to a router with stronger coverage. How big is your condo and what is your budget for a router? You have any preference towards a router brand?
My unit is approx 800 sf not too big, currently taking 1gbps from time . Err for router budget wise originally I thought of waiting WiFi 6 router which will launch somewhere this year ?

My budget maybe approx 1k-1.2k?

So while in that time I am in dilemma now using powerline or get a good WiFi card which the Asus wan and also change router in future ?
SilentVampire
post Mar 8 2019, 02:06 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(midmay @ Mar 8 2019, 09:45 AM)
My unit is approx 800 sf not too big, currently taking 1gbps from time . Err for router budget wise originally I thought of waiting WiFi 6 router which will launch somewhere this year ?

My budget maybe approx 1k-1.2k?

So while in that time I am in dilemma now using powerline or get a good WiFi card which the Asus wan and also change router in future ?
If you want to wait, you can. But, just get an AC router for now. Powerline can be unreliable. I recommend the TP-Link C3150 v2. You will need the Asus PCE-88 for it to even have a chance of getting good speed on WiFi, unless you want to wait for an AX card as well.
midmay
post Mar 8 2019, 02:43 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 8 2019, 02:06 PM)
If you want to wait, you can. But, just get an AC router for now. Powerline can be unreliable. I recommend the TP-Link C3150 v2. You will need the Asus PCE-88 for it to even have a chance of getting good speed on WiFi, unless you want to wait for an AX card as well.
Thanks for the recommendation , think I would get Asus pce-88 in this case. Router shall see how does it perform on my destop using Asus pce-88 , if things are still okay maybe will upgrade later if not will change soon .

malim.deman
post Mar 18 2019, 09:19 AM

22 posts

hi .. got two questions if you guys/sifus can help me out.

1. what is the best long range wireless router available in malaysia? would like to use it for our community hall

2. is there a solution/software for integrated/centralized wireless router management? in case we have multiple wireless routers from various brands and we want to manage and monitor it through this software management...

thanks in advance
TSblacktubi
post Mar 18 2019, 10:04 AM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(malim.deman @ Mar 18 2019, 09:19 AM)
hi .. got two questions if you guys/sifus can help me out.

1. what is the best long range wireless router available in malaysia? would like to use it for our community hall

2. is there a solution/software for integrated/centralized wireless router management? in case we have multiple wireless routers from various brands and we want to manage and monitor it through this software management...

thanks in advance
For consumer hardware, getting a mesh WiFi system is your best bet with centralized management. TP-Link Deco series is cloud connected and managed by their app.
noskyreason
post Mar 18 2019, 11:55 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 8 2019, 02:06 PM)
hi bro, can share why powerline unreliable? I got an issue where my house is double storey, I placed my router & BTU in living room (ground floor), now I am extending the wifi via wifi extender.

I wanted to get a powerline but I also heard that it has restrictions (3 phase la etc etc), my house comes with 2 DB box (1st and ground floor) and 3 phase. Can you recommend what is the best option for me?

If can I want to extend 5ghz on 1st floor too.

I am currently using UNIFI 300 mbps, router is Tenda AC18, extender is Tenda A9.
SilentVampire
post Mar 18 2019, 04:28 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(noskyreason @ Mar 18 2019, 11:55 AM)
hi bro, can share why powerline unreliable? I got an issue where my house is double storey, I placed my router & BTU in living room (ground floor), now I am extending the wifi via wifi extender.

I wanted to get a powerline but I also heard that it has restrictions (3 phase la etc etc), my house comes with 2 DB box (1st and ground floor) and 3 phase. Can you recommend what is the best option for me?

If can I want to extend 5ghz on 1st floor too.

I am currently using UNIFI 300 mbps, router is Tenda AC18, extender is Tenda A9.
Powerline is unreliable as it is affected by any fluctuations to the power, and your speed will be highly affected if you use that. That router is good, but a bit dated. If you really want good connection, you need to get a router that have good wireless coverage, instead of using an extender. Try the TP-Link C2300. It is a bit pricey, but it is worth it. You can also try the C3150 v2, but the C2300 should suffice.

Another alternative is mesh wifi, so either the Deco M5 or M9, if you can afford it. I would recommend the M9 over the M5.
malim.deman
post Mar 18 2019, 08:35 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 18 2019, 10:04 AM)
For consumer hardware, getting a mesh WiFi system is your best bet with centralized management. TP-Link Deco series is cloud connected and managed by their app.
Thanks.. Is it also good for wide area like hall?
noskyreason
post Mar 19 2019, 10:00 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 18 2019, 04:28 PM)
Powerline is unreliable as it is affected by any fluctuations to the power, and your speed will be highly affected if you use that. That router is good, but a bit dated. If you really want good connection, you need to get a router that have good wireless coverage, instead of using an extender. Try the TP-Link C2300. It is a bit pricey, but it is worth it. You can also try the C3150 v2, but the C2300 should suffice.

Another alternative is mesh wifi, so either the Deco M5 or M9, if you can afford it. I would recommend the M9 over the M5.
Bro thanks for your suggestion.

How to know if the new router is better than my current router in terms of wifi coverage? How to check?

I saw this from OOKAS:
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/tp-link-...s299922006.html

How to know if get this already dun need to get extender ah? RM590 not cheap investment.

If I get mesh wifi, do I still need to use my tenda router?

P/S: Wah mesh wifi not cheap oso, RM 1.2K sweat.gif
SzeMeng76
post Mar 19 2019, 10:08 AM

2,318 posts

QUOTE(noskyreason @ Mar 19 2019, 10:00 AM)

How to know if the new router is better than my current router in terms of wifi coverage? How to check?

I saw this from OOKAS:

How to know if get this already dun need to get extender ah? RM590 not cheap investment.

P/S: Wah mesh wifi not cheap oso, RM 1.2K  sweat.gif
Mesh wifi (ASUS) suggest can from Tmall (China), at least half cheaper than Malaysia unit, just cannot cover Malaysia warranty. Any warranty claims need to send back to China.
I got my AC86U less than RM 600. (include shipping fee)
SilentVampire
post Mar 19 2019, 02:44 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(noskyreason @ Mar 19 2019, 10:00 AM)

I saw this from OOKAS:

P/S: Wah mesh wifi not cheap oso, RM 1.2K  sweat.gif
I can't say for sure if it is better than the AC18 in terms of wireless coverage, but it should be better as I have the AC18, and its wireless coverage is not that good, compared to the C3150 v2 that I have. The C2300 is similar to the C3150 v2 so I can assume that it beats the AC18 in terms of coverage.

You can try using an extender if you want, but I would still recommend changing router over getting an extender.
tom_k3nt
post Mar 21 2019, 10:45 AM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

Hi Guys, Got some questions on access point seek for your kind advise.

Current set up:
Ground Floor Asus AC86U cable all the way up to 2nd floor connect to Dlink 842 Unifi router (work as access point). On 1st floor got a Asus NT12HP as repeater.

Question:
Can i connect Ground Floor Asus AC86U cable to 1st floor Asus NT12HP (access point) and from 1st floor Asus NT12HP cable up to 2nd floor Dlink 842 as another access point?

Can access point router LAN to another access point router?

This post has been edited by tom_k3nt: Mar 21 2019, 10:53 AM

Omega5777
post Mar 21 2019, 11:14 AM

17 posts

Hi Guys,

Looking to buy a new router to cover new condo (around 1800sqft).
Currently looking at Asus RT-AC1300UHP with quad core processor.
The placement of the router would be on the TV console which is in front of the house and the bedroom location (especially master bedroom) is located at the end of the house.
Not sure if this is the best router to cover this.

Appreciate any suggestion or advice on the setup or different router.

301 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:27 PM