2,767 posts

QUOTE(buffa @ Aug 24 2019, 09:39 AM)
House type:  Condo
Size of house: 2500sqf, 1floor
Features required: None
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 10 devices
Internet Speed: TIME 100 mbps
Budget: RM600

Hi, I am using stock TIME router. My problem is when 2 ipad watch youtube together inside the furthest room (my router is at center of my house), both will lag, stream need buffer sometimes. Will changing better router help? What model recommend?
thanks in advance
got budget, go for asus rt-ac68u
xSean
post Aug 24 2019, 11:21 AM

2,767 posts

good explanation...no point to get 1Gpbs at the moment as need to invest good router and wifi card which quite expensive

https://araknisnetworks.com/2017/06/dude-wh...-my-throughput/
Dinofluffy
post Aug 24 2019, 12:45 PM

71 posts

Hey everyone, my connection is pretty weak on second floor. Staying in a double story. Sometimes only one bar or two bars. Anyway to improve my connection on second floor? Max speed on second floor is around 10-40 mbps even though my unifi speed is 100mbps. I connected to 2.4Ghz most of the time as it is more stable. But 5Ghz is more weak on second floor. So normally i use 5Ghz when i am at living room.
FusionXY
post Aug 24 2019, 12:53 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(Dinofluffy @ Aug 24 2019, 12:45 PM)
Hey everyone, my connection is pretty weak on second floor. Staying in a double story. Sometimes only one bar or two bars. Anyway to improve my connection on second floor? Max speed on second floor is around 10-40 mbps even though my unifi speed is 100mbps. I connected to 2.4Ghz most of the time as it is more stable. But 5Ghz is more weak on second floor. So normally i use 5Ghz when i am at living room.
Hi, may I know what's your current router model?

edisoner90
post Aug 24 2019, 03:03 PM

355 posts

got money better buy Asus router.. AC86U xD

ck_boon
post Aug 25 2019, 10:17 AM

1,894 posts

tplink ac1200 really shit , wireless always unable connect internet , and wired always page no found
can anyone rekomen any better one for me ? not expensive one
FusionXY
post Aug 25 2019, 10:20 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Aug 25 2019, 10:17 AM)
tplink ac1200 really shit , wireless always unable connect internet , and wired always page no found
Hi, would like to recommend you TP-Link C2300.

Get it from OOKAS via Lazada.

SilentVampire
post Aug 25 2019, 03:27 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Aug 25 2019, 10:17 AM)
Get th C2300 as bro FusionXY mentioned.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Aug 25 2019, 03:27 PM
ck_boon
post Aug 25 2019, 04:16 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Aug 25 2019, 11:20 AM)
Hi, would like to recommend you TP-Link C2300.

Get it from OOKAS via Lazada.

budget hundred some thing bro
edisoner90
post Aug 25 2019, 05:26 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Aug 25 2019, 04:16 PM)
most likely you can only get AC1200 range and below.. tight budget hahaha..
TSblacktubi
post Aug 25 2019, 05:41 PM

-
8,406 posts

Mercusys AC12G is the only thing within your budget that’s better than the stock router.
edisoner90
post Aug 25 2019, 11:42 PM

355 posts

i got this spare new router.. never use before..

https://www.dlink.com.my/product/ac1200-mu-...gigabit-router/

i can sell to you if you are interested.
iceman31
post Aug 26 2019, 10:56 AM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

Hi. I need some recommendation to eliminate wifi dead spot.

House type: Landed
Size of house: 2 floor
Features required: ntg specific
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 6 avg. max 14
Internet Speed: 30mbps. probably upgrade to 100mbps in future
Budget: RM400
Router: Stock Maxis (white colour)

Should I get Mesh wifi AirTies4830 (from maxis), Tp Link Deco e4/m4 (cheaper) or upgrade my router?

Thank you in advance

This post has been edited by iceman31: Aug 26 2019, 11:38 AM
TSblacktubi
post Aug 26 2019, 11:43 AM

-
8,406 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Aug 26 2019, 10:56 AM)
Hi. I need some recommendation to eliminate wifi dead spot.

House type: Landed
Size of house: 2 floor
Features required: ntg specific
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 6 avg. max 14
Internet Speed: 30mbps. probably upgrade to 100mbps in future
Budget: RM400
Router: Stock Maxis (white colour)
Should I get Mesh wifi AirTies4830 (from maxis), Tp Link Deco e4/m4 (cheaper) or upgrade my router?

Thank you in advance
Don't get Airties 4830, I tested it and it is not really that great.

Skip the E4 with 100Mbps Ethernet port and get the better M4. It can function as a router as well but it cannot support VOIP.
ooze
post Aug 27 2019, 04:02 PM

21 posts

House type: Landed intermediate house
Size of house: 2 floors, 2800 sqf maybe
Features required: -
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 6-10 or so (not all at once all the time)
Internet Speed: 100 Mbps
Budget: RM1K or so

Hi Sifus, need to upgrade my current Linksys router to boost my WiFi signals.

Currently: Wifi router located in upstairs corner bedroom. My TV Box (only supports 2.4 GHz) is in living room downstairs.

I’m trying to boost or only dedicate the 2.4 GHz to the TV Box and have the other devices use the 5 GHz signal if possible. If not then the 2.4 GHz has to be shared. Currently the 5 GHz is fairly weak outside the bedroom where the router is located.

I’m looking to get the highly recommended ASUS RT-AC86U (local unit) to replace the current router. I’ve seen some complaints about it having issues - even the local unit but maybe the people complaining are just being louder. The AC88U is out of budget unless really recommended.

Any advice is welcomed. Thanks in advance.

P/s I’ve attached pics of my current setup. The Cisco / Linksys is my WiFi router. Using the Maxis free tower (technicolor brand) to login with their gateway. I changed from Unifi to Maxis that’s why the Fiber box is TM brand.

geowills P
post Aug 27 2019, 05:14 PM

Probation

Look I already Bought Linksys ea7500 Router it was very good at early days, but from past few days a new problem occurred Linksys ea7500 Keeps Dropping Internet Connection on the random basis I think I select the wrong Router, If anybody faced such kind of issue please suggest me for fix it.
misspinky
post Aug 28 2019, 10:13 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(geowills @ Aug 27 2019, 06:14 PM)
Look I already Bought Linksys ea7500 Router it was very good at early days, but from past few days a new problem occurred Linksys ea7500 Keeps Dropping Internet Connection on the random basis I think I select the wrong Router, If anybody faced such kind of issue please suggest me for fix it.

to fix this issue, you need turn off ipv6 connection. you need to change wifi channel on 2.4GHz & 5GHz to fix/static channel. 2.4Ghz just go with 20MHz only and pick wireless mode Wireless-N only. For 5Ghz pick just go with 40MHz Change 5ghz network mode to 802.11 a/n Only. Most of linksys router users have this kind of problem, after someone find the issue, many user tried this method. Really works.

This post has been edited by misspinky: Aug 28 2019, 10:15 AM
Eternalgl0ry
post Aug 28 2019, 11:58 PM

463 posts

anyone know whether the GT-ac2900 ASUS ROG router is good or not?

I am finding a good replacement router for my unifi 800mbps.

House type: Landed cluster house
Features required: i dont know
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 6 or so (not all at once all the time)
Internet Speed: unifi 800mbps
Budget: 1-2k

but i have size requirement due to my tight table space. I found asus rog gt ac 2900 which meet my size requirement. Please do recommend me more and better routers

This post has been edited by Eternalgl0ry: Aug 29 2019, 12:05 AM
SilentVampire
post Aug 29 2019, 10:13 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Aug 28 2019, 11:58 PM)

but i have size requirement due to my tight table space. I found asus rog gt ac 2900 which meet my size requirement. Please do recommend me more and better routers
Get mesh wifi. I recommend the Deco M9 Plus.
TSblacktubi
post Aug 29 2019, 10:21 AM

-
8,406 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Aug 28 2019, 11:58 PM)

If you have a 2K budget, settle for something like the RT-AC86U twin pack AiMesh. brows.gif

The only thing capable for 800Mbps mesh WiFi and it is the same size as GT-AC2900.

Unless you are comfortable to top up even further for the RT-AX92U with Wireless AX. This is even smaller than RT-AC86U but comes with Tri-Band.

301 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:24 AM