Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

Babypearl
post Feb 28 2009, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Feb 28 2009, 02:16 AM)
wow.. within a day so many post..

just asnwer to some of you asked me question..

I weared my Braces on 14 Jan 2008, Dr. How told me that I can de-braces around Jul/Aug this year.

I was weared the power chain to pull from screw to braces (@upper jaw) for about 4 months (installed on Sep 2008, remove on Jan 2009)  and addition metal string on the lower jaw for about 2 months (installed on Sep 2008, remove on Nov 2008)

Not really pain on the power chain la.. can tolerate one..i think the pain is almost same when Dr. re-position the braces..ya..it will painful than just change string..

Although already 14 months, i am still can't use my front teeth to cut food (except soft food like sotong ball). So, same like most of u, i cut the food to small and "send" the food to my back teeth to chew it..
wah then correct la...i thought me the only one cant bite with my front teeth...scare me...yay...then how la u all eat burger?..tapao go home and cut?..or eat at mcD there itself?...lolz...my bite stop is still there...got 3 there...but not so thick already...smaller a bit but still...uncomfortable la...plus that rubber band "bear" and parrot"...macam macam la in the mouth hanging at your teeth...shrugz...brush teeth at nite also take freaking 20 mins...argh...
MiZzGlam0ur
post Feb 28 2009, 01:48 PM

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Feb 28 2009, 02:36 AM)
aiya.. actually not tat scary la dear.. After I put my braces, I realized it wasnt as bad as I've expected. Really, it's much better than what I heard frm others. Now I can eat lots of food also.. except some particular food that we cant eat like biscuits, nuts, chips etc.. I also avoid cold drinks and its not a big deal for me as I seldom take cold drinks normally..hehe.. Me too must hv supper everyday if not I couldnt sleep haha.. Hmm..juz tat the way that we eat would be different cos some food we need to cut into small pieces.. My front teeth hv no strength to rip the food also... Juz treat this as our experience in our life and it is so precious that not everyone has gone thru this ma.. Be positive!  rclxm9.gif

So do your bf being supportive when you decided to put braces? since ur bf had experienced then he shud know how to take care of you and understand ur situation rite? That's a good thing what... anyway when are you going to put on ur braces dear?
Monday! day after tommorow... rclxm9.gif i think tommorow i must whack all the nice food already! i know its not pain ler..just cant eat alot hard food only..my bf wore braces for 5 years like that i think,mayb he said its suffering cause hes been wearing it for very long and traditional type ? Hey post some pics abit ..! laugh.gif
aprilcoco
post Feb 28 2009, 06:21 PM

Actually I just removed my brace rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

I also did it at Dr Reuben Hows practice but i think there is more than 1 orthodontist called Dr How around !!!!! This Dr How is in Berjaya Times Square. The clinic name is called Whitesmile dental braces specialist. They also have a website u can ask questions http://www.whitesmile.com.my

Very nice environment, very kind Dr... Ac tually i started my orthodontic bracing in UKM, but one girl dr ask me to remove one tooth only. I wait so long every time at govt clinic. At first i'm very happy because need to remove one tooth only. Wore two years NO CHANGE TO MY TEETH.

He recommend me to use this self ligating braces. So FAST!!!!!!!!!! my teeth so ugly i didn't think can finish earlier than 2 years. I wanted to take out my brace after 1 year but Dr Reuben said that i should wait 6 more months to fine tune!!!!!!!!!

I am very happy with his treatment, he also let me keep my pictures of my "before" and "after" he says the pictures will remind me to wear my RETAINER... his retainers also very nice wan, compared to my friend no one can see my retainers thumbup.gif

i will post the pics once i get them...

This post has been edited by aprilcoco: Feb 28 2009, 06:26 PM
kentcp
post Feb 28 2009, 08:37 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(aprilcoco @ Feb 28 2009, 06:21 PM)
Actually I just removed my brace  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

I also did it at Dr Reuben Hows practice but i think there is more than 1 orthodontist called Dr How around !!!!! This Dr How is in Berjaya Times Square.  The clinic name is called Whitesmile dental braces specialist. They also have a website u can ask questions http://www.whitesmile.com.my

Very nice environment, very kind Dr...  Ac tually i started my orthodontic bracing in UKM, but one girl dr ask me to remove one tooth only. I wait so long every time at govt clinic. At first i'm very happy because need to remove one tooth only. Wore two years NO CHANGE TO MY TEETH.

He recommend me to use this self ligating braces. So FAST!!!!!!!!!! my teeth so ugly i didn't think can finish earlier than 2 years. I wanted to take out my brace after 1 year but Dr Reuben said that i should wait 6 more months to fine tune!!!!!!!!!

I am very happy with his treatment, he also let me keep my pictures of my "before" and "after" he says the pictures will remind me to wear my RETAINER... his retainers also very nice wan, compared to my friend no one can see my retainers thumbup.gif

i will post the pics once i get them...
Thanks.. smile.gif Same as my Dr. He said I am on the fine tune stages..look like it require about 6 months .. Share the picture & info on retainers..soon i need it wink.gif
leng_leng
post Mar 1 2009, 01:20 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(aprilcoco @ Feb 28 2009, 06:21 PM)
Actually I just removed my brace  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

I also did it at Dr Reuben Hows practice but i think there is more than 1 orthodontist called Dr How around !!!!! This Dr How is in Berjaya Times Square.  The clinic name is called Whitesmile dental braces specialist. They also have a website u can ask questions http://www.whitesmile.com.my

Very nice environment, very kind Dr...  Ac tually i started my orthodontic bracing in UKM, but one girl dr ask me to remove one tooth only. I wait so long every time at govt clinic. At first i'm very happy because need to remove one tooth only. Wore two years NO CHANGE TO MY TEETH.

The place looks so nice wor.. How much u did for ur braces?

Added on March 1, 2009, 1:23 pm
QUOTE(MiZzGlam0ur @ Feb 28 2009, 01:48 PM)
Monday! day after tommorow...  rclxm9.gif i think tommorow i must whack all the nice food already! i know its not pain ler..just cant eat alot hard food only..my bf wore braces for 5 years like that i think,mayb he said its suffering cause hes been wearing it for very long and traditional type ? Hey post some pics abit ..!  laugh.gif
5 years? :shock:so long ah?

Aiks.. my teeth is so super ugly ler..paiseh to post up pics... blush.gif

This post has been edited by leng_leng: Mar 1 2009, 01:23 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Mar 2 2009, 09:34 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Feb 28 2009, 02:16 AM)
wow.. within a day so many post..

just asnwer to some of you asked me question..

I weared my Braces on 14 Jan 2008, Dr. How told me that I can de-braces around Jul/Aug this year.

I was weared the power chain to pull from screw to braces (@upper jaw) for about 4 months (installed on Sep 2008, remove on Jan 2009)  and addition metal string on the lower jaw for about 2 months (installed on Sep 2008, remove on Nov 2008)

Not really pain on the power chain la.. can tolerate one..i think the pain is almost same when Dr. re-position the braces..ya..it will painful than just change string..

Although already 14 months, i am still can't use my front teeth to cut food (except soft food like sotong ball). So, same like most of u, i cut the food to small and "send" the food to my back teeth to chew it..
Aiks, I didnt get to ask Dr, that how long do i have to hang my gum. I tot it will be there forever... Urs only 4 months? Hmmm... I have to agree that during the installation of the powerchain to the screw is painful. Gosh...

Anyway, i have my second extraction and gum hanging in the process already. I got so hero and didnt take the pain killer pills and ended up having terrible pain for the whole day. But i felt much better on the second day. Thank god.

By the way, having powerhchains hanging all over my teeth is so messy and scary looking. Shy to see clients with the look like that... sigh...
MiZzGlam0ur
post Mar 2 2009, 11:51 AM

Just got back from How's. He just put the upper jaw for me , and have to go back next month to put the lower jaw. so far no pain yet. I hope there will be no pain at all. sweat.gif Not that bad..but i cant smile coz look weird.
NikkiDaTeddy
post Mar 2 2009, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(MiZzGlam0ur @ Mar 2 2009, 11:51 AM)
Just got back from How's. He just put the upper jaw for me , and have to go back next month to put the lower jaw. so far no pain yet. I hope there will be no pain at all.  sweat.gif  Not that bad..but i cant smile coz look weird.
U cant smile for the time being only. Soon u can smile and will not shy to laugh out loud also. smile.gif
MiZzGlam0ur
post Mar 2 2009, 04:00 PM

Hahaha...i just whacked kuey teow.. rclxms.gif but then some people look nice while smiling with thier braces..mine like ... protruding out..still find it weird to smile .. hmm.gif The pain is like aching..but not those 'pain'.. Maybe the real pain will come few days .. =/
NikkiDaTeddy
post Mar 2 2009, 04:06 PM

QUOTE(MiZzGlam0ur @ Mar 2 2009, 04:00 PM)
Hahaha...i just whacked kuey teow.. rclxms.gif but then some people look nice while smiling with thier braces..mine like ... protruding out..still find it weird to smile .. hmm.gif The pain is like aching..but not those 'pain'.. Maybe the real pain will come few days .. =/
Dont worry my dear...in my beginning stage, i look ugly with my barces also. Cos not aligned yet ma. Give it a few months ok? smile.gif

Then about the pain... U just got it installed yesterday right? if you dont feel much pain today, i think tomorrow will be even better. As in lesser pain.
The most painful time should be on the same day and day after. Your third day should be much better liao.

Dont worry k? Ganbatte!! Keep it up! thumbup.gif
MiZzGlam0ur
post Mar 2 2009, 10:19 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Mar 2 2009, 05:06 PM)
Dont worry my dear...in my beginning stage, i look ugly with my barces also. Cos not aligned yet ma. Give it a few months ok? smile.gif

Then about the pain... U just got it installed yesterday right? if you dont feel much pain today, i think tomorrow will be even better. As in lesser pain.
The most painful time should be on the same day and day after. Your third day should be much better liao.

Dont worry k? Ganbatte!! Keep it up!  thumbup.gif
Hehe, no just installed it today..maybe i just installed the upper jaw only thats why dont really feel the pain..only feel very sensitive..i can eat rice n noddles ler..but take 1 hour to finish haha. Most important thing i brush everytime after i eat le..coz it get stuck easily..the most scary part is next apointment where i have to extract one tooth and install lower jaw together.. cry.gif I have phobia for dentist since young..expecially extracting tooth...

Added on March 2, 2009, 10:20 pm
QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Mar 2 2009, 05:06 PM)

Dont worry k? Ganbatte!! Keep it up!  thumbup.gif
Oh ya..hehe your teeth aligned already ar after few months? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by MiZzGlam0ur: Mar 2 2009, 10:20 PM
kentcp
post Mar 3 2009, 12:51 AM

37 posts

Nowaday extracting a tooth is simple & fast plus no pain at all..compare to manay year ago.. No worry ya.. smile.gif

I got appointment on tomorrow morning with Dr. How. I think I will let it be with my hole (extracted by doc when planned to take braces during small time) because to inplant a tooth is sooooooo expensive. 6k per tooth sad.gif

See how Dr say la..if i let it be..hai.. headache on this few week when thinking on this..
NikkiDaTeddy
post Mar 3 2009, 08:48 AM

QUOTE(MiZzGlam0ur @ Mar 2 2009, 10:19 PM)
Hehe, no just installed it today..maybe i just installed the upper jaw only thats why dont really feel the pain..only feel very sensitive..i can eat rice n noddles ler..but take 1 hour to finish haha. Most important thing i brush everytime after i eat le..coz it get stuck easily..the most scary part is next apointment where i have to extract one tooth and install lower jaw together.. cry.gif I have phobia for dentist since young..expecially extracting tooth...

Added on March 2, 2009, 10:20 pm

Oh ya..hehe your teeth aligned already ar after few months? rolleyes.gif
Yah, i had mine installed on upper on Oct 08. And now, they're 90% aligned already. Left back one tooth that is slightly inward. I stalled my lower two months later and they are also aligned already. My teeth are aligned but they are protruding cos i have big teeth and too many. Haha... So dr extracted 3 teeth out of me. In that case, it gives more space to push everything back in.

So i guess, from know on till end of my treatment, it will be closing gaps and 'hang' my gum lo. MizzGlamour, u have to be thankful that u dont have to hang your gum. Besides having too many things in my mouth now (not a pleasant sight to look at), it also not comfortable at all... The thing is scraping my lips and it hurts a little.
leng_leng
post Mar 3 2009, 11:50 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Mar 3 2009, 08:48 AM)
Yah, i had mine installed on upper on Oct 08. And now, they're 90% aligned already. Left back one tooth that is slightly inward. I stalled my lower two months later and they are also aligned already. My teeth are aligned but they are protruding cos i have big teeth and too many. Haha... So dr extracted 3 teeth out of me. In that case, it gives more space to push everything back in.

So i guess, from know on till end of my treatment, it will be closing gaps and 'hang' my gum lo. MizzGlamour, u have to be thankful that u dont have to hang your gum. Besides having too many things in my mouth now (not a pleasant sight to look at), it also not comfortable at all... The thing is scraping my lips and it hurts a little.
wut do u mean by "hang" ur gum dear?
NikkiDaTeddy
post Mar 3 2009, 12:23 PM

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Mar 3 2009, 11:50 AM)
wut do u mean by "hang" ur gum dear?
erm....remember some of us (babypearl, kentcp and myself) mentioned about screws?

Cos we hav gummy smile. Screws were installed on upper gum. then use power chain to tarik teeth up to the screws. all this is to results of smaller gum.

Its nasty. i tell u.... but most of u are lucky cos dont hav to do this....
aprilcoco
post Mar 3 2009, 06:21 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image These are my pictures before i wear my braces at berjaya times square... dr reuben's clinic... I was wearing braces from govt clinic

This post has been edited by aprilcoco: Mar 3 2009, 06:25 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
aprilcoco
post Mar 3 2009, 06:32 PM

This is after my braces r removed... dr reuben let me take pictures home... and my new smile...... tongue.gif

Added on March 3, 2009, 6:37 pmwat i don't understand is he said more fine tuning..... but i said cannot tahan anymore lorrrr. so i asked him to take off the brace teeth look ok ma...

This post has been edited by aprilcoco: Mar 3 2009, 06:37 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
MiZzGlam0ur
post Mar 3 2009, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(aprilcoco @ Mar 3 2009, 07:32 PM)
This is after my braces r removed... dr reuben let me take pictures home... and my new smile...... tongue.gif

Added on March 3, 2009, 6:37 pmwat i don't understand is he said more fine tuning..... but i said cannot tahan anymore lorrrr. so i asked him to take off the brace teeth look ok ma...
wah..so beautiful rclxms.gif which type of self ligating you wore before? and how long is your treatment? Err...you had braces from the govn clinic..from the pics, like no diff?

This post has been edited by MiZzGlam0ur: Mar 3 2009, 11:18 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Mar 5 2009, 12:28 PM

Realized that my powerchain is cutting my gum. It sank into the gum. Too many of my concerns So i went to see Dr. this morning.

He had the powerchain changed to a lesser force ones. And the process of changing, is really painful moreover i already open wound there. I was tearing and Dr. How kept apologizing.

I dunno whether it gives lesser force (now). But the wound worsen during the changing process. It's stingy pain now on my gum. The feeling is like u have ulcers on your gum.

Gosh, dunno how long i have to keep the hanging process. So far, this is the worse i've encounter ever since having braces on. Cos its painful.
kentcp
post Mar 5 2009, 01:58 PM

37 posts

Nikki, sorry to hear that.. bear for weeks and take pre-caution on the wound part.. I will use the "lisering"(forget how to spell) to "kill" the bateria whenever i have ulcers/wound..

The power chain will be few month kuar..till no more gummy..

154 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0379sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:00 AM